Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What your child did/said that made you smile today.

19495969798100»

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

Listrydude wrote: »
    so loving the random 'I love you, Daddy'! from my 4 year old boy. It just goes too fast...

It's ok mines 16 and I still get them. And it means just as much :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,970 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I was lying down with her on the big bed a few nights ago before bedtime. We often go in there and play before going to the toilet to brush teeth, wash hands etc and then into her own bed.
    Lying down, face to face I asked did she have a nice birthday (Sunday gone). She replied that she did. I asked 'What was the best bit.... or maybe it was all good?' She told me the best bit was the people that came and the cake.

We only had two couples and one other child around so it was a very small party but it hit me in the feels. No mention of presents. It was the company she appreciated and of course, cake.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭gucci

We live in England and brought the kids (3.5 and 8months) to alton towers splash landings water park on Monday.
    The oldest lad was in heaven, couldn't keep up with him and how much fun he was having. The small lad who has been hugely temperamental and uncomfortable for months with digestion issues was the most chilled out I ever seen him.
    Complete chaos all around him and kids shouting end playing and he just sat splashing and laughing.
    He even fell asleep for 40mins on my lap sitting in a few inches of water.

A lovely family day

My husband had been working long hours all week- up early and home late. I am pregnant and my poor husband has been making the dinners in the evening and washing up after, to give me a rest.

My 4 year spotted my husband on the sofa around 7.30, beginning to nod off and roared at him...

'You look lazy Daddy'.

I was howling :D. Some day, my son will understand.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Little guy (3) has been asking to go to a swimming pool for absolutely months.Last time he was in one was probably February 2020, and he wasn't 2, so he probably doesn't remember.
    We bought a gym membership a couple of weeks ago and I finally got him into the pool last week for the first time.He was so, so excited.I brought him back today and he was just thrilled, splashing around and delighted with himself. It was just lovely to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

A couple of times over the last week or so the little man has been asking me to play Donny Dees while in the car. I have a couple of playlists I listen to with him that are heavily Beatles centric and I couldn't for the life of me figure out Donny Deeds was. Earlier we were in the car and Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap by AC/DC come on. Himself chimes up, "that's the one I wanted daddy, that's Donny Dees".

Love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭SnowyMuckish

My LO who’s 20 months reminds me so much of Father Jack at the moment, all I’m hearing out of him this week is “dink, dink, mammy, dink, mammy dink!!!”

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

We have a boy who'll tell us he needs the potty without prompting! Finally able to leave the house without a nappy stash.

Not sure what the heck happened but my 4 year old is giving lots of kisses at the moment. She's in a phase where she pretends to be Dracula and so you offer your neck only to be kissed instead of bitten. Current bedtime routine starts off with going to the big bed and I lie down on the bed to be 'attacked' by what seems to be a random animal, only to be kissed and told 'it's just me'.

So loving the sweetness of it.

Post edited by Kintarō Hattori on

Small boy, just shy of 13 months slept from 7.30pm til 7am this morning, on Saturday he slept til about 6am.

He has never slept through before, or even been anything close to sleeping through before. Wakes multiple times per night for anything between 5 mins or 2 hours, so I am hoping its a trend he continues.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Heighway61

Picking my teenage son up from the school bus I lined up a song on the car radio from when I was his age. Hoping for a little connection but expecting a scoff or grunt at best. Halfway through I looked over at him. He knew what I was asking and broke into a big grin and said "that's good". I told him all about the band.

Four year old boy has been a terror lately, refusing to participate in everything and anything without lots of coaxing and plamausing (although he is getting better...and I guess so are we in terms of how we are managing)

Brought him to see Santa at Bunratty Castle, he was a bit arsey on the way in (I actually think he is a bit scared of Santa, which is fine) he was hiding behind me and saying he was bored and tired while we were waiting. Then the big man appeared up on the castle platform and his jaw was on the floor with shock. He was fully subscribed and buzzing for the rest of the weekend, bring on Christmas!

3 year old was in the sitting room this morning with her "baby", Harry. She was attempting to swaddle him using a sandwich and the missus said to her "you shouldn't wrap your baby in plastic" to which herself replies, "he's not a real baby Mammy"

In the bathroom getting ready for bed last night and my 4.5 year old told me she'd like to have a baby when she grew up. I asked her if it was a boy, what would she call him. Frank apparently. Asked her if it was a girl what would she call her, Amelia. Heart melted.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

At the weekend we took two of my nephews to the playground in the Phoenix Park Visitor Centre. Before we got there and were driving through the park, the 4 year old was able to tell me that his daddy had brought him here before, there is a white gate and a playground and a maze and a coffee shop...and they sell ICE CREAM. All correct 😆

