Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,433 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

By the time we play again (barring replays) there will be only 6 teams left in the championship. The qualifiers will be finished the night before the munster final and the Leinster final is the week before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

KevIRL wrote: »
    By the time we play again (barring replays) there will be only 6 teams left in the championship. The qualifiers will be finished the night before the munster final and the Leinster final is the week before it.

A nice thought. There have been times when I've was grateful that Waterford were one of the 6 teams left in Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭boodiebhoy

Good times indeed. Not so long ago we would only make 1 or 2 appearances in a decade and often get bet out the gate in the final.

And this is why we are "ruining" hurling for all the "neutrals". We were great fellas when they were scoring 5 & 7 goals against us. If yesterday passes for "puke" hurling then long may it continue.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

If Tipp beat Limerick the munster final could well be on in Limerick . I know Waterford would be willing to concede home advantage to Tipp and have it in Thurles but munster council may not allow that again this year as they are keen to have a final In Limerick I'm told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Hopefully Thurles anyway, I read something about it having to be Thurles since the stadium has hawk-eye. Gaelic Grounds in Limerick doesn't.
    Imagine the uproar if they held it in Lk (just assuming Tipp come through) and a controversial point/wide cost either side..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I'm fed up of people giving out about our style of play, other teams play a similar system but we seems to get the most stick, we scored 1-21 which is certainly not bad scoring when you consider we hit a lot of wides, We scored 3 goals in the league SF against Limerick, everyone agrees the first day against Clare was poor but that happens, can anyone honestly say they did not enjoy our hurling yesterday especially in the second half. It's just typical negativity about Waterford people think we should still be playing wide open hurling and having to score 4 goals to win a match, Some of the points we scored yesterday were as good as you will see if you want to see a negative and boring game then watch Cork against Tipp but to suggest that scoring 1-21 in a Munster championship is playing negative is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,614 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Cake Man wrote: »
    Hopefully Thurles anyway, I read something about it having to be Thurles since the stadium has hawk-eye. Gaelic Grounds in Limerick doesn't.
    Imagine the uproar if they held it in Lk (just assuming Tipp come through) and a controversial point/wide cost either side..

If puc was still intact the match wud be there like in 2011/2012 if we're playing tipp. I imagine when the new place is built it will have hawkeye

Thurles Wud be easier for tickets than Limerick.

If it's Limerick in the final it will deff be in thurles

I'd Love if the minors win in the semi final and we have a double day in the Munster final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Good job on yesterday's performance and did a very KK thing with the surge after half time. No final for me as on hols in France so will have to find a venue to get a score when I'm up a mountain side. Wearing the jersey though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

boodiebhoy wrote: »
    And this is why we are "ruining" hurling for all the "neutrals". We were great fellas when they were scoring 5 & 7 goals against us. If yesterday passes for "puke" hurling then long may it continue.

Ya it must be disappointing that the uppity Waterford haven't disappeared back to the Doldrums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Shur look theres only 7 or 8 teams in the championship that are realistic contenders anyway. Whoever is left is going to be tough to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

The perfectionist in me was kinda hoping we'd try and put a few goals past them in the second half to really bury the game, if Bennetts cross to Maurice had come off and he goaled then the game would have been over at that point. In the last few minutes we withdrew alot too, why not go for the jugular when we're 5 or 6 points up? Delighted with the win and it's really just nit picking to be honest, if we play like that in tje final I can't see us losing. Roll on the Munster final.

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Shur look theres only 7 or 8 teams in the championship that are realistic contenders anyway. Whoever is left is going to be tough to beat.

Fair point. What I was getting at is that a whole lot of hurling will be played before we are on the field again. Who knows, maybe even one of the big guns might be out. Its a nice position to be in.

Ropaire wrote: »
    The perfectionist in me was kinda hoping we'd try and put a few goals past them in the second half to really bury the game, if Bennetts cross to Maurice had come off and he goaled then the game would have been over at that point. In the last few minutes we withdrew alot too, why not go for the jugular when we're 5 or 6 points up? Delighted with the win and it's really just nit picking to be honest, if we play like that in tje final I can't see us losing. Roll on the Munster final.

The big miss in terms of goal chance was just before half time. If Bennett had looked up he would have found Curran completely free in front of goal. I think as he was having a tough enough game to that stage, Bennett just wanted his own score, understandable but hopefully he'll learn from it. At Least he got the point and didn't miss!

