Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

8th amendment referendum part 3 - Mod note and FAQ in post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

indy_man wrote: »
    This is not acceptable and typical of the brain washed obstinate abortion supporting side.

https://twitter.com/twitter/statuses/992433880266412032

Looks to me like he was introduced to 2 important scientific concepts, Archimedes law of the lever and gravity.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Jaysis, he should sign for some of the Italian teams, he took a fierce dive there.

"We have trouble getting this out in the media,"
    "90% of our posters are torn down in Dublin,"

Really does have the spiel down pat.

Although it was wrong of yer man, if they did have permission to put it up there.

This is not acceptable and typical of the brain washed obstinate abortion supporting side.

I wish the Americans would keep their fceking nose out of our business on both sides of the referendum. :mad: Seriously mind yer own fecking business........

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭ASISEEIT

When you scrape a baby-arms ,legs,head-yes it is scraped or sucked out=dont kid yourselves-it recoils/try to defend herself/himself. This is the reality of abortion. Dont hide from it

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Looks like a telephone/ESB pole - if it is, then they have no right to put the poster up.

Have you not got a comment on the young drag queen who was assaulted for wearing his repeal the 8th jumper?

That is not acceptable and typical of the brain washed obstinate forced birth supporting side.

I was attacked last Saturday by a man who took exception to my Repeal necklace. He came and ripped it of my neck. I wasn't out campaigning, I was just walking down the street minding my own business. I know of at least two other women who have been treated in a similar way.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

ASISEEIT wrote: »
    When you scrape a baby-arms ,legs,head-yes it is scraped or sucked out=dont kid yourselves-it recoils/try to defend herself/himself. This is the reality of abortion. Dont hide from it

Noone is hiding from it.

You're wrong though, but you just keep on keeping on, it's not like you'll listen.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I can tell you that Fiona was absolutely dreading it as she knew she would be outnumbered. The presence of the Repeal supporters meant a lot to her and really gave her heart. Especially as a full on attack against her was launched on twitter calling her credentials into question and asking what right she had to even be involved as she is based in the U.K.

Yeah - what would a Tipp woman educated in U.C.C who went on to become a human rights expert and law professor in two very prestigious universities know about it. :rolleyes:
    When you see someone like Caroline Simons just lashing out at a group of people for no reason you know she is desperate and on the ropes. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

That’s not what happens in a termination at 12 weeks, which is medical not surgical.

What is your opinion of the banners being displayed outside maternity hospitals the last few days?

What is your opinion of the young woman left with internal injuries because the baby was born sideways and the midwife did nothing because the foetus was not at risk?

What is your opinion of a woman in labour having her vagina cut without her consent?

What is your opinion of a pregnant woman being denied medical treatment until her life is at ‘real and substantial’ risk?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Please explain how misoprostol and mifepristone pills do this ?

nanobots ?

magic ?

or is bullsh!t ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

ASISEEIT wrote:

That's the reality of a surgical abortion, the majority of abortions however are not surgical.
    Nobody is hiding from any of this though we all know how it works

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

I don't see how that could true. A child is several month old before it has the co ordination to control muscle movements. That is a bit like the yawning even though they are not breathing in the womb. A babies muscle movements at birth are not in a controlled way.
    Maybe someone else would have more information on development of muscle movement and control
    Late stage abortion are still very difficult and I'm sure must be a nightmare for parents. Thankfully they are rare.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭indy_man

eeepaulo wrote: »
    Looks to me like he was introduced to 2 important scientific concepts, Archimedes law of the lever and gravity.

More heartless comments from those who want to make stopping hearts legal.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Any comments on the heartless remarks and distressing pictures being exhibited where vulnerable people and children can see them?

That's Declan Ganleys brother with the ladder in his hand

Declan would know a lot of people in the USA

The guy with the beard is from the USA

Funny dat

Declan had Libertas

John McGuirk was spokesman for Libertas

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

eeepaulo wrote: »

Ummmm, he fell over, my apologies if my comment offends your sensibilities

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

JennyVin wrote:
    Reading much misinformation on this board. Please inform yourself of the truth before you vote.

So you completely disregard the recent discussion on the actual report where it is made very clear that the 8th was reason Savita's case was mismanaged, and instead you post an opinion piece... and have the nerve to say there is misinformation and that you have the truth?

Mr. No

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/on-the-mysterious-trail-of-mr-no-1.1216330

A request for an interview with Ganley, or with a representative of Libertas, so that the points being made in this article could be discussed, was declined. "We will not be co-operating with this piece. You are free, of course, to write what you wish, provided you can back it up," Libertas spokesman John McGuirk said in response to the request.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

That is a complete and utter lie with zero scientific and medical foundation.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

So, timing eh?

