Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Should Berlin in Dame St be closed down?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

But the GAA was founded there though

That makes it all right then.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,807 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Public alcohol consumption + social distancing are not compatible, this has to be acknowledged.

This. You can have 100% of people with the best of ‘intentions’ when getting their glad rags on and hopping on the bus or into a taxi but those intentions soon get forgotten after a few drinks.... it's the social environment coupled with alcohol and the effect it has on the brain, impairs judgement and decision making, lowering inhibitions etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Just for context, and there's 2 more after it.
    https://twitter.com/NoelRock/status/1294764775147266049?s=19

Gotta laugh at the dozy slappers with the masks on.
    Look like classy ladies.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

The Russians have one, very minimal testing and I would not take it but they have one.

Yeah Im aware of that but "having one" and having a proven vaccine are not one and the same. Id rather lock myself in a room for 3 years than take one of the first few batches of a Russian vaccine.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Other than the pouring of the drinks and maybe, just maybe touching off peoples rotten mouths and on to the next.

Doesn't actually look that bad when you look at all 3 videos.

People aren't on top of each other. Doesn't seem to be that many either. Looks like markings on the floor where a group are all together.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

What the f*ck happened to you people? Grassing people up to the fun police as we descend into a joyless dystopia.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

hairyslug wrote: »
    What happened in Berlin Took My Breath Away, I have No More Words but it was only a Matter Of Time. Can someone Tell Me Why etc etc

(Songs by Berlin you Philistines)

Only heard of the first one

• Registered Users Posts: 8,926 ✭✭✭pgj2015

is that a gay bar? seemed pretty gay to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Strumms wrote: »
    This. You can have 100% of people with the best of ‘intentions’ when getting their glad rags on and hopping on the bus or into a taxi but those intentions soon get forgotten after a few drinks.... it's the social environment coupled with alcohol and the effect it has on the brain, impairs judgement and decision making, lowering inhibitions etc.

If this the formula bars will be closed for awhile.

Personally i think if owner cannot adhere be closed 2 weeks which is the accepted norm time-frame...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

The curtain twitchers will wail and gnash their teeth, the media will lap up the clicks, the government will react to the media just as they always do, NPHET will use it to further their agenda. All very predictable.

Which is?

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭WashYourHands

Shut it down for good - it's a threat to Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Which is?
    Oireachtas comittee meeting...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

People going up to the bar, one by one taking drinks. Bar man had a Mask on. There were some people dancing in the background, most likely in the groups that they were with already.

What's the problem?

Open to correction, but under the restrictions people are supposed to sit at their tables, and the staff will take their orders and serve the drink to them there.Customers should not go to the bar to order or stand and drink there.

That would be correct and pouring alcohol into people's mouths is not better than a fecking glass... Some spittle ending up on the bottle etc. Really reaching to claim they were following the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It's basically the loud music and dancing that people are objecting to. If there was no music, and people were standing still and the barman said please come to the bar for your shot in a shot glass and return to your seat in silence, there wouldn't be any objection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

So this was the event from someone the media calls an influencer(Jess Brennan) however she does not have many followers so I'm not sure that title is correct.

EfjPJx2XoAAxr2n?format=png&name=small

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Acosta

Disgraceful scenes even if there wasn't a pandemic. The f***ing state of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

So this was the event from someone the media calls an influencer(Jess Brennan) however she does not have many followers so I'm not sure that title is correct.

EfjPJx2XoAAxr2n?format=png&name=small

Man thats cringy as fcuk.

Im old as fcuk though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

It is easy to be outraged, but where the F are the Gardai in Dublin 2 on a Saturday night?
    Or who exactly is responsible for ensuring that social distancing is being adhered to?
    If the answer is nobody, then it is probably time to close all the pubs.

Im old as fcuk though.

I'm old too but it reads like some parody from a GTA game.

It is easy to be outraged, but where the F are the Gardai in Dublin 2 on a Saturday night?
    Or who exactly is responsible for ensuring that social distancing is being adhered to?

In a pub I would hope management is responsible to call the Garda but legally I doubt they are obliged to report such a crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I'm really glad that the LVA, an organisation that bitterly opposed anti-smoking and anti-drink driving legislation is been given so much airtime about public health issues. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Jizique

It wasn’t at night and it was a private “brunch party”; now, it probably should be closed due to Jay Bourke’s Involvement alone, but not sure you can blame the cops for this one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Or perhaps just close the non compliant pubs for 2 weeks for the first breach, 4 weeks for the next and I doubt there will be many needing a third closure.

The worst of the pubs will have loads of social media videos showing how great the 'craic' is so no need to even enter the pubs, just get the Gardai to call in with a closure notice the following morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭hynesie08

It's a Saturday afternoon and if I remember the layout of that bar properly, they're out of view of the street. It's also a private function so who's going to call them?

Still a shower of ***** though....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭dotsman

In the absence of safe, well run pubs being allowed to open by the government, I wouldn't punish any pub for opening in whatever manner. What we see in this clip, and all the house-parties and field sessions are exactly what an intelligent person would expect to happen in this era of prohibition.

Throughout the summer, when a young/fun person has gone out to socialise and have even a bit of fun, they are hoping to find a venue that will break the rules. Why? Because the rules are stupid and unworkable (€9 food and 105 minutes are exactly the kind of rules that a bureaucrat that has never had fun would dream up of). Instead, all pubs should be open, with the government working with them to ensure low-risk environments (seating-only, decent distance between each table, tables/chairs out on the streets, strict table-service, strict hygiene of bar staff etc). Allow people to have fun in a safe way, and they won't need to pursue risky activities that we see in the clip.

P.S. threads like this highlight how many old/dull people there are on boards :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,932 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I feel dumber after reading it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,474 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Im old as fcuk though.

I'm also old :(
    But Christ almighty that baked brunch post takes the Ballad of Gay Tony and makes it seem classy and über butch!

f26.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

Whatever about losing their licence, that video is some seriously cringy stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Im old as fcuk though.

I couldnt read anymore after "admish"