As for going for juggular, if they had of risked it and conceded a goal then it could have been panic stations. I thought the approach taken to kill the game was excellent. Even some clever stalling tactics. Other successful teams are never shy of doing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

If Tipp beat Limerick the munster final could well be on in Limerick . I know Waterford would be willing to concede home advantage to Tipp and have it in Thurles but munster council may not allow that again this year as they are keen to have a final In Limerick I'm told

I hope it's not in Limerick...fcuking hole to get outta

Either way....it's a good test as I felt they should've been closer to tipp/left it behind last year and would have no fears of playing tipp in thurles tbh

(Not meaning to dismiss Limerick..but I'd fancy tipp to have the measure of them by a bit)

Either way...all they need Is win their next three matches....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I'm fed up of people giving out about our style of play, other teams play a similar system but we seems to get the most stick, we scored 1-21 which is certainly not bad scoring when you consider we hit a lot of wides, We scored 3 goals in the league SF against Limerick, everyone agrees the first day against Clare was poor but that happens, can anyone honestly say they did not enjoy our hurling yesterday especially in the second half. It's just typical negativity about Waterford people think we should still be playing wide open hurling and having to score 4 goals to win a match, Some of the points we scored yesterday were as good as you will see if you want to see a negative and boring game then watch Cork against Tipp but to suggest that scoring 1-21 in a Munster championship is playing negative is ridiculous.
    I've always enjoyed watching Waterford over the years and was a huge admirer of the likes of Paul Flynn, Ken McGrath and Tony Browne among others.

For me nothing much has changed, I'm not a huge fan of this new style of hurling but I think Waterford do it better than anyone else and still produce fantastic hurlers like Austin Gleeson who have adapted to Derek McGrath's way of doing things but still retain that swashbuckling off the cuff style of hurling that for me is an absolute joy to watch.

Limerick vs Tipp is on the 19th June and both minor semi finals are on 29th June (Wat vs Lim, Cor vs Tipp) so imagine munster final tickets will go on sale the 30th June /1st July

hoping for Thurles but dont think we would give tipp home advantage 2 years in a row. Limerick or Killarney bound if its Waterford vs Tipp and Thurles bound if its Waterford vs Limerick

hope Micky D Higgins stays away from the final as we always lose or draw when he meets us lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Regarding your Munster final opponents from this Limerick mans view point it will be tipp I,d be almost certain of that its the almost that's keeping us going traditionally we put it up to tipp but we,ll have a lot of debutants so will be a big ask. Whoever it is Waterford will be formidable opponents in final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

I hope it's not in Limerick...fcuking hole to get outta

Either way....it's a good test as I felt they should've been closer to tipp/left it behind last year and would have no fears of playing tipp in thurles tbh

(Not meaning to dismiss Limerick..but I'd fancy tipp to have the measure of them by a bit)

Either way...all they need Is win their next three matches....

Take the tunnel.. easy way out of Limerick.

Figerty wrote: »
    Take the tunnel.. easy way out of Limerick.

It's the road from tipp town is the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭redlead

I think it's crazy giving Tipp home advantage in Thurles. Our record against them there is awful. Gaelic grounds is a pain but it's still the smarter option.

We have a terrible record in the Gaelic grounds. The last championship game we played there was the 2008 Munster qf defeat to Clare. We lost and drew there in recent times

Thurles is like our second home and we love playing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Looks like a lot of Waterford people have forgotten 07

lim4ev wrote: »
    Looks like a lot of Waterford people have forgotten 07
    Ive tried to but every now and then wake up in a cold sweat in the middle of the night thinking about it

redlead wrote: »
    I think it's crazy giving Tipp home advantage in Thurles. Our record against them there is awful. Gaelic grounds is a pain but it's still the smarter option.

A lot of reason Waterford record v tipp in thurles is terrible is they weren't good enough to beat them there...wouldn't haven beat them if it was on the moon

Their good enough now to win no matter where it is on....if they've designs on winning an all Ireland which I think they do...they shouldn't be afraid of playing anyone anywhere

redlead wrote: »

A lot of reason Waterford record v tipp in thurles is terrible is they weren't good enough to beat them there...wouldn't haven beat them if it was on the moon

Their good enough now to win no matter where it is on....if they've designs on winning an all Ireland which I think they do...they shouldn't be afraid of playing anyone anywhere
    Yea Id swear some people would actually rather lose in Thurles and have a quick spin home than win a Munster title and have to endure the traffic going through Tipp Town after it. Then again Limerick is fine for those of us in the west when its as quick to go via Mitchelstown or Kilmallock and avoid east Waterford/city traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Horseboxhead

