Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2010

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

3 stars (average)
    Sport101 wrote: »
    Really? Against what rules? Pacing? I would expect if you tried to finish the race you'd get grabbed/rugby tackled by a marshall alright, but hardly along the middle of the course.

It is seriously bad form. You'd getting in the way of other people who have paid their money and done the training for doing the full event. However much you think you'd not be getting in the way, you are. People have been riding bikes alongside runners before as well and that also gets in the way as bikes take up more room and will take a different route at avoiding obstacles other runners and just generally be an annoyance to the rest of the competitors.

If your mate needs pacing then they should make use one of the official pacers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

3 stars (average)
    I never noticed that the organizers have posted a recorded video of the entire route here. Great way to visualize the task ahead of you.

Saw that from their Facebook page. Cool video and you can tell they clearly have the Gardai on side if they give an bike escort around the route and the wrong way down one way streets and dual carriageways, just so that the organisers can put a video online.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,500 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

3 stars (average)
    Sport101 wrote: »
    Really? Against what rules? Pacing? I would expect if you tried to finish the race you'd get grabbed/rugby tackled by a marshall alright, but hardly along the middle of the course.
    I'm afraid I don't have the rules in front of me, so am working from memory of issues raised after last year's race, but because it is a national race (national marathon championships), pacing by anyone from outside of the race is not permitted. I could be wrong Sport101. Best contact the officials if you want to find out the legitimacy of jumping in and assisting a friend (or Meathcountysec might now?)

Last year was a bit of a pain in the a$$ with a number of runners and cyclists jumping onto the course to help their friends (an advantage which only their friends could profit from, so in some ways an unfair advantage). Thankfully the martials did a decent job of removing most of them from the course but not before there were a number of near accidents, particularly with respect to the cyclists.

I'm not trying to pass judgement Sport101. Just highlighting some points from memory. Does the runner you are intending to support really need this assistance? Have they under-trained? Are you sure they want it?

3 stars (average)
    If you want to support them then rent one of the Dublin bikes and then you can ride around the back roads to reach different points on the course and cheer them on from stood at the side at each point before taking a short cut to the next on the bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

4 stars (good)
    I never noticed that the organizers have posted a recorded video of the entire route here. Great way to visualize the task ahead of you.

Good man Krusty that video is pretty handy. Although its strangely amusing.........maybe because when I was watching it I couldnt help but hear the theme from Benny Hill playing in my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

tunguska wrote: »
    Good man Krusty that video is pretty handy. Although its strangely amusing.........maybe because when I was watching it I couldnt help but hear the theme from Benny Hill playing in my head.

Nice idea - a number of races starting to do this. The cornering and attempts to include the sights (Trinity, GPO) left me vaguely motion sick :D. Anyway to slow it down a fraction ? Are those white poles in the park (Spa Road) in place during the race ?

3 stars (average)
    pgmcpq wrote: »
    Are those white poles in the park (Spa Road) in place during the race ?
    Nope, they will be gone.

They will have to make room for the lead car to get through, and so that there is less obstacles for the pacers to get their balloons tangled in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

4 stars (good)
    I want to try the High 5 Gels that'll be available on the course in advance but don't know if they're regular or isotonic. Anyone know for sure?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

4 stars (good)
    Last year I picked up isotonic ones, but they may have had both.

3 stars (average)
    RedB wrote: »
    I want to try the High 5 Gels that'll be available on the course in advance but don't know if they're regular or isotonic. Anyone know for sure?
    Bring your own. There's no guarantee that they'll be available when you expect (need) them, that you'll actually see them being handed out, or that they'll be the brand you're looking for. Don't leave 3-5 month training up to chance!

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭NeedsTraining

4 stars (good)
    How do you guys carry gels during a marathon?

I usually bring a belt with bottle and gels for my LSRs but wasn't planning on bringing it on marathon day. Any little bit of weight I can dispense I will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

4 stars (good)
    I'm really looking forward to the Marathon now (although I'm not sure I'll feel the same way around mile 10 on Saturday ;)).......It's been a long time since I trained this hard/consistently for something!

4 stars (good)

I usually bring a belt with bottle and gels for my LSRs but wasn't planning on bringing it on marathon day. Any little bit of weight I can dispense I will.

Someone metioned an armband that you fit gels into.......

