Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade & Retro Repairs & Mods, all new recipe, with no added MSG...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Starting keeping a blog on the various fixs/mods/tweaks I've been at. Hoping to update it further with both new projects and stuff I've already done.

Latest addition, NegCon & JogCon supergun support.

http://retrotechr.blogspot.ie/

I see you got a mention on Ten Pence arcade podcast the other day too :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,540 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Starting keeping a blog on the various fixs/mods/tweaks I've been at. Hoping to update it further with both new projects and stuff I've already done.

Latest addition, NegCon & JogCon supergun support.

http://retrotechr.blogspot.ie/

I can check in there to see what my Coleco looked like when it worked :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

I'll try and get to the next beers and see if I can fix it, assuming you've not sold it on by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,853 ✭✭✭Steve X2

So it seems i need to become at least a bit proficient in airbrushing if i want bring my 3D prints to the next level.

Anyone here have an airbrush? What do i actually need?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,963 ✭✭✭Doge

Yo Stevie, did anything ever become of that film set in the 80s that you needed a breadbin c64 in a scene?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Picked up a NTSC SNES lately and been having a video problem with it. The sound all plays fine when you turn it on, but the screen has loads of little squares and no real proper picture comes through. I've tried it with working video leads so it's not them and also switched channels on the console. I suspect an internal board problem of some sort.

I've uploaded a short video of it to show it better, ignore the tool in the reflection :pac:

Any guesses to what might be the problem?

http://tinypic.com/r/i23u3s/8

• Registered Users Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Corholio wrote: »
    Picked up a NTSC SNES lately and been having a video problem with it. The sound all plays fine when you turn it on, but the screen has loads of little squares and no real proper picture comes through. I've tried it with working video leads so it's not them and also switched channels on the console. I suspect an internal board problem of some sort.

I've uploaded a short video of it to show it better, ignore the tool in the reflection :pac:

196wjkrovn3pvjpg.jpg

dc2fd6da2c741a3b2f6ae5fcf700e06fafe43267ea271579118ef4292ffb25c6.jpg?w=474

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

I had one acting up like that once.
    I removed the cart connector from the board and gave it a good clean and the corresponding contacts on the board and it sorted it out.
    I would check out the board too for dry joints,damaged traces etc while you have it open.

magentis wrote: »
    I had one acting up like that once.
    I removed the cart connector from the board and gave it a good clean and the corresponding contacts on the board and it sorted it out.
    I would check out the board too for dry joints,damaged traces etc while you have it open.

Might give that a try so. I'd be alright with things like that but would stop at the point of having to solder anything :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Might give that a try so. I'd be alright with things like that but would stop at the point of having to solder anything :pac:

Fingers crossed that sorts it for you.

Hopefully its not caps or an ic problem.
    I have one here that i spent hours on with graphics problems,recapped it and everything but still the same,must be an ic problem with it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Steve X2 wrote: »
    So it seems i need to become at least a bit proficient in airbrushing if i want bring my 3D prints to the next level.

Anyone here have an airbrush? What do i actually need?

I have one, for the Falcon build, you need an airbrush, about 20 quid, you dont need a mad expensive one to start, an air compressor about 80 quid, get one that has a drip thing on it to control the air flow, paint, (Vallejo model air), thinners, masking tape, varnish, spray boot (about 70) there's lots of stuff you would need to paint that light sabre.

To give it an age look you would airbrush the colour onto each piece after you put a grey base coat on , spray varnish over that , then I'd use an oil paint like "mig starship filth", whack it on with a brush then rub it off with an old t-shirt, gives it a great worn look.

I recommend watching this guy's videos to give you an idea of what's involved in painting something like this.
    https://youtu.be/lqmKUWKWdzg

Also when you start printing these for boardsies, put me down for a lightsabre and sg1 logo! So cool..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

GF was out this evening so got to mess around with the arcade, managed to convert a Captain Commando(CPS1) to Daimakaimura(Ghouls N Ghosts), something I've been meaning to do for years. the conversion went smoothly, no hiccups and worked 1st time. will add a few photos and a video of the gameplay tomorrow.

