Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Benefits of being a Garda

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Bassfish

I'm in a job where we collaborate with the Gardaí frequently. I've met the good, the bad and the brilliant of them and have to say I have huge respect for them. Something that has struck me is the supportive 'community' aspect of being a Garda.
    A few years ago the Gardaí in the big town I was working in were doing a cake sale/coffee morning to raise funds for a Garda whose son was terminally ill and had to be treated in Dublin for months at a time. This involved enormous expense for the family. All of the public services who have anything to do with the Gardaí were invited along, the court services, judges, social work department, probation services etc.
    The place was mobbed. Every Garda in the station was there, on duty or not. A lot of spouses and partners were there to help and the guards were all mucking in giving out tea and cleaning up. There was a donation box at the door and I could see into it as I was putting in some money there was hardly a note in it less than a €50. They raised about €4k in the space of two hours which went straight to the family.
    There was a real sense of a team of people looking after one of their own who was in trouble. Best of luck finding that in the vast majority of other work places.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Jackben75

HalfBlues wrote: »
    Retirement age is 60 now for garda rank.
    Lots of perks but my favourite is watching everyone file into offices for a dull 9 to 5 while you are having the crack with your colleagues.
    Overtime is mostly in the city centres.
    You will see things most people won't.
    Also the autonomy is fab.

Really hope a return to 6 and 4 is not on the cards.

Terrible job, the Fire brigade would be a far better move. i'd take the dull office any day which pays far more and doesn't have to deal with vermin, i also find Gardai developing a skeptical or even bad attitude outside of work probably due to dealing with the crap they put up with. no thanks but all the best

• Registered Users Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭Dohvolle

a chuisle wrote: »
    If you are musical, the Garda Band is an option. Saw them play at a children’s ceremony. They were terrific with the children. Lots of audience participation. They made it a day to remember.

You have to be a musician first. With appropriate musical qualifications for your instrument.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Dohvolle wrote: »
    The other one is the reality of life and death. It's not like the movies, and the general public are better off not knowing about what really happens.

What did you see?

nj27 wrote: »
    What did you see?

Hello general public.
    It's not like the movies, and the general public are better off not knowing

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Domestics on christmas day.
    Sorry kids, we have to arrest your daddy cos he had a few too many and gave your mum a nice black eye, and a broken wrist but hey, It's a christmas memory you'll tell your marriage counsellor in 30 years time, when you end up doing the same thing. Season of goodwill my arse.
    The other one is the reality of life and death. It's not like the movies, and the general public are better off not knowing about what really happens.

My Dad was in the job and that's the stuff he hated.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thefisherbuy

can anyone shed light on what promotions and that are like in the Garda Síochána? I know after three years of regular service you can put into be in a unit would this be annual for certain units that are limited or?

cheers

can anyone shed light on what promotions and that are like in the Garda Síochána? I know after three years of regular service you can put into be in a unit would this be annual for certain units that are limited or?

cheers

Very ad-hoc. You can apply, but if your skipper is short staffed and you getting it means he will lose you, that's that. You goin nowhere.
    Opportunities are better in stations that get new blood regularly.
    That said, depending on how training goes, I know some specialist units have their eye on new staff from when they are undergoing training. One of my class was a very high proficiency swimmer in the college, once he was out of probation, the sub aqua unit snapped him up.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭Marty1476

Very ad-hoc. You can apply, but if your skipper is short staffed and you getting it means he will lose you, that's that. You goin nowhere.
    Opportunities are better in stations that get new blood regularly.
    That said, depending on how training goes, I know some specialist units have their eye on new staff from when they are undergoing training. One of my class was a very high proficiency swimmer in the college, once he was out of probation, the sub aqua unit snapped him up.

when you say after probation he was snapped up to the sub aqua unit do you mean after 3 years on the beat or college probation

also wondering roughly how many years as a guard would you need before you (can you apply after 3 years service) apply for detective unit and is it stiff competition ? thank your advice

Marty1476 wrote: »
    when you say after probation he was snapped up to the sub aqua unit do you mean after 3 years on the beat or college probation

I cant speak for Dohvolle, but I imagine this was after serving out the probation period after attesting, probationer Gardaí are not permitted to formally join specialist units during that time I believe.

also wondering roughly how many years as a guard would you need before you (can you apply after 3 years service) apply for detective unit and is it stiff competition ? thank your advice