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

4 stars (good)
    Yeah, I have one of these. What would your belt be like if it wasn't holding bottles? If it's comfortable enough on your long runs you may as well keep it for the race. But if you are going to go a different way on race day - arm wallets, pinning on gels, whatever - make sure you test it on a long run first.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭NeedsTraining

4 stars (good)
    Cheers RayCun,

The belt is a tad bulky, but is comfortable.
    I may wear it on the day but would prefer something a little lighter. Every ounce will matter on race day :D

3 stars (average)
    digger2d2 wrote: »
    Someone metioned an armband that you fit gels into.......
    I'll be carrying four or five isotonic gels, so the idea of carrying these on an armband would worry me greatly due to the imbalance (you'd need one for each arm!). I would stick with a gel belt. They're inexpensive, weight next to nothing, and are handy (they have a pouch that'll take a car key, some tissue paper, money, blister plaster, safety pin, bio freeze sachet and spare pacing band; I should'a been a boy-scout).

4 stars (good)
    Jaysus, I'll be carrying 4 gels and 20 quid, but at least now I know who to ask if I run out of anything.

4 stars (good)
    I'll be carrying four or five isotonic gels, so the idea of carrying these on an armband would worry me greatly due to the imbalance (you'd need one for each arm!). .

You saying I need to buy another Garmin?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

4 stars (good)
    RayCun wrote: »
    Jaysus, I'll be carrying 4 gels and 20 quid, but at least now I know who to ask if I run out of anything.

Ray: Don't carry that 20 quid!! The only thing that kept me from hailing a jomaxi or a bus when I hit the N11 last year was the fact that I had no money on me. I might also have stopped off at my place round mile 15 if I had my house/car keys on me.
    Don't worry, If you collapse you'll be scooped up by an ambulance anyway :D

4 stars (good)
    Good point - I'll get Krusty to carry it around for me instead

3 stars (average)
    RayCun wrote: »
    You'll have to catch me first. ;)
    menoscemo wrote:
    Ray: Don't carry that 20 quid!!
    Sounds like you need to strengthen the mind as well as the body!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

4 stars (good)

I wear Tri-shorts. Theres a decent sized pocket on each hip thats big enough to carry 3 gels in each, so thats 6 gels. I really like the tri-shorts, find them way more comfortable than regular running shorts. They double up as compression shorts aswell. Heres the ones I wear:

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=34082

4 stars (good)
    tunguska wrote: »
    I wear Tri-shorts. Theres a decent sized pocket on each hip thats big enough to carry 3 gels in each, so thats 6 gels. I really like the tri-shorts, find them way more comfortable than regular running shorts. They double up as compression shorts aswell. Heres the ones I wear:

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=0&idproduct=34082

I'd have to buy a ring of white pudding to go with those :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

4 stars (good)
    digger2d2 wrote: »
    I'd have to buy a ring of white pudding to go with those :eek:

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

Time|Name|Comments|Actual|
    |||
    Sub 3.00|||
    Sub 2:35|Heffsarmy|Anything faster will be a bonus, first time running Dublin
    Sub 2:45|Tunguska|Beat last years time
    2.55|smmoore79||
    2.55|pablot|3.01min in dub last year. its funny how the brain gets tired and you forget about that little point 2 of a mile at the end and cant figure where the sub 3 went:)|
    2.55|Timmaay|1st Marathon, and I'm only just back from breaking my shoulderblade so this will be fun!
    2:59:59|Elfoyzer|3:29 p.b (2008) but disappointing DCM last year following IM Switzerland, just know I can run better than that!
    2:59:59|Bloody Nipples|4th Marathon, ran 3:15 in Cork, hopefully knock 15-20 mins off by increasing the mileage|
    2:59:xx|donothoponpop|Third (time lucky) Dublin, will hold onto the pace group for as long as I can!|
    2:59:xx|misty floyd|2nd Dublin, last year was a disaster. 3:00:30 in April in Rotterdam but gone down hill hard since then. 12 weeks to get back to fitness and a little fitter again ;). 100% effort|

