Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Realbhoy wrote: »
    I think the leinster champions play Galway this year in the under 21 semi final.

You are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

With all the bruhaa doing the rounds about the venue, the small matter of the team has been overlooked

17b06214a3303edb3a3639230d7dc7b9.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,830 ✭✭✭corny

Strong team. As much as Bastick has been a legend its good to see MDM starting. He looked very lean for this time of year in the league final. Expect he'll have a big year.

Yeah agreed MDM at full tilt will add a whole new dimension to our play in the middle

Sorry to see Bastick not starting. He has been brilliant so far all year, and was key play maker in the league final. I'd actually see MDM more as someone to throw in later, as he has shown he is very effective at. He has been pivotal to Dublin closing out games. Still, it will be interesting to see. I expect this game to be more or less over at half time anyway, so probably not learn too much. JG be emptying the bench and running in late goals. Won't be pretty. They're as well off hiding under their beds :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I'd start Bastic in nearly every game and empty his tank. He softens lads up and is a great partner for Fenton both combining to offer us more in the air than we have been able for in a few years.
    MDMA has more to offer from the bench than Bastic IMO, he can come on and solve more issues like change the attack, drop back into to our square to help the back line and run the ball, he does that all better than Bastic. It's more uplifting and inspirational for the rest of the team and the crowd too when MDMA comes on. Basic is introduced but MDMA is sprung from the bench.

It doesn't really matter to the team if Bastic is underrated, he's never going to be footballer of the year or all star material. But he does his job very well and is still badly needed he adds some grit and spine to the team. I'd prefer to start with him though as he's the sort who can come on as a sub and get carded very quickly. I'd rather sub him on a yellow after he's had a chance to bruise a few shoulders. He's an easy target for refs looking to hand out a black card and that's usually in the last 20 minutes

Stoner wrote: »
    I'd start Bastic in nearly every game and empty his tank. He softens lads up and is a great partner for Fenton both combining to offer us more in the air than we have been able for in a few years.
    MDMA has more to offer from the bench than Bastic IMO, he can come on and solve more issues like change the attack, drop back into to our square to help the back line and run the ball, he does that all better than Bastic. It's more uplifting and inspirational for the rest of the team and the crowd too when MDMA comes on. Basic is introduced but MDMA is sprung from the bench.

It doesn't really matter to the team if Bastic is underrated, he's never going to be footballer of the year or all star material. But he does his job very well and is still badly needed he adds some grit and spine to the team. I'd prefer to start with him though as he's the sort who can come on as a sub and get carded very quickly. I'd rather sub him on a yellow after he's had a chance to bruise a few shoulders. He's an easy target for refs looking to hand out a black card and that's usually in the last 20 minutes

Too many cliches in that for me Stoner! Not having it;-) .

Michael Dara is a better player and on form he has no business being on the bench.

Bastick came on the 2013 AI final and changed the game with his first touch. Be sure he'd contribute plenty from the bench. Experienced players are generally good at finding a way to influence the game off the bench anyway.

Fact remains if McCauley is over his niggles from last year and gets close to his FOTY form Bastick will be coming on for Fenton.

corny wrote:
    Michael Dara is a better player and on form he has no business being on the bench.

Fair play corny, I'm talking about over all team performance. Problems develop as games develop some lads can shut them down. MDMA can come on and do more imo. We are not blessed with midfielders, we need to get the best of what we have. I'd rather have a fresh MDMA in the "championship quarter" when it really matters than a fresh Bastic.
    There is no doubt that MDMA dropped back to the fullback line against Kerry and mayo last Year, he can carry the ball into the forward line and his tackling is superior to Bastics imo.
    Cool heads like MCMahon ,McCarty and MDMA are best at finishing games out.

I understand I'm in the minority on this one though .

Pre match "analysis" on Sky mainly consisting of McGuinness and Canavan arguing that Dublin be split/banned/fined/made play all home games in Greenland/given 7 point handicap."

corny wrote:
    Bastick came on the 2013 AI final and changed the game with his first touch. Be sure he'd contribute plenty from the bench. Experienced players are generally good at finding a way to influence the game off the bench anyway.
    BTW he certainly did come off the bench and set up brogan I was thinking that as I wrote the post.
    However he can come off bench and do little, or get sent off. Didn't he come off the bench and get sent off against the same team last year ?