just a word too about Kevin Morans second half performence, Majestic, jesus he was everywhere, and making all the right decisions with ball in hand, has had a Poor enough year by his own standards, but he fair led from the very first ball in the second half, his timing of his runs, back and to get on the end of developing plays, his shooting, his outright determination to chase and block and hook, When he's in this form, very few better, and it was as selfless as what usually you get from brick, but added the scoring threat, i'm usually giving out about him, but he left it out there, animal of a performence, and again brick is some man to win ruck ball, and the simple and always the correct pass, fair lucky to have him, still doing it.
    Dara fives and i've been banging this drum for three four years , is top top Drawer, his brother shane , Coughlan, Connors , Sokky[Made probably the biggest individual play of the game], Phillip, Aussie,and on and on, all gems ,all for the jersey, no All Stars just All Irelands, you can see their focus, Maurice Back to his best[that last point under the old stand,No right to hit it, other than a massive belief in his own ability, never left the black spot], some lift, Barron, probably the best dinky bits and pieces midfielder around, top quality stick man, with an engine, and all at top pace, we're blessed lads, Shane Bennett and Patrick, neither at their best in fact first time since arriving, that nothing was working, but still balls out, doing the work, and Paudie , does everything right, big surprise was he missed one shot at goal from play , when everything he hits goes over, but again always make's the right decision faster than everyone else, Clever Clever player, O Halloran must be pushing, Dillon super score, was trying to hard though unfamiler to him, coming on , just needs to steady down a bit but did his bit, Devine, bit like jake tried to hard, had the decision made in his head before getting control of the ball, but an animal, and has all the right stuff, and Colin, will have a massive role to play still this year, with stephen Bennett now back flying, we have now what was always our achilies , a serious Panel, and game changers on and off, very easy to go over the top, very un waterford like[HA HA], but if we bring this everyday anyone who beats us will be winning something serious, and will deserve it, and no more of this apologising for playing a game that relies on lads emptying the tank, of hard work, married with self expression and smatherings of Genius, We are heading into the unknown, a Waterford Panel not bending the knee , not relying on siege mentalities or being victims, just relying on the honesty and ability , that we are lucky enough to have within our county , if anyone thinks i'm over the top , why not ?, we are Waterford baby, and we've Arrived.

Footballers got Leitrim Away in the qualifiers. Very winnable game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Waternut

Lads, fantastic win but lets not get ahead of ourselves. Clare were poor. In fact Waterford was poor in the first half but Clare were atrocious. We will need a better first half to win a Munster final cos that last Sunday will not do. We picked it up in the second half where Moran put in a huge shift. Looking at the game again he was the clear man of the match. Gleeson scored three cracking pints in the first half but was largely anonymous apart from those three balls.He is tremendously gifted and we need him involved in the game constantly. We picked it up a gear in the second half and Moran, Darragh and Burke really drove on. Shanahan had a good game but was isolated at times. His only fault and I'm being picky, is that he probably lacks a half yard of pace and it can be very frustrating for him leading the line with two or three players hanging off him. Paudie played well, was surprised after his injury. Jes he is a beautiful striker of a sliothar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

Charlie69 wrote: »
    I've always enjoyed watching Waterford over the years and was a huge admirer of the likes of Paul Flynn, Ken McGrath and Tony Browne among others.

For me nothing much has changed, I'm not a huge fan of this new style of hurling but I think Waterford do it better than anyone else and still produce fantastic hurlers like Austin Gleeson who have adapted to Derek McGrath's way of doing things but still retain that swashbuckling off the cuff style of hurling that for me is an absolute joy to watch.
    if Austin was stuck in the so called forwards for most of the game ,i doubt even his style and skill would shine through ,its a crap system,on the whole it can be horrible to watch ,but and its a big but ,we got the win , as we saw yesterday Shane Bennett and Patrick Curran are being tortured by the system,when you think about it Brick,Kevin Moran are non scoring forwards , the latter somehow redeemed himself in the second half all be it ,it would not be hard considering his horror show in the first ,Maurice busting his bollix for mere peanuts (blessed we have a hurler like him to take on his role)its a system that will get you so far ,lets hope that will be September ,BUT surprise surprise i am not that optimistic ,a world of talent in this county as their is in most top hurling counties ,its just what you do with them ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Waternut wrote: »
    Lads, fantastic win but lets not get ahead of ourselves. Clare were poor. In fact Waterford was poor in the first half but Clare were atrocious. We will need a better first half to win a Munster final cos that last Sunday will not do.

This!! While it was an incredibly satisfying victory Clare were very poor. And not in a way that we could claim we caused them to be poor, they missed some really simple chances.
    I think we could do without the likes of Mullane tipping us for All Ireland already. Tipp, KK, Galway all loving the attention that we're bringing on ourselves. I think if we are to get to September we need to manage that side of it carefully to keep a lid on things. Don't want to be getting carried away at this stage of the year.
    Huge positive was the performance of Moran who had struggled a little for form before this game. Similar with Maurice and Pauric Mahony, they delivered when we really needed it and Bennett and Curran were struggling. Those lads will bounce back from that disappointment I have no doubt.
    Hopefully the attention quickly switches to another team now, Limerick, Tipp, Dublin, KK. Don't particular care who but would much rather avoid the hype and focus.