Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man, 65, convicted of purchasing sex in landmark prostitution case

• 21-01-2019 9:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭

A man has been convicted of purchasing sex, in what is the first conviction under new prostitution laws introduced in April 2017.

Bryan Mason, aged 65, with an address at Moatlands, Rathoath, Co Meath, was fined €200 in relation to the purchase of sexual services at West End Village, Blanchardstown, west Dublin on 30 March 2018.

It is the first conviction under Section 25 of the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act 2017, which was enacted on April 3, 2017 after being signed into law by then justice minister Frances Fitzgerald.

Mr Mason was charged with paying, giving, offering or promising to pay or give money or any other form of remuneration or consideration for the purpose of engaging in sexual activity with a prostitute.

The case, which appeared before Dublin District Court this morning, followed an investigation by specialist officers attached to Operation Quest, based within the Garda National Protective Services Bureau (GNPSB).

The Oireachtas Justice Committee recommended the new offence in a report it published in June 2013.

Section 25 of the 2017 Act amended the provisions of Section 7A of the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act 1993.

Ruhama, which works with women affected by prostitution and sex trafficking, welcomed the conviction.

“This case sends a clear message to Irish society that it is not acceptable to pay for access to another person’s body for sexual gratification,” said Ruhama CEO Sarah Benson.

“Sex buyers have been operating with impunity in Ireland for far too long, and we are hopeful that more convictions will be achieved under this legislation in future.

“Evidence has shown that tackling ‘demand’ is a key mechanism for preventing the sexual exploitation of the most vulnerable in our society. While the sex trade continues to thrive due to buyer’s demand, the criminal gangs running it are profiting.”

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/man-65-convicted-of-purchasing-sex-in-landmark-prostitution-case-899086.html

And whose fault is that when you're the ones who made it highly illegal and trying to scare off less criminal people even more, durrr?! You don't have criminal gangs running boxing clubs because boxing isn't illegal.

Is there any possible legitimate reason why prostitution should be illegal?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ruhama and prudes in govt have it all arseways. The demand will always be there.
    The choice is either bring the industry into the light and legitimise it or drive it further underground where it can't be monitored at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,057 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Lol was the west end retail park known for having brazzers?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,065 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Bad luck I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Ruhama are filth :

(The four religious orders than ran the Magdalene Laundries are the Good Shepherd Sisters, the Sisters of Our Lady of Charity, the Religious Sisters of Charity and the Sisters of Mercy.)

These are the orders all now refusing to contribute anything to the Magdalene Laundry survivors’ compensation fund set up by the Government.

Despite claiming to have no money to pay compensation, the Religious Sisters of Charity paid for the 2009 research report Globalisation, Sex Trafficking and Prostitution: The Experiences of Migrant Women in Ireland produced by the Immigrant Council of Ireland and TORL’s main evidence frequently described as “independent research” but clearly not. The Immigrant Council of Ireland was in fact founded by Sr. Stanislaus Kennedy of the Religious Sisters of Charity.

It has recently come to light that Atlantic Philanthropies have funded the Immigrant Council of Ireland to the tune of 5.9 million US dollars. In fact numerous members of TORL are funded by Atlantic Philanthropies. TORL organisations have received a whopping 40.7 million US dollars from Atlantic Philanthropies in total.

Ruhama was founded by the Good Shepherd Sisters and Our Lady of Charity Sisters. These religious orders also remain the trustees of Ruhama today.

At least 18 different Magdalene order nuns are known to have worked at Ruhama over the years

no money for paying victims though

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

I suppose they're not going to name the person who was selling the sex no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Was it some beauty fresh out of Templemore in a short and fishnets that snared him?;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,206 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

We must stamp it out before we end up like Germany or the Netherlands. Probably safest to just leave the EU.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Still cheaper than marrying someone for it :o

• Registered Users Posts: 24,158 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Poor man. While I'm sure the €200 fine wasn't nice, being named and shamed in the press is the real punishment here imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Thread title is gas. "Hello, I would like to purchase one sex please."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Ruhama and prudes in govt have it all arseways.

Hypocricy is...

Ruhama, defending the right of vulnerable Irish women from the same Catholic orders that ran the Magdalene orders and have done everything possible to cover up their vicious crimes against vulnerable Irish women.

If the Gardai want to investigate actual crimes how about investigating why these poisonous b!tches are still pulling in millions in state funding while their decades of ruining lives has gone unpunished.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

gctest50 wrote: »
    Ruhama are filth :

(The four religious orders than ran the Magdalene Laundries are the Good Shepherd Sisters, the Sisters of Our Lady of Charity, the Religious Sisters of Charity and the Sisters of Mercy.)

These are the orders all now refusing to contribute anything to the Magdalene Laundry survivors’ compensation fund set up by the Government.

Despite claiming to have no money to pay compensation, the Religious Sisters of Charity paid for the 2009 research report Globalisation, Sex Trafficking and Prostitution: The Experiences of Migrant Women in Ireland produced by the Immigrant Council of Ireland and TORL’s main evidence frequently described as “independent research” but clearly not. The Immigrant Council of Ireland was in fact founded by Sr. Stanislaus Kennedy of the Religious Sisters of Charity.

It has recently come to light that Atlantic Philanthropies have funded the Immigrant Council of Ireland to the tune of 5.9 million US dollars. In fact numerous members of TORL are funded by Atlantic Philanthropies. TORL organisations have received a whopping 40.7 million US dollars from Atlantic Philanthropies in total.

Ruhama was founded by the Good Shepherd Sisters and Our Lady of Charity Sisters. These religious orders also remain the trustees of Ruhama today.

At least 18 different Magdalene order nuns are known to have worked at Ruhama over the years

no money for paying victims though

Plus ça change.

Just the RCC in a different set of clothes. It's like we haven't progressed at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/man-65-convicted-of-purchasing-sex-in-landmark-prostitution-case-899086.html

And whose fault is that when you're the ones who made it highly illegal and trying to scare off less criminal people even more, durrr?! You don't have criminal gangs running boxing clubs because boxing isn't illegal.

It’s completely the fault of the adult who knows that what they are doing is illegal, yet they choose to do it anyway.

There have been legitimate reasons given in the article you quoted. The fact that you don’t agree they are legitimate reasons is another matter entirely. You should challenge the law if you want to have any hope of changing it, rather than engaging in illegal activity in the hope you won’t fall foul of existing laws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

How is the prostitute not named and fined as well. Fcuking feminists.

Imagine it being legal to sell drugs but illegal to buy. How strange.

None that I have ever heard. All attempts to argue prostitution is bad which I have heard have actually either been:

1) bad things that happen when you legalize and regulate it poorly or
    2) bad things that happen when it is illegal which the speaker is pretending is bad things about prostitution itself.

I have yet to hear something that was not nonsense - which did not fall into one or those categories.
    There have been legitimate reasons given in the article you quoted.

Where? I just read it twice and saw none.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭McCrack

It's absolutely bonkers that this is criminalised

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

Sleepy wrote: »
    Poor man. While I'm sure the €200 fine wasn't nice, being named and shamed in the press is the real punishment here imo.

I was thinking the same, not all ladies of the night are forced into prostituting.

Once you're an adult, you're supposedly wise enough to make good,bad, right or wrong decisions.

Drug Addiction, college fee's, sex addiction, open mindedness are all the variables with prostution.

I wouldn't tar them all with the one brush, they're not all victims.

I know crime is crime, but this guy obviously made the wrong decision and it will effect him for the foreseeable future.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm all for clamping down on buying sex
    The "happy hooker" doesn't exist. These women are trafficked here, not uncommly by their own countrymen, and forced to sell themselves.
    The numbers of victims of human trafficking in Ireland has almost doubled in four years, with 94 believed to have been children, according to a report by the Council of Europe.SRC
    Highly organised Nigerian gangs are earning “extremely high profits” from trafficking children into 12 European countries, including Ireland, for prostitution, according to the EU police agency. SRC

biko wrote: »
    I'm all for clamping down on buying sex The "happy hooker" doesn't exist.

Two problems there. The first is that you asserted this without evidence they do not exist. The second is that "so what?". People being unhappy in a job or trade does not mean we should shut down that job or trade. So even if your assertion was not just assertion - it would be irrelevant.
    These women are trafficked here, not uncommly by their own countrymen, and forced to sell themselves.

Which "these women" are you speaking of? While I have no doubt _some_ women in the sex trade fit this profile - you have offered no figures on how many it is at all relative to the whole. Just saying the number "doubled" tells us nothing. From what to what? And what % of the complete trade do they represent?

Further though there is nothing here suggesting that making it illegal combats that at all. If we want to combat sex trafficking we should not simply assume making paying for sex illegal is going to solve it.

Further again though - slavery and sex with children are already illegal. Why do we require further laws making them illegaler? Why indict the innocent with crimes of their peers?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The "happy hooker" doesn't exist. These women are trafficked here, not uncommly by their own countrymen, and forced to sell themselves.

Eh did you not read the AMA with the hooker? She was happy out, proper businesswoman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Ronan Mullen pushed for this law, ergo, I'm against it.

Him and those fecking nuns!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

retalivity wrote: »
    Lol was the west end retail park known for having brazzers?

I'd say it was one of the many brazzers in the apartments up there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

How is the prostitute not named and fined as well. Fcuking feminists.

Imagine it being legal to sell drugs but illegal to buy. How strange.

Erm, well now in fairness, if I could play devil's advocate for a tic, young women aren't being shipped here in containers to sell smack :o

Two different ball games requiring two different approaches.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Vic_08

And prosecuting one punter in two years will do what exactly about those terrible crimes?

This new law is just more sh!te regulation that will never see more than token prosecutions.

If our (and other western) governments really wanted to seriously stop the sex trafficking trade then what is needed is resources and huge amounts akin to the trillions they pore into terrorism and their futile war on drugs.

But all that requires real commitment and money so instead we get puritanical lecturing, rubbish laws and a handful of men who most likely had no connection with trafficking being humiliated infront of the unquestioning media.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,733 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Doesn't Ireland have an Escort site? How on earth is that still online if the law changed? It's a funny law, so basically all those hookers on that site can work hassle free, but the guys availing of the service are the ones breaking the law, Weird as they are the one preying on vulnerable guys and rinsing them for large amount of money and then never declaring that money. But arrest the lonely farm who wanted a change from the sheep. Weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,915 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Muckka wrote: »
    I suppose they're not going to name the person who was selling the sex no.

He or she didn't commit a crime, before or after the current legislation, so why should they be named?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Eh did you not read the AMA with the hooker? She was happy out, proper businesswoman.

oh don't be silly, these girls can't think for themselves, she was brainwashed by her pimp into thinking she was happy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

oh don't be silly, these girls can't think for themselves, she was brainwashed by her pimp into thinking she was happy.

You don't be silly, there are plenty of freelance escorts out there and no one is forcing them to do anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭turdball

Probably better off paying for a return flight to Amsterdam for 40 euro and there cheaper over there apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,206 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Drugs are illegal and we have mini armies of highly organised criminal gangs fuelled by the profits from the trade. It just doesn't work.
    It's already an offence to traffick someone into the country, yet we seem to have highly organised criminal gangs getting away with it.

"Clamping down" might make people feel better about the whole situation. It's not going to improve matters one jot.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)