Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Wasnt sure what corks record was kenw it wasnt great . Surprised it was so low though

There's definitely a fair few games in there in terms of narrow wins and draws against Cork where home pitch was a factor in Kerry getting the result. Cork's poor record is a handy stat to have in the pocket for when my sister's inlaws come over the border.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

There's a program starting on UTV Ireland at 8 following Podge on his recovery from injury.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭BannerBarry

I missed that. Do you know if it's repeated at any point?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I missed that. Do you know if it's repeated at any point?

I don't know if I'd be rushing to watch it again, very poor, it was ~24 minutes, a few minutes were about getting the injury, couple of minutes about the recovery, couple minutes of the surgery, couple of minutes on Cratloe, couple of minutes on his return.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭BannerBarry

Ok I won't be rushing to YouTube to get so. Cheers

I might be a bit harsh on it as I was looking forward to it, my wife even commented that she couldn't remember the last time I said I wanted to watch something on TV that wasn't a live match. The seemed intent to get everything into a half an hour whereas they could have made a great series our of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

the clare champion probably wont confirm in the morning what seems to be the word around the county that clonlara duo of oisin o'brien and john conlon will be available for sunday ,personally i dont expect conlon to start but to feature at some stage over the 70 minuets , this will probably pave the way for shane o'donnell to start in the full forward line with cuningham out , again as i have said in the past , shane offers us a whole lot more coming off the bench against tired defenders ,

in the two league finals waterford got very tired late on in the game , there game plan expects so much effort that it dose leave them running out of gas late on , yes we got every rub of the green in the dying minuets the last day out , but in bringing the game back to a 1 point game before the dillon foul/kelly free waterford were running on empty, in the first game they had a 3 point lead halfway through extra time yet needing a late free just to equalize, all this would suggest that who we bring off the bench late in the game will be crucial

i dont envy the management in drawing up a game plan but i imagine the onus is on being patient and keep it close , the goals we conceded the last day were poor and made our job much harder in wining, we will give ourselves a great chance of wining this one if we can keep a clean sheet

The game plan should be very simple, 2 man full forward line running all over the place but not going past the 45 at any stage and everyone else either taking points from distance or feeding balls into the corners of the full forward line bypassing the congested midfield wherever possible.

I would say this match is 1 of the most important games in years for Clare, win this match and we're in an All Ireland quarter final and back in Croke Park, lose and we've the nightmare of the qualifiers which will result in more games that aren't needed.

Huge game in terms of momentum for the summer . Win sunday and it ensures a place in the 1/4 finals at the very least . The quilifers could be tricky with the chance of meeting kilkenny/dublin at the end of the month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭letowski

I think we really need to see a proper performance from the team this Sunday, no excuses. I think Jamesie called it right during the week, our record in Munster is absolutely deplorable, I think weve what, like 3 wins in 15 years or something. This year I think should be different, we havent came out of the league in better shape (bar the injuries). The lads have to lay down a marker that there is a bite in them, unlike the poor previoslus 2 years. Yeah there is the backdoor, but were unbeaten this year and we need to keep the momentum going.

Crazy reading the Champion yesterday that Davy Mc might make the 26, Davy would be mad to use a guy who hasnt played in a year. I think Conlon will start for 50mins to try and hold deBurca deep. Davy will try to keep the mf as loose as possible to give our shooters Kelly, Podge, Galvin, CMcG, etc some space. Id like to see Shangher be given time in the 2nd half. At the back, I think if O'Brien and POC have solid games for us like they did in the first game, that would be huge.

I think we will go tomorrow..

Kelly
    O'Brien POC
    Dillion
    Buglar Cleary Fitz
    Galvin Reidy
    Honan Kelly Podge McGrath
    Conlon SOD

letowski wrote: »
    I think we really need to see a proper performance from the team this Sunday, no excuses. I think Jamesie called it right during the week, our record in Munster is absolutely deplorable, I think weve what, like 3 wins in 15 years or something. This year I think should be different, we havent came out of the league in better shape (bar the injuries). The lads have to lay down a marker that there is a bite in them, unlike the poor previoslus 2 years. Yeah there is the backdoor, but were unbeaten this year and we need to keep the momentum going.

Crazy reading the Champion yesterday that Davy Mc might make the 26, Davy would be mad to use a guy who hasnt played in a year. I think Conlon will start for 50mins to try and hold deBurca deep. Davy will try to keep the mf as loose as possible to give our shooters Kelly, Podge, Galvin, CMcG, etc some space. Id like to see Shangher be given time in the 2nd half. At the back, I think if O'Brien and POC have solid games for us like they did in the first game, that would be huge.

I think we will go tomorrow..

Kelly
    O'Brien POC
    Dillion
    Buglar Cleary Fitz
    Galvin Reidy
    Honan Kelly Podge McGrath
    Conlon SOD

yeah the worst kept secret in hurling is starting to make headlines nationally , john conlon's inclusion is huge to our game plan , it now gives us another dimension to our game plan , o'brien is another huge inclusion yes himself and browne foul quite a bit too much at times but they are top quality defenders

as far as david mac is concerned a bulging disk is quirky injury if its really bad it can end a career however if its treatable it can be fixed , it would be similar to a slipped disc which can reoccur at any time though

there is still an awfull lot of bluffers around the county with bull***t stories ,word was from some that his career was over and all that after he failed to feature in the club championship, but the initial diagnosis was only for 4 to 6 weeks

it will be a tight one tommorow waterford will be up for it more then they were the last day , but in my opinion they will go into the game with a number of questions to answer

1 can they sustain there game plan for a full 70 mins , while they have reason to complain about bad referee discisons they let a huge lead slip from there grasp in the last ten minuets through tiredness and the same hapened the week before in the draw game on a number of occasions in the later parts of the game/extra time

2 can they contain john conlon in full forward where , kilkenny and limerick failed , the game plan was different the last day out while duggen was out of position the week before

i feel if waterford can tick both boxes tomorrow we could be in a bit trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭4Ad

Off topic, but can anyone recommend a good bar in Galway city to watch the match
    (I am working night shift so I cant get to Thurles!!)

