Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I see, so all the children and young families should’ve gotten fines for enjoying the beach...what it showed me is the ‘polls’ we saw this week were pure rubbish. Irish people quietly speak with their feet.
    Happy June Bank Holiday. Enjoy the laptop and the indoors.

Yes this "silent majority" that are never ever officially in any poll yet always exist and agree with the vocal minority.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,843 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

UK boozers to reopen on fourth July and pressure bring put on to bring the date forward. I'll be up in Belfast or over to rest of uk asap with the lads. Then bring on a trip to spain or Italy for a week. I have had enough of months being robbed from me.

fret_wimp2 wrote: »
    Need to enforce it or call it a day. Minimal social distancing going on in a lot of parts of dublin.

Cycling from Stephens green up by cabra to navan road yesterday and it was like a normal day. Shops in town with seated areas with 5 and 6 to a table, large groups in Phoenix Park playing tag and messing about, 20 or more drinking on most locks along the canal.

It's a kick in the teeth to people like my parents who have not seen their grandchildren in almost 3 months, or the family who only had 10 people at their sons funeral.

Stop pretending the majority is obeying the guidelines.
    Bring in large fines. Hand out enough of them to make the risk not worth it.

That or just call it a day.

You seem to be out and about quite a bit yourself? Are you sure you are not breaching the 5km?

The 2m is not law, it’s a guideline as you say yourself. And even the WHO recommend 1m. People having a game in the park might not be breaking rules. People sitting at a table might live together already.

Probably best to mind your business.

.... You'd not bring herself away with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭yawhat?

I see the weak minded and pathetic souls are still here banging on about severe restrictions. You need to get a grip of yourselves and stop parading your selfishness for all to see. Me, me, me, me, me, me. I can’t do what I want, boo hoo.

Going to the UK, with the mythical “lads”, because the pubs are open. If this type of simpleton really does exist, we are in for a prolonging of the restrictions here.

yawhat? wrote: »
    I see the weak minded and pathetic souls are still here banging on about severe restrictions. You need to get a grip of yourselves and stop parading your selfishness for all to see. Me, me, me, me, me, me. I can’t do what I want, boo hoo.

Going to the UK, with the mythical “lads”, because the pubs are open. If this type of simpleton really does exist, we are in for a prolonging of the restrictions here.

My patience has run out because of what total bull**** it all is. You can lock yourself at home and tape up the doors window and chimney...

Listening to the constant media fear mongering with the largest leftist media on the planet, doesn't help...

They seem to have no intention of bringing dates forward. You can go and hide from the Mickey mouse virus, I'm not

Idbatterim wrote: »
    My patience has run out because of what total bull**** it all is. You can lock yourself at home and tape up the doors window and chimney...

Listening to the constant media fear mongering with the largest leftist media on the planet, doesn't help...

They seem to have no intention of bringing dates forward. You can go and hide from the Mickey mouse virus, I'm not

I’m out and about most days, because we’re not in lockdown. It’s not exactly prison is it? Take deep breaths and calm yourself down.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭fret_wimp2

You seem to be out and about quite a bit yourself? Are you sure you are not breaching the 5km?

The 2m is not law, it’s a guideline as you say yourself. And even the WHO recommend 1m. People having a game in the park might not be breaking rules. People sitting at a table might live together already.

Probably best to mind your business.

Well within my limit, I have a social consideration, I checked.

A public discussion forum is everyone's business who decide to make it so. Or do you just want an echo chamber?

yawhat? wrote: »
    I’m out and about most days, because we’re not in lockdown. It’s not exactly prison is it? Take deep breaths and calm yourself down.

Sounds like you havent lost a job? Do you have kids you have had around you constantly for months now? Do you care about others suffering with health issues because of the mickey mouse virus? Going to pretend the lockdown isnt going to come with a serious payback cost ? I'm probably being trolled, so I'll leave it there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Mickey Mouse virus? You really have no idea of what you are talking about do you? Anyway I thought by now you would have been heading off to Vegas or wherever it was like you stated several weeks ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,359 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Aha.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

fret_wimp2 wrote: »
    Of course not, just the parents. it's not the children fault.

Enjoy being a spreader and disrespecting everyone who is trying and cares.

I feel sorry for people like you. Ye have been paralysed with fear by our government and media. This virus is no where near as bad as they are saying yet we have people like you who berate others who choose to try live some sort of life in these rediculous restrictions which we all know are not needed.