Imo, this is the wrong way to join up.
    It's like learning a trade, people should be willing to join and work as an actual guard. That's what you are applying for, after all! A uniform, on the beat garda. Learn your trade. Gain your local knowledge.
    Find out what actually interests you within the organisation. find out what type of job suits you. There are many different jobs available. It's not all about detective unit. You could find you enjoy something else way more.
    Join up with the plan to spend at least 5/6 years in uniform, in my opinion.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Imo, this is the wrong way to join up.
    It's like learning a trade, people should be willing to join and work as an actual guard. That's what you are applying for, after all! A uniform, on the beat garda. Learn your trade. Gain your local knowledge.
    Find out what actually interests you within the organisation. find out what type of job suits you. There are many different jobs available. It's not all about detective unit. You could find you enjoy something else way more.
    Join up with the plan to spend at least 5/6 years in uniform, in my opinion.

thats not the question i asked, im aware its not all about the detective unit etc, i was using the detective unit as an example to get an idea of the level of competition involved in such a unit and others. there are obviously a lot of units so i picked detective for simplicity

Probation starts the day you are sworn in. This used to be when your college training ended, not sure when it is now. It was 2 years after attestation, which was about 3 years and 3 months after the day you started.
    You don't apply to join a detective unit. You become one first. Then after a year or so doing the job, you can apply for the pay associated with the job you are already doing..

Probation starts the day you are sworn in. This used to be when your college training ended, not sure when it is now. It was 2 years after attestation, which was about 3 years and 3 months after the day you started.
    You don't apply to join a detective unit. You become one first. Then after a year or so doing the job, you can apply for the pay associated with the job you are already doing..

That works similar to how applying for promotion normally does, so an exam or series of exams to qualify, right?

Is there any limits to who can take those?

Bassfish wrote: »
    I'm in a job where we collaborate with the Gardaí frequently. I've met the good, the bad and the brilliant of them and have to say I have huge respect for them. Something that has struck me is the supportive 'community' aspect of being a Garda.
    A few years ago the Gardaí in the big town I was working in were doing a cake sale/coffee morning to raise funds for a Garda whose son was terminally ill and had to be treated in Dublin for months at a time. This involved enormous expense for the family. All of the public services who have anything to do with the Gardaí were invited along, the court services, judges, social work department, probation services etc.
    The place was mobbed. Every Garda in the station was there, on duty or not. A lot of spouses and partners were there to help and the guards were all mucking in giving out tea and cleaning up. There was a donation box at the door and I could see into it as I was putting in some money there was hardly a note in it less than a €50. They raised about €4k in the space of two hours which went straight to the family.
    There was a real sense of a team of people looking after one of their own who was in trouble. Best of luck finding that in the vast majority of other work places.

This x 100.

I'm not in the job, my Dad is retired. They aren't like friends, it's more like a Band of Brothers. There's a fierce loyalty there and that's something as a society we don't like, loyalty comes before all else with them.

Zux wrote: »
    That works similar to how applying for promotion normally does, so an exam or series of exams to qualify, right?

Is there any limits to who can take those?

No.
    Defectives are special. Normally they start you off on a packet of crayons a week. Once you have eaten them you passed the test.
    There is no "exam" I know of to become a detective. This is ACTUALLY how it works kids. Listen very carefully.
    You are already a Garda. You have proved yourself to be useful in normal routine boring garda work. Something comes up and the Detectives (usually what can be known as Crime office) need all hands on deck. Its boring stuff like door to door inquiries asking people who saw nothing if they saw anything. Or sometimes they have a "job" on, like a search or something, and they need extra bodies to do the rummaging through the bins or wriggling around attics. And they get used to seeing you, and you aren't a total embarrassment to the organisation.
    So maybe the D/Sgt gives you a trial run. With your own Sgts approval you are seconded to them for a period of time. If your own Sgt needs you more, you aren't going anywhere. So you get to leave the uniform at home, and get paid to wear your own clothes (if approved to do so). Note Own clothes will be Loafers or All Stars, Denims and some sort of sports top Belt mandatory. If your trousers has no belt you can't carry cuffs. Its the uniform, but not.
    Various training courses are available to assist you in your detective skills. I don't know, bicycle saddle sniffing, coffee connoisseur course, polo shirt wearing..
    If you get approved to go on detective courses, then if a vacancy arises you could apply for an appointment as Detective. But there are many people working as detectives for years that have never been appointed.
    In the old days, once the Crime office lads became appointed detectives, they moved upstairs to the Branch. That's a whole other dark art completely.

