Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

PTH2009 wrote: »
    davy really has a unusual record with yourselves than he did with Us

Waterford (July 2008- Aug 2011)- 18 games, 10 victories, 6 Defeats, 2 draws. won a Munster championship in 2010 and players fought in every game but we had the massacares of the 2008 All Ireland final and 2011 Munster final.

Clare (Jun 2012- present)- 18 Games, 8 Victories, 2 draws and 8 defeats. Only 1 victory in the Munster championship (2013 vs Waterford in the Munster QF) but the All Ireland win in 2013 will cement his managerial legacy. 1 win since 2013s All Ireland is not good enough for all the talent in the Squad.

who knws all ireland number 2 might follow this year but an early exit cud spell the end of davy.

Waterford only suffered 2 defeats in the munster championship under Davy, While Clare only won 1 Munster championship game under Davy

I'd be more interested in looking at the 8 victories.
    In 2012 we beat Dublin in Ennis and that was it.
    In 2013 we beat Waterford, Laois, Wexford (after extra time so technically a draw), Galway, Limerick and Cork.
    In 2014, no one
    In 2015, Offaly.

Taking 2013 out of the equation we have won 2 championship matches, if we don't win 2 get to an All Ireland quarter final this year he should resign it's as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,289 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Clareman wrote: »
    I'd be more interested in looking at the 8 victories.
    In 2012 we beat Dublin in Ennis and that was it.
    In 2013 we beat Waterford, Laois, Wexford (after extra time so technically a draw), Galway, Limerick and Cork.
    In 2014, no one
    In 2015, Offaly.

Taking 2013 out of the equation we have won 2 championship matches, if we don't win 2 get to an All Ireland quarter final this year he should resign it's as simple as that.

If ye draw the loser of the Dublin/Kilkenny match in round 1 of the Qualifers than it could be a short summer if ye perform like last sunday.

How are the under 21s shaping up for ye, surly they cant be as good as the recent years ??. On paper us in Waterford have a supurb team but same can be said for last years team and we knw how that ended :(:(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

PTH2009 wrote: »
    If ye draw the loser of the Dublin/Kilkenny match in round 1 of the Qualifers than it could be a short summer if ye perform like last sunday.

How are the under 21s shaping up for ye, surly they cant be as good as the recent years ??. On paper us in Waterford have a supurb team but same can be said for last years team and we knw how that ended :(:(

We have nothing coming through at underage for a while so I wouldn't worry about us for a few years yet, ffs our intermediate team is our "second" team and is training together more than a lot of senior teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭letowski

Clareman wrote: »
    We have nothing coming through at underage for a while so I wouldn't worry about us for a few years yet, ffs our intermediate team is our "second" team and is training together more than a lot of senior teams.

I thought the intermediate/U21 team looked very good though in the first game, I enjoyed the way they used the ball confidently. There is a top half back coming through in Jason McCarthy I think. They were comfortably the better team against Waterford, who would have a few involved again at U21 (but plus the likes of Gleeson, Curran, TdeB, Bennetts, etc). Moloney is still involved with a good 10 or 12 from last year so we should be hard to beat. Your right, we are not as strong as the 12-14 class but you never know, we could surprise again this year. They will be rightly set up anyway unlike last Sunday, but winning in Walsh park will be tough.

I think using the intermediate team as a way of using it for development purposes for the senior team, has been a success these couple of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

the footballers are unchanged for the trip to kerry , while the home side will be in experimental mode like two years ago they will still be strong enough , clare's performance against limerick left a lot to be desired at times , bu they did win very comfortably in the end despite the close nature of the scoreline

the bookies have set a very generous 11 point handicap in the betting market , i feel we are better then that and given the close nature of the game two years ago and the similar lineups again for sunday i would like to think we would be a lot more competitive then that

so far in the 2016 football championship on nearly every occasion the team form the lower division has been beaten out the gate by the stronger team , down derry,laois and london all heavily beaten by teams with realistic all ireland prospects hopefully we can be the first of the under dogs to really put it up to one of the bigger teams in the country , it will take a huge effort though .