Sub 3.15|||
    3.03|earlyevening|Just want to edge a little better than last year's 3:07|
    3:14:59| Bart simpson|2nd marathon, PB is 3:29:14 in DCM09
    3:14:59|NeedsTraining|6th marathon, first Dublin. Would like to break 3:10 but don't think it is possible for me this year|
    3:15|Condo131|20th Marathon, 1st since Dub '03. Hope to make Boston M55 (3:45) May adjust target down|
    3:15|MaroonTam|1st Marathon. Its a Push but training for it (might end up 3:20)|
    3:15 |Potsy11 |5 Marathon. Ran 3.27 last year. Got onto training a bit late so hope to be in better condition|
    3:14:50|Krusty_Clown|3:15 Pacer (Provisional - pending approval and non-injury)
    3:14:50|Rebelrunner|4th marathon & would be delighted to break ambitious 3.15.
    3:14:50|ronanmac|An ambitious jump from last year's 3:55 but if McMillan says it can be done :D. Training for 3:10 so as to be able to run 3:15 without too much of a fade at the end
    3:14:49|robinph|I know I can run faster, but I know I'll not have trained enough. Plan is to just follow the clown to stop me going off too fast and then leave him for dust in the latter stages. Hopefully|
    3.15|pgmcpq|A bit of a stretch target (3.47 earlier this year), was thinking 3.20 ...but training/results have gone well.
    Sub 3:30|||
    3.19.59|Diggy78|Might be ambitious trying to shave 5 mins off last year but why try to break 3:22, :)|
    3:27:29 |Sharktale | 9th Marathon, Ran 3:45 Barcelona '10, Hoping for the best |
    3:29:59 |Jackyback | 2nd Marathon, looking to shave 26 minutes off my Cork time from earlier in the year|
    3:29:59 |Cartman78 | 4th Marathon, Ran 3:45 in GLR in May taking it very easy. Hoping that more mileage + more effort on the day = Sub 3:30|
    sub 3:30|SUNGOD| after over 12 months of injuries i just need a target race
    3:29:59|Plodder|5th marathon, previous best 3:53. Training harder now
    3:29:59|Mr Marenghi|2nd Dublin marathon, training a lot harder and i think a bit more intelligently, would love to go sub 3.30
    3:29:59|menoscemo| 2nd DCM 4:15 to 3:30 is a big ask but training is much better. Hope to beat the course this time.|
    3:29:59|Peckham| Hopefully will be doing the 3:30 pace group, so looking forward to cracking the whip when the pain hits around UCD ;)|
    3:29:59|TFBubendorfer| Hopefully will be the other quarter of the same pace group and looking forward to seeing Peckham cracking the whip when the pain hits around UCD ;)||||
    3:29:59|RedB|3rd DCM. 4:50 last year but ran 3:58 in GLR and hope to increase the mileage and intensity. In for a penny......|
    3:29:59|LeCheile| Yet another pacer:)|
    3:29:59|Almac06|2nd Dublin, ran 3:58 last year and am hoping to break 3:30 this year - May need a jockey-back for the last fewsmile.gif|
    Sub 3:45|||
    3.3x|BrokenMan|First time out and its probably ambitious.Going to go for it anyway|
    3.3x|Moycullen1|12th Marathon, anything under 3:40 would be a PB|
    3.40|Doledude86|2nd Dublin Marathon went 3:56 last year would like to go 3:40 this year|
    3:4X|sarsfieldsrock|Be the best I can!|
    3:44:59| Louthandproud| Setting an ambitious target after finishing in 4:12 last year, feel I can achieve if I get the training done |
    3:45|itsalltrue|there we go|
    3:45|Tipp man running|Injury permitting hope to break this time for the first time:)|
    3:45|Aimman|And I'm blaming Oisin if I don't, cos he's giving me a jockey back!|
    |||
    Sub 4.00|||
    3.55|RayCun|First time out, so not too ambitious (I hope)|
    3.59.59|Hawkwing|3rd marathon, 3rd Dublin, sub-4 or die trying :o|
    3:50|digger2d2|First and maybe last so definitely need to break 4 hrs|
    3.55|curraghyid|first marathon but i reckon acheivable withthe right training|
    3.59|ElectraX|first marathon so thats my dream time|
    3.59|RubyK| a first-timer, 3.59.59 would make my year ;)|
    3.59|ROFno1| First-timer as well so 3.59.59 would be great. But just to finish will be a great achievement|
    3.59|MitreSize5|First marathon, would be delighted with anything under 4
    3.59|opus|Running with a friend to provide moral support, will try to get us round in under 4|
    3:59|shotgunmcos| Pacer. Will be crossing the line in 3:59 (chip not clock) folks so either finish with us or sprint ahead of us in the last mile to get your sub 4 ;)|
    3:59|christeb| Pacer. Shoe-horning myself in here with the legend that is shotgunMCOS, looking forward to meeting (and verbally abusing) you all on the day :)|
    3:59|mfdc| 2nd time, just want to run to the end really; blew up very badly last year. |
    Sub 4.30|||
    4.29:59|Brophya2007|First Marathon all going well, Sub 4:30 would be nice|
    4.29.59|Blueskye|Died an absolute death at DCM last year so would be very happy with 4.29
    4.29.59|Red Belly|1st marathon. Finish would be good. Sub 4:30 would be great|
    4.2?:??|Racheljev|Crap time last year so want a 4 something time this year!|
    4:15:00|rovers_runner|Halfway between my "potential" from 5k/10k and my most recent time|
    4:15:00|hot to trot|
    4.24.55|Rainbow Kirby|2nd marathon, 2nd Dublin - training has sucked, faster than last year would be nice.|
    4.20.00|jcsmum|1st timer, so would be thrilled to run the whole route|
    Going for a Finish|||
    4:30 to 5:00|Meathcountysec|First Only Marathon ever, just want to run all the way|
    N/A|munsterbear|first marathon and just aiming to finish
    N/A|Puck|First marathon, I don't care about time.

Time to commit !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

4 stars (good)
    |||
    Sub 3.00|||
    2.55|smmoore79||
    2.55|pablot|3.01min in dub last year. its funny how the brain gets tired and you forget about that little point 2 of a mile at the end and cant figure where the sub 3 went:)|
    2.55|Timmaay|1st Marathon, and I'm only just back from breaking my shoulderblade so this will be fun!
    2:59:59|Elfoyzer|3:29 p.b (2008) but disappointing DCM last year following IM Switzerland, just know I can run better than that!
    2:59:59|Bloody Nipples|4th Marathon, ran 3:15 in Cork, hopefully knock 15-20 mins off by increasing the mileage|
    2:59:xx|donothoponpop|Third (time lucky) Dublin, will hold onto the pace group for as long as I can!|
    2:59:xx|misty floyd|2nd Dublin, last year was a disaster. 3:00:30 in April in Rotterdam but gone down hill hard since then. 12 weeks to get back to fitness and a little fitter again ;). 100% effort|

Sub 3.15|||
    3:14:59|NeedsTraining|6th marathon, first Dublin. Would like to break 3:10 but don't think it is possible for me this year|
    3:15|Condo131|20th Marathon, 1st since Dub '03. Hope to make Boston M55 (3:45) May adjust target down|
    3:15|MaroonTam|1st Marathon. Its a Push but training for it (might end up 3:20)|
    3:15 |Potsy11 |5 Marathon. Ran 3.27 last year. Got onto training a bit late so hope to be in better condition|
    3:14:50|ronanmac|An ambitious jump from last year's 3:55 but if McMillan says it can be done :D. Training for 3:10 so as to be able to run 3:15 without too much of a fade at the end
    3:14:49|robinph|I know I can run faster, but I know I'll not have trained enough. Plan is to just follow the clown to stop me going off too fast and then leave him for dust in the latter stages. Hopefully|
    3.15|pgmcpq|A bit of a stretch target (3.47 earlier this year), was thinking 3.20 ...but training/results have gone well.
    3.19.59|Diggy78|Might be ambitious trying to shave 5 mins off last year but why try to break 3:22, :)|
    3:27:29 |Sharktale | 9th Marathon, Ran 3:45 Barcelona '10, Hoping for the best |
    3:29:59 |Jackyback | 2nd Marathon, looking to shave 26 minutes off my Cork time from earlier in the year|
    3:29:59 |Cartman78 | 4th Marathon, Ran 3:45 in GLR in May taking it very easy. Hoping that more mileage + more effort on the day = Sub 3:30|
    3:29:59|Mr Marenghi|2nd Dublin marathon, training a lot harder and i think a bit more intelligently, would love to go sub 3.30
    3:29:59|menoscemo| 2nd DCM 4:15 to 3:30 is a big ask but training is much better. Hope to beat the course this time.|
    3:29:59|Peckham| Hopefully will be doing the 3:30 pace group, so looking forward to cracking the whip when the pain hits around UCD ;)|
    3:29:59|TFBubendorfer| Hopefully will be the other quarter of the same pace group and looking forward to seeing Peckham cracking the whip when the pain hits around UCD ;)||||
    3:29:59|RedB|3rd DCM. 4:50 last year but ran 3:58 in GLR and hope to increase the mileage and intensity. In for a penny......|
    3:29:59|Almac06|2nd Dublin, ran 3:58 last year and am hoping to break 3:30 this year - May need a jockey-back for the last fewsmile.gif|
    3.3x|BrokenMan|First time out and its probably ambitious.Going to go for it anyway|
    3.40|Doledude86|2nd Dublin Marathon went 3:56 last year would like to go 3:40 this year|
    3:44:59| Louthandproud| Setting an ambitious target after finishing in 4:12 last year, feel I can achieve if I get the training done |
