Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

The great thing to take from yesterday and the Tipp game is that when the game was in the melting pot at the end, Clare players managed to find vital scores.
    Yes the free at the end was a bad decision (so was Aaron Cunningham not getting a very scorable free aswell) but Waterford did not score for the last 7/8 mins in that time Clare scored 4 points and I think dropped 2 more short.
    That is probably what the Waterford mgmt will be looking at most not the referee.
    From our point of view hopefully patch doesn't repeat any of the mistakes on June 5th, in fairness to him he has been excellent before this and even played well yesterday those couple of mistakes apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

I'm growing more and more unconvinced by Shane O'Donnell. He seems to be utterly anonymous in so many games now. He was quite visibly skinnier and weaker than every other player on the pitch yesterday. If he's not scoring goals he isn't going to finish a game with 5 or 6 points to his name. Same with Honan, got some good scores yesterday but isn't likely to finish a game with more than 2 or 3 points. I think we need far more from these guys if they are going to continue to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

2 or 3 points from any forward is surely worthwhile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I'm growing more and more unconvinced by Shane O'Donnell. He seems to be utterly anonymous in so many games now. He was quite visibly skinnier and weaker than every other player on the pitch yesterday. If he's not scoring goals he isn't going to finish a game with 5 or 6 points to his name. Same with Honan, got some good scores yesterday but isn't likely to finish a game with more than 2 or 3 points. I think we need far more from these guys if they are going to continue to start.

The Waterford full back line were excellent though in both games, in fairness. It was maddening to watch the Clare full forward in there on his own for so much of the game, but when they played 3 in there towards the end, every high ball that went in was won by Waterford. Davy and the boys had their home work done on that one, in fairness.
    As for Tony Kelly, he was hitting balls over the bar yesterday while turning around at the same time. Seriously gifted player.
    Hon the banner!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

carter10 wrote: »
    Typical Clare, classy in victory as always

Oh, give over. We win our first league in 38 years and all we hear is people whinging over how it was stolen from them. Swings and roundabouts, mate. The ref was poor for both sides.

I do worry about our defense, both goals should have been closed out, especially the second one. Waterford will punish teams for being switched off like that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Shane O'Donnell is wasted as a lone full forward, his skills is finishing like he did in the 2013 final, having him try to win and distrubute ball just isn't his strength, when John Conlon is back he'll be better suited for that with SoD giving more of a free reign.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

000c340f-642.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Looking back on the game, we let in 2 stinkers of goals, totally inexcusable to let in soft goals like that at intercounty level, the first goal was just people not ready, the second goal was terrible, for a corner back to hit a ball across his own goal like that is terrible.

Take away the 6 points that we gave away from the goals and in my opinion you have a fair reflection of the difference between the 2 teams. What a terrific display Tony Kelly put on, his goal was brilliant intelligent heads up play and to get the 2 points to win the game shows class and leadership, he had a bad miss at the end of the first day but he didn't shirk his responsibility.

At the end of the game the ref tried to be "fair" by giving Clare a chance to draw, he knew if he gave Waterford a free that that'd be the end of the game, he probably figured he'd give a free to Clare to give them a chance to bring it to extra time, I still can't understand the Waterford goalie at the end, surely at that stage you hit the ball into the stand and re-group in extra time.

What should Kelly have been sent off for?

I'm guessing he's alluding to the high challenge in the first game that Tony got booked for.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Clareman wrote: »
    Looking back on the game, we let in 2 stinkers of goals, totally inexcusable to let in soft goals like that at intercounty level, the first goal was just people not ready, the second goal was terrible, for a corner back to hit a ball across his own goal like that is terrible.

Take away the 6 points that we gave away from the goals and in my opinion you have a fair reflection of the difference between the 2 teams. What a terrific display Tony Kelly put on, his goal was brilliant intelligent heads up play and to get the 2 points to win the game shows class and leadership, he had a bad miss at the end of the first day but he didn't shirk his responsibility.

At the end of the game the ref tried to be "fair" by giving Clare a chance to draw, he knew if he gave Waterford a free that that'd be the end of the game, he probably figured he'd give a free to Clare to give them a chance to bring it to extra time, I still can't understand the Waterford goalie at the end, surely at that stage you hit the ball into the stand and re-group in extra time.
    We still had to go score what was a difficult free. You're right though put the ball out of play, Clare had just scored 3 points and we on top.

