Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Journalism and cycling

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

The RSA tweeted yesterday about the dangers of the low winter sun blinding drivers...
    https://twitter.com/RSAIreland/status/1192547270756950017

But why bother? It's not like you could get into trouble for killing someone this way :rolleyes:

I wonder was that one of those "blinded by the sun" claims where the driver was heading northbound?? How this could be seen as the basis of an excuse is shocking. How it could be used to exonerate someone completely is disgraceful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Truly excellent news.
    Total life goals (not the mileage, but to be pedalling well in my 80's).
    What a lovely story

• Registered Users Posts: 11,744 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I suspect he's not the mental image a lot of people would have of someone who's cycled a million Imperial km.

https://twitter.com/CHAIRRDRF/status/1192431831515312129

So lovely.
    I am a little annoyed at the 'he was the only one not wearing specialist cycling clothes and the only one to cycle 1m miles' line, it is such a lovely and awesome achievement and that line is really judgemental and really plays into divisive anti-cycling narratives.

But I am grumpy and hungover today so that can't be discounted either!

It is a really heartwarming achievement though, such loveliness,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

eeeee wrote: »
    So lovely.
    I am a little annoyed at the 'he was the only one not wearing specialist cycling clothes and the only one to cycle 1m miles' line, it is such a lovely and awesome achievement and that line is really judgemental and really plays into divisive anti-cycling narratives.

Check the picture of him in this link titled "Russ Mantle racing in the Beckingham Wheelers 25 mile time trial in Crawley, UK in 1961. Russell came first with a time of 58.12 mins."

A very respectable time for the equipment being used in those days, and you can see he has all the gear and he looks 100% a top class rider.
    I'm guessing that when the LBS sold their last pair of wool shorts, he just decided he wasn't ever going to go all lycra and clipless pedals.

Anyway, at 82 years old do you really want to show up at a photoshoot in lycra?

So lovely.

I think chairrdrf is just in favour of showing how people in normal clothes can get about on bikes just fine. I think he's a fan of cycle racing though; he mentions it in passing quite often anyway.

Yeah, it's a great story. I like his paper graphs of his distances covered per year as well, which are in other tweets. I guess it's how they're reasonably certain of the distance he's covered.

recedite wrote: »
    Check the picture of him in this link titled "Russ Mantle racing in the Beckingham Wheelers 25 mile time trial in Crawley, UK in 1961. Russell came first with a time of 58.12 mins."

A very respectable time for the equipment being used in those days, and you can see he has all the gear and he looks 100% a top class rider.
    I'm guessing that when the LBS sold their last pair of wool shorts, he just decided he wasn't ever going to go all lycra and clipless pedals.

Yeah very respectable.
    I have no judgement on him and what he choses to wear on the bike at all, he looks class in both modes!
    I just thought it was a snippy comment but as tomasrojo says they're a participation focussed organisation so that would be their angle.

Oh maybe he could go for an age record! Although in fairness he has enough done :D

recedite wrote: »
    Anyway, at 82 years old do you really want to show up at a photoshoot in lycra?

When I'm 82 - absolutely :pac: providing I can still get it on :eek:

I find this story extremely lovely. Faith in humanity rising....!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,484 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I find this story extremely lovely.
    fair play, one of the first reactions i had was an 82 year old commenting that he'd only managed to do 8,000 miles this year made me feel inadequate...

I especially love his TT fixie.

I have a real soft spot for old people. He looks so happy. His saddle bag/roll is of impressive proportions. I hope he makes the second million!

I especially love his TT fixie.

I have a real soft spot for old people. He looks so happy. His saddle bag/roll is of impressive proportions. I hope he makes the second million!

His knees were coming up way passed his elbows while in the drops in that shot. Different times, Different geometry on the bikes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Overtaking law just been discussed by Pat Kenny on NT. Same old re-fried beans.

Edit:

Also, just saw this on RTE news:
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/1111/1089976-cycling-legislation/

• Registered Users Posts: 9,289 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Yes, the cyclist.ie rep handled it well on Morning Ireland when Dobbo went to "do cyclists have to look at their own behaviour" - went straight to the size comparison.