I've just had my mother come to me in tears with news about my younger brother , who's girlfriend is 27 weeks pregnant. A girl my own kids were delighted about ( my youngest, at 6, is the baby, over both sides of the family so he was chuffed that he wouldn't be anymore).

Myself and the missus had been wondering between us how come they'd had so many scans, seemed a lot over the last while. Apparently they'd noticed a few things and it's all come to a head now, having seen a geneticist and whatever other doctors you see about these things . I don't know the full ins and outs because I'm getting the information 3rd hand but the jist is the baby may survive , and could survive a long life span but it would not be a life worth lioving. A life being kept alive , pretty much just for th awake of not being dead. A life of suffering for both child and parents, aswell as sacrifice for any other children they may have. So now they are looking at the prospect of having to go abroad, to see doctors and specialist and go through all the hurt and suffering all over again , to have a baby induced that won't survive and then have to travel straight back home to deal with it.
    These are two kids (relativly speaking I mean. They are mid 20s) and this is their first experience of pregnancy and the effects and stresses of what happens when it goes wrong. "Sorry folks, nothing we can do, here's a plane ticket so someone else can deal with you"

From the beginning I have been pro choice and tbh I assu ed my mother was too, but this resulted in a bit of heated discussion ( not helped that we were both upset) when she went on the "abortion on demand" bit . She didn't seem to see any issue or connection between her upset and what others might be dealing with I their lives just because our family's particular situation is wholly medical.

**** the laws and **** the 8th amendment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

So, timing eh?

I've just had my mother come to me in tears with news about my younger brother , who's girlfriend is 27 weeks pregnant. A girl my own kids were delighted about ( my youngest, at 6, is the baby, over both sides of the family so he was chuffed that he wouldn't be anymore).

Myself and the missus had been wondering between us how come they'd had so many scans, seemed a lot over the last while. Apparently they'd noticed a few things and it's all come to a head now, having seen a geneticist and whatever other doctors you see about these things . I don't know the full ins and outs because I'm getting the information 3rd hand but the jist is the baby may survive , and could survive a long life span but it would not be a life worth lioving. A life being kept alive , pretty much just for th awake of not being dead. A life of suffering for both child and parents, aswell as sacrifice for any other children they may have. So now they are looking at the prospect of having to go abroad, to see doctors and specialist and go through all the hurt and suffering all over again , to have a baby induced that won't survive and then have to travel straight back home to deal with it.
    These are two kids (relativly speaking I mean. They are mid 20s) and this is their first experience of pregnancy and the effects and stresses of what happens when it goes wrong. "Sorry folks, nothing we can do, here's a plane ticket so someone else can deal with you"

My sympathies. Every day there is a more heartbreaking story of what this hideous amendment is causing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

So, timing eh?

From the beginning I have been pro choice and tbh I assu ed my mother was too, but this resulted in a bit of heated discussion ( not helped that we were both upset) when she went on the "abortion on demand" bit . She didn't seem to see any issue or connection between her upset and what others might be dealing with I their lives just because our family's particular situation is wholly medical.

That’s heartbreaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Dressing gown

So, timing eh?

Ah so sad. Very sorry for you’re brother and his girlfriend. This is my biggest problem with the 8th. It’s an absolute disgrace not to be supporting them in the situation here in their own country surrounded by their families.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

indy_man wrote:

Why the weird focus on beating hearts, as if that's the seat of personhood? It's not the middle ages anymore.

My sympathies. Every day there is a more heartbreaking story of what this hideous amendment is causing

No, everyday there are more and more girls not regretting terminating their pregnancies.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

No it's not. That's a lie. A 12 week feotus cannot recoil. It is not developed enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

No, everyday there are more and more girls not regretting terminating their pregnancies.

It's so nice you know what all the women need and make the decision for them so they don't have to worry their little heads with the big issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Sounds like they made the right decision.

Any of you pro-repeal people any bit concerned how skewed the press and media are? Do you not sense some meddling here on a global scale, do you not worry that there might be something outside Ireland trying to influence us.

Even youtube has done all it can to suppress this video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=RVuXcgcnwWk

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

No, there aren't. Anyone who makes that choice in no way regrets it. Which is why you should trust the woman to know what is best for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

So, timing eh?

2 women a week are given this news. It was only a matter of time it affected someone on or someone close to someone on this thread and yet you still have the anti choice side chiming in their ****ing opinion that stamps all over other women's bodies and lives.

I hope that whatever your family member decides they're treated with compassion and love and I hope one day others won't have to travel if they decide on a compassionate induction of labour.