If you or others have valid reasons to stay indoors ie medical or the likes then ye can do exactly that...there is no need for the rest to have to do it too. Since this began i have not stayed in and i dont feel one bit bad over it yet im almost hung out to dry as if im a big bad criminal. There really are some sad narrow minded people out there who think they are doing good by staying locked up 24/7. That's right suppress this so called deadly virus and do so by destroying your own mental health.......do you not think it might just be a small bit counterproductive taking that kind of approach :D

Mickey Mouse virus? You really have no idea of what you are talking about do you? Anyway I thought by now you would have been heading off to Vegas or wherever it was like you stated several weeks ago.

Again. They have only reopened and what they have is a pathetic vegas experience on offer. Not arsed if that's the case, still hopeful it will be worth going in September/ October

alta stare wrote: »
    I feel sorry for people like you. Ye have been paralysed with fear by our government and media. This virus is no where near as bad as they are saying yet we have people like you who berate others who choose to try live some sort of life in these rediculous restrictions which we all know are not needed.

If you or others have valid reasons to stay indoors ie medical or the likes then ye can do exactly that...there is no need for the rest to have to do it too. Since this began i have not stayed in and i dont feel one bit bad over it yet im almost hung out to dry as if im a big bad criminal. There really are some sad narrow minded people out there who think they are doing good by staying locked up 24/7. That's right suppress this so called deadly virus and do so by destroying your own mental health.......do you not think it might just be a small bit counterproductive taking that kind of approach :D

In other words what you are saying here is "I`m all right Jack. **** the rest of you". True?

I think you're being harsh on yourself. More selfish and stupid.

Again. They have only reopened and what they have is a pathetic vegas experience on offer. Not arsed if that's the case, still hopeful it will be worth going in September/ October

I noticed the last while that those which choose to have a differing opinion to yours are constantly using the Vegas trip as a stick to beat you with. For me that really shows they have nothing else to attack you on. One says it and now the rest of the sheep follows. They seem more obsessed about your trip to Vegas than they do this virus. Pathetic. Iv said it before and i will say it again, there are some really sad people out there and many of them frequent this website. Some of them resort to reporting a post so a mod can save their skin, Some of them get personal and some just throw a tantrum.......it is actually laughable and a bit scary to think how people can behave when sitting behind a keyboard.

I don’t know anyone who is paralysed with fear. Most of the country is out and about, taking sensible precautions and abiding by the restrictions as best they can. Most of the country recognises the difficulties we face, with a new virus with potentially significant unknown characteristics. Let’s play it safe.

Then we have the loolahs congregating here, who can’t be out and about as they spend most of the day posting about the severity of the restrictions. You couldn’t make it up.

If you feel you are struggling with mental health issues, talk to someone and seek help. Don’t spend your days in here bitching and moaning about something that you cannot change.

In other words what you are saying here is "I`m all right Jack. **** the rest of you". True?

:D:D

What im saying here my ol pal is that things are fine so go out and live your life.

Why wait till then? Judging by your posts you seem to be critical of many different elements of society in this country. Why not make a new start elsewhere ASAP if you`re that unhappy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

I have largely stayed compliant with the rules but luckily I have been in a position that I can and still have a reasonable standard of life (Of course there have been sacrifices).

I was willing to support the lockdown until the end of April but think the decisions since then have been awful. We have a committee of 33 people (most but not all medics) led by a stubborn civil servant and answerable to a weak Minister taking the most important decisions of a generation.

There is little or no consideration for SMEs and there is a lack of awareness of the long term damage this shut down will lead to. It is frightening when you see the damage we are facing - many of our semi States are in serious trouble, as is our airline industry (Ryanair will survive but what about Aer Lingus?), and indeed our sports organisations are in serious financial difficultly. There will be hundreds of thousands on the dole queues. They are flushing the whole economy and society down the toilet.

Thankfully in some respects the narrative over the last week seems to have caught up with the minority view here. Interventions from Martin, O’Callaghan, O’Leary, Smurfit, Danny McCoy, Ivan Yates and Mark Paul in the Irish Times have been very welcome - although sadly our national broadcaster Is not showing balance.

I think you're being harsh on yourself. More selfish and stupid.

Ooooh that hurt. Please dont say those kind of things.

I think you need to relax there. Go out and enjoy the sunshine. You will find it liberating.

Would you like to know my schedule today? Todays drive will take me from Kilkenny - Waterford - Wexford and guess what....i wont endanger or kill anyone on my way. Iv been doing those kind of trips for the last 4 years......not one death yet....amazing.

