Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

stanflt wrote: »
    Can you see milk price going over 30cpl base price

Not in the distant future unfortunately

No but we can dream. As you said you would want to have your homework done to have signed up to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

Seriously guy's?
    You'd swear glanbia were giving us the lotto and they were the great benefactors

This latest scheme is just cover for them to drop Base to below 24 subsidising them not us with our own money and our own shares
    Not to mention putting a stack of shares at risk because for a lot of people even 24 is medium term very unsustainable

Add to that,people who take it up could by the time payback is triggered end up owing an entire months milk or way more
    Crazy hoodwink the farmer stuff

Here's an idea why doesn't Giil do this with its future profits instead?
    Ah no... that would be too much like a true Co operative thing to do and wouldn't line Bergin and Talbot's pockets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

stanflt wrote: »
    Can you see milk price going over 30cpl base price

Not in the distant future unfortunately

June 2018 will see it heading for 40 again.

Edit. I may have a touch of sunstroke......

mf240 wrote: »
    June 2018 will see it heading for 40 again.

Edit. I may have a touch of sunstroke......
    That will just be to try and get farmers back on side to resign the next msa

Very good letter in the journal, titled Glanbia leadership needs to move into the 21st century. Well worth a read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Take the superlevy fine getting it back at the time, but now it's a crippler 2 c off peak month supply

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

whelan2 wrote: »
    Very good letter in the journal, titled Glanbia leadership needs to move into the 21st century. Well worth a read.

Let me guess. It's a dairy farmer whinging. Glanbia did move into the 21 century, it's the dairy farmers who are living in the past.

Never seen so many dairy men and women writing letters. Must have only learned how in the last year or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Let me guess. It's a dairy farmer whinging. Glanbia did move into the 21 century, it's the dairy farmers who are living in the past.

Never seen so many dairy men and women writing letters. Must have only learned how in the last year or so.

Oh great you're back. That's fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

On the third day he rose again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Take the superlevy fine getting it back at the time, but now it's a crippler 2 c off peak month supply

But greedy lads didn't stick to their quota up until 31/3 /2015.play by the rules and thwy wouldn't be paying a superlevy fine today.tough **** for the lads that have superlevy bills of 10,20 or €30000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

boggerman1 wrote: »
    But greedy lads didn't stick to their quota up until 31/3 /2015.play by the rules and thwy wouldn't be paying a superlevy fine today.tough **** for the lads that have superlevy bills of 10,20 or €30000

Know someone with a sl bill over 40k. Didn't seem to bother them hugely, that was the price of expansion. I certainly wouldn't fancy paying it back now I'll admit straight out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Plenty lads out there with no superlevy fine but still paying back quota costs of 50c/L which was where it was in the few years before 2015. I assume most running the risk of the fine surely had it it build in to costs to pay back

IGNORE its the best option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Milked out wrote:
    Plenty lads out there with no superlevy fine but still paying back quota costs of 50c/L which was where it was in the few years before 2015. I assume most running the risk of the fine surely had it it build in to costs to pay back

Paying back s/l fine and quota, it's hard to stomach but that's life. Mines in the 20s, wouldn't have taken it back but I was at sheds, personal circumstances. It is cheaper to expand now than the past(shares, s/l,quota) now I just have to keep accumulating shares!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Mod:

Your post was perfectly fine, if abrasive, until you posted the sentence in bold.

You didn't need to suggest that dairy men and women have only just learnt to write.

This is your last warning to ameliorate your posting style if you wish to remain on this forum.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

So in the journal today you have corbally saying how wonderful everything is at Glanbia. Then a letter giving out about them and Bill of keeffe again saying how great they are with these schemes to help the farmers...does any other creamery get as much media coverage?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

So in the journal today you have corbally saying how wonderful everything is at Glanbia. Then a letter giving out about them and Bill of keeffe again saying how great they are with these schemes to help the farmers...

I gave up buying the journal a long time ago on a matter of principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

So in the journal today you have corbally saying how wonderful everything is at Glanbia. Then a letter giving out about them and Bill of keeffe again saying how great they are with these schemes to help the farmers...does any other creamery get as much media coverage?

Fook all these great ??????schemes .pay a decent milk price and no need for any of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

That letter is like sinn fein's criticism of the government......a lot of flag waving but not a lot of constructive proposals...
    I'd imagine there's drystock farmers that'd take your interest free money if you don't want it.
    Comparison to water is stupid too, if you're not getting a reasonable margin selling water, you turn off the supply......not quite the same with dairy cows

Larry to drop the beef price by 10 c a kg but he will offer you a loan of 10c kg and will take 10c kg out of your cheque again as soon as the market improves . All you have to do to avail of Larry's generosity is to sign a contract with him to supply him all your cattle and sheep for the next 10 years. Even if you go broke doing so. Sure who wouldn't jump at a deal like that?

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    Larry to drop the beef price by 10 c a kg but he will offer you a loan of 10c kg and will take 10c kg out of your cheque again as soon as the market improves . All you have to do to avail of Larry's generosity is to sign a contract with him to supply him all your cattle and sheep for the next 10 years. Even if you go broke doing so. Sure who wouldn't jump at a deal like that?

Interest free and if they don't rise the price, (which is likely).....is it a present then.
    As i said they're not a bank

Look you would have to admire glanbia and the rest for what they've managed to do. They've secured an endless supply of the raw material they need for as little as they want to pay. That's why the top men get bonuses.

I know if I secured and endless supply of grass or land for **** all I'd give myself a bonus. Might even be a few red pantie nights.

I gave up buying the journal a long time ago on a matter of principle.

Please share what made you set out on this one man crusade.

If you have to ask that question then I guess you are not really Jesus after Al.

rangler1 wrote: »
    Interest free and if they don't rise the price, (which is likely).....is it a present then.
    As i said they're not a bank

So you would have no problem getting a small loan from Larry in exchange for agreeing to exclusively sell him all your sheep and cattle for the next 10 years?

I'd imagine there;s more to it than that, I'm sure like all the merchants. glanbia are concerned about the amount of money that's owed.they have to tie up the worst of the bills.
    Unfortunately they seem to be gambling shareholders money on whether the bills will be paid.If farmers are using a lot of merchant credit, it's because they can't get it from the bank which should ring alarm bells ....this could go very wrong for our shares

I'd imagine there;s more to it than that, I'm sure like all the merchants. glanbia are concerned about the amount of money that's owed.they have to tie up the worst of the bills.
    Unfortunately they seem to be gambling shareholders money on whether the bills will be paid.If farmers are using a lot of merchant credit, it's because they can't get it from the bank which should ring alarm bells ....this could go very wrong for our shares
    Who sets the credit limit on trading accounts? My credit limit is totally crazy, would never be near to it ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The other option of cutting off credit, taking whole milk cheques to clear trading accounts and effictively leaving alot of lads without a pot to piss would have a far more detrimental effect, milk supply would dry up, existing suppliers would stop trading with agri side due to heavy handed tactics like say above and once the plc hasn't got access to a endless supply of cheap milk, share price would take a nice little tumble....
    Long term looking at it I reckon talbot/Bergin are going to put lads in that much debt to glanbia that the only way out will be a huge spin - out of shares and they'll get their wish to wrestle back the small bit of say that farmers have in the plc side of business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Who sets the credit limit on trading accounts? My credit limit is totally crazy, would never be near to it ever.

It must follow your milk supply, my limit was raised 15 thousand last month and I never asked for it, was just by looking at GLANBIA connect I seen it had been raised, would be sending in alot more milk then last year....
    The bigger guys could easily have limits approaching 100k