Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

PS5 thread 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,352 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

OhHiMark wrote: »
    This is a bit over the top.

I think this poster had a similar reaction to Battleborn servers being shut down and had a right old rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

quinnd6 wrote: »
    I just read that the PS5 has no web browser.
    A 500 euro console that has no web browser.
    That is ridiculous and a huge step backwards in functionality.

In 2021 where everything basically has a web browser and now Sony have decided to rip a basic feature out of the console.
    You see this is the kind of crap that makes me want to jump ship to Microsoft.
    If Microsoft had some fricking games I would jump to them next gen instead.
    As it is I haven't invested in a next gen console but I can see that Sony have better exclusives at the moment and Microsoft just make people play the waiting game.

Sony seem to be becoming the Apple of consoles in that you can't do basic stuff with your console that you would expect to be able to do(it is too closed off) and Microsoft seem to be letting people do a lot more like run emulators etc and play some older games.
    Microsoft's backwards compatibility for xbox 360 isn't good enough though because there are tons of good games that you can't play and still need a 360 for so you end up needing to keep your 360 to play those games.

I just hate Sony's big headed we can do whatever the heck we want attitude, rip functionality out and restrict the console so much that you can't play classic ps1 or ps2 games that you own because they can't charge you twice for it.
    They have gone very anti consumer.
    Best option really is probably pc if GPUs didn't cost a fortune.

So yep I would have expected a browser, my PS4 has one so why should the next gen console have that functionality ripped out.
    I did use it at times, it was handy.
    Does the media player work or is it useless?
    I suppose it's not a deal breaker but it just shows what tyrants Sony have become really.
    So PS4 has more functionality than a PS5.

Not sure why, in 2021 you'd need a web browser on your games console but if you're at a loose end, it is possible to use it:

https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2020/11/the-playstation-5-has-a-hidden-web-browser-heres-how-to-find-it/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,213 ✭✭✭✭Penn

quinnd6 wrote: »
    I just read that the PS5 has no web browser.
    A 500 euro console that has no web browser.
    That is ridiculous and a huge step backwards in functionality.

In 2021 where everything basically has a web browser and now Sony have decided to rip a basic feature out of the console.
    You see this is the kind of crap that makes me want to jump ship to Microsoft.
    If Microsoft had some fricking games I would jump to them next gen instead.
    As it is I haven't invested in a next gen console but I can see that Sony have better exclusives at the moment and Microsoft just make people play the waiting game.

Sony seem to be becoming the Apple of consoles in that you can't do basic stuff with your console that you would expect to be able to do(it is too closed off) and Microsoft seem to be letting people do a lot more like run emulators etc and play some older games.
    Microsoft's backwards compatibility for xbox 360 isn't good enough though because there are tons of good games that you can't play and still need a 360 for so you end up needing to keep your 360 to play those games.

I just hate Sony's big headed we can do whatever the heck we want attitude, rip functionality out and restrict the console so much that you can't play classic ps1 or ps2 games that you own because they can't charge you twice for it.
    They have gone very anti consumer.
    Best option really is probably pc if GPUs didn't cost a fortune.

So yep I would have expected a browser, my PS4 has one so why should the next gen console have that functionality ripped out.
    I did use it at times, it was handy.
    Does the media player work or is it useless?
    I suppose it's not a deal breaker but it just shows what tyrants Sony have become really.
    So PS4 has more functionality than a PS5.

The fact PS4 had a web browser but the PS5 doesn't means "PS4 has more functionality than a PS5"?

I mean, there's a lot to unpack in that sentence alone....

Regardless, while you and others may have used the web browser occasionally, the majority of players didn't, because the web browser sucked absolute balls. The framework to support a browser these days just isn't worth it on a console when the majority of players don't use it (hence why they made the decision to remove it).

That's why they instead introduced the Cards function (by adding more bespoke functionality that the PS4 didn't have). It's meant to replace what the browser was mostly used for, which is checking out hints and tips, or news from games.

Even still, I ususally have my phone beside me and just grab it, which I'd say most others do too. Much easier to use, doesn't disrupt the game as much etc.

If enough players used the browser on PS4, they would have kept it for PS5. But they didn't, because trying to properly use websites with a controller, not to mention possible security issues from webpages etc, just wasn't worth it. The browser was always horrible. They instead focused on what people mostly used the browser for (well, besides porn, I guess) and created a new easier to use function for that. Hardly tyrannical.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

The web browser on the PS4 was about as useful as me as a bloke having nipples. My phone beside me on the couch is where I was going to look stuff up, not that turkey of a browser.