Thanks alta. Listen this vegas thing amuses me. I like getting away and socialising, believe me, this being brought up all the time, does nothing but humour me. At the start, the cautious mentality I can understand, the way its played out now, it needs to be opened up again as quick as reasonably possible. Those who are scared if getting virus, do what you've done the last few weeks. Free choice. They have an obsession with wanting to control others... I'll do what I like within reason. That's the way this country operates from top to bottom

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I follow a girl on Instagram who went back to nursing when all of this kicked off in order to help out. She said last night that she has been off for the last few days and isn’t sure when she’ll be working again because the wards are so quiet. This is in a busy Dublin hospital so what does that tell you for the rest of the hospitals across the country.

What in God’s name is going on here? Leo stood up in March and asked us all to do our bit, repeatedly told us to flatten the curve and to stay at home to prevent a surge, and to give the system a chance to prepare.

He never told us to say goodbye to our families as we likely won’t see them again for another three to four months. He never said to say goodbye to freedom as we know is because we won’t be allowed to travel outside of 5k for another three months. And he never said this will continue on until we are “there” without ever clarifying what “there” actually is.

That was last March. It is now almost June and despite doing what was asked of us, we are still being strung along and the country effectively paralysed with the exception of garden centres and supermarkets. People who want to get back to work aren’t allowed, and people who need to access life saving screenings aren’t allowed and there’s no resumption date in line either.

All of this, despite tumbleweeds blowing in our hospitals and a case rate so manageable that hospital capacity is actually down on this time last year. Yet so many out there seem to be okay with this? I can only speculate it’s because these people are doing their own thing anyway, still seeing family and happy to snap up the €350 payment for doing sweet f all while the country rots.

Above post... yeah , great weather, many on the e350 payment better off than before. Bit of novelty about the situation still. Wait until winter and the budget, doom and gloom and payback time. It's going to be as different from now as it gets...

I have largely stayed compliant with the rules but luckily I have been in a position that I can and still have a reasonable standard of life (Of course there have been sacrifices).

I was willing to support the lockdown until the end of April but think the decisions since then have been awful. We have a committee of 33 people (most but not all medics) led by a stubborn civil servant and answerable to a weak Minister taking the most important decisions of a generation.

There is little or no consideration for SMEs and there is a lack of awareness of the long term damage this shut down will lead to. It is frightening when you see the damage we are facing - many of our semi States are in serious trouble, as is our airline industry (Ryanair will survive but what about Aer Lingus?), and indeed our sports organisations are in serious financial difficultly. There will be hundreds of thousands on the dole queues. They are flushing out whole economy and society down the toilet.

Thankfully in some respects the narrative over the last week seems to have caught up with the minority view here. Interventions from Martin, O’Callaghan, O’Leary, Smurfit, Danny McCoy, Ivan Yates and Mark Paul in the Irish Times have been very welcome - although sadly our national broadcaster Is not showing balance.

Good post. People I feel most sorry for in this are the people who have died, the bereaved, people losing their business, people losing their jobs and the likes of Vradakar, Harris, Holohan et al who had to make state-changing decisions. People who are outraged because they can't fly to Spain or go on the piss in a pub are just pampered fools.

Ooooh that hurt. Please dont say those kind of things.

I think you need to relax there. Go out and enjoy the sunshine. You will find it liberating.

Would you like to know my schedule today? Todays drive will take me from Kilkenny - Waterford - Wexford and guess what....i wont endanger or kill anyone on my way. Iv been doing those kind of trips for the last 4 years......not one death yet....amazing.

To be perfectly honest, I don't give a sh1t what you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Why should you. No one should.
    That's the point.

Thanks alta. Listen this vegas thing amuses me. I like getting away and socialising, believe me, this being brought up all the time, does nothing but humour me. At the start, the cautious mentality I can understand, the way its played out now, it needs to be opened up again as quick as reasonably possible. Those who are scared if getting virus, do what you've done the last few weeks. Free choice. They have an obsession with wanting to control others... I'll do what I like within reason. That's the way this country operates from top to bottom

I know they say ignore the ignorant but i actually enjoy having debates with them. They are predictable and excitable. It is only a matter of time before they get personal (as they have with you) or start reporting posts to the sometimes over zealous mods. You tend to know how irked they are when they start going over your past posts :D I have posted over a thousand times on this website and not once during a debate have i ever done such a sad thing. Unfortunately this kind of thing is par for the course here so it is best to take it as you have been. They cant keep their argument moving forward with an insult or repetition.

You seem to care enough to insult me. Have i touched a nerve?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Why should you. No one should.
    That's the point.

I can confirm this is the case with social distancing in both Supervalu and Aldi. No queues no security at the door in the last 5 days.

Does anyone know when is the announcement on 350 a week payment extension? I think Paschal been waiting for this 750bn recovery fund announcement, to find out 1.91bn allocated to us surely thats not even enough to keep 1m on 350 euro a week for 6 weeks?