I reckon he should go back to starting Denis and maybe keeping Macker in reserve as well!

Wasn't there but from TV, the subbings looked sort of random and messy, and were more disruptive than anything - other than O'Callaghan who will be a handful for any back.

BTW he certainly did come off the bench and set up brogan I was thinking that as I wrote the post.
    However he can come off bench and do little, or get sent off. Didn't he come off the bench and get sent off against the same team last year ?

The black card? Yeah it can happen. He was arguably unlucky.

Look you could probably cite instances to fit both arguments if we're honest. FWIW I think you're estimating McCauleys great attributes....his work rate and endurance. If Bastick softens lads up for 40mins McCauley does that and more for 70. I don't see what Bastick brings that McCauley can't match (or better) tbh, so having Bastick play more of the game seems wrong to me.

Of course the caveat to all of this is form. I'm comparing Bastick to the idealised 2013 MDM. He mightn't get that back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,278 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I hope Bernard is dropped after that performance! Great day out though. Best goal was that laois number 5 with the mad name.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Bonniedog wrote:
    Wasn't there but from TV, the subbings looked sort of random and messy, and were more disruptive than anything - other than O'Callaghan who will be a handful for any back.

The crowds welcome to O'Gara was great.
    His offload nearly created a goal. As soon as he came and headed for the square he dragged players back. It opened up some space a lads could run the ball in further. That was good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

A great day out in Kilkenny.

Saw the castle and a good meal in town before the game.

Certainly killed the idea that the Dublin team is more vulnerable outside the Pale.

Game was over after three minutes. If I hadn't made a day of it, it wouldn't have been worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,141 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Godge wrote: »

Certainly killed the idea that the Dublin team is more vulnerable outside the Pale.

Game was over after three minutes. If I hadn't made a day of it, it wouldn't have been worth it.

Good thing it wasn't in Por- nah I'll leave it.

Go to Bed Realt.
    FYI, if you lads could get a keeper your defence would improve by over 50% imo.

Today he was lobbed, and one goal was kneed over him as he ran out.

Unfortunately young Stoner didn't get a run today against your lot. He's just arrived over there, I have great hopes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,141 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Go to Bed Realt.
    FYI, if you lads could get a keeper your defence would improve by over 50% imo.

Today he was lobbed, and one goal was kneed over him as he ran out.

Unfortunately young Stoner didn't get a run today against your lot. He's just arrived over there, I have great hopes.

It's only 7.45 where I am Stoner!

As for the footballers, you know yourself with Dublin this year, once you've achieved a pinnacle like the British Junior Championship, it's very hard to keep the hunger going to win it back to back...KK football have no more lands to conquer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Have been down to Portlaoise a few times over the years.

Rock of Dunamase is great and there is Emo court as well, not counting other sights.

Can't remember where we ate down there but don't think it was too bad.

More Dubs travel than any other county, I have been to most county grounds in Leinster over the last 35 years and, funnily enough, apart from Donegal, where I haven't been, I have been to every other county that plays Dublin regularly in the League.

Point is, happy to go wherever to watch the Dubs, as are many other Dubs.

Funny thing is, Dubs also go to Croke Park to watch neutral games, when other teams are playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭doc_17

If I had Croke Park built on my doorstep I'd go to way more neutral games as well. It is a pity that it couldn't have been held in Laois but I suppose that's the fault of the GAA

Godge wrote: »

Yeah my thoughts exactly ...we were on our toes around 1 o clock with herself rolling her eyes at me & the young lad for a 7.00 throw in. Got there got decent parking (my jaysis the late arrivals were abandoning cars way out). Did the town,met up with lads in MacDonagh for eats onwards to O'Loughlins (they must've cleared 10k with the parking and bar).

Amazing atmosphere on the terrace made the young lads day and brought me back to my heyday :D...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Couldn't watch the game unfortunately, so I'll rely on you fine people to inform me: so do we have a leaky untested defence, or do we have a defence that kinda lost interest once the game was won.