Clare team to play Kerry:

1: Joe Hayes (Lissycasey)
    2: Dean Ryan (Éire Óg)
    3: Kevin Hartnett (Meelick)
    4: Martin McMahon (Kilmurry/Ibrickane)
    5: Sean Collins (Cratloe)
    6: Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown)
    7: Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)
    8: Gary Brennan (Clondegad)
    9: Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
    10: Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
    11: Jamie Malone (Corofin)
    12: Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare)
    13: Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry/Ibrickane)
    14: David Tubridy (Doonbeg)
    15: Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes)

sad news over the weekend on hearing of the passing of tom downes , he served on the munster council and nationally with the ard Comhairle ,, held liaison roles with both the senior hurlers and footballers ,

long before the gpa were established he was always looking out for player welfare and anyone who ever played for the county quickly regarded him as a friend and a gentleman , he was acting as liaison officer with the footballers this year but was too sick to make it to croke park for the division 3 final ,

gary brennan paid a wonderful tribute to him in his wining speech , later that week the lads called to his home to celebrate there success together a gentleman and a friend to all he met , it will be with heavy hearts the footballers will take to the field with today , rip tom

ChoAFhVW0AA5JfL.jpg:small

http://www.clare.fm/news/tributes-paid-after-passing-clare-gaa-great-tom-downes?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed

kerry 2:23 - 0-17 clare

kerry lay down a marker of sorts , well beaten in this one from the word go , less then a minute in and kerry were a goal up after joe hayes misjudged a droping ball into the net , another juvenile error in defense minutes later allowed shane o brien to net kerrys second and leave 6 between the sides . podge looked like our most dangerous player until his harsh looking black card ended his day just as clare showed signs of getting back into the game

kerry kicked some excellent scores before half time to keep us at bay , podge's replacement lillis along with a superb eoin cleary line ball were our best scores of the half

alot of head scratching was done before today in regards the kerry line up however keiran donaghey in midfield ( marking brennan) , brian beaglaoich , tadhg morley ,stephan o brian all answered critics by putting in serious performances gooch dispite picking up a fairly serious injury at the start of the second half had a fine game as did paul murphy,

with this it was hard to contain kerry but we did ask a number of questions of the kerry half back line after begley and morley were substituted and clare looked to get back in to it late on , jamie malone went close for a goal to bring it back to 5 but thats as close as we came , while podges black card was harsh gordan kelly could have picked up 3 he was eventually subbed for declan mcmahon late on where a bizarre refereeing performance by fergal kelly was capped of by awarding 7 ( SEVEN ) minutes of added on time ,in this period we missed about 3 scoreing chances to push us over the 20 point mark ,

the biggest cheer of the day went up when the news filtered through that tipp had seen off a late cork comeback , for us dispite the amount of scores conceded guys like marty mcmahon and kevin hartnet at the back had good games , while pearse lillis had a serious impact cominig on for podge , still a very young forward line and in truth a young team on a different level to the winners hopfully they will learn from today

club football championships kicked off today with holders miltown getting the better of wolfe tones , will post results of all games on here as soon as i can

today
    11:00 @ cusack park miltown 0-14 -0-08 wolfe tones

15:00 @ doonbeg: o'currys v kilkee

17: 30 @ miltown : kilrush v st breackens

19: 30 @ cooreclare : lissycaesy v ennistymon

tommorow
    12:30 @ cusack park : cratloe v corofin

12:30 @ labbasheada : K.I.B v Eire Og

14:00 @ labbasheada: clondegad v doonbeg

18:00 @ lissycasey : cooraclare v doora/barefield

results so far in the SFC round 1

kilkee 0-12 - 0-11 o'currys
    miltown 0-14 -0-08 wolfe tones

comfortable win for St breckans over kilrush 1-14 to 1-09 it finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Why is that double header tomorrow on in labasheda and not the park?? Thought that would be more logical.

its crazy , there are several venues with adequate seating and stands and they bring the tie of the round into the arsehole of nowhere , the roads are terrible down there too, i cant figure the logic of the decision :mad:

round up of the results today

SFC round 1

miltown 0-14-0-8 wolfe tones
    kilkee 0-12 - 0-11 o'curry's
    st breckans 1-14 -1-09 kilrush
    lissycasey 2-08 -0-02 ennistymon

IFC Group 1

kildysart 3-10 2-09 coolmeen
    kilfernora 0-11 0-08 liscannor

Group 2

kilmihil 1-09 -0-4 shannon gaels

draw for the second round of the qualifiers on monday morning for the inter county championships cant come quick enough , some of the games today played at a very low standard and very defensive ,

comfortable wins for K.I.B and Cratloe in the early games in the SFC championship