People pick the oddest things to rage about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,538 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Why would anyone want to use a Web browser on a console? Genuine question.

• Registered Users Posts: 942 ✭✭✭tgdaly

Jaysus that's what happens when people post at 3.30 in the morning.

The Web browser was cat. Any time I tried using it I'd just end up giving up and using my phone. Maybe you could argue that they should have improved it but it's so much quicker and easier to just look up something on your phone. Controllers just aren't designed for Web browsing.

Some valid points on backwards compatibility, but in fairness they've allowed PS4 - PS5 when they didn't allow PS3 - PS4. I mean apart from a bit of nostalgia every now and then, who's really wanting to go back regularly and play PS1, PS2 games

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,716 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Back in the PS3 days - pre Chromecast and Smart TVs - I occasionally used the web browser as there used to be some video sites (RTÉ player I think) where there was no dedicated app. Basically it was the “easiest” way to watch on a TV. You’d get to the page and it’d be half broken. Navigation was painful with a controller. If you successfully played the content it’d work, but with a 50% chance it’d completely crash or freak out randomly. God help you if the video site had an ad break.

Good ****ing riddance.

I think I may have used it once or twice on the PS3 but that was before we all had smart phones.

Yeah I used the PS3 one a little at the start until I got a laptop. Think I only ever really tried using the PS4 browser when I got the PSVR and was trying to watch VR videos on Youtube. Think I had to install and use the Youtube app though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

The only reason I ever used the browser was to see if I could...and that was it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,919 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

You can play Stadia on your Xbox Series X using the Edge browser. That is kinda cool.

But for looking up stuff, I can't think of a worse platform.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭quinnd6

Exactly that is why it is nice to have a browser.
    It gives you extra options like that.
    When a browser is done properly you can
    pop in a keyboard if you want and it's a decent
    experience.
    Dropping it completely was the lazy way out.
    The games are obviously the most important thing but
    I just think Sony could have done better.
    PS4 browser was and is unstable and not up to scratch.
    You guys are right about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Browser was never an interest to me, as the laptop, phone or even smart tv had one, I simply don't need another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,901 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

You can play Stadia on your Xbox Series X using the Edge browser. That is kinda cool.

But for looking up stuff, I can't think of a worse platform.

Yo dawg, we heard you like to play games while you game so we put games in your games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭ItsHoggie

Used my PS4 browser to watch soccer streams, also for trophy guides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,283 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

We all know the reason for a browser being wanted on the PS5. Haven't seen the 2020 stats but 2019 stats from p0rnhub showed PS4 owners had a 51.5% traffic to the site compared to the other consoles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

CastorTroy wrote: »
    We all know the reason for a browser being wanted on the PS5. Haven't seen the 2020 stats but 2019 stats from p0rnhub showed PS4 owners had a 51.5% traffic to the site compared to the other consoles.

That just means that 48.5% came from xbox.

ItsHoggie wrote: »
    Used my PS4 browser to watch soccer streams, also for trophy guides.

But you surely have a phone or tablet?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Markitron

But you surely have a phone or tablet?

Not everyone can connect their phone or tablet to their tv

Markitron wrote: »
    Not everyone can connect their phone or tablet to their tv

I get that but I meant for trophy guides. Why would anyone want to use a console browser for that rather than a phone or tablet?

Im not having a dig at anyone, I'm genuinely curious. I've owned all ps consoles and a few xbox too and never once used or even thought of using the browser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Evilbart

Maybe they should have stuck wheels and a motor on it aswell and it could Hoover the house.

Come on lads we have tons of devices for web browsing! This is a games console and for €399 it is insane value for what is included.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

In fairness I buy my games console to play games, not browse the internet. The price is well worth it for the upgrades the console brings over the PS4 and to me thats all that matters. If I want to browse the internet then I use my PC/Phone/Laptop/Tablet/Smart TV/ Firestick etc before I would think about going onto my console looking for a browser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,283 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

OhHiMark wrote: »
    That just means that 48.5% came from xbox.

Was gonna make a comment about your choice of words, whether they were intentional or not. :)

34.7% XBox, 4.3% Wii U, 0.4% 3ds, 9.1% Vita

CastorTroy wrote: »
    0.4% 3ds

Those poor bastards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,941 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Free Last of us 2 patch for PS5, 60 FPS

https://blog.playstation.com/2021/05/19/the-last-of-us-part-ii-performance-patch-for-ps5/

Once patch 1.08 for The Last of Us Part II is installed on your PS5, you will find a toggle in the Display options that allows you to choose between a Framerate Target of 30 FPS or 60 FPS. This allows you to choose your preferred framerate to complement the rest of the enhancements that are part of the PS5 backward compatibility with PS4 games, such as an enhanced resolution, faster load times, and more.

ShaneU wrote: »
    Free Last of us 2 patch for PS5, 60 FPS

https://blog.playstation.com/2021/05/19/the-last-of-us-part-ii-performance-patch-for-ps5/

Once patch 1.08 for The Last of Us Part II is installed on your PS5, you will find a toggle in the Display options that allows you to choose between a Framerate Target of 30 FPS or 60 FPS. This allows you to choose your preferred framerate to complement the rest of the enhancements that are part of the PS5 backward compatibility with PS4 games, such as an enhanced resolution, faster load times, and more.

The idea of faster load times is interesting, considering how amazingly quick they were on PS4 compared to other PS4 games and without the aid of an SSD.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,716 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

'The Last of Us Part II 60 FPS patch' is a weird typo of 'Bloodborne 60 FPS patch', but I assume it's just human error on Sony's behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

'The Last of Us Part II 60 FPS patch' is a weird typo of 'Bloodborne 60 FPS patch', but I assume it's just human error on Sony's behalf.

They hate us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭ItsHoggie

I get that but I meant for trophy guides. Why would anyone want to use a console browser for that rather than a phone or tablet?

Im not having a dig at anyone, I'm genuinely curious. I've owned all ps consoles and a few xbox too and never once used or even thought of using the browser.

There was an option in the PS4 Trophies menu and searched up guides for a certain trophy with the click of a button.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Markitron

At this point I honestly thought they were doing a full on PS5 version, I wonder why it took 7 months for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

To play devil's advocate...
    It isn't a good look when you're just removing features.
    If the feature sucked improve it. Don't throw out the baby with the bathwater.

Sony's customer service is ****e and they are anti consumer.
    They've made some steps forward with the PS5 but a lot of steps back.

They also removed UPNP support from the media player which allows my phone to play any video over the network. No big deal as my TV supports it. Same with the web browser.

Anyone who can afford a PS5 likely has a decent/modern enough TV to support these features.

My previous TV was an early 4K LG, I believe from 2015/16, that had a web browser that was decent enough for watching streaming/on demand stuff.

I understand not everyone can hook up a PC/laptop, myself included, but these days you don't even need a Chromecast to get stuff onto a TV as there's so many options. Most TVs should also supports screen mirroring so you can use that on the TV if you want. Some phones even have a full desktop mode so it's native output to the TV rather than just 'playing' the image back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,280 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I think ye just need to get over the fact that not enough people enjoyed Bloodborne to make it financially viable for a next gen upgrade.

I consider a 60 FPS version of Bloodborne more of a moral and artistic obligation, superseding any potential financial concerns :cool:

Seriously though, I wholly welcome all 60 FPS patches - a major improvement from the 'remaster' tendency of the last-gen. Bloodborne's technical issues and its exacting combat IMO make it top of the last in games that really need it though (ditto The Last Guardian, but the pre-patch uncapped frame rate workaround means that's far less pressing). It's amazing to see a game as technically stunning as TLOU2 running at 60 FPS, mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,280 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Could have fooled me the way people sing its praises. I got it free on PS plus so look forward to it. It doesn't look that scary.

Tis a small select few that constantly do it. Like Dark Souls, the people who like it are louder. The people who don't like it don't say much because they get attacked for not liking them, regardless of the reason.

I'm in a kind of middle ground on it. I do think it's a fantastic game, and it required ploughing through those initial stages (and getting more used to Soulsborne-type formula through playing some other games) to get into it and enjoy it.

But there are also some bits of bullsh*t in the game. I hate the Frenzy mechanic with a fiery passion and particularly one section of the game that really plagues you with it, and I don't think the boss design is all that great for the most part (some fantastic bosses, but too many are just big (well-designed) monsters where you just attack from the side of their back leg for the win).