Keano wrote: »
    We still had to go score what was a difficult free. You're right though put the ball out of play, Clare had just scored 3 points and we on top.

Yeah, it wasn't an easy free, a bit like the week before though when Clare conceded an easy free to draw it so did Waterford only this time there was time left to win it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

SAMTALK wrote:
    He was bad for both sides TBF. Both teams had players who played for frees so it has to be taken as it is.

If he was bad for both teams then why did Clare get twice the amount of frees Waterford got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

con89 wrote: »
    Complete and utter embarrassment to hurling & sportsmanship as a whole.

'Tis quick ye forget things down in Waterford, isn't it? ;)

?width=630&version=801835

How can you celebrate any victory by way of blatant intimidation from the sidelines & disgusting cheating from the players?

I for one, would be ashamed to "win" a game in such a manner.

Tony Kelly should consider going to Rio this summer. He'd be in with a medal shout with his diving skills. But wait, he should have been red carded long before the simulation.

Social media has exploded during the past 24 hours, neutrals galore labeling the Clare team as a ''bunch of cowards".

We saw Davy shouting at waterford players throughout the match, what does he have to do to get a ban?

Classy in victory as always, innocent-looking Clare women roaring abuse into the faces of shocked opposition supporters at full time, before sprinting off, giving them shoves into the back along the way. Disgraceful scenes.

No wonder the whole country is against clare, hope it was worth it though.

That is hilarious, that is just the way Clare women behave , regardless if it's at a match or in Dunnes or wherever.

I am so ashamed as a Clare supporter to be league champions.

If he was bad for both teams then why did Clare get twice the amount of frees Waterford got
    Why don't ye all just leave us alone in here? Last week ye got plenty of frees and missed so many, so ye let us off big time. Yesterday, twice ye had a SIX point lead and still didn't win. One decision cost poor Waterford? Really

Had to laugh at Mullane's article in the Indo today, referee has deprived Waterford of winning the treble, i.e the league. munster and All Ireland.

What is it about teams like Waterford and Limerick when they get a taste of success they believe they have a divine right to win an All Ireland and get carried away? In 2013 semi final it was a matter of showing up and beating Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Maybe Waterford committed twice as many fouls :rolleyes:

How do you know if the bus load of supporters are from Waterford? Even when the engine is off you can still hear the whine :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

SAMTALK wrote:
    Maybe Waterford committed twice as many fouls

Haha or maybe your lads dived twice as much

^^^ In fairness now, you'll get a certain amount of that from every county, our own included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Haha or maybe your lads dived twice as much

Go back and read my original post mickmackmcgoo!!

Neutral here :D

As I said I like both teams and would love either to win an All Ireland (would have loved to have seen an All Ireland in Mullanes time) but in fairness look back on game and see that Waterford are to blame for the loss and no one else.

6pts up (2 easy goals tbf) and still couldnt finish it off.

A great team IMO but need to have the same mentality as Clare NEVER give up

Gotta love that picture. Nothing better than seeing that migid c**t get a bit of his own medicine eh

J@ysus Sean Mc isn't that small is he?

That midget **** won as much silverware with Waterford as any manager did since the 60's. Ken, Dan the man (what was the dancer for the Happy Mondays - he reminds me of him on the sidleine) Kelly et al ran him out as they did to Gerald and Justin McCarthy.

Fair play to Derek "Tasty Fingers" McGrath. He seems to have stamped out that shirt kissing egotistical nonsense that the former legends espoused. Waterford today are a fantastic team fulll of natural talent and good fellas. I wish them and their gracious manager the best after June 5th.

How can you celebrate any victory by way of blatant intimidation from the sidelines & disgusting cheating from the players?

I for one, would be ashamed to "win" a game in such a manner.

Tony Kelly should consider going to Rio this summer. He'd be in with a medal shout with his diving skills. But wait, he should have been red carded long before the simulation.

This is all nothing but sour grapes really.
    Social media has exploded during the past 24 hours, neutrals galore labeling the Clare team as a ''bunch of cowards".
    A bit of wishful thinking there?
    We saw Davy shouting at waterford players throughout the match, what does he have to do to get a ban?
    I'm not going to defend Davy's antics, though i will echo others here who say that he does seem to have cameras on him all the time which makes him look a lot worse than other managers who don't.
    Classy in victory as always, innocent-looking Clare women roaring abuse into the faces of shocked opposition supporters at full time, before sprinting off, giving them shoves into the back along the way. Disgraceful scenes.
    It's disgraceful behavior you had to endure and there is no excuse for it. I'd advise you not to paint all Clare fans with the same brush though... If I may, i'd like to direct you to post 1006 & 1011 of this very thread, where 3 years ago, I experienced something very similar from a Waterford fan.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=84893766
    No wonder the whole country is against clare, hope it was worth it though.

