Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cricket World Cup Qualifiers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭VillaMad

Not making it easy for themselves, but well batted Porterfield.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Barring a collapse, looks as though Afghanistan will beat Zimbabwe.
    About that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

2 runs and lost Porterfield in the last over. I'm just a Jonah, I'm going out for coffee.

Oh dear. Another one gone.

KOB out.
    Jaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Claregaafan18

KOB out now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,578 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

KevIRL wrote: »
    Calm down everyone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Normally I'd still be pretty confident in this position but Afghanistans collapse earlier is giving me the jitters

Dockrell in, faced four balls for zip. 20 Runs required off 5 overs.

This is in the bag. The Afghan result actually of more importance than the Ireland one now

Please send me a bag of your confidence. We just got two extras from somewhere. The two lads at the crease have scored 4 runs from 13 deliveries.

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭minitrue

What a great call all round not to stream all the games they aren't doing a full broadcast for, sure who would watch any of this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

It's fascinating stuff, even just watching the graphics. Watching the odds on the Afgh/Zim match, they still give Afgh a fair chance of getting the runs, though I'd be doubtful myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Deise Vu wrote: »
    Please send me a bag of your confidence. We just got two extras from somewhere. The two lads at the crease have scored 4 runs from 13 deliveries.

:eek::eek::eek:

Calm down

They've got this.

10 Runs required from the last three overs. Wilson and Dockrell chipping away singles. 5 in the last over.

3 dots so far this over. Kev, I'm waiting on that bag of confidence.

8 runs required in the last two overs......

It'll be done, but should never be letting it go down to final over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

****ing hell, this is proving a lot more difficult than it should have been

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Rather be in Ireland's position than Afghanistan's but both look like sqeuaking through

7 from 9 now needed.

Boundary for Dockrell! Just 3 needed now.

7 runs required from 9 balls. This is getting tighter than Harney's knickers.

EDit: TF for Dockrell's boundary, it seems like yesterday since we got one.

It's done

Far too close but a win is a win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Phew, that was a dicey one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Never in doubt!

Far too close but a win is a win

Eh, I'm "watching" this on BBC Sport live scores. Are ye ahead of me or just trying to stop me from having a cardiac arrest? Still need 3 according to the Beeb.

Edit: Slow typing, missed Wilson's Boundary.

I always had faith.:p:p

4 wicket win and never in doubt at all really. Funny reading some of the hysterics here. That result will most likely not even matter in the overall scheme of things as it won't carry through to the super 6. Ireland could even have lost that and it not have any material impact on qualification chances.

Deise Vu wrote: »
    Eh, I'm "watching" this on BBC Sport live scores. Are ye ahead of me or just trying to stop me from having a cardiac arrest? Still need 3 according to the Beeb.

Edit: Slow typing, missed Wilson's Boundary.

I always had faith.:p:p

Just trying to save you !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

Afghanistan edging to victory.

That's a massive match for them.

Of far more importance. Afghanistan need 7 from 2 overs with one wicket in hand..

Afghanistan need 6 from 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

5 from 8

They'll need a boundary by the looks of it...
    Need 4 from the last over.

4 from 7

4 needed from the last over. All three outcomes very much possible.

An Afghan win or even a tie would suit us

Dot. 5 balls left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭minitrue

I presume it goes to an Super Over and there is no tie possible? Anyone read the regs?

3 needed from 4

3 needed for the win. 4 balls left

Afghanistan.....so close!!!!

And done. Pity

GONE! Zimbabwe win by 2 runs.

All out. Dang.

4 wicket win and never in doubt at all really. Funny reading some of the hysterics here. That result will most likely not even matter in the overall scheme of things as it won't carry through to the super 6. Ireland could even have lost that and it not have any material impact on qualification chances.

At the same time if they'd lost today and then against the WI, it'd put a lot of pressure on the last match against UAE, and probably just to qualify for the 6. Think it was important to win, or that's how I'd read it anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Damn, that's a big pity for Afghanistan. What a disaster the match turned into and then to still give yourself a chance and lose by just 2 runs

At the same time if they'd lost today and then against the WI, it'd put a lot of pressure on the last match against UAE, and probably just to qualify for the 6. Think it was important to win, or that's how I'd read it anyway.

Yeah of course and it keeps our winning run going as well. Ultimately though our qualification centres on beating one of the windies and Zimbabwe while also beating holland (done), Afghanistan and Scotland. The UAE and PNG games are ones to just get out of the way and especially hope rain doesn't get in the way. We were in full control of that game today despite what you might have read here.

Oh absolutely, I was mostly following the other game at the end anyway. Performance wasn't great but probably to be expected after the good showing the other day. They do look to be in pretty good shape out there.