Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Dawggone wrote: »
    Have you ditched the ski socks?

Can't call it warm until they're off...and the sandals on.

God no, but down to a couple of the lighter pairs.

And a hat with no ear flaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

How do you rate those mineral dispensers for water, worth the money or just another cost to add in a low price year?

I'm thinking of putting something later in the year for trace elements with added magnesium late in the year. I might be able to cut a few kgs of meal off in the backend to help finance it.

That's the option 3, jsut scrap the minerals totally ha. Other than there are 3 220l drums in the yard I could well be scrapping it. The pump is troublesome enough, especially as our water has some particles in it and no filter. However on the flip side I'm paying 250e/ton for nuts with minerals in them, if I was jsut buying energy I'd be saving at least 50e/ton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

One of those days... Checked cows at 12 this morning. All around trough and no water. Thought had leak and well had pumped itself dry but figured out power was out at pump house.
    Not a good day to be without water. Phoned ESB said wouldn't be back till 4:00.
    And milk recording this evening to top it all off. Sorted access to a stream at furthest away field on farm.
    Not long after putting cows in there power is restored.
    All's well that ends well. Half a day wasted thou. Some fun trying to get them out of that paddock this evening!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

What's the milk withdrawal period for Zanil?
    Herd is being infected with a parasite that I've never heard of before and need to dose the lot, but 4.5days on Zanil here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,788 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Herd is being infected with a parasite that I've never heard of before and need to dose the lot, but 4.5days on Zanil here.

3 days but shorter when tested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭stanflt

I know some lads that did 10 cows a day with Zanil and didn't withhold the milk

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

72 hours here. Would have thought periods would have been the same across the EU. A phone call to the manufacturer might be a good idea to ascertain why there's a difference before considering options.

http://www.hpra.ie/img/uploaded/swedocuments/LicenseSPC_10996-262-001_31082012095014.pdf

The obvious suggestion is to prioritise treatment and not do all the same day.

What parasite have you encountered? Paramphistomum ?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

stanflt wrote: »
    I know some lads that did 10 cows a day with Zanil and didn't withhold the milk

Let me guess that was 10 out of 160 cows/day :p. Every 4days then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

As whelan said, 3 days here but the concentration of the dose in the Zanil may be different in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭billie holiday

You can administer products like Zanil through diet feeder. Works great for me.

greysides wrote: »

What parasite have you encountered? Paramphistomum ?

That's the one Greysides.
    Vet said that it thrives in hot climates...

Just phoned the manufacturers help line and it's 4 1/2 days.
    I'll chance Stans approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Have u an antibiotic testing kit? Handy to.have for those scenarios

Milked out wrote: »
    Have u an antibiotic testing kit? Handy to.have for those scenarios

I don't, but I know a guy that does. I try to avoid visiting him because he is one of the biggest complainers I've ever met. He'd wreck your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

How many would you dose at a time? Paddle or tub feeder?
    I often dosed a few buy mixing dose with meal. Seen a couple turn their nose at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I don't, but I know a guy that does. I try to avoid visiting him because he is one of the biggest complainers I've ever met. He'd wreck your head.

He must have some Irish genes in him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Are ye getting much of this rain due to flood Paris?

He must have some Irish genes in him

Jeez no. He brings moaning to a new level.

He's losing 000's/month on dairy, but creaming it from chicken houses. One of those that became totally used to win win. He'd do your head in.
    Typical non tillage/beef farmer...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Wer getting a hammering in the future beef thread, the resentment to dairy farmers I didn't realise. Let them milk my cows and ill check their cattle lol

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Wer getting a hammering in the future beef thread, the resentment to dairy farmers I didn't realise. Let them milk my cows and ill check their cattle lol

Wonder why?

Dawg scratches his head...and is a little bewildered......I dunno...

FFS.

Wonder why?

Dawg scratches his head...and is a little bewildered......I dunno...

FFS.
    Explain? I'm interested! We used to have tillage, cattle and sheep with cows and moved to cows eventually, I'd move back/something else in a heart beat depending on circumstances of either sectors. Is it regret on other farmers part or just begrudgery.. I wasn't protected by quotas btw(started with 0 quotas)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭billie holiday

visatorro wrote: »

How many would you dose at a time? Paddle or tub feeder?
    I often dosed a few buy mixing dose with meal. Seen a couple turn their nose at it.

Dose them all. Paddle feeder i use. Tub should work fine
    As for intake feed extra meal and leave it there they will eat it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

thinking of set up demand of 60 or ther abouts for the next couple of months ,is it high or low?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Explain? I'm interested! We used to have tillage, cattle and sheep with cows and moved to cows eventually, I'd move back/something else in a heart beat depending on circumstances of either sectors. Is it regret on other farmers part or just begrudgery.. I wasn't protected by quotas btw(started with 0 quotas)

I think it has to do with the whinging about bad price while still making money, and hardship (ski holiday ) fund that was doled out to dairy farmers as soon as a milk price took a down turn.
    Whereas the beef farmer was told to be happy with what ever he got.

I think it has to do with the whinging about bad price while still making money, and hardship (ski holiday ) fund that was doled out to dairy farmers as soon as a milk price took a down turn. Whereas the beef farmer was told to be happy with what ever he got.

Agree with you but no holiday for me last 3 years pity the fool I am:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

I think it has to do with the whinging about bad price while still making money, and hardship (ski holiday ) fund that was doled out to dairy farmers as soon as a milk price took a down turn.
    Whereas the beef farmer was told to be happy with what ever he got.

Beef farmers are price takers more so than us in dairy and that is a pity but thats how there industry has developed, they dont own any processing facilities, we own all of ours and have taken reduced market prices to facilitate this and as a result we question everything as its our money at the end of the day. Reading a report the other day and it outlined the older you get the less questions you ask, take a 5 year old vrs a 65year old, pity our quangos are made up of similar age profiles. Questioning our system leads to improvement on a continuous basis. Most successful beef farmers in ireland are the processing families and they can afford more than one ski holiday a year.
    Dairy farmers will question prices in good times and bad, we were querying things just as much when price was over 30c, the day we stop is the day we give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Dairy farmers will question prices in good times and bad, we were querying things just as much when price was over 30c, the day we stop is the day we give up.
    Couldn't agree more. When you put money into a co-op you will always question it's performance. You have to it's your livelihood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,788 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Lovely morning, cows full of milk,loads of grass, weather great, type of morning you can only dream about in February....... if only milk price would improve all would be good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭einn32

Already 14 mm of rain for june around here! 40mm is the average. Land is waterlogged. Lame numbers creeping up. Cows are hard to work with in this weather. When you're using the wipers to clear mud off the windscreen it says it all! Just gotta put up with it I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

einn32 wrote: »
    Already 14 mm of rain for june around here! 40mm is the average. Land is waterlogged. Lame numbers creeping up. Cows are hard to work with in this weather. When you're using the wipers to clear mud off the windscreen it says it all! Just gotta put up with it I guess.

havin seen rain in 3 weeks ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dose them all. Paddle feeder i use. Tub should work fine
    As for intake feed extra meal and leave it there they will eat it

Was reading somewhere that you're not not to mix the dose with feedstuffs. You'd wonder would it make much of a difference.