Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Know Your Veg*ns (Pictures and info!)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

Missiechan wrote: »
    If backed into a corner I'll eat a little fish, like if I'm in a place with a big group that serves nothing veggie (yes, I'm looking at you Bubba Gump's of Orlando, Florida!) but I prefer not to.

So you are a pescetarian, veering towards vegetarian land!?!! Anyhow, being a pescetarian in these parts is better than saying you are a veggie that eats fish. :o
    Welcome :) From what part of the country to you hail? We've had meet-ups in Dublin, Cork and soon to be various counties in the West.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Thoushaltnot

Hey, Redwoods do quite passable fish fingers. Not as fishy as the real thing but uncannily similar in texture. Good for a fish finger sammich.
    Am wondering whether a bit o'seaweed would make them "fishier" but I bought the last packet in Listons and they don't look like they're restocking, so I may not have an answer for ye anytime soon..

My cat approves of those fish fingers :) Can't imagine what it's like between bread. I think we discussed fake fish some thread there a while back...

...now, back to introductions and pics :D

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Missiechan

So you are a pescetarian, veering towards vegetarian land!?!! Anyhow, being a pescetarian in these parts is better than saying you are a veggie that eats fish. :o
    Welcome :) From what part of the country to you hail? We've had meet-ups in Dublin, Cork and soon to be various counties in the West.

Not really, I don't like fish at all and prefer not to eat it. But there are occasions, like in hospital or on a plane, where my only other option was 'go hungry.' Florida was one of the worst, I could bluff it out in the all-you-can-eat salad bars but places that specialise in seafood had nothing to offer me. At least I held out until the second last day of the holiday!

And yes Tar.Aldarion, I am indeed talking about cosplay. That fuzzy pic of me there is meant to be me with KK Slider ^_^

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Oh yeah, high 5. Some of that stuff can be very, eh, intriguing ^^

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭smegmar

o hai missiechan.

I know you from the Zom beers didn't know you were veggie too. I was in Orlando, horrible place to be a veggie. we all have slip ups don't worry as long keep at it.

Also most airlines have an option to book a veggie meal at no extra cost. I did it and there was a mix up so I had no meal, as compensation I was put in first class:):cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Missiechan

Hey smegmar! I think I recall us having a discussion about vegetarianism in the pub during our undead cannibal discussion group.

Actually, do people count as meat?

I was offered no reward on the plane, I was told I could have chicken or nothing. T_T Same with the hospital.

Missiechan wrote: »

I was offered no reward on the plane, I was told I could have chicken or nothing. T_T Same with the hospital.

Ok the plane thing wouldn't bother me.
    It is just one meal....but when your sick and stuck in hospital!
    For christs sake!!! :eek:
    Which hospital was this?
    I get really mean when I'm hungary, more fool them if they try starve me. :pac:

I'm shocked that Florida would be so bad.
    Even in Serbia, where they are obsessed with fitting as many grilled meats into a meal as possible. I never had to go without.
    I mean it is warm there, don't people like salad?

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭I-like-eggs,mmm

I'm Amy(hello hello), 23, a general nurse & have been vegetarian with vegan aspirations for over a year now. Previous history of numerous vegetarian attempts, but stopped in my tracks by overly concerned parents each time....:rolleyes:

Am heading off to London next year to do my MSC. in Nutrition...:D (Wahoo). Have always had an interest in the alternative approach to health/lifestyle with strong belief that diet & other lifestyle factors are a major cause of a lot of illnesses/disease today. And yeah, that's one of the main reasons I became vegetarian :) Other reasons being ecological & ethical.

Can cook!! And love to. Love music, food, cooking, film, attempting to make/feck up clothes, occupying my already overactive mind with interesting books & a million other things which I won't bother mentioning.

Welcome to the forum :)

Hey Amy.
    Wicked picture! :D

Fairplay for sticking at the veggie thing despite the failed attempts. :)

I have grand aspirations to make my halloween costume this year.
    Stick around and give me tips please! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Salvodor Herb

Hi everyone:)
    so im stephen from dublin but spend most time studying in wondeful cork:D
    i love music, food, movies and spending time with friends

well hope to make some new friends here everyone seems really nice too

(hope the pic attached....)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭maameeo

hi stephen *waves*

yea we are just awesome round here, join in! :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hope to see ya posting around Stephen, sure come to some of our meetups, they are usually in Dublin but we just had one in cork too.

Is your name a brand of tea?
    I'm Amy(hello hello), 23, a general nurse & have been vegetarian with vegan aspirations for over a year now. Previous history of numerous vegetarian attempts, but stopped in my tracks by overly concerned parents each time....:rolleyes:

Am heading off to London next year to do my MSC. in Nutrition...:D (Wahoo). Have always had an interest in the alternative approach to health/lifestyle with strong belief that diet & other lifestyle factors are a major cause of a lot of illnesses/disease today. And yeah, that's one of the main reasons I became vegetarian :) Other reasons being ecological & ethical.

Can cook!! And love to. Love music, food, cooking, film, attempting to make/feck up clothes, occupying my already overactive mind with interesting books & a million other things which I won't bother mentioning.

Hello Amy, loving the eggs name. You look exactly like a girl I know, although maybe the angle and face paint are putting me off. hehe
    Books woo! and so on

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Salvodor Herb

Hope to see ya posting around Stephen, sure come to some of our meetups, they are usually in Dublin but we just had one in cork too.

Is your name a brand of tea?