I know very little about building arcade machines and all the other stuff you clever people do, but what I wouldn't give to have a Captain Commando machine. When I was younger it was genuinely the only time I've ever shouted 'Yes' in a room full of people when I completed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

I know very little about building arcade machines and all the other stuff you clever people do, but what I wouldn't give to have a Captain Commando machine. When I was younger it was genuinely the only time I've ever shouted 'Yes' in a room full of people when I completed it.
    I've never even played it, bought the board with the sole purpose of converting it:D
    It was a non worker though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,540 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

This guy should try modding consoles, imagine the smell of burning flesh

Apparently he is a real electrical engineer and plays this stuff for laughs, but, feck me, he's going to do some serious damage someday to himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Not a repair as such lads, but I'm wondering has anyone got an NTSC Free MC Boot for PS2?

I can buy a new PS2 if push comes to shove but I'd prefer not to :)

I can do the new install myself with a FMCB memory card I'm fairly sure, or can send mine on if anyone wants to do it for me.

Thanks in advance.

Not a repair as such lads, but I'm wondering has anyone got an NTSC Free MC Boot for PS2?

I can buy a new PS2 if push comes to shove but I'd prefer not to :)

I can do the new install myself with a FMCB memory card I'm fairly sure, or can send mine on if anyone wants to do it for me.

Thanks in advance.

I'm pretty sure an "NTSC Free McBoot" is non existent. Its universal afaik.

You could try doing the newer PS2 HDD OSD mod, which uses the hard drive for the exploit rather than the memory card.

It's a much easier way of doing it, well from scratch anyway.

http://theisozone.com/tutorials/ps2/hardware-and-modding/ps2-hdd-modding-tutorial-hddosd/

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Doge wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure an "NTSC Free McBoot" is non existent. Its universal afaik.

You could try doing the newer PS2 HDD OSD mod, which uses the hard drive for the exploit rather than the memory card.

It's a much easier way of doing it, well from scratch anyway.

http://theisozone.com/tutorials/ps2/hardware-and-modding/ps2-hdd-modding-tutorial-hddosd/

It's universal yeah, but a FMCB set up on a PAL PS2 can't be used on a NTSC PS2, I need to have it installed on an NTSC one.

I've a slimline, not sure its that's going to be possible

It's universal yeah, but a FMCB set up on a PAL PS2 can't be used on a NTSC PS2, I need to have it installed on an NTSC one.

I've a slimline, not sure its that's going to be possible

Oh presumed you had a phat PS2, wont work at all i'm afraid!
    Thats interesting about FMB it not working between NTSC and PAL.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

I'm looking to buy a cap kit and flyback transformer for a Hantarex MTC9000 monitor. Tried Bob Roberts but he doesn't ship outside USA. Any ideas?

I sent my chassis to Gunblade aka Grant Spain im the UK. I think his company is Swallow Amusements.
    He is a resident on Ukvac or Jammaplus websites.

According to his website :
    http://www.swallowam.co.uk/monitor.htm
    He can supply most parts for Hanterex monitor chassis including a cap kit. Contact swallow@swallowam.co.uk

You'll get the fly back from donburg in Donegal.
    It would be worth changing the mtg9000 to a polo chassis if possible !way better from my own experience

An instructable for a 2 player Bartop Arcade Machine:

http://www.instructables.com/id/2-Player-Bartop-Arcade-Machine-Powered-by-Pi/

F4NZYNJI20VUVBF.MEDIUM.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Doge wrote: »

If anyone's considering making the shell/case for this, I'd go in with them on supplies! Don't have the tools or the facilities to do this myself. :(

Still haven't got my iCade conversion finished because I got frustrated with the romsets though >_<

Take that sega lock that i dont have a key for !
    Also 5 x 5380 locks and a key.

Who has the most plays on their machine?
    171,117 for me.

Jammacon Playstation adapter finally working :) Next up is Amiga CD32 I think..

Snes board still working great :)

90929EC9-4223-4E82-BD37-82AAB1031C3B_zpseofj8utu.jpg

I never had a problem with soldering but desoldering on the other hand,
    it breaks my heart most of the time!
    been after a desolding station for ages and finally bit the bullet and bought one of these.
    https://www.circuitspecialists.com/Compact_Desoldering_System.html

Was 133e from ebay via parcel motel.

got it today and have to say im very very impressed.
    stripped out several ICs to test it out it makes life so much easier.
    took out a 24 pin IC in less than 3 minutes and it was 100% clean!
    didnt damage the pcb at all.
    highly recomended
    ebay link
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/New-Model-ESD-Safe-Compact-Desoldering-Station-CSI-474A-through-hole-work-/321694777098

Nice one :) Just make sure to clean in out well before powering off or they're a nightmare as the solder can harden behind the heating element !!