Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Climate Morons on The Late Late Show

• Registered Users Posts: 15,772 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Having less kids is the ultimate contribution you can make to help avert climate change. People don’t seem to want to do that though, so they get a bit moralistic and self-righteous to make up for it. Abortion is good for the environment.

The trend is for smaller families, but they still build one-off houses the size of a hotel to live in, with the obligatory SUV out front and pile of easily broken plastic toys.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,808 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

This climate frenzy is satisfying the age-old fantasy of many young people; to get on the telly and be famous. Doesn't matter if they come across as ridiculous. Where do these American accents come from? I worry about the future, not due to climate but due to the breed of idiots we're bringing up.

....because caring for the environment is kinna dumb

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    China has also far exceeded investments into alternatives than an other country

Ha ha. So they have. They are manufacturing massive amounts of 'green technology' consumables using hugely polluting coal powered industries and power stations and flogging them to the west and laughing all the way to the bank. You couldnt make it up tbh.

https://unearthed.greenpeace.org/2019/03/28/china-new-coal-plants-2030-climate/

gozunda wrote:
    Ha ha. So they have. They are manufacturing massive amounts of 'green technology' consumables using hugely polluting coal powered industries and power stations and flogging them to the west and laughing all the way to the bank. You couldnt make it up tbh.

At least they're making a major effort compared to the rest of us, maybe the pollution caused by their rapid increase in fossil fuels has them thinking, this isn't good

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I'm just wondering while we're in the midst of a government sponsored wave of climate change propaganda on rte I'm wondering has anyone asked the government about how they intend to make public transport practical and useable in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,287 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

To anyone calling these ppl “morons” please please please I would implore you to take some time out and do a bit of research about climate change and what is likely to happen unless we as a planet don’t get this under control.

Climate change is real

Climate change is getting worse

We can change it but it will take more than individual effort. It will take a synchronized effort to more away from carbon based energy by the entire planet. That’s the scale of the task here folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

....because caring for the environment is kinna dumb

No, caring is good, but this nonsense has little to do with genuine care for the environment. If it did then there would be well-researched points made, not false hyperbole that is easily proven to be over-exaggerated.

What have you personally sacrificed in support of their quest?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

How come none of these equality morons are offended by the phrase 'man-made climate change'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

vriesmays wrote: »
    How come none of these equality morons are offended by the phrase 'man-made climate change'.

Hehe :D

smurgen wrote:
    I'm just wondering while we're in the midst of a government sponsored wave of climate change propaganda on rte I'm wondering has anyone asked the government about how they intend to make public transport practical and useable in Ireland?

Unfortunately I don't see the dramatic changes that will be required for public transport, to occur here in Ireland, astonishing levels of investment are required, but we re currently unable to do this, so on we role.
    To anyone calling these ppl “morons†please please please I would implore you to take some time out and do a bit of research about climate change and what is likely to happen unless we as a planet don’t get this under control.

Ah there's probably no point, deniers will always deny

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

To anyone calling these ppl “morons” please please please I would implore you to take some time out and do a bit of research about climate change and what is likely to happen unless we as a planet don’t get this under control.

Climate change is really exaggerated by these morons

Climate change is getting worse in some places and better in others.

We can change it but it will take more than individual effort. It will take a synchronized effort to more away from carbon based energy by the entire planet. That’s the scale of the task here folks.

Fixed your post for you to make it more accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Hang about. Deniers, as we are told all the time, are a minority of deluded cranks who are probably secret nazis in their spare time. The rest of ye are the faithful majority, so rock on and change the world. Simples.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

A generation brainwashed by women teachers. Less than ½ a % of the atmosphere is carbon and a small amount of that is produced by industry. Yet these fools think putting glass screens over fridges in supermarkets will make a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I think pollution (and that is linked to water quality) is a bigger issue than climate change.
    of course we need to protect the environment.

But this hysteria and media/political push smacks of attempts at control and coercion.
    There always seems to be a panic about something...yet the world still spins...

As an example these gimps will preach about eating less (or no meat) and will be eating avocados which are by far a worse offender than eating a steak or a burger.
    The elites (Bono, diCaprio , Prince Harry types) who preach about this have no issue flying in their private jets and eating the best grub.

Sure we can make changes to help the environment but what is proposed is about control.

Finally I'll never tire of saying this - Fcuk off Bono.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

At least they're making a major effort compared to the rest of us, maybe the pollution caused by their rapid increase in fossil fuels has them thinking, this isn't good

Are they? This from the link above
    The target is for the country’s coal-fired capacity to continue to grow until peaking in 2030.

(This) would enable China to build 2 large coal power stations a month for the next 12 years, and grow the country’s capacity by an amount nearly twice the size of Europe’s total coal capacity.

If this happens it could single-handedly end any chance of keeping global warming below 1.5C, and also conflicts with the 2C target, with even a conservative analysis of the goal requiring that China cut its coal capacity by roughly 200GW by 2030.

The Chinese government has not adopted the industry proposal, but it is under consideration.

Its called greenwash and China flogging us these green consumables means that we are contributing to supporting Chinas predominately coal powered industries and its position as the biggest emitter of ghgs worldwide.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

never question anything your betters tell you. ever. :rolleyes:

What have you personally sacrificed in support of their quest?

I consume little, as the activities of the creation and life cycle of most of our consumables are anti-environmental, a large proportion of the wealth created also doesn't trickle down, it actually trickles up. of course I could also do more, but it would make life extremely difficult to exist, impossible at times. Not only do things need to change at the individual level, but most critically, at a much higher systematic and institutional level, this won't be easy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Wibbs wrote: »
    Could well be B. Though I have noticed farmers much more aware of the environment in general. Fewer fish kills on rivers for example. But yeah, maybe more reliance on insecticides, or maybe the insecticides have become more potent? I also remember as a kid lots of ads on RTE for insecticides against hoose and roundworm and yet the insect life was much more varied and present.

Oddly many rivers in urban areas often have more varied insect life than they had when I was a kid. Better management of waste and sewerage and a general cleaning up of the urban environment of things like fumes from cars and the like seems to be major factors and I suppose feck all agriculture in urban areas so far less insecticides and the like in those environments.

You're right - farming is more conscious of the 'environment' not least due to links to payments etc. But there has been growing reliance on mechanisation and 'scientific' management of crops with spraying etc. We live in a rural area of what might be called partly disadvantaged land, ideal habitat for winged insect life. As regards inputs, local lads might spread a bit of lime or scatter some fertiliser but that's it and little enough. But I see a huge change too over past twenty years. A few miles away the land is better and corn (barley) & beet and so on would be grown. I think the sprays used on these crops must be suspected as the culprits, it's the one factor that has increased.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,040 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Motivator wrote: »
    Ireland represents 0.06% of the worlds population. What we do in this country has absolutely no impact on the world’s climate. At 36 years of age, I really don’t need to be lectured by some jumped up privately schooled toadface on a Friday evening telling me to buy second hand jeans in order to save the planet.

If you're response to a debate is arrogant dismissal without open minded research, then I'd argue you du need to be lectured.

Alsi, n Irishman taking a short hop flight doesn't suddenly has less impact on the environment then an American does.

Climates don't react to political borders.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Unfortunately I don't see the dramatic changes that will be required for public transport, to occur here in Ireland, astonishing levels of investment are required, but we re currently unable to do this, so on we role.

Running a car is so expensive in Ireland I would gladly switch to public transport if it was reliable and clean.it is literally a third world level service in Ireland however.last night in cork I waited 1 hour twenty in the cold to get a bus in town.on the bus eireann live tracker there was meant to be three busses with me in that time.the government in nothing but a pr effort at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

vriesmays wrote: »
    A generation brainwashed by women teachers. Less than ½ a % of the atmosphere is carbon and a small amout of that is produced by industry. Yet these fools think putting glass screens over fridges in supermarkets will make a difference.

It the "women teachers" that are to blame.