    3:45|Tipp man running|Injury permitting hope to break this time for the first time:)|
    3:45|Aimman|And I'm blaming Oisin if I don't, cos he's giving me a jockey back!|
    |||
    Sub 4.00|||
    3.59|ROFno1| First-timer as well so 3.59.59 would be great. But just to finish will be a great achievement|
    3.59|opus|Running with a friend to provide moral support, will try to get us round in under 4|
    3:59|shotgunmcos| Pacer. Will be crossing the line in 3:59 (chip not clock) folks so either finish with us or sprint ahead of us in the last mile to get your sub 4 ;)|
    3:59|christeb| Pacer. Shoe-horning myself in here with the legend that is shotgunMCOS, looking forward to meeting (and verbally abusing) you all on the day :)|
    3:59|mfdc| 2nd time, just want to run to the end really; blew up very badly last year. |
    3:59|neilc|2nd DCM, foolishly ran injured last year and bombed. Everything going great this year, fingers crossed. Secretly hoping for 3.45 but would be delighted to do sub 4. |
    Sub 4.30|||
    4.29.59|Blueskye|Died an absolute death at DCM last year so would be very happy with 4.29
    4:15:00|rovers_runner|Halfway between my "potential" from 5k/10k and my most recent time|
    4.24.55|Rainbow Kirby|2nd marathon, 2nd Dublin - training has sucked, faster than last year would be nice.|
    Going for a Finish|||
    4:30 to 5:00|Meathcountysec|First Only Marathon ever, just want to run all the way|

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Moycullen1

This belt is really light and comfortable. Like Krusty_Clown I prepare for every eventuality. I also have a couple of lightweight phone pouches at the front to balance the weight when I am carrying five or six gels. I wear it all the time now even during track sessions so I don't even notice it any more.

http://www.hillyclothing.co.uk/Details/-NEW--Runners-Waist-Pouch-Fluo/

I don't like those gels straps cause I can only assume they are responsible for all the full gels you see lying on the road.

This thread includes a good few suggestions.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055906968

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Izoard

|||
    Sub 3.00|||
    2.55|smmoore79||

Sub 3.15|||
    |||
    Sub 4.00|||
    3:59|neilc|2nd DCM, foolishly ran injured last year and bombed. Everything going great this year, fingers crossed. Secretly hoping for 3.45 but would be delighted to do sub 4. |
    Sub 4.30|||
    4.29:30|Izoard|Pacer - Even-split marathon will be a result:)|
    Going for a Finish|||

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭RubyK

4 stars (good)
    Cant remember what I did last year ? 4.15
    Dont think I have enough training done to finally get my sub 4 yet. so if someone could put me in for around 4.15ish again . I reckon I wont be far off.
    I promise I will read the thread back.:o

After your achievement in Belfast, Dublin will be a light training session for you! You'll smash sub 4, and still be fresh as a daisy ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Alas rubyk I havent enough speeedwork and stuff like that done. I wont manage a sub 4 . Walking 40 miles doesnt prepare you for anything .:(
    Should have gone out tonight but struggled to force myself out the door. Slacking like this wont get me sub 4. No guts - no glory.
    Not sure if I work really hard between now and then . how much I could expect to shave off my time.:confused: