Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The worst kid's name you've ever heard?

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

John is awful

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭SuperS54

In a conference call at work with a customer called Geoff, took great offence to his name being pronounced as "Jeff" and insisted on being called "Gee-off". Have to assume he considers it short for Gee-offrey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,618 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Worked with a chap called Ronald McDonald

He got fair stick, says he was tortured all through school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,492 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

You should've told Gee-off to gee off :)

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

_Brian wrote: »

Sounds like he could tour schools talking about bullying. Give some McNuggets of wisdom to the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Alot of kids are named after characters in tv show,s .[/QUOTE]
    _Brian wrote: »

Please tell me ye worked in McDonalds :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Alot of kids are named after characters in tv show,s .

Please tell me ye worked in McDonalds :D
    Or Burger King.

*Hands in Blank CV*

"Congratulations, you have got the job!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,760 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Suckit wrote: »
    Or Burger King.

*Hands in Blank CV*

"Congratulations, you have got the job!" :D

That's pretty much how the Paddy Power lad got his job.
    None of the three original company investors was called Paddy, they just called it Paddy Power because it sounded 'Oirish'.
    Luckily enough one of the the lads youngsters was called Paddy (I'm guessing Patrick) but he became the face of Paddy Power for that reason only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

riclad wrote: »
    Americans now just seem to take random letters and make up names,

And just put De in front of normal names
    And then make them play American Handegg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Peatys wrote: »
    And just put De in front of normal names
    And then make them play American Handegg.

And non-normal names...

41694-4057925Fr.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Omackeral wrote: »
    And non-normal names...

41694-4057925Fr.jpg

I would have thought 'D'' comes into play when two vowels clashed which is not the case here which makes a stupid name look even more retarded.

And non-normal names...

41694-4057925Fr.jpg
    I saw a video on African American names and a lot of them were influenced by the Frence (soldiers who served in WWII and a massive Arab influence.

I saw a video on African American names ...

Here's a beautiful one. Bon'Qui Qui and Obamaniqua are my favorites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,280 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

FatherTed wrote: »
    A friend of mine named her sons Jett and Cash. Really.
    Says more about you, the kind of friends you attract :D

To thine own self be true

I hate the rise in Irish kids called McKenzie.

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭Salthillprom

Came across a child recently called Sheryl-Lee-shanice and a very Irish surname.
    The Sheryl Lee could have been one word Sherylee. Not sure. Just heard the parents roaring at her. They had about 7 or 8 other kids too and I was all ears to try and hear their names too but disappointingly I didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Maldesu

Came across a young boy called Nixon this evening. He was getting one of those dress up toy sets... seems he wants to be a police man :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,800 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

And non-normal names...

41694-4057925Fr.jpg

What the fûck ? I bet he wishes he was called Virginia Cavalier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,995 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Slightly simple one, but I seen a listing for an infant today and her name was Khloe.

Now thats all well and good, parents thought they would do a common thing now, change a C to a K, still pronounced the same and all.

But that child will spend the rest of her life now when someone is writing down her name saying "thats Khloe with a K".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭interactive

Muhammad

Jésus :)

Scrap the cap!

NIMAN wrote: »
    Slightly simple one, but I seen a listing for an infant today and her name was Khloe.

Now thats all well and good, parents thought they would do a common thing now, change a C to a K, still pronounced the same and all.

But that child will spend the rest of her life now when someone is writing down her name saying "thats Khloe with a K".
    Someone on here is called clairewithani. Took me awhile to get it!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,964 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

At least no-one will fuck with him. ;)

That's one of the most popular boys names in Spain.

At least no-one will fuck with him. ;)

Just keep him away from anyone named Pontius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Anyone else think this is an unfortunate name for the leader of a uk political party - Dick (richard) Braine?

That's one of the most popular boys names in Spain.

I know dat I know dat

Still a terrible name to give your child.

Anyone else think this is an unfortunate name for the leader of a uk political party - Dick (richard) Braine?

Entirely appropriate in his case

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭griffin100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

griffin100 wrote: »
    Probably call him Jon for short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Just saw on Facebook new baby twins called Kira (a boy) and Kielene (a girl.)

Kira would be grand for a girl but it's a cruel name for a boy to be saddled with. As for Kielene, it looks like it could be a cleaning product or similar. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Just saw on Facebook new baby twins called Kira (a boy) and Kielene (a girl.)
    Yikes.

I saw the name Maximillian today. They'll probably call him Max, but still.

Notions.

Yikes.

Notions.
    I came across Jaxxon in a name group in facebook. Jaxon was bad enough (weirdly I don't mind it spelt Jackson) but gtfo with Jaxxon :rolleyes:

Yikes.

Notions.
    I came across Jaxxon in a name group in facebook. Jaxon was bad enough (weirdly I don't mind it spelt Jackson) but gtfo with Jaxxon :rolleyes:
    'Where's Jaxon?'
    'He's just in the jax there.'

Kynnzleigh's mam was giving out on an FB page the other day too. Seriously, imagine having that atrocious tripe. Literally every time you say it you'd have to say ''it's spelled...''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,023 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

A lot better than “Jaxxoff” anyway.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I saw Jaxson the other day. FFS.

Kira would be grand for a girl

Nope, horrible name. Sounds like a Korean SUV.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Pikey

My Uncle in Laws father was called Eanus.

Twas funny at the funeral with me cousins.

Nope, horrible name. Sounds like a Korean SUV.
    It's just the anglicised version of Ciara, which is definitely a girls name.

No, that'd be something like Keera
    This is Kirra

Scrap the cap!

Pikey wrote: »

Like yer man from that ‘Dukes of Hazard’? Although, I think he was “Enos”.

That can’t have been easy.

Also, do people say “uncle in law”? I’ve never heard that before.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

In Greco-Roman mythology, Aeneas (/ɪˈniːəs/;[1] Greek: Αἰνείας, Aineías, possibly derived from Greek αἰνή meaning "praised") was a Trojan hero, the son of the prince Anchises and the goddess Aphrodite (Venus).
    (Wikipedia)

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,800 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Pikey wrote: »

I bet... “ as we lay Eanus “

What the fûck goes through some people’s minds..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I just found out that Anna Ryder Richardson was married to a man name Colin MacDougall and had three children.
    Bean Ryder Richardson MacDougall was born prematurely and died less than an hour after being born.

They have two other children named.....
    Dixie Dot Ryder Richardson MacDougall
    and
    Bibi Belle Ryder Richardson MacDougall

eek7.gif

Kaydance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭westernfrenzy

How about Amber Rose and her new child Slash Electric

Like yer man from that ‘Dukes of Hazard’? Although, I think he was “Enos”.

That can’t have been easy.

Also, do people say “uncle in law”? I’ve never heard that before.
    Ah they do yeah. You'd probably more often hear "aunt/uncle by marriage" Probably only used to avoid confusion.

"My Uncle-in-law's niece is an absolute ride" at least opens the possibility that you're not sexually attracted to your sister.

Ah they do yeah. You'd probably more often hear "aunt/uncle by marriage" Probably only used to avoid confusion.

"My Uncle-in-law's niece is an absolute ride" at least opens the possibility that you're not sexually attracted to your sister.

I’m only “thanking” the first part of that post, ATNM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Kaydance.

Spelled like that?! Cadence is bad enough, but that is just brutal.