Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
08-01-2018, 14:30   #46
wait4me
Registered User
 
wait4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,795
So my Nvidia Shield was delivered today and I'm looking forward to opening the package tonight. I'm following this thread with avid interest as to what to load/not load onto it; and would welcome any links (by PM if need be) that anybody could share that might make our (Nvida and me) future interesting. Thanks
wait4me is offline  
Advertisement
08-01-2018, 14:43   #47
cronos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by wait4me View Post
So my Nvidia Shield was delivered today and I'm looking forward to opening the package tonight. I'm following this thread with avid interest as to what to load/not load onto it; and would welcome any links (by PM if need be) that anybody could share that might make our (Nvida and me) future interesting. Thanks
Also interested in this info
cronos is offline  
08-01-2018, 16:10   #48
clintondaly
Registered User
 
clintondaly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,268
Hi all

I just posted this on a plex discussion elsewhere but thought it may be handy here too.

I just got and set up the Nvidia shield over the weekend(16 GB Version)
Installed/updated Plex and Plex server on it,connected a 500GB HDD and mapped it as an internal drive on the unit and then also connected up a 1TB HDD which has my movies etc.as an External Hard Drive
I have the Shield and both HDD's mapped on my laptop and can access both HDD's via laptop in terms of reading files,see below for writing to HDD.

I can download directly(using utorrent) into the 1TB HDD from my laptop but you can only write to 1 specific folder which is called "Nvidia Shield" in this folder I have now set up TV/MOVIE/MUSIC sub folders and have pointed plex to this location and also the location of the stuff on the 1TB prior to hooking it up

So far all is working perfectly,the one thing to bear in mind with the 16GB version is if your'e using plex etc. it needs to write the metadata to the internal drive which is why i mapped the 500GB as an internal drive,as if you had a lot of media as i do, you will be taking the space from the 16GB capacity drive.
I am also using this "Nvidia Shield" folder to drop APKs into and then using ES File Manager to install the APK

Also,The Plex Media Server app does not auto update,you have to go to the Play Store and push the update via a browser as it contains an SMB share setting that allows you to share you HDD over a local network within the Shield Storage and Reset settings,this option will not appear unless the Plex Server app is updated(it was the case for me anyway for a shield only 2 weeks old)

The above set up allows me to stream to any device with the Plex app installed, although i have the streams limited to 3 at the same time.

As for what I have installed so far
Kodi
ES File Manager
Aptoide-To sideload apps from within the Aptoide App(dont forget to allow unknown sources in settings)
Chrome

One other point- some apps that you install wont show up on the main screen,you have to navigate to the setting areas and go to the apps section to see them,there are a few launchers to sort them but i have tried one or two and didn't like the look of them (HAL Launcher & Tv Launcher) Anyone got any good launcher suggestions ?

Hope the above helps some people

Last edited by clintondaly; 08-01-2018 at 16:31. Reason: Additional info
clintondaly is offline  
08-01-2018, 16:56   #49
givecredit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by clintondaly View Post

One other point- some apps that you install wont show up on the main screen,you have to navigate to the setting areas and go to the apps section to see them,there are a few launchers to sort them but i have tried one or two and didn't like the look of them (HAL Launcher & Tv Launcher) Anyone got any good launcher suggestions ?

Hope the above helps some people

Install TV Repo App to bring apps to main screen.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...laystore&hl=en
givecredit is offline  
(2) thanks from:
09-01-2018, 13:08   #50
Rock Paper Scissors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 562
I have a 128GB Sandisk USB drive inserted into my shield but its very loose even though its fully inserted.

Is anybody else experiencing this from a USB drive they have connected?

Not sure if I have a fault connection or if its "normal" for it to be loose.
Rock Paper Scissors is offline  
Advertisement
09-01-2018, 13:28   #51
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Paper Scissors View Post
I have a 128GB Sandisk USB drive inserted into my shield but its very loose even though its fully inserted.

Is anybody else experiencing this from a USB drive they have connected?

Not sure if I have a fault connection or if its "normal" for it to be loose.
HDD in mine. Not loose.
Kuva is offline  
09-01-2018, 14:02   #52
Rock Paper Scissors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 562
your HDD is fitted to the shield via USB?
Rock Paper Scissors is offline  
09-01-2018, 14:07   #53
pawrick
Registered User
 
pawrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Paper Scissors View Post
I have a 128GB Sandisk USB drive inserted into my shield but its very loose even though its fully inserted.

Is anybody else experiencing this from a USB drive they have connected?

Not sure if I have a fault connection or if its "normal" for it to be loose.
I put in a 64GB sandisk usb drive on mine to tide me over until i get a larger one, it seems secure in mine.
pawrick is offline  
09-01-2018, 16:46   #54
iggy
Registered User
 
iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,851
Anyone got RetroX working on their shield?
Tried numerous times but can't get it to work.
Where do I put the games from my PC to the shield?
iggy is online now  
Advertisement
09-01-2018, 16:58   #55
studdlymurphy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 755
I had the 2015 model and then upgraded to the 2017 model for the 4k output.
Have to say not to impressed unless there is a problem with the device and that is my guess.
It can be slow to respond and sometimes freezes that i need to reboot. I never had these problems with the older model and they both have all the same apps.
Ill likely return it for another to see if there is any improvement.
Any suggestions in the meantime? Is this common
studdlymurphy is offline  
09-01-2018, 17:08   #56
yabadabado
Registered User
 
yabadabado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13,511
I have the 2017 and I don't think it has ever frozen.
Had to reboot it maybe once in a few months of constant use.
yabadabado is offline  
09-01-2018, 17:46   #57
keano25
Registered User
 
keano25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,553
Mine was freezing and lagging for weeks. I use the slim remote and the battery was registering as full.

Tried just about everything and still freezing.

New batterys sorted the problem immediately. Can't understand why it was showing as full but it works again so I'm happy.
keano25 is offline  
09-01-2018, 21:06   #58
studdlymurphy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by keano25
New batterys sorted the problem immediately. Can't understand why it was showing as full but it works again so I'm happy.

Nice one ill try new batteries before returning.
It was a big let down as the older one was flawless.
Thanks for the help.
studdlymurphy is offline  
10-01-2018, 07:42   #59
Johnny Dogs
Comic Sans
 
Johnny Dogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by iggy View Post
Anyone got RetroX working on their shield?
Tried numerous times but can't get it to work.
Where do I put the games from my PC to the shield?
Pm me for details, I'll try and help if I can.
Johnny Dogs is offline  
Thanks from:
10-01-2018, 20:20   #60
Blazer
Registered User
 
Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,135
Android 8 coming to Shield

http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/nvi...android-o.html
Blazer is offline  
(3) thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet