Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Garda Checks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

So do I :)

Any evidence to back your argument other than stamping of feet and screaming "I'm right"?

If you open the box they are exposed to the atmosphere. Therefore they are not sterile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,155 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

YFlyer wrote:
    The Sovereign Citizens will be out in force to ensure their freedom of movement isn't affected.

I've s posts with common law nonsense already

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

I drove from one county to another today for an emergency dental appointment, my tooth split and exposed the nerves.
    Was in a lot of discomfort.
    Broke a tooth in half due to boiled sweets, my own fault.
    Have an acrylic crown now feeling much better phew , but I asked the dentist for a letter explaining my reasons for being on the road.

I drove through a lot of villages and two towns, not once did I come across a check point.

I had everything in order, letter nct, insurance and tax.

No check points

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I've s posts with common law nonsense already

Once again for the idiots, common law is what our actual legal system is based on. Our legal system is a COMMON LAW LEGAL SYSTEM

It's not brethan law and by claiming it is, you expose your own ignorance of our legal system.

It's still used, offences committed contrary to common law are still convicted in courts after arrest. MURDER is a common law offence ffs!

If you open the box they are exposed to the atmosphere. Therefore they are not sterile

But the box is opened in a sealed room.

And then they are sterile until the box is opened, ergo they are sterile gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,531 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

But the box is opened in a sealed room.

And then they are sterile until the box is opened, ergo they are sterile gloves.
    I'd seriously be checking my understanding of sterile if I were you! :eek:

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I'd seriously be checking my understanding of sterile if I were you! :eek:

"free from bacteria or other living microorganisms; totally clean."

Anyone care to prove the ones in my workplace don't meet the criteria?Even if they don't at the time of arriving to me, they are still the ones in use in hospitals which have been cleared to use the word 'sterile' by the advertising and health authorities so forgive be if I accept the word of those people over someone on the net who just keeps shouting "I'm right".

Mr argument just has a bone about it for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Are there many Gardai checkpoints.
    I am going on a journey tomorrow and it is not strictly necessary...

So why are you going on it then?

Which bit of STAY AT HOME don't you understand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Well then you shouldn't be going, or are you one of those people who thinks the rules don't apply to them just to the rest of the population?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

One thing if you are stopped, put your car air intake on (without recirculating) as this will pull fresh air in from front of the car and keep positive pressure - air will blow out the open window.

Just a minor thing but, it might help a bit.

The same concept is used in supermarkets and food hygiene areas btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Well i need to get groceries so its just one more stop, i tried to cancel but not allowed, i blame the shop and will make people aware when this is over,they sent me email reply and they are leaders in their field.
    The rules apply to all.

Well i need to get groceries so its just one more stop, i tried to cancel but not allowed, i blame the shop and will make people aware when this is over,they sent me email reply and they are leaders in their field.
    The rules apply to all.
    So it's the shop's fault, so the rules don't apply to you?

Are you 12?

Grow up - limit your time outside to absolute necessary activity, and then GO HOME.

We're all in this together, you know - if we all play by the rules we can help slow the onset of the tsunami that's coming - but no, a €70 voucher is more important. Well done you.

ETA - as I was typing this, an elderly man was crying on the radio having watched his deceased wife taken away to be buried while he stayed in the garden, because he's not willing to break the rules, because it would be unfair. I'll just leave that there.

Don't worry about it. Say you are going to the shops, it's essential. You won't have an issue.
    Great first post. :rolleyes:

Thanks?
    It wasn't a compliment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭shane b

"free from bacteria or other living microorganisms; totally clean."

Anyone care to prove the ones in my workplace don't meet the criteria?Even if they don't at the time of arriving to me, they are still the ones in use in hospitals which have been cleared to use the word 'sterile' by the advertising and health authorities so forgive be if I accept the word of those people over someone on the net who just keeps shouting "I'm right".

