Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
15-03-2010, 23:53   #46
Mr E
Administrator
 
Mr E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 47,033
If you're installing for the first time, then a wipe is recommended.
When you install subsequent versions, you can overwrite without wiping.
Mr E is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
16-03-2010, 00:09   #47
delta214
Registered User
 
delta214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 219
Is there any way of backing up the apps, or do i just have to make a list and reinstall them?
delta214 is offline  
16-03-2010, 00:14   #48
Mr E
Administrator
 
Mr E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 47,033
I'm sure you can use titanium backup or something like that, but the apps are so small, it takes minutes to set them up again. Any apps you paid for (if you paid for any) are tied to your gmail account, so they show up as "Purchased" in the market and can be redownloaded very easily.
Mr E is offline  
(2) thanks from:
22-03-2010, 10:08   #49
James.m.c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Thank god this thread was set up, the last one was pretty much a joke reading it. I'm still having alot of trouble with the 3g reception dropping, and I have lodged a complaint with meteor in the hope that they would hactually do something. Instead I'm free to end my contract and move elsewhere.

They gave up pretty easily, they would not or could not help me
James.m.c is offline  
23-03-2010, 16:03   #50
breeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by James.m.c View Post
Thank god this thread was set up, the last one was pretty much a joke reading it. I'm still having alot of trouble with the 3g reception dropping, and I have lodged a complaint with meteor in the hope that they would hactually do something. Instead I'm free to end my contract and move elsewhere.

They gave up pretty easily, they would not or could not help me
Lads, I'm in the same boat. My phone is completely dropping coverage about 3/4 times a day, pretty annoying if people are trying to ring text me. I got onto Meteor and they said there's nothing they can do apart from sending it off for repair which wont do anything as it's a network problem! I signed up to an 18 month contract in November last, cant have this issue going on like this until then. Do I have any options?
breeno is offline  
Advertisement
23-03-2010, 16:08   #51
Mr E
Administrator
 
Mr E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 47,033
Maybe a meteor user can answer this, but can the radio be upgraded easily on one of their phones? Updating the radio can improve reception and signal quality.

Just out of curiousity, look on your phone (Settings) and find out what version of the radio is installed. It will be on the About screen, and it is called "Baseband Version" I think...
Mr E is offline  
23-03-2010, 16:21   #52
breeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr E View Post
Maybe a meteor user can answer this, but can the radio be upgraded easily on one of their phones? Updating the radio can improve reception and signal quality.

Just out of curiousity, look on your phone (Settings) and find out what version of the radio is installed. It will be on the About screen, and it is called "Baseband Version" I think...
I'm using the latest radio 63.18.55.06ju_6.35.09.26. Had the same problem with any radio I've tried.
breeno is offline  
23-03-2010, 18:30   #53
Yenwod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baza210 View Post
You might want to mention that you can access paid apps if you use a SIM card from a paid-apps enabled country like an O2 UK SIM. You can then download the application over your home wifi.
Could you elaborate on this please? I have access to an english sim card...what application do I need to download? I may root my phone in the future but for the moment, would like to try this. Thanks!
Yenwod is offline  
25-03-2010, 00:03   #54
Proxy
Registered User
 
Proxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 831
Just wondering if anybody has found a radio app that can play Irish radio stations (particularly TodayFM)? I've found other radio streaming apps, but none that could play the web streams. Ideas? Thanks.
Proxy is offline  
Advertisement
25-03-2010, 00:21   #55
Andrew76
Moderator
 
Andrew76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yenwod View Post
Could you elaborate on this please? I have access to an english sim card...what application do I need to download? I may root my phone in the future but for the moment, would like to try this. Thanks!
Just pop in your UK sim card and go into the Android Market place as normal (over wifi), you should be able to search for paid apps or see them under the "Just In" heading. You'll need to sign into Google Checkout using the UK number and a postcode and then you can buy apps, download and install as normal. Then when you switch back to your normal sim card they're still there. Works a treat.
Andrew76 is offline  
25-03-2010, 09:37   #56
wardie101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxy View Post
Just wondering if anybody has found a radio app that can play Irish radio stations (particularly TodayFM)? I've found other radio streaming apps, but none that could play the web streams. Ideas? Thanks.
I use "A Online Radio" and it streams Today FM and Newstalk fine
wardie101 is offline  
Thanks from:
25-03-2010, 10:07   #57
madmoe
Registered User
 
madmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,678
I use "A Online Radio" as well but can't find 2FM and some of the others :-(
madmoe is offline  
Thanks from:
25-03-2010, 20:00   #58
overthebridge
Registered User
 
overthebridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 428
TuneWiki gets me streams of TodayFm - Great App too By the way !!
overthebridge is offline  
25-03-2010, 21:01   #59
madmoe
Registered User
 
madmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,678
Using TuneWiki for weeks now and its the business! How do you add the streams??
madmoe is offline  
26-03-2010, 10:51   #60
Yenwod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew76 View Post
Just pop in your UK sim card and go into the Android Market place as normal (over wifi), you should be able to search for paid apps or see them under the "Just In" heading. You'll need to sign into Google Checkout using the UK number and a postcode and then you can buy apps, download and install as normal. Then when you switch back to your normal sim card they're still there. Works a treat.
Nice!! Thank you kindly sir
Yenwod is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet