After Hours BEERS!!! 2nd July - Sweetmans... and THE LAST POLL!!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I think I know it, I think that's where I had the pasta bake that looked like someone spunked in it

Sorry about that

No
    Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Sorry about that

You're definitely not invited. We don't want your sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,021 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Peregrine wrote: »
    Duke Street!

It's in the Duke District - ya can't miss it

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

So where's it on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

The duke can be a bit lively on a football night!

No
    Winterlong wrote: »
    The duke can be a bit lively on a football night!

Whelans got my vote :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Whelans got my vote :)

Whelans is a great spot....a little out of the way for out of towners or northsiders, but worth the few minutes extra up georges st/wexford street.
    Zaytoon for kebabs afterwards!

No
    Winterlong wrote: »
    Whelans is a great spot....a little out of the way for out of towners or northsiders, but worth the few minutes extra up georges st/wexford street.
    Zaytoon for kebabs afterwards!

I'm coming up from bogland so they are all the same to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭Trebor176

No
    I've never been in J W Sweetman's, but it looks like a nice spot. Ideally located as well, so it's got my vote.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Whelans is normally jammed. Jammed I tell ya.

The others have a bit of room and can potentially put aside a table or 2 for a bunch of nerds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Which spot are you most likely to get a seat? It'll get my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Sweetmans as its the only one I've not been in and the other two are a bit meh. :/ have whelans painted the ladies toilets lately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

Which spot are you most likely to get a seat? It'll get my vote.

Sweetmans will always reserve an area for boards beers, they're really sound about it and they're also really sound about kicking out people trying to cause any kind of trouble (yeh, it happens).

The others might too, no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Sweetmans as its the only one I've not been in and the other two are a bit meh. :/ have whelans painted the ladies toilets lately?

The toilets in Whelans are the best part of it! Could sit there for half an hour reading the graffiti :D

It does get very packed and loud though, more of a place to go to finish off the night and go for a dance.

The Duke isn't a late bar. Sweetmans is grand. Open late, has a DJ, but doesn't get so loud that you can't have a conversation. Plenty of seats/areas to reserve, I've been to many boards beers there. Stairs are a killer if you're a smoker and they've reserved you an area on the top floor though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Sweetmans deffo the best option.
    Whelans would be too jammed and impossible to hear all my bad jokes and puns.

No
    Ya you're right. Whelans will be nuts on a Saturday night. An extra one for Sweetmans so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Ya you're right. Whelans will be nuts on a Saturday night. An extra one for Sweetmans so :)

But you've voted for Whelan's :eek:

No
    But you've voted for Whelan's :eek:

Ya but I can change my mind. Really though it's all the same to me. If enough want it held down by the canal with a bag of cans that's good too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Ya but I can change my mind. Really though it's all the same to me. If enough want it held down by the canal with a bag of cans that's good too :)

Now that sounds more like my kind of night.... :p

Everyone sitting on the grass outside the bar in Trinity on a warm summer evening, drinking 4 cans of beer for €9.50 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Two canals in Dublin...can you add a poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

hmmmm, might do, the last AH Beers in O'Connells in Galway few years back was good laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Come down to tipp altogether ta fcuk. :p:D

Seriously though don't know any of these pubs will pick majority ruling.

No
    Collie D wrote: »
    Two canals in Dublin...can you add a poll?

Feck off you with your polls! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Everyone sitting on the grass outside the bar in Trinity on a warm summer evening, drinking 4 cans of beer for €9.50 :)

Classy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

Brendan Behan statue

Royal Canal

Flagon of Linden Village each

Sorted

No
    Patser wrote: »
    Brendan Behan statue

Royal Canal

Sorted

Swap the Linden for Devils Bite and you have yourself a deal :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Brendan Behan statue

Royal Canal

Sorted
    Then across to the Red Parrot for shots! :eek: :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

Swap the Linden for Devils Bite and you have yourself a deal :p

I was trying to keep it classy!

Afterwards we go up to the walls of Mountjoy and grab whatever packets didn't clear the walls to sample.

No
    I was trying to keep it classy!

Afterwards we go up to the walls of Mountjoy and grab whatever packets didn't clear the walls to sample.

Jaysus I don't know about that now. Would a few cocktail sausages and chicken goujons not do?