Mr argument just has a bone about it for some reason

I worked in a sterile pharma plant until last year so was interested in the gloves you linked in earlier posts. Sterile gloves are usually individually wrapped. Initially I was going to agree with Mr agrument that multiple gloves in boxes are generally not sterile.
    However after finding other details on that particular product it seems the 50 gloves in the box are individually wrapped single use which is the important bit. That detail was missing in the product description in your link.
    Hence I would agree that they are sterile.

shane b wrote: »
    I worked in a sterile pharma plant until last year so was interested in the gloves you linked in earlier posts. Sterile gloves are usually individually wrapped. Initially I was going to agree with Mr agrument that multiple gloves in boxes are generally not sterile.
    However after finding other details on that particular product it seems the 50 gloves in the box are individually wrapped single use which is the important bit. That detail was missing in the product description in your link.
    Hence I would agree that they are sterile.

I'm open to correction, but I don't think the box of gloves being referred to by the poster as supplied by his workplace is a box of individually wrapped single gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,172 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The rules apply to all.

If the shop is still open is it possible it meets the criteria of 'essential services', and therefore your trip to it is ok under the rules?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭LeoHughes

The likelihood in a 1 minute interaction of infecting you, is pretty low, they can keep distance to a degree and ask Whatever question they need.

It isn’t like you get infected by being close to someone for a few seconds.

you can get infected just by them talking to you even for a few seconds especially when they are talking down to you, it makes it worse

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

How can a Garda check ID and keep distance.

All due respect to Garda - But I don't want them near me, they are as high risk as you get out there.

the one's i have met wouldn't be the sharpest tool in the box either,
    they must have the weakest Guards on the roads doing this at the moment.

Don't worry about it. Say you are going to the shops, it's essential. You won't have an issue.

Think about this way if you get the virus, how is your contact list is going to look when you're asked for it.

Can you stand over it and honestly say it was all necessary/permitted contacts??

Because if you can't then you're doing something wrong.

Good luck explaining that to the doctors and nurses when you are questioned on it.

Think about this way if you get the virus, how is your contact list is going to look when you're asked for it.

Can you stand over it and honestly say it was all necessary/permitted contacts??

Because if you can't then you're doing something wrong.

Good luck explaining that to the doctors and nurses when you are questioned on it.

My worry is that they'd spoof that as well.

Great first post. :rolleyes:

oh look i've made thousands of posts, aren't i cool, let's bully the new person.

the one's i have met wouldn't be the sharpest tool in the box either,
    they must have the weakest Guards on the roads doing this at the moment.

Yes, strategy is quite similar to a battle there's plenty of experienced Gardai and armed/specialist units waiting in the wings.

Why do you think all those garda college graduates were fast tracked?

He went to the shop! No issues at all.

For contact tracing he'll have to mention that 'not strictly essential' stop too or are you advocating that he also lies to contact tracers and puts even more people at risk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,638 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Yes, strategy is quite similar to a battle there's plenty of experienced Gardai and armed/specialist units waiting in the wings.

Why do you think all those garda college graduates were fast tracked?

The new Gardai aren't out doing checkpoints.

Is it the way things are done around here?

Not all, but some for sure,
    20 odd thousand sh*t posts are not as good as one decent one.
    When someone joined is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

I'm moving house, essential as I have too..be making several trips there and back with a heap of stuff each trip..no stops in between.. hardly a problem ..I'll be alone too.

no problem once alone, any half decent Guard will understand, it's funny i work in town, and the guards are stopping traffic, but ignoring the lads dealing smack five yards from them.
    Funny that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

The rules apply to all.

You didn't try to cancel, you tried to extend a voucher. You've already admitted that this journey isn't essential. You didn't get that voucher today or yesterday and could have used it before. It's not the shop's fault you didn't use it by now.

So you now want to jeopardise public health by taking an unnecessary journey and having an unnecessary interaction. Absolutely disgusting lack of respect for other people, and the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I was stopped both coming and going from and to my 85 year old mother yesterday and I was stopped going to work this morning. I’m afraid to tell you the Garda this morning also checked for tax/ins/NCT. On my way to my mothers this afternoon a Garda stopped the car in front of me but waved me on. I’m in Thurles.

Witcher wrote: »
    The new Gardai aren't out doing checkpoints.

Some of them are, they have been deployed to various stations across the country and are in the front line for high visibility policing and community policing.

splinter65 wrote: »
    I was stopped both coming and going from and to my 85 year old mother yesterday and I was stopped going to work this morning. I’m afraid to tell you the Garda this morning also checked for tax/ins/NCT. On my way to my mothers this afternoon a Garda stopped the car in front of me but waved me on. I’m in Thurles.

jeez that first guard sounds lovely trying to screw you doing an essential visit.

