Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Climate Morons on The Late Late Show

• 15-11-2019 10:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭

Are these people actually serious with this climate carry on? Why do they all look and sound the same? Specky twats with terrible names and even worse fake accents.

When will this end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

I'm not doubting there's some bit of climate change but ffs its getting blown out of proportion now.eat apps ye young delusional clowns.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Motivator

They need to get back to whatever private school they bunked off of today and learn some manners.

Specky twats.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Motivator wrote: »
    Are these people actually serious with this climate carry on? Why do they all look and sound the same? Specky twats with terrible names and even worse fake accents.

yer man from Meath had a good country accent on him,

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,626 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

When will this end?

I'm sure you're an intellectual giant yourself OP, and you've got a detailed and rigorous explanation for climate change.

Go on post it up there now, show us all who the morons are

• Registered Users Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

good man tubbs, "please don't go anywhere, and keep going..."

• Registered Users Posts: 66,860 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

When we were staying up nights stressing about Cuba and the nuclear end of de world, we didn't get on de Late Late

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Are these people actually serious with this climate carry on?

No it's all a big joke. Is there something wrong with your head?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Upforthematch

Doors on fridges. Simple fix really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

Bring back the moving statue's

• Registered Users Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭gifted

Tis cold....another log on my stove....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Motivator

I'm sure you're an intellectual giant yourself OP, and you've got a detailed and rigorous explanation for climate change.

Go on post it up there now, show us all who the morons are

Ireland represents 0.06% of the worlds population. What we do in this country has absolutely no impact on the world’s climate. At 36 years of age, I really don’t need to be lectured by some jumped up privately schooled toadface on a Friday evening telling me to buy second hand jeans in order to save the planet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Fair play to them. Seem like serious and intelligent kids. What's new about teenagers being intense and worrying about political issues except nowadays it's a bit more public. That said, the 10 year old kid wheeled on at the end looked clearly like an uncomfortable autocue job.

That said, all of them will probably be in FF or FG in 15 years time :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

Fair play to them. Seem like serious and intelligent kids. What's new about teenagers being intense and worrying about political issues except nowadays it's a bit more public. That said, the 10 year old kid wheeled on at the end looked clearly like an uncomfortable autocue job.

That said, all of them will probably be in FF or FG in 15 years time :D

Telling us all to tighten our vegan belts

• Registered Users Posts: 13,262 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Danger that climate action will become a cause of the day for rich activists.

Personally I agree with the science, as Some one who notes plants, birds insects I see, there is a big change.

That is just personal, scientifically it's settled .

Righteous indignation though is an awful way to sell change though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Climate change has become caught up with pollution and sustainability in one big juggernaut.
    Quite different things really

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Basically, the plan is to turn Ireland into a full on socialist country and they are indoctring the youth to get them onside.

When socialism kicks in people usually end up complaining that there is no fresh meat (push for veganism), no savoury foods (Sugar tax), no free speech (hate speech laws) nobody allowed to leave the country and fuel shortages (carbon tax). So they're getting in the usual downsides for socialism and telling you it's for your our own good.

When the green socialists get their way and Ireland is a complete basketcase, do you honesty think China, India, Nigeria, USA etc are going to be cutting their omissions the way we are? They will and their bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I've an open mind when it comes to the causes of climate change...but in this era of hysteria, it is difficult to discern fact from fiction...rolling out kids who up to a few years ago believed in Santa Claus doesn't really help anyone.

No harm in making a few adjustments to how we live our lives, but I can't but think we are being shaken down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

Ireland represents 0.06% of the worlds population. What we do in this country has absolutely no impact on the world’s climate. At 36 years of age, I really don’t need to be lectured by some jumped up privately schooled toadface on a Friday evening telling me to buy second hand jeans in order to save the planet.

36? I’m actually surprised you’re an adult. I thought you were a teen based on your posting style.