K.I.B 1-12 - 1-04 Eire Og

Cratloe 2-09 0-04 Corofin

limerick will play clare in the munster intermediate huring final on the 6th of july after a two point win over tipperary , venue to be confirmed

doonbeg 2-07-0-08 clondegad

cooraclare 1-06 -0-07 doora/barefield

last years semi finalists will head into the losers round while last years runners up snatch the last place in the winners group after a narrow win over "the parrish" poor weather conditions made for poor viewing in most of these games over the weekend,the SF championship picture looking like this

winners group

Cooraclare
    Cratloe
    Doonbeg
    Kilkee
    k.I.B
    Lissycasey
    Miltown
    ST Breckans

losers group

Clondegad
    Corofin
    Doora/barefield
    Eire Og
    Ennistymon
    Kilrush
    O'currys
    Wolfe tones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Could have done without that red for John O'Dwyer. I'd rather not lose to Tipp in the qualifiers.

my taughts exactly at the time , but it would seem they are holding out ok without him , limerick will need a couple of goals to win this one but i imagine on the scale of the first half that tipp will see this one out , no disrespect to limerick but i would rather meet them then tipp if i had a choice in the play/offs

seams like an age since the defeat to waterford , but at least we will now have some idea of who we are likely to face in the play offs the draw is tomorrow morning at 8:30 on radio 1

Hurling: Clare, will meet one of

Dublin
    laois
    Offaly
    Wexford
    Westmeath

Football : it will be one of these 4 for the footballers

Carlow
    Derry
    Laois
    Leitrim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Ye are definitely he best team in the qualifiers and by a distance I'd say. Quarter final will be tough no matter who it's against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭letowski

seams like an age since the defeat to waterford , but at least we will now have some idea of who we are likely to face in the play offs the draw is tomorrow morning at 8:30 on radio 1

Hurling: Clare, will meet one of

Dublin
    laois
    Offaly
    Wexford
    Westmeath

Football : it will be one of these 4 for the footballers

Carlow
    Derry
    Laois
    Leitrim

Id like the hurlers to play Dublin, even though its the toughest tie of them, ths group badly needs to record a first significant c'ship win since 2013 to get momentum. You just get the feeling we are carrying a big monkey on our back having not got any win since then.

For the footballers, we would prefer not a long trip to Derry,

letowski wrote: »
    Id like the hurlers to play Dublin, even though its the toughest tie of them, ths group badly needs to record a first significant c'ship win since 2013 to get momentum. You just get the feeling we are carrying a big monkey on our back having not got any win since then.

For the footballers, we would prefer not a long trip to Derry,

yip agree here with this , we need a test , beating a laois or westmeath and losing the next round will do nothing for us , parnell park is a bit of a fortress so where better to see if we are all ireland contenders or not

i would'nt fear for the footballers to be fair they probably have all the boxes ticked for 2016 maybe a trip to derry might not be the worst thing in the world to be fair they will have to play them next year in the league anyway

Ye are definitely he best team in the qualifiers and by a distance I'd say. Quarter final will be tough no matter who it's against.

i said that the last two years but there is a certain davy factor i feel in the way, donal moloney has probably the most impressive cv out of all clare managers in management at the moment and cant get a look in , he is in charge of our u21s and intermediates this year and won several all irelands under age titles in the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,241 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Clare to play Laois in Ennis in both the hurling and football

Not bad at all

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gael...-34816016.html

The games will take place on the weekend of July 2nd and 3rd...
    Does this mean that the footballers and the hurlers will be playing on the same weekend (possibly the same day)?

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

A double header would be a great idea for the fans of both counties. Do laois have any Dual players that might be affected?

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Akrasia wrote: »
    Clare to play Laois in Ennis in both the hurling and football

Not bad at all

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gael...-34816016.html

The games will take place on the weekend of July 2nd and 3rd...
    Does this mean that the footballers and the hurlers will be playing on the same weekend (possibly the same day)?

I would hope it will be a double header in the park, hopefully the footballers will get one over laois after the drubbing they received in 2013. laois are managed by cooraclare man mick lillis

hurlers should overcome there task and you never know it might just kick start there season like 2013 . would have preferred a slightly tougher game preferably Dublin to see where we are at

A double header would be a great idea for the fans of both counties. Do laois have any Dual players that might be affected?

don't think they have any duel players . podge is the only one I'd say . and I would imagine he would line out for the hurlers

I'd say he'd probably choose the footballers because the hurlers would be expected to win fairly handily with or without him

Looks like the Laois football is in doubt after it emerged that Laois used 7 subs in their game against Armagh

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0620/796963-laois/

Looks like the Laois football is in doubt after it emerged that Laois used 7 subs in their game against Armagh

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0620/796963-laois/

yep the game is been replayed so no double header in the park the football will take place the following week