Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Aid package for German dairy farmers.

http://www.thescottishfarmer.co.uk/news/aid-package-for-german-dairy-farmers.28841128

So the single market is broken now that different regions can offer aid while others cannot.

I'm beginning to think Irexit may be worth thinking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

http://www.thescottishfarmer.co.uk/news/aid-package-for-german-dairy-farmers.28841128

So the single market is broken now that different regions can offer aid while others cannot.

Absolutely nothing stopping creed doing something similar but he's such a lightweight he's already in thrall to the senior civil servants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

What I don't understand, if the likes of the big eu countries and USA etc produce the most of their milk for the domestic market, and only export the likes of 10% as powder to the world market, then why is their milk price hit so bad? The price of milk/dairy hasn't dropped in the shops right?, so do the processors use the world price as a stick to beat down the farmer gate price there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,788 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Are people feeding any meal to milkers in this weather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote: »
    Are people feeding any meal to milkers in this weather?

Two kg of 14%.

visatorro wrote: »
    Two kg of 14%.
    just feeding heifers 2kg here for the last day or so, cows are on heavy covers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

4.4 kg fty of 14%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭degetme

No meal with over three weeks. Goin back to two kg if wether gets unsettled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

20 litres , 3,55 fat , 3,45 pr , on a minority coalition government here atm. So without the political rubbish were happy enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

PRot 3.43 Bfat 4.88 milking 26 litres on 1.5kg meal, not feeding meal everyday but tight on grass as badly need rain and have a lot of ground out for silage earlier and prob 10 days away from grazing this and taken out paddocks for bales, west clare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Gone up to 4.5kg here stocked at 4.6. Grass slowed down on last 2 weeks, finished wet ground which had a good cover, back to dry ground now with a light poor quality cover. Last round of fert only waiting for rain on dry ground I'd say. Wwas at 2kg and they were holding at 27l at 3.42 p and 3.67bf. Haven't received solids results for 10 days now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Feeding half kilo here (soya hulls/barley mix), more to help cow flow than anything. milking 26l 4.1 fat 3.5 protein, just over 2kg milk solids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

5 kgs 14% nut fty cows sitting on 31 litres the last 4 weeks at 3.7bf 3.44 pr their on aftergrass at the minute and wouldnt like not to have them on meal grass is very rank and full of n due to dry weather, without the fibre in the beet pulp/soya hulls id say i would have a few cows with acidosis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

jaymla627 wrote: »
    5 kgs 14% nut fty cows sitting on 31 litres the last 4 weeks at 3.7bf 3.44 pr their on aftergrass at the minute and wouldnt like not to have them on meal grass is very rank and full of n due to dry weather, without the fibre in the beet pulp/soya hulls id say i would have a few cows with acidosis

Do you need 14% if as you say grass is rank with N? 3kg of 9% here for 28-29l on aftergrass as well.

How is maize doing under plastic? Would that heat affect it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Grass seems to be grazing and keeping pr better than it looks(3.6and3.9bf) but a week could change that alot.if we dont get rain the end of the week we ll be going into ground that was just dropped out for silage, lucky we didnt wrap it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Do you need 14% if as you say grass is rank with N? 3kg of 9% here for 28-29l on aftergrass as well.

Alternating between aftergrass and strongish paddocks, so it evens out, anything that hasn't been mowed/topped is really poor quality, just in from walking the place and need to take out 40% of grazing block that hasn't been mowed next week.....
    Even paddocks cut 14 days ago are starting to throw out seed heads, nightmare trying to keep quality up and not leave myself short if enough rain doesn't come, milk urea is staying around 22-25 so happy enough to keep a 14% nut in till grass quality sorts itself out

whelan2 wrote: »
    How is maize doing under plastic? Would that heat affect it?

Like liquid n for it ,crop of it under plastic not far from me and its powering through growth stages in last 2 weeks

On 14 here now feeding 4.3 kg and hitting 3.58 p and hovering around 31.5 ltrs .mowed again today but left one paddock which I'm going to pre now for cows .dry hot weather starting to hit and no point taking too much for bales and have to end up feeding them back out in a week or 10 days .we missed all the showers yesterday and thought itvwas going to puke rain this am but alas nothing 25 degrees and v hot now .

mahoney_j wrote: »
    On 14 here now feeding 4.3 kg and hitting 3.58 p and hovering around 31.5 ltrs .mowed again today but left one paddock which I'm going to pre now for cows .dry hot weather starting to hit and no point taking too much for bales and have to end up feeding them back out in a week or 10 days .we missed all the showers yesterday and thought itvwas going to puke rain this am but alas nothing 25 degrees and v hot now .
    We were shearing yesterday and had to move the wool before milking as there were drops.

Then the rain fecked off:(

I'm blaming Evelyn Cusack, she's promising us rain for the last 2 weeks and no sign of it.:mad:

We were shearing yesterday and had to move the wool before milking as there were drops.

Then the rain fecked off:(

I'm blaming Evelyn Cusack, she's promising us rain for the last 2 weeks and no sign of it.:mad:
    There's a lad around here that cuts silage /hay and if he moves to cut its a sure sign of bad weather and rain .he hasn't budged yet .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Like liquid n for it ,crop of it under plastic not far from me and its powering through growth stages in last 2 weeks

Who supplies liquid in your area/ what would be price per m3? Presume it's a low % urea based as An is banned in Ireland still?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Who supplies liquid in your area/ what would be price per m3? Presume it's a low % urea based as An is banned in Ireland still?

Dont think anyone sells it, a few of the veg lads mix their own afaik

Sun + heat = like liquid n for maize what I meant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Dont think anyone sells it, a few of the veg lads mix their own afaik
    Sun + heat = like liquid n for maize what I meant

Ahh I get ye. With Yara putting in a depot from cork you might get liquid going forward, they bring it in super concentrated at 50+% N but it makes the 'specific gravity' crazy high so they dilute it down with water to fill a lorry rather than just have a system to mix it on farm in An form as urea is very hard to mix to 30+% you need heat and/constant mixing to store long term.

There's a lad around here that cuts silage /hay and if he moves to cut its a sure sign of bad weather and rain .he hasn't budged yet .......
    Will ya head over to him and give the lad a bit of a nudge so?

I'll stand you a pint when I see you;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Actually just thinking are lads spreading sulphar with their fert?
    It's more important in dry conditions than at any time.
    Can def see the difference in paddocks that got it here and slower to head out.

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Been spreading it since late March ,all ground has gotten close to 28 units of s as of now .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Been spreading it since late March ,all ground has gotten close to 28 units of s as of now .

That's a good bit. Only have 10 units spread here. But even can see difference with paddocks that got it and paddocks that got fert with no s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

pedigree 6 wrote: »

First cut silage ground gets ASN, grazing ground gets CAN +S or compound +S, from April on. I'd have nothing without it.