Norn Iron hissing Ireland jersey in Dublin Airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

timthumbni wrote: »
    So you do think it was sectarian????

Ye, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Well that's the point, isn't it? Not everyone loves the Irish. Many don't infact, and many opposition fans would take pleasure in attacking is, given the opportunity

Though maybe if they attacked Celtic they were anti Scottish as opposed to anti Irish I suppose.

Ye, why?

Please explain why you think a Dutch club of Jewish origin would attack a Scottish club please. That would just be weird unless you are totally paranoid.

This is just complete crap. Many innocent Northern Ireland football fans were beaten that day. Innocent fans who just wanted to watch a match... I say again that Northern Ireland do not have a hooligan firm. Neither do the republic.

You seem to wish they did have. The rest of the world doesn't think it's big or clever. You just look like a dickhead. Stop acting like Danny dyer and just watch the footie..

I've never read such complete juvenile nonsense on here....

Ye "innocent" norn iron fans. Im not acting like Danny dyer at all but you seem set on twisting what I'm saying into something its not so I'll leave you to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

As for the post most Norn iron supporters I know would have a laugh with you republic supporters. It's only a game of football after all. We are both likely to get stuffed or get a few draws so it's no big deal.

I was talking to a friend of mine earlier on. He said there were plenty of nordies on the ferry over to France from Rosslare this morning, and despite the blood and guts, stand your ground b0ll0cks being posted by some lads here everyone was just having a good time slagging each other off, drinking pints and having a bit of crack. Proper order.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    you don't need a firm to defend yourself, if you are out with friends on a night out, say 5 of you, and are attacked by another group for no reason other than you are from a different country or town etc. no guards around, what do you do? run? ring the guards? help your friends who are being attacked? just take a beating?

Nope, invade the pitch and hit a few supporters wearing the scarf of the country, club you are playing against. Stop talking like Danny dyer ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Well that's the point, isn't it? Not everyone loves the Irish. Many don't infact, and many opposition fans would take pleasure in attacking is, given the opportunity

Your a Tool, I've been going to Ireland matches for roughly 24 years and I've never witnessed what you are alluding to, we are always well treated and are never faced with hooligans, with the exception of Moscow and Zilina

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

if the irish fans were being attacked in france, the golden miller would help you out where as timthumbni and deedsie would just stand there recording it on their phones.

You're posting absolute paranoid nonsense. Tim is right - quit watching them stoooopid Danny Dyer 'documentaries'.

Please explain why you think a Dutch club of Jewish origin would attack a Scottish club please. That would just be weird unless you are totally paranoid.

Well why do certain rangers fans give nazi salutes and wave the Israel flag? Doesn't make sense but it happens. Are you saying celtic were not purposefully targeted for this reason during that trip? The hardened elements in the ajax fanbase have a "good relationship" with rangers, which is the origin of where ajax fans hatred of the fenians comes from. But I'm sure you're aware of this already

I was talking to a friend of mine earlier on. He said there were plenty of nordies on the ferry over to France from Rosslare this morning, and despite the blood and guts, stand your ground b0ll0cks being posted by some lads here everyone was just having a good time slagging each other off, drinking pints and having a bit of crack. Proper order.

Yes, most NI fans will get on well with the republic fans as we are all over for a bit of craic. This Danny dyer hooligan ballox is frankly, ridiculous. Neither their republic, nor Norn iron, are renown for having hooligan firms thank god, so I just find his internet hardman, stand your ground nonsense even more ridiculous.

Well why do certain rangers fans give nazi salutes and wave the Israel flag? Doesn't make sense but it happens. Are you saying celtic were not purposefully targeted for this reason during that trip? The hardened elements in the ajax fanbase have a "good relationship" with rangers, which is the origin of where ajax fans hatred of the fenians comes from. But I'm sure you're aware of this already

What has this got to do with you being ashamed of people supporting the Irish team not wanting to get involved in hooliganism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭HiJacques

What has this got to do with you being ashamed of people supporting the Irish team not wanting to get involved in hooliganism?

Have you put on a bit of weight already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It's only a game of football after alll.

If only it were. Maybe you're not old enough but do you remember this Timmy?
    "I have never seen a more hostile atmosphere," said Jack Charlton, "not even in Turkey." Terry Phelan and Paul McGrath received monkey chants; Alan Kernaghan, who played for Northern Ireland at schoolboy level, was noisily called a "****ing Lundy". And then there were the dogs, hundreds of them, or so it seemed, barking like they knew the apocalypse was coming. "The safest place to be," said McLoughlin, "was on the pitch."