Thanks tar,
    yea il try join in on some posts!
    i dont think its is a brand of tea jus put it together myself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Xandrius

Hello everybody

Im new to this forum, I am a member on the vegetarian meetup group but have never been here before but have talked to some of you before. Anyways Im a 31 year old vegetarian, been a veggie for 13 years now and Im enjoying it to the fullest. Other than that I live in Dublin, I have been here for 2 month and I come from Norway. I guess Im going to be here for at least a year since my contract says so, but maybe I stick around for a longer period of time. About me, Im a movie geek that make movies and watch alot of movies. I like playing basketball and I like reading about politics and astronomy, Im also a bit of a gamer. I also like reading this forum while Im at work since its really funny to read, so now Im jsut trying to see if I can have anything to give to this forum. :cool:xandrius.jpg

Ooopps that picture got a bit big, hehehe

Welcome along Xandrius, look forward to your contributions. :)

Nice hair! You say you make movies? What kind? 0_o :)
    What games you play? Love them myself

I make all kinds of movies, mostly short movies but I have also made some longer documentaries and music videos. I have studied journalism and film making for 6 years. I also started to make a documentary for an animal rights group in Norway but since I did not live in Oslo at the time it was difficult so I canceled the project, but I would really like to make some animal right films in the future. When it comes to games I mostly play Xbox360 games, sometimes i play pc games but not as much as before I got the 360. Genre of games I have to say stradegy games, shooters and RPG games like red alert 3, battlefield series and fallout 3, Oblivion and so on.

How about yourself?

btw Tar.Aldarion are you swedish? Reason im asking is because of your swedish sentence on your location.

Hello Xandrius!

Nice to see you found us. We meet some lovely meet up people at a BBQ recently.

Your dressed up in this photo here?

I know what the Finns think of Swedes......what do you Norwegians make of them?

Hi Stephen. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Sapsorrow

Xandrius wrote: »
    Hello everybody

Im new to this forum, I am a member on the vegetarian meetup group but have never been here before but have talked to some of you before. Anyways Im a 31 year old vegetarian, been a veggie for 13 years now and Im enjoying it to the fullest. Other than that I live in Dublin, I have been here for 2 month and I come from Norway. I guess Im going to be here for at least a year since my contract says so, but maybe I stick around for a longer period of time. About me, Im a movie geek that make movies and watch alot of movies. I like playing basketball and I like reading about politics and astronomy, Im also a bit of a gamer. I also like reading this forum while Im at work since its really funny to read, so now Im jsut trying to see if I can have anything to give to this forum. :cool:

Hiya Espen I met you on meetup.com already welcome to boards!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Hi new people:D hope you find the veg forum nice and stick around:) have a good time!

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Hello Xandrius!

Nice to see you found us. We meet some lovely meet up people at a BBQ recently.

Your dressed up in this photo here?

I know what the Finns think of Swedes......what do you Norwegians make of them?

No Im not dressed up, this is how I look sometimes. I dont have the mohawk right now but still have short hair and the facial hair. Lets say it this way we like the swedes better than the finns since we understand what the swedes say, but of course we have alot of jokes about the swedes.
    Yeah I was going to the BBQ also in cork but I did not get my tax money before this week so I really did not have the money. But hope to come along on the next meetup that is happening.:)

thanx for the welcome khrystyna100 and master of nothing, I think I will have a good time here since everybody seems very nice :D

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭DonnieScribbles

Hello to Stephen, hello to Xandrius :)
    Xandrius, I make films myself on occasion... Do you have any of your stuff online anywhere?

Hello to Stephen, hello to Xandrius :)
    Xandrius, I make films myself on occasion... Do you have any of your stuff online anywhere?

Yes I have some movies online, some a bit weird and others a bit cooler. Cool that you also make movies maybe we can make something some time :)
    Link to my site on dailymotion http://www.dailymotion.com/user/Xandrius have a good screening and dont get to shocked of 1 or 2 movies its only humour :D

Love to see some of your stuff to if you have it onliine

No Im not dressed up, this is how I look sometimes. I dont have the mohawk right now but still have short hair and the facial hair. Lets say it this way we like the swedes better than the finns since we understand what the swedes say, but of course we have alot of jokes about the swedes.
    Yeah I was going to the BBQ also in cork but I did not get my tax money before this week so I really did not have the money. But hope to come along on the next meetup that is happening.:)

Looking forward to meeting you :)

I have a soft spot for finns, I think they are a little bit Irish in their alcoholism outlook.

My connection is desperate tonight....much check those films out again.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭DonnieScribbles

Yes I have some movies online, some a bit weird and others a bit cooler. Cool that you also make movies maybe we can make something some time :)
    Link to my site on dailymotion http://www.dailymotion.com/user/Xandrius have a good screening and dont get to shocked of 1 or 2 movies its only humour :D

Love to see some of your stuff to if you have it onliine

Just had a look at some of your stuff, the trailers are funny! Did you actually make the full length films or just the trailers?
    I liked Esken/The Box. I thought I didn't understand it because it's in Norwegian but then I saw the name 'David Lynch' mentioned in the description ;)
    Some great acting there too :D
    The video's are well shot, do you shoot them yourself? What kind of camera do you use? The Taste The Flower trailer is very nicely shot.

And since I asked, I better show you some of my stuff too:
    <Mod snip>

I'm quite critical of what I have on there, but some of it's okay! I've been mainly editing for the past two years or so, I studied Film and TV at college and specialised in editing. A short film and doc that I cut are on there, aswell as some other silly stuff. Me and my friend are just finishing off a music video now though and I think it's an improvement on earlier stuff.

Anyway, thanks for the links to your vids, let me know what you think of mine if you get a chance to have a look :)