After Hours BEERS!!! 2nd July - Sweetmans... and THE LAST POLL!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Does anyone actually book a hotel for beers in dublin?

Maybe one or 2 people have for the ones I have crept on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Well like Story Bud I will be at the Roses on the 9th so not around. Also not in the country on the weekend of the 2nd but it's ok.....I will just have to suck it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

When I first started going to AH beers (2009/2010) they were very successful affairs. A good 40+ people making an appearance over the course of the night. Over the next few years the atmosphere started changing, people started going to private forum beers more, and the AH ones seemed to die out.

No
    Witchie wrote: »
    Well like Story Bud I will be at the Roses on the 9th so not around. Also not in the country on the weekend of the 2nd but it's ok.....I will just have to suck it up.

I don't live in Dublin so I'll either pay for a hotel or stay with a friend. Again impossible to suit everyone.

No
    When I first started going to AH beers (2009/2010) they were very successful affairs. A good 40+ people making an appearance over the course of the night. Over the next few years the atmosphere started changing, people started going to private forum beers more, and the AH ones seemed to die out.

Well I think this one will be a good night. There's no point being negative about it :)

I'm sure it'll be great, didn't intend to be negative... Was just letting the other poster know that the Dublin ones did used to be successful too :)

No
    I'm sure it'll be great, didn't intend to be negative... Was just letting the other poster know that the Dublin ones did used to be successful too :)

Ah yes I get you now. At this stage we might as well have a night out in every county, and on every weekend for the rest of the summer :)

No
    The poll has been reopened.

The 9th of July hotel prices in Dublin are crazy. Just so you all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Same poll again, minus 9th July?

And not multiple choice?

No
    Same poll again, minus 9th July?

And not multiple choice?

Ya we'll give that a shot Nic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'll sort it out at lunch if ye want to leave it till then?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Q. How many Mods and CMods does it take to change a lightbulb poll?

A. All of them apparently :):):)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Ok, new poll updated.

Like has been pointed out, July 9th is the weekend of ALL THE THINGS. If you are travelling to Dublin, try to arrange to stay at a friend's as accommodation costs will be rather high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

So... Forget the snickers pants. Y'all need to be bouncers on the night!

Ps is the poll meant to be closed

No
    Ah great auld craic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

This is after hours Lisbon treaty.

Hotels are still 200 euro plus for the weekend before the 9th. It's not gonna be cheaper.

There is a good reason why no one books hotels for these types of beers. It rarely happens.
    Ye would be better off getting the bus back to the bogs.

Or head back to yours

There are rooms left in hostels for the 25th June and 2nd July if people are ok to stay in those, doesn't look like there's any for 9th though.

Hotel rooms for any of the 3 nights would be minimum €200.

Most weekends over the summer are going to be like that tbf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

There are rooms left in hostels for the 25th June and 2nd July if people are ok to stay in those, doesn't look like there's any for 9th though.

Hotel rooms for any of the 3 nights would be minimum €200.

Most weekends over the summer are going to be like that tbf.

Barnacles Temple Bar House. 1 night, 25th June. €32 with breakfast included on booking.com

No
    There's no point now in talking about the cost of accomodation or lack of or the busyness of summer months.

The poll has been changed in an effort to accommodate as many people as possible. Not everyone will make it.

Post after post of "such a weekend would be better" or "nobody books hotels anyway" are pointless. Some people will come. Others won't. That's ok.

There's no point now in talking about the cost of accomodation or lack of or the busyness of summer months.

The poll has been changed in an effort to accommodate as many people as possible. Not everyone will make it.

Post after post of "such a weekend would be better" or "nobody books hotels anyway" are pointless. Some people will come. Others won't. That's ok.

This is what happens when you try to please too many people

The last night I was out drinking in Dublin I didn't even make it back to the hotel, like a homeless tramp for the night and crashed in work. If i go to beers I'll get himself to pick me up that night, though that rarely works out because I'm like houndini at home time. Life decisions are very difficult.

smash wrote: »
    Barnacles Temple Bar House. 1 night, 25th June. €32 with breakfast included on booking.com

For the 9th? When I do a search on booking.com for 9th July and set it to lowest price first, the cheapest place is coming up as Leeson Inn Downtown for €230. No hostels are coming up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

For the 9th? When I do a search on booking.com for 9th July and set it to lowest price first, the cheapest place is coming up as Leeson Inn Downtown for €230. No hostels are coming up!

Nobody voted for the 9th though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

look up hostelworld.com, you'll get a decent listing of hostels there.

No
    The last night I was out drinking in Dublin I didn't even make it back to the hotel, like a homeless tramp for the night and crashed in work. If i go to beers I'll get himself to pick me up that night, though that rarely works out because I'm like houndini at home time. Life decisions are very difficult.

You can sleep with me in my car. I'll have lots of blankets and will cuddle you :p