That level of naked hatred takes doesn't disappear in one generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

Berserker wrote: »
    What do you expect? It's called rivalry. RoI fans aren't exactly respectful when it comes to Northern Irish, English, Scottish and Israeli fans, players and anthems (with the exception of Flower of Scotland) themselves. I suppose it's different when RoI fans do it though!!

The IFA have done a really good job cleaning up the support base of the international football team. WP is a pleasant, family orientated environment for the most-part these days. Plenty of young people from nationalist areas support the team now.

What in the name of God are you talking about?WP all inclusive??hahahahahahahahaha

Deedsie wrote: »
    I'm not misrepresenting what you say. I fundamentally disagree with your mindset and interpretation of events.

Had that been rangers fans in Amsterdam that weekend I'd argue that the same hooligans would have taken issue with their Britishness and fondness for QEII.

So there are a bunch of lunatic criminals out for blood in a city where I have travelled to watch Ireland play a soccer match, my mindset, remove myself from the area and return safely to my family. Yours, we gotta stand up to these hooligans or we will be a laughing stock in the eyes of criminals.

I care a lot more about my safety and my friends safety than my reputation as a hard man in the eyes of Europes "hardmen" soccer firms.

Well no, they wouldn't of attacked rangers fans. Goes to show how little you know on the matter. Well your last paragraph is a contradiction in this context, the first sentence in it is my point, the second part is what you're trying to make out im saying. So what do you do if the safety of your mates is compromised? Stand there and watch?

Funny how over protective everyone here is of some mythical great reputation they think we have.

No, I'd attempt to break up any trouble and if that wasn't possible I'd be gone. Look if you want trouble you'll get trouble. luckily I have never seen any trouble as of yet and hopefully you won't either. My advice to everyone, if someone comes at you looking for trouble walk away if you can. Try and end it quick if you can't.

Spot on Deedsie, My younglad was accosted in Slovakia, but lucky enough my mate was there and put a stop to it straight away, not a big deal, but as others would have you think, we should have murdered all the Slovaks

22/25

Ireland North and South v South Africa.

We can beat the boets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

My brother and his friends travel to most of the ireland away games .As was already said earlier in the thread the only place they encountered trouble was moscow they got there passports stolen by the police and were made fork over 500 euro before they got them back.The only place in the world he said he would never return too.

Tom, that game occurred in the week after the IRA killed ten people by bombing the Shankill Road and the various Loyalist groups responded by killing 13 people all in the space of a week, culminating in the massacre at Greysteel. I don't remember things ever being as tense during the troubles as they were at that time and it was horrible to have to witness. We have moved on a hell of a long way since then. Quit living in the past.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    if the irish fans were being attacked in france, the golden miller would help you out where as timthumbni and deedsie would just stand there recording it on their phones.

Do you personally know golden Miller would stand up for you in a ruck? You may well be disappointed kid... ;-) would you charge the hooligans on your own?

When I read the ramblings of the golden Miller (aka Danny dyer) the obviously not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I don't remember things ever being as tense during the troubles as they were at that time and it was horrible to have to witness.

But it's only a game as Tim says. ;)
    We have moved on a hell of a long way since then.

Most of us have thankfully. I'm not so sure as many norniron fans have.

Do you personally know golden Miller would stand up for you in a ruck? You may well be disappointed kid... ;-) would you charge the hooligans on your own?

its no a rugby thread:D

22/25

uch wrote: »
    its no a rugby thread:D

Ha. Ha. I wouldn't be counting on some internet Danny dyer either kid. You could find yourself on some dangerous ground. Just stick to the craic perhaps...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

Most of us have thankfully. I'm not so sure as many norniron fans have.

That's right junkie. Norn Iron fans are evil. All of them. Try not to have nightmares. Lol...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

A Mass brawl in the centre of Paris perhaps? Let's get em... Grrrr
    As long as it ain't Irish fans. But i pity the french police.

Cape Town tomorrow 5pm Irish time.

Biggest event of the weekend apart from Northern Irish folk leaving the province for the first time ever.

He's right, it is only a game. A diversion from the more mundane, sh1tter things in life.
    Most of us have thankfully. I'm not so sure as many norniron fans have

We have now had 18 years of relative peace compared to what went before. I think it's great that supporters from the north and the south can now sit down and have a few beers together. This is the kind of thing that makes our island become a normal place to live. Of course there are some gobshytes still floating around, but there are less of then than there were in the bad times.