If cyclists are breaking red lights, the only way a dangerous overtake would happen is if the motorist was also breaking the red light, so just feckin bullsh!t line of questioning.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Not sure if it can be described as actual journalism but my God, I can't believe Limerick Leader have actually published this crap: https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/patricia-feehily-don-t-mind-me/491628/don-t-mind-me-lessons-in-road-manners-needed.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,854 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Mario Rosenstock had a right pair of twits on his show yesterday morning. Two of them on giving out about cyclists with Mario throwing in the odd comment to keep it going. All the boxes seemed to be ticked bar road tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Dangerous overtaking law discussed on The Last Word about half hour ago as well. Didn't catch all of it as I was getting out of the car but what I did catch sounded like the same old ��.

People calling for cyclists to be banned off the road- seems they're a bit too dim to realize that those people are doing stuff like going to work and the like and so won't just disappear.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Duckjob wrote: »
    Dangerous overtaking law discussed on The Last Word about half hour ago as well. Didn't catch all of it as I was getting out of the car but what I did catch sounded like the same old ��.

People calling for cyclists to be banned off the road- seems they're a bit too dim to realize that those people are doing stuff like going to work and the like and so won't just disappear.

Also if you ban bikes then traffic will be worse :pac:

Radio is a lost cause, I think. It's increasingly designed to be consumed by people in cars, as it's the main environment where radio doesn't have to compete with other media (though phones make a spirited, illegal attempt to muscle in).

Created in Strava to mark the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin wall.

Story: http://cycling.today/famous-cold-war-photo-recreated-on-strava/

bruderkuss.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,484 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Radio is a lost cause, I think. It's increasingly designed to be consumed by people in cars, as it's the main environment where radio doesn't have to compete with other media (though phones make a spirited, illegal attempt to muscle in).
    much harder to listen - and especially to respond - while cycling.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Cabaal wrote: »
    Also if you ban bikes then traffic will be worse :pac:

Next cycling protest should be everyone that cycles taking to their car, with foot high letters across the back window

“I normally cycle”

Created in Strava to mark the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin wall.
    aha - i was wondering how he managed to get it so close to the photo:
    “To create a straight line, I would start my Wahoo Roam as a new activity and immediately pause it. Once I reached the finishing point on the map I would unpause it and save the ride, this would create a straight line,” Cordery said.

The creativity some people have is amazing to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,566 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Reading some of the comments under articles from the Indo about the new dangerous overtaking of cyclist law would make your head explode!

Dervilia Gallagher: So a cyclist who has a grudge against someone can, take their licence plate number to the Garda and say this car nearly knocked me of my bike, what happens then. Do they take the cyclists word for it and send out a fine or do they investigate the claim.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :(

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Reading some of the comments under articles from the Indo about the new dangerous overtaking of cyclist law would make your head explode!

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :(

The comments show how socially immature Ireland is and why we’ll struggle to accept cycling as a bona fide method of simple, affordable and green transport.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

But it's not as simple and affordable and green as a 0% interest electric car... 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭timmyjimmy

tomasrojo wrote: »

Matt Cooper did comment at the end of the piece that there are probably more drivers listening to the piece than cyclists, he then said texts were probably more biased towards motorists opinions.

timmyjimmy wrote: »
    Matt Cooper did comment at the end of the piece that there are probably more drivers listening to the piece than cyclists, he then said texts were probably more biased towards motorists opinions.

Texts probably sent in by furious motorists stuck in traffic jams “I’m in a 20% full vehicle in a traffic jam I helped to create. Who can I blame?”

• Registered Users Posts: 9,289 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Texts probably sent in by furious motorists stuck in traffic jams “I’m in a 20% full vehicle in a traffic jam I helped to create. Who can I blame?”
    That's always been the root cause of the motorist outrage at cyclists making progress, either complying with laws or not. It's the fact cyclists are making progress while they are stuck as part of the traffic jam.

fwiw, as little respect as cyclists are given by a significant portion of motorists, this year I've had more issues/ close passes/ dangerous overtakes as a pedestrian on the rural roads where I live. You could watch our children up to the end of the lane to the football pitch, but I'd be happier sending them on their bikes than walking.

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    The comments show how socially immature Ireland is and why we’ll struggle to accept cycling as a bona fide method of simple, affordable and green transport.

I think it just shows that there's some people with too much time on their hands to make empty headed comments...

Not sure if this has been posted elsewhere or not..

The new advert for Hyundai where the lady in the SUV is stuck in a morning traffic, so hops out of the car, takes out the electric scooter and breezes through all the other SUV's blocking up the roads..

Crazy... First Amsterdam... 2nd Why bother to drive a car into work at all?