Some of them are, they have been deployed to various stations across the country and are in the front line for high visibility policing and community engagement.

They're not, I'm a member myself, they're attached to supplementary units doing food deliveries for the elderly etc. They're not working with regular units doing checkpoints or going to calls

jeez that first guard sounds lovely trying to screw you doing an essential visit.
    You do know all the usual laws still apply even in these unusual times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

They're not, they're attached to supplementary units doing food deliveries for the elderly etc. They're not working with regular units doing checkpoints or going to calls

How are the food deliveries organised . Are the Gardai working in conjunction with an NGO or something like civil defense

I know in places meals on wheels deliveries are being made, in other places Community policing would know of isolated people, people with no families nearby etc and have been calling into them and making runs to the pharmacy/supermarket etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭LeoHughes

can you still travel 30 miles to your nearest Aldi Asda store, north or south?

No the Gardaí that stopped me yesterday we’re fine. I explained where I was going and there was no problem.
    I was a bit disappointed with the Garda this morning checking discs. My discs were fine but I just don’t think they need to do that at the covid checkpoint. Set up another checkpoint if you think it’s appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

nthclare wrote: »
    I drove from one county to another today for an emergency dental appointment, my tooth split and exposed the nerves.
    Was in a lot of discomfort.

How did that work, was it your normal dentist or some specialised place like a Dental Hospital? Had a a bit of pain in one of my own teeth last night and was just thinking what Id do if it got worse. Thankfully warm water and salt worked to stop it but these things have a habit of coming back.

You do know all the usual laws still apply even in these unusual times?

Yes of course the law still applies. But if they want to keep on the right side of the public maybe give a little slack on the road tax at the moment? Hundreds of thousands of people have lost their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,155 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Only one checkpoint today & I was in Balbriggan, Cloncilla, Rathfarnham, Dun Laoghaire, City center & home to Dublin 5

Today the Garda stood on the passenger side of the car so with this window down there was a reasonable distance between him & I. I explained I was working & showed him invoices for jobs lined up for today. He told me to stay safe & I drove on.

Checkpoints have been painless so far :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭KaneToad

No the Gardaí that stopped me yesterday we’re fine. I explained where I was going and there was no problem.
    I was a bit disappointed with the Garda this morning checking discs. My discs were fine but I just don’t think they need to do that at the covid checkpoint. Set up another checkpoint if you think it’s appropriate.

A single issue checkpoint?
    How many guards do you think we have!

Yes of course the law still applies. But if they want to keep on the right side of the public maybe give a little slack on the road tax at the moment? Hundreds of thousands of people have lost their jobs.

They would likely have been checking insurance, most guards don't give a left bollock about tax.

Yes I agree insurance is totally a game changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I agree but they won't miss the opportunity to get a few convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

Muahahaha wrote: »
    How did that work, was it your normal dentist or some specialised place like a Dental Hospital? Had a a bit of pain in one of my own teeth last night and was just thinking what Id do if it got worse. Thankfully warm water and salt worked to stop it but these things have a habit of coming back.

Do you mind pming me where you got it done as I've also split my back tooth open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Blondie919 wrote: »
    Some of us have to work though

If you do, you should have your magic pass letter from your employer to show it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Only one checkpoint today & I was in Balbriggan, Cloncilla, Rathfarnham, Dun Laoghaire, City center & home to Dublin 5

Today the Garda stood on the passenger side of the car so with this window down there was a reasonable distance between him & I. I explained I was working & showed him invoices for jobs lined up for today. He told me to stay safe & I drove on.

Checkpoints have been painless so far :)

It's easy for the Gardai as well. 99% of people on the road are genuine.

It's like them catching banned drivers or those without tax and insurance. They stick out like a sore thumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭bmc58

But how can a Garda take a license and talk to you and both of you stay safe.

Hold his/her breath when taking your licence from you,step back a few yards check your licence,hold his/her breath(don't sneeze) when returning your licence to you after wiping it with a clean wipe.Easy.