Did the subs have anything to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

CatInABox wrote: »
    Couldn't watch the game unfortunately, so I'll rely on you fine people to inform me: so do we have a leaky untested defence, or do we have a defence that kinda lost interest once the game was won.

The latter. I'd also echo the sentiments that Stoner attested to re Basic and MDMA. If I had the choice I'd start Denis over Mick.

I think the combo of Fenton and Bastick is so good and makes Fenton a better player tbh. To have the ability to bring MDMA, Kev Mac and O'Gara is such a weapon for a championship quarter.

It looked to be a case of seeing what MDMA and Kev could offer in those positions from the start. That was my reading. We were always going to win yesterday.

If 2013 Mick comes back then that's a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

CatInABox wrote: »

To be honest it kind of looked like Cooper forgot how to defend when he gave away the penalty and for the second goal McCarthy didn't look bothered about putting a tackle in.

I think that was good for us though. It shows we aren't completely infallible and gives us something to work on. It might also work in our favour if other teams see it as a weakness they can exploit but we've shored it up come the latter half of the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I was down at the City terrace, so didn't have a good view of their two goals, or the lead up to them. But my overall impression of the 3rd quarter, was our (rather typically :mad:) building up a good lead and then taking the foot off the gas.

There was a bit of a squeaky bum moment at the speed with which the lead went from 13 pts to 6 pts. But the speed at which we reacted & got the lead back up to double digits, was reassuring. I am glad that the lapses of concentration - and the missed peno - happened. Lets them all know what needs to be worked on & what further dangers are lurking in the long grass, when we get back to Jones Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

From the outside looking in I'd have Bastick over MDMA every day of the week.

Re: the full back line. It's a weakeness in that it's untested without ROC. No need to go through what McMahon and Cooper can do themselves in the corner but it's a different scenario when you're robbing Peter to pay Paul and moving one of them into the middle. I would imagine that most opposition managers will be targeting that area this summer, purely because it's 'untested' in its current format. That's not to say come September that full back line won't have come through it all with flying colours. Just an area that seems to have questions over it at present for me.

Actually thought Laois were OK yesterday fwiw particularly second half. Obviously nowhere remotely close to Dublin but if they regroup they could have a decent run to Round 4.

Seems as though Denis is the people's choice as starter!

He is much under-estimated. He is tough as old boots, super intelligent under pressure, rarely wastes a ball. Only draw back is age. He doesn't get 75 minutes, but then, he doesn't have to. MDM on other hand is the perfect man to be throwing in last 25/30 minutes. Fenton is going to be the equal of Mullins.

As for Laois, we were slagging their CB over the venue stuff and their supporters about the boycott, but fair play to the players, they never threw the towel in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Definitely think Macauley is an impact sub and has more influence on the game in that role.

Quick question though, what's the story with Philly McMahon? He's been substituted relatively early in two consecutive matches now. I would have thought he'd most definitely be playing full matches unless there was some concern there. I read in an article after the league final that the likely reason for him being subbed in that match was because he was floating around, kind of doing his own thing rather than sticking to Gavin's instructions. The same issue again the last day?

Think he was sick the last day.
    Cooper was subbed regularly last year.
    I'd say it's he's not at full tilt and the one to come off compared to Byrne and Cooper, Fitz is going to be brought on at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

He had the flu during the league final, which accounted for his poor form that day. Although, he got more than one boll0cking from Cluxton on the day, for not being where he was supposed to be. The only ones who know if that was down to his being poorly, or just having an off day, or deliberately not following the game plan, are him and Philly.

No idea what was going on with him on Saturday night. He didn't have a good day. But then, neither did a lot of lads, so how fair is it to point the finger at him in particular? I have often wondered over the winter, what effect all the praise and criticism he got over the past 8 months, will have on him. Amateur athletes don't get to live in the bubble that the professional ones do, so its hard not to see it having some sort of effect, especially as the year he had, kinda came out of nowhere. It's not like, he's been building up to it for a few years.

With Rory and Jack Flash gone, we can't afford for any of our other regular backs to be dropping their game. We need Fitzy, David Byrne, John Small etc etc to be plugging the holes left by Rory and Jack, not filling in for a Philly McMahon whose head isn't in the right place. Only time will tell, I suppose.