4Ad wrote: »
    Off topic, but can anyone recommend a good bar in Galway city to watch the match
    (I am working night shift so I cant get to Thurles!!)

taffs in shop street was always the big gaa pub in galway , the skeff down in eyre square or the one near the bus station are all descent pubs for that time of the day too especially it being a long weekend , should be a few extra around then normal too

1 can they sustain there game plan for a full 70 mins , while they have reason to complain about bad referee discisons they let a huge lead slip from there grasp in the last ten minuets through tiredness and the same hapened the week before in the draw game on a number of occasions in the later parts of the game/extra time

Yeah the heat is going to play apart. I know its a cliche, but the bench is going to have a bearing tomorrow surely.

Hopefully Conlon is able to get up to the pitch of the game after his layoff. He is the type of forward that will bring our attack on another level. Also if Sod starts, having John beside him might take the focus off him and get some 1v1 situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,288 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Best of luck 2morrow hopefully both of us will have good long summers regardless of the result.

Please please dont be a draw cant afford all these trips to Thurles lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Niallers87

John conlon and oisin o brien start tomorrow

Niallers87 wrote: »
    John conlon and oisin o brien start tomorrow

knew about conlon , great to hear about o'brien had a serious scare he will most likely do a job on patrick currren , conlon is a huge addition to the full forward line he was awesome against kilkenny before he got injured

letowski wrote: »
    Yeah the heat is going to play apart. I know its a cliche, but the bench is going to have a bearing tomorrow surely.

Hopefully Conlon is able to get up to the pitch of the game after his layoff. He is the type of forward that will bring our attack on another level. Also if Sod starts, having John beside him might take the focus off him and get some 1v1 situations.

yeah it would be the first time this year have played beside each other , be intresting to see how it work out , mcgrath seemed more effective that little bit more out the field in the two league games too

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Best of luck 2morrow hopefully both of us will have good long summers regardless of the result.

Please please dont be a draw cant afford all these trips to Thurles lol

i am with you on this one , hopefully there is a winner and no controversy to go with it , another draw would take a lot out of both sides for later in the year too

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Any idea on what type of crowd ye are expecting tomorrow lads? I picked up a couple of terrace tickets today to go in and watch it as a neutral. Hoping for a good atmosphere with the weather etc.

i would imagine somewhere between the low to mid 20,000's mark , something slightly similar to the first game of the league final probably slightly higher

starting 15 as follows, good to see o'brien and conlon back expect to see a swap between conlon and mcgrath with podge moving out the field

1. Pa Kelly
    2. Oisin O'Brien
    3. Cian Dillon
    4. Pat O'Connor
    5. Brendan Bugler
    6. Conor Cleary
    7. David Fitzgerald
    8. Colm Galvin
    9. David Reidy
    10. John Conlon
    11. Tony Kelly
    12. Darach Honan
    13. Podge Collins
    14. Shane O'Donnell
    15. Conor McGrath

i dont have a copy of the subs , but reports are confirming that david mac and aarron cunningham will be on the bench also so we look like we are getting back to near 100%

I heard that from a reliable source too; any word on conor ryan!?

yeah it would be the first time this year have played beside each other , be intresting to see how it work out , mcgrath seemed more effective that little bit more out the field in the two league games too

Yeah i think with podge kelly and mcgrath, theres definitely a policy similar to 2013 where they are given a 'free' license with kelly and mcgrath allowed to shoot on sight. Its the right way i think to get the best out of them.

I heard that from a reliable source too; any word on conor ryan!?

nothing on him yet not sure how much training he missed in the last few weeks , its a strange one really he was according to some of the players the standout player in training at the start of the year , struggled in the early games in the league , good game against limerick ( i think ,not sure on the game) out again the next week , had a great outing for cratloe in the club championship and has'nt been seen since so i can only imagine that he is on the way back but lack of training/game time has him on the bench at the moment

it wud be great to get over waterford tomorrow and have a full panel to pick from movin forward; tomorrow the bench for both teams is gonna play a huge role with the intensity and the heat in thurles, i think this might get us over the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Saw him in a league match before the championship. He looked like he was only working his way back to match fitness.

Just also had it confirmed conor ryan is on the bench also tomorrow

Sorry colin not conor!!

it wud be great to get over waterford tomorrow and have a full panel to pick from movin forward; tomorrow the bench for both teams is gonna play a huge role with the intensity and the heat in thurles, i think this might get us over the line

i dont think i could emphasis how important the game is , win and the prize at the very least is the last 6 in the championship , lose and two minefield games in the qualifiers to get to the same spot , bare in mind we could end up meeting the losers of next weeks kilkenny v dublin match

personally i think momentum is a great thing to have going into a game like this and i think we will get over the line in a narrow battle, but if we do lose we would need everyone on board for the qualifiers if we are to challenge for the all ireland