On the way home as we drove out you go quite close the the gates into Áras an Uachtaráin and the 2 year old (almost 3) pipes up from the back seat, "The President's tree is down!" without any of us even mentioning the president OR the Christmas tree at the gate. I love how their little brains work.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

My 7 and 5 year old were doing the laundry where the 7 year old sorts it and the 5 year old finds sock pairs. I hear her say to him

'If you throw 1 more sock at my head I am going to suck some of yours (socks) and put them in your drawer' 🤣

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Me and 8 year old went to Eason to buy him the Beano. While there I picked up a magazine for myself. As soon as we got home he says to my wife "Dad got a magazine with lots of pretty girls in it"

😬😬😬😬😬😬😬

The pretty girls

Haha classic, my two lads have their hair fairly long (almost 5 and almost 2) the older lad met some random kids in library last week and they had similar hair.

"Hi, do you want to be my friend? You have hair like me, do people sometimes think your girls?"

"Yeah some times"

"Yeah me too, I dont care, rock stars have long hair"

5 year old has a remarkable grasp of the English language and will often use words that alot of adults wouldn't use, usually in the correct context This is partly driven by his love of audiobooks. Every day that hes been at home during the summer he has listened to either 101 Dalmatians (the original novel, not the Disney version), the original story of Paddington Bear or the original Winnie the Pooh stories, he will literally sit for hours on end drawing and listening to them. Obviously given the time they were written, the language is much different from modern day books. Over the weekend, we were in a garden centre and we discovered they sold little Venus fly traps. He is also obsessed currently with the natural world so upon hearing that we would buy one he said "yes, thats a good idea, our house is fraught with flies at the moment".

I find it hilarious to hear him talk like this as its so out of step with most kids. My only fear is that because of how he speaks sometimes it will make him a target, he's starting school tomorrow so the safety net is now gone.

We've watched the original Stars Wars Trilogy with the kids over the last couple of weekends, finishing up with Return of the Jedi yesterday evening.

We were chatting about who we were in the films.

Son said he was Luke.

Daughter said she was Leia.

Asked son who was I, expecting him to say someone badass like Han or Chewbacca.

Jabba the Hutt says the boy.

And why am I Jabba says I?

Because you're big like Jabba.

Im buying a fuckin treadmill.

🤬

• Registered Users Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭Gatica

The three-year-old calls to his sister in the other room and says to her by name, "I love you". random, unprompted. It was so sweet...

4.5 year old was telling the story of Jesus over the weekend to her brother and explained that Jesus was born to be the king of the juice.🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Yesterday my 6 year old had a dancing camp that we dropped her to at 11 while my 9 year old stayed home. After lunch he asked if he could watch TV for a while but the remote control couldn't be found anywhere. Turns out my girl had hidden it so that she didn't miss out on any screen time. He was fuming 🤣🤣

Sad point is that we had registered him for the camp aswell and he would have loved it but he saw 2 girls on the way in that were sisters of boys in his class so he didn't do it in case word got back to the school. I hate single sex schools

Thats such a crock of shyt. Awful how even at that age kids are so self conscious.

Yeah I know.

He does a drama and dancing class further afield where there is no one from the area that knows him so at least he can do what he likes to do in safety there. Anything local is not going to happen anymore. Last year he was fine with all of these camps but this year it is all about what other people will say to him or think of him 😥. He is really a very gentle boy* and struggles a bit with the more sporty/confident boys. The school is just all about football but he has no interest at all in it.

*except where it comes to his sister

Sounds alot like my near 6 year old tbh. Loves music, audio books and drawing. We have him and his sister in a weekly music class. Very basic stuff but he loves it. Last week they had a 3 day "songwriting" camp and pm Thursday all the kids performed the song they had written for the parents and grandparents, really good fun. We bring him to football once a week and I'm involved with the coaching. When I say football, it's more a bunch of 5 and 6 year olds running around having a laugh but it's good for socialisation. I haven't an athletic bone in my body so there'll be no pressure to emulate me anyway.🤣

I have two energetic boys (2.5 and 5.5) on Saturday, the smaller guy who is potty training blocked the toilet after tossing a full roll of toilet paper down the bog.

So we made the trip to the hardware shop to buy a plunger. The lads were so excited on way home, practically fighting over the new plunger in the back of the car....well actually they were fighting over it, but they do that over pretty much everything, so you get used to that.

I got the toilet unblocked reasonably easily and quickly and after a quick tidy up the lads wanted a go, so they spent a good 20 mins taking turns plunging the toilet and laughing uncontrollably. The bathroom floor was soaking and so were they by the end of it, but sure it was 20 degrees outside so i sent them outside to the trampoline to dry off while I mopped the floor and everyone calmed down.

Great entertainment for any family for 8 euro!