And if we don't then why should they and so on and in the end nobody is doing anything and everyone is screwed over. 36 years old and giving an excuse a child would know better than to say

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

B

When the green socialists get their way and Ireland is a complete basketcase, do you honesty think China, India, Nigeria, USA etc are going to be cutting their omissions the way we are? They will and their bollox.
    We could always emigrate to these countries in large numbers, claim asylum, create a no-go area and sponge the system

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Sure like I said in Late Late thread,

Those teens should be out riding and drinking not glued to YouTube watching climate change videos

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭boring accountant

And if we don't then why should they and so on and in the end nobody is doing anything and everyone is screwed over. 36 years old and giving an excuse a child would know better than to say

I'm all for adopting more sustainable modes of living, EV's, renewables, reusables, etc. But I'm not prepared to get taken advantage of by bigger, more powerful countries churning out CO2 emissions like there's no tomorrow while we eat insects and tax ourselves to oblivion.

Notice how the Paris accords allow "developing countries", (like China for example) to have softer emissions targets in order to allow these countries to continue growing at 6% GDP per annum, while Europe struggles to get above 2% growth with fewer emissions. It's a raw deal for us who committed the crime of being top dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭Jeff2

I'm going to buy new clothes wash them once and setup a stall somewhere selling second hand clothes at a mark up. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

36? I’m actually surprised you’re an adult. I thought you were a teen based on your posting style.

BURRRNNNNN!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Sure like I said in Late Late thread,

Those teens should be out riding and drinking not glued to YouTube watching climate change videos

Jesus, you wouldn't want that bunch reproducing, there's enough of them as it is. Plus them having kids would only increase their carbon footprint, they should be sterilised in advance of any riding.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

You don't understand the topic if that's what you think. I'm past caring about this anyway. I think it's hopeless and we can't change our ways so were fcuked. The consequences won't fully manifest in our lifetimes hopefully.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Danzy wrote: »
    Personally I agree with the science, as Some one who notes plants, birds insects I see, there is a big change.
    +1 D, whatever about temps I have noticed a huge change in insect life in my lifetime. Maybe more than most as I grew up fly fishing with my dad(yep he once caught a ten pound bluebottle etc :D). The species of flies on rivers and their environs has gotten much narrower and fewer in number. There are artificial flies I used as a kid, even twenty years ago that are only for decoration now. The naturals are either gone entirely or so small in number the trout don't focus on them the way they used to. Even oddball indicators like of all things cowpats in the fields. When I was younger, again even twenty years ago, you'd have a swarm of flies on them that would shoot up into the air as you walked by one. Not any more in the areas I fish anyway. They also don't rot into the earth nearly so quickly either, they just dry out.

Another thing I've noticed, as have mates around my age, are the lack of dead flies splattered on the front of our cars. When we were kids the front of a car that had gone on a summer run "down the country" would be a holocaust of flying insects. Ditto for windscreens. These days? Not nearly so much. Now one mate suggested cars are far more aerodynamic these days, which is true, but another friend made the point that he drives vans and they're about as aerodynamic as a housebrick and the front of his company's vans are pretty free of splatted insects.

If the insects and all those pollinators like bees and the like die off, even go to much lower levels, the human race is utterly fucked.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Thelma looks well, to be fair.

I'm all for adopting more sustainable modes of living, EV's, renewables, reusables, etc. But I'm not prepared to get taken advantage of by bigger, more powerful countries churning out CO2 emissions like there's no tomorrow while we eat insects and tax ourselves to oblivion.

Notice how the Paris accords allow "developing countries", (like China for example) to have softer emissions targets in order to allow these countries to continue growing at 6% GDP per annum, while Europe struggles to get above 2% growth with fewer emissions. It's a raw deal for us who committed the crime of being top dogs.

Because we already have much higher base economies and standard of living than the developing countries. Why would they limit themselves at all if we don't? It's a compromise to achieve something, and one which we are still well placed to work with thanks to our advanced economies. Indian emissions need to controlled soon before they explode like the Chinese did 30 years ago and without pressure and compromise that won't happen.

I don't support turning ourselves into a basketcase while letting China and India emit without consequence, but I haven't seen anything proposed that will lead to that either.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

MadYaker wrote: »
    You don't understand the topic if that's what you think. I'm past caring about this anyway. I think it's hopeless and we can't change our ways so were fcuked. The consequences won't fully manifest in our lifetimes hopefully.
    They already are albeit in small ways in the environment at least as far as the average person goes, but I agree with you M, we can;t change our ways, at least not in the long term, we tend to think in the here and now and that seems to be increasing with the fast pace of change most of us live in today. The idea of changing now for something that might happen in five years time is outside most people's wheelhouse, the idea of a century or two from now is off the radar entirely.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.