More wishful thinking and a bit of projecting on your part there. whatever helps you sleep at night...

We might have to bring Colin Lynch back for the next day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭Motivator

What Kelly & Mullane did in 2012 was justified. A lot of things went on down here towards the end of Davy's time in charge of Waterford and Davy probably deserved far worse to be honest. I'd have taken his head off if I was either of them.

What he was yesterday was a disgrace, and it's not just yesterday it's been going on years. He was at it when he was in charge of Waterford and lots of people down here disliked it then. Please god someone does a James Ryan on it with Davy & puts him into the stand with a shot, it might shut him up.

On a side note, the people here giving out about Dan, obviously Clare people didn't see him telling Waterford supporters to stop booing Tony Kelly yesterday. Dan, unlike Davy Fitzgerald or that other idiot Cusack, is a class act. He's passionate & wants the best from his team, he doesn't carry on the way Clare fellas do.

Motivator wrote: »
    What Kelly & Mullane did in 2012 was justified. A lot of things went on down here towards the end of Davy's time in charge of Waterford and Davy probably deserved far worse to be honest. I'd have taken his head off if I was either of them.

What he was yesterday was a disgrace, and it's not just yesterday it's been going on years. He was at it when he was in charge of Waterford and lots of people down here disliked it then. Please god someone does a James Ryan on it with Davy & puts him into the stand with a shot, it might shut him up.

On a side note, the people here giving out about Dan, obviously Clare people didn't see him telling Waterford supporters to stop booing Tony Kelly yesterday. Dan, unlike Davy Fitzgerald or that other idiot Cusack, is a class act. He's passionate & wants the best from his team, he doesn't carry on the way Clare fellas do.

Leave Cusack alone. He is a sound man. Dan is a flute.

Motivator wrote: »

Justified. LOL

Oh and Dan is no angel either.

Keano wrote: »
    Justified. LOL

Oh and Dan is no angel either.

If you don't know him don't judge him :D

I noticed that before the game he had a NFL cap on and during the game he had another cap on, poor Azzuri won't be happy with the loss of exposure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,714 ✭✭✭blue note

Well done to you all on the win yesterday. After 160 minutes of hurling a point was about the appropriate amount between the teams. Clare will feel they conceded soft goals, we’ll feel we hit soft wides / let Clare back into it. But there really is very little separating the two teams in terms of quality. If Conlon / McInerney and Mahony / Maurice are back for summer both teams will be even tougher prospects for whoever they come up against. Might be wishful thinking for Mahony this year though having seen so little action.

Anyway – the big talking point from the game was the free at the end. In my opinion, it was an unfortunate time to make those two mistakes, but it was just a free around the halfway line for God’s sake! The moaning since has been way over the top. We had a puckout after which we could have won and won the league if we had. But we didn’t, Clare did. There’s no denying that we’d probably have won the league had the ref called it correctly, but refs can make mistakes at any time in a game. You just have to get on with it. Maybe if it was championship I’d be less understanding, but it’s not. The moaning since has been fairly over the top if predictable. We saw it last week for both the frees a in injury time of normal and extra time, although they were soft, not necessarily wrong decisions like this one.

But more importantly than a reffing decision – what a great game of hurling we got! I’d say we could see one of those teams hurling in September this year, you never know we could see both! But some of the individual displays were top notch. Aussie Gleeson would have been MOTM 90% of the time with his display yesterday, but Tony Kelly had as good a game as he’s ever had. I think Davy Fitzgerald (wing back) looks terrific – has he been there long? I don’t know him as well as I’d expect. And Podge Collins gets on some load of ball. Jamie Barron and Patrick Curran were superb for us too.

Just on Davy’s pitch-side antics – I’d love it if he cut that cr@p out. He gets away with a lot because “he’s a real character of the game, and the game needs characters.” As amused as I am by him from time to time, if he can’t control himself on the side of the pitch he shouldn’t be there. Roaring abuse like that is a disgrace and maybe the GAA should look at bringing in sideline bans for cases like these.