Feisar wrote: »
    This x 100.

I'm not in the job, my Dad is retired. They aren't like friends, it's more like a Band of Brothers. There's a fierce loyalty there and that's something as a society we don't like, loyalty comes before all else with them.

It's unique, possibly only the Defence Forces comes close, but it isn't the same.
    Only other Gardai know what you go through on a daily basis. You are us, not them, and you'll always be us.
    You get to see what happens behind the scenes of life.
    Joe public would never understand, and it's because he doesn't understand that he doesn't like it.
    The only problem I have lately is the Gardai working in my locality are old enough to be my actual children, and I'm not 50 yet.

It's unique, possibly only the Defence Forces comes close, but it isn't the same.
    Only other Gardai know what you go through on a daily basis. You are us, not them, and you'll always be us.
    Joe public would never understand, and it's because he doesn't understand that he doesn't like it.
    The only problem I have lately is the Gardai working in my locality are old enough to be my actual children, and I'm not 50 yet.

It's mental, I've often given retired members a hand via my Dad, it's always been returned in spades. But no one is keeping a count.

It's like that Karl Marx quote: "From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs"

No.
    Defectives are special. Normally they start you off on a packet of crayons a week. Once you have eaten them you passed the test.
    There is no "exam" I know of to become a detective. This is ACTUALLY how it works kids. Listen very carefully.
    You are already a Garda. You have proved yourself to be useful in normal routine boring garda work. Something comes up and the Detectives (usually what can be known as Crime office) need all hands on deck. Its boring stuff like door to door inquiries asking people who saw nothing if they saw anything. Or sometimes they have a "job" on, like a search or something, and they need extra bodies to do the rummaging through the bins or wriggling around attics. And they get used to seeing you, and you aren't a total embarrassment to the organisation.
    So maybe the D/Sgt gives you a trial run. With your own Sgts approval you are seconded to them for a period of time. If your own Sgt needs you more, you aren't going anywhere. So you get to leave the uniform at home, and get paid to wear your own clothes (if approved to do so). Note Own clothes will be Loafers or All Stars, Denims and some sort of sports top Belt mandatory. If your trousers has no belt you can't carry cuffs. Its the uniform, but not.
    Various training courses are available to assist you in your detective skills. I don't know, bicycle saddle sniffing, coffee connoisseur course, polo shirt wearing..
    If you get approved to go on detective courses, then if a vacancy arises you could apply for an appointment as Detective. But there are many people working as detectives for years that have never been appointed.
    In the old days, once the Crime office lads became appointed detectives, they moved upstairs to the Branch. That's a whole other dark art completely.

Thanks, I think..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

Ah, it's more complex than that and can create an omerta which can create a situation where fellow Gardai's interests are looked after ahead of the public's.

Just look at the McCabe situation.

Mimon wrote: »
    Ah, it's more complex than that and can create an omerta which can create a situation where fellow Gardai's interests are looked after ahead of the public's.

Just look at the McCabe situation.

Have you served in AGS?

Feisar wrote: »
    This x 100.

We don't like it because they are employed to look after the public interest not their buddies.

Have been in a car a handful of times with a drunk driver and most of them have been with guards. Couple of times it was stupid because it was a ten minute walk home but they hopped in the car anyway because they knew they were untouchable.

Have you served in AGS?

Have you? Is it a requirement to have an opinion here?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Mod: Wilmol has been permanently banned from this forum. Thanks to all for the reports.

Mimon wrote: »
    Have you? Is it a requirement to have an opinion here?

I have.
    Potential recruits are asking those who have served or are serving a question.
    So yes, it is a requirement, because an outsider cannot provide an accurate opinion.

It would be like me asking the postman what it would be like to work as a quantum physicist.

I have.
    Potential recruits are asking those who have served or are serving a question.
    So yes, it is a requirement, because an outsider cannot provide an accurate opinion.

It would be like me asking the postman what it would be like to work as a quantum physicist.

I’m just waiting for an offer from HR for AGS and I’d love to burn you ear!?

I was going to ask you privately but I think for the forum a lot of people could benefit

Would you be willing to give me the time of day?

I’m just waiting for an offer from HR for AGS and I’d love to burn you ear!?

I was going to ask you privately but I think for the forum a lot of people could benefit

Would you be willing to give me the time of day?

20.59:)

20.59:)

Good answer 😂

Honestly just looking for good information

fire away, though I would be unfamiliar with current training.