The amount of hysterical ****e been posted here is unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,208 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

RTE made a big deal out of producing a programs about climate change since about August
    If I was somebody who was really into it I'd be disappointed.
    They had that guy on during the week who clearly had a vegan agenda.
    Then they had the guy who came out with all this stuff about using night saver energy which is clearly against advice of the fire service.
    I don't like talking down kids and teenagers but some of the one's they used a tad to eccentric to win over over regular foke.

smurgen wrote:
    Running a car is so expensive in Ireland I would gladly switch to public transport if it was reliable and clean.it is literally a third world level service in Ireland however.last night in cork I waited 1 hour twenty in the cold to get a bus in town.on the bus eireann live tracker there was meant to be three busses with me in that time.the government in nothing but a pr effort at this stage.

I personally think multiples of billions of investment is required immediately into public infrastructure here, in order for carbon tax initiatives to be affective, which I suspect may never happen, which in turn, makes me believe, it ll largely fail here, and have very little effect in decarbonising our economy, I could be wrong of course

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dual wheels

Are these people actually serious with this climate carry on? Why do they all look and sound the same? Specky twats with terrible names and even worse fake accents.

When will this end?

I was watching this whilst throwing plastic into my open fire full of turf with my diesel car running outside to the amusement of my herd of cows as I ate a big steak thinking what a bunch of speky twats go play with a football or something

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

So your conclusion is that nobody is going to do anything out of fear that all the others won't do anything either and so doing something would put you at a serious disadvantage. And what difference is anyone on their own going to make anyway - unless China...and socialism

And then we hope that it all goes away or turns out to be nothing to begin with.

Is that the plan then?

That's exactly what will happen. Do you honestly think that Non European countries are not going to try and take economic advantage of Europe plunging itself into Green Socialism?

It's a game of thrones out there. Leaders will do whatever they can do to consolidate their power. "Climate Action" ain't going to go down well to Indians and Pakistanis. European style Carbon Taxes in Nigeria or Bangladesh will have a leader dragged through the streets.

Uber Liberal Globalist Leaders will be laughed out of the 3rd World. Us doing something and the others doing nothing, will only hand over our political and economic power. And they won't be as nice to us, as we are to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

That's exactly what will happen. Do you honestly think that Non European countries are not going to try and take economic advantage of Europe plunging itself into Green Socialism?

It's a game of thrones out there. Leaders will do whatever they can do to consolidate their power. "Climate Action" ain't going to go down well to Indians and Pakistanis. European style Carbon Taxes in Nigeria or Bangladesh will have a leader dragged through the streets.

Uber Liberal Globalist Leaders will be laughed out of the 3rd World. Us doing something and the others doing nothing, will only hand over our political and economic power. And they won't be as nice to us, as we are to them.

Per person the CO2 emissions in Western countries far exceeds those by Nigerians or Bangladeshi. It is our moral duty to act. But we won't, not beyond lipservice, that is just human nature at play.
    We cannot think outside our own societies, or beyond a certain timeframe.
    Bad things in the future can be largely ignored.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

This climate frenzy is satisfying the age-old fantasy of many young people; to get on the telly and be famous. Doesn't matter if they come across as ridiculous. Where do these American accents come from? I worry about the future, not due to climate but due to the breed of idiots we're bringing up.

Good thing those 'morons' are the ones actually thinking about valid future problems that youre ignoring

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

smurgen wrote: »

i live and work in Dublin but i do shift work so i cant not have a car because public transport shuts down at half 10 . if i worked 9-5 i could use public transport and would commute 2 and a half hours per day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Ireland represents 0.06% of the worlds population. What we do in this country has absolutely no impact on the world’s climate. At 36 years of age, I really don’t need to be lectured by some jumped up privately schooled toadface on a Friday evening telling me to buy second hand jeans in order to save the planet.

I've often said that, it doesn't matter what we do if large chunks of the planet keep on going the way they're going. I'm doing my bit, built a new house 6 years ago which is very energy efficient, bought a stove which will only burn wood, was told by everyone "you need coal for real heat" not true. We have solar panels, don't waste water, a compost bin, I joke that by not having kids we're doing our bit for the planet (kinda hard when we are both male). We don't eat meat every day ( as much for health as for sustainability reasons) but I have zero intention of becoming a vegan or be shamed into taking a 20 hour boat trip to France to get to the continent instead of flying.
    I'm 55 and will not be told by one of these teens that I've ruined their future.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Shout-out to the greenest country on earth, one many climate alarmists wants everyone to emulate

satellite-map-of-north-korea-at-night-small.jpg