But the level design in Bloodborne is second to none. The combat is fantastic. The sheer amount of different enemy types is staggering. And it's easier to create a build for your character without needing specific items to boost key stats like in other Souls games.

It's a fantastic game, and a 60fps update would be incredible and definitely make it worth playing. But it's also not the be all and end all.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 louxx

Can someone help me, my sons ps5 when he turns it on the screen is just black, it didn’t fall or get damaged or anything…

louxx wrote: »
    Can someone help me, my sons ps5 when he turns it on the screen is just black, it didn’t fall or get damaged or anything…

Something simple like a loose hdmi connection maybe? Or is it on the right hdmi output channel?

I had someone come back to me in hmv years ago complaining her sons ps4 wasn't working, tested it in the back and it was all fine. Off she went to check again, she rang back later to say it was working perfectly so I just assume it was a tiny issue like the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭rizzla

Try plug it in to a different hdmi port or try on different telly see if you get the same result.

If it's still the same I would just let it be by itself for 10 mins or so, powered on and connected, see if anything happens. Other than that I would be worried too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Probes

A bit of an odd one but is your controller charged and linked to the console? For some reason sometimes my PS5 doesn’t send an image until it has detected the controller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Had this within a week of purchase. A previously completely reliable HDMI cable decided to shuffle off its mortal coil. One quick replacement later and all was good again.

Incidentally I've also had the flashing blue controllers at (non) start up. A long press on of the on/off button and a restart seem to cure it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,352 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Are the lights on on the console?

I had a similar issues 3-4 times now where the console is on and nothing will display on the TV. The HDMI works on all other devices so it's not that. Just plug out the console for 5 minutes and plug it back in and it should work again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

To play devil's advocate...
    It isn't a good look when you're just removing features.
    If the feature sucked improve it. Don't throw out the baby with the bathwater.

Sony's customer service is ****e and they are anti consumer.
    They've made some steps forward with the PS5 but a lot of steps back.

No rational person cares that they removed the web browser because nobody who owns a PS5 needs it to be their web browser. This is beyond a non-issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,227 ✭✭✭jj880

AdamD wrote: »
    No rational person cares that they removed the web browser because nobody who owns a PS5 needs it to be their web browser. This is beyond a non-issue

Have to agree here - it's like the browsers shipped with TVs. They would only do your head in anyway. Basically useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭recyclops

as a rational person I have to disagree. Case in point last night I had a preview of a digital movie that I could only watch on a web browser, turns out the built in brower on my Series X ( potentially tv but Xbox did the job) was perfect for it.

had to log onto email, click the link and enter a code to watch the preview on the tv in full screen.

Thankfully I am not stuck with Sony as the above wouldn't have been possible due to there bizarre decision to get rid of something that gets ignored by those who always ignored it but gets missed by those who use it .

The only reason I can see them removing it is security, that or they are probably so afraid of stadia, game share and whatever potentially superior gaming service comes down the line from their competitors being able to be used on their product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Probes

They probably don’t want Xbox sneaking in game pass through the back door like they’ve done on iOS.

Ive never had a case like that. All movie previews usually available via the ps5 netflix or youtube apps.

Can I ask what movie has a preview only available behind a website login? Sounds strange to me

• Registered Users Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

I'd be very surprised to see Stadia still going in a year's time tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭recyclops

jj880 wrote: »
    Ive never had a case like that. All movie previews usually available via the ps5 netflix or youtube apps.

Can I ask what movie has a preview only available behind a website login? Sounds strange to me

sky often do preview screenings that are web based and you sign up through the rewards section on their app, they tend to be for sky originals.

last nights was the new United documentary that they are releasing at the end of the month.

Not strange at all just something I use a fair bit and rather watch them on tv than on tablet or phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Probes wrote: »
    They probably don’t want Xbox sneaking in game pass through the back door like they’ve done on iOS.

A web browser can be used to jailbreak consoles, that's why there isn't one on the PS5.

recyclops wrote: »
    sky often do preview screenings that are web based and you sign up through the rewards section on their app, they tend to be for sky originals.

last nights was the new United documentary that they are releasing at the end of the month.

Not strange at all just something I use a fair bit and rather watch them on tv than on tablet or phone.

A web based preview screening from Sky. Fair enough.

I use PC ==> TV and android box ==> TV setups for any browser based movies (eg netflix website) so have no use for a PS5 browser.