Would you let someone ahead of you in a queue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I'm often let ahead when I have a few bits so this weekend when I had a trolley load in both lidl and aldi I let people with a few items ahead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

vicwatson wrote: »
    I never saw this behaviour at a checkout until Aldi and Lidl arrived in the country

I was never asked in tesco supervalu etc if I'd like to skip ahead, never

I worked in Tesco as a teenager and I would have seen it on the checkouts.

My mam would always have said it to people to go ahead.

I suppose it happens less now with self service tills which is fair enough I think but in a place like Aldi where people buy lots more stuff and the queues can be quite long with no express option, then I think it's basic manners, but that's just how I was reared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

I would never let anyone ahead who asked to go ahead. They're implying that you are rude by not offering and are trying to shame you.

If I have the time to spare and the person behind has a handful of items then I'll offer them the chance to skip ahead. If I'm in a rush I'll plough ahead regardless of what is behind me. Asking to go ahead ain't going to make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Sapphire

I do it as often as I can.

May yer wans chicken packets leak chicken juice all over her dry clean only coat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

I had three scones in a bag with total value of €2 and I asked a guy

would he mind if I jumped in front of him and he refused!

This guy had a trolley load of goods but maybe he was just having a bad day?

I hoped that it didn't improve! :D

I had three scones in a bag with total value of €2 and I asked a guy

would he mind if I jumped in front of him and he refused!

This guy had a trolley load of goods but maybe he was just having a bad day?

I hoped that it didn't improve! :D

It was probably me. I was already late for an appointment and don't see why I should delay myself another few minutes just to be nice...

c_meth wrote: »
    I would never let anyone ahead who asked to go ahead. They're implying that you are rude by not offering and are trying to shame you.

You must be fairly paranoid if you think that someone being polite and thinking you might not have noticed them there as you're, you know, facing the other direction, is implying you're rude and trying to shame you :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

vicwatson wrote: »
    I never saw this behaviour at a checkout until Aldi and Lidl arrived in the country

I was never asked in tesco supervalu etc if I'd like to skip ahead, never

This is what I like about lidl and aldi, the "fcuk off and get out of here" mentality, I love it. People with lots of shopping there usually would like someone to go ahead so they can get more time to get their stuff out on the belt and get to the counter before the usually speedy checkout person is lashing stuff out. Often there is no time lost to the "big shop person" at all, and time saved for everyone else (and checkout person may get a bonus). I see it all the time, the low item person is long gone and they are still loading the conveyor, so the checkout person would have had to stop when the tiny counter (aldi/lidl) is full anyway.

My supervalu is a nightmare, one in particular is non stop chatting to others for ages holding everything up. I hear in lidl. and maybe aldi, they have bonuses for how much they get through, so I like to help and be as speedy as possible, for them and those behind me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

On more than one occasion I've had a basket of items and been asked by a woman behind me with a full trolley if she could go ahead of me, "as she's in a rush".

Regrettably the first time I was so surprised I obliged (and almost apologised for having the audacity to hold her up :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,637 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It was probably me. I was already late for an appointment and don't see why I should delay myself another few minutes just to be nice...

Same here, wouldn't be overly keen to let someone delay me unnecessarily just because they want to do convenience shopping in a supermarket.

Story Bud? wrote: »
    You must be fairly paranoid if you think that someone being polite and thinking you might not have noticed them there as you're, you know, facing the other direction, is implying you're rude and trying to shame you :pac:

I'm not sure about you but I always stand facing the side of the conveyor belt or at the low end of the trolley. The next person is always either perpendicular to me or facing me, never behind me.

I'm intrigued as to how you unload your trolley...

rubadub wrote: »
    This is what I like about lidl and aldi, the "fcuk off and get out of here" mentality, I love it. People with lots of shopping there usually would like someone to go ahead so they can get more time to get their stuff out on the belt and get to the counter before the usually speedy checkout person is lashing stuff out. Often there is no time lost to the "big shop person" at all, and time saved for everyone else (and checkout person may get a bonus). I see it all the time, the low item person is long gone and they are still loading the conveyor, so the checkout person would have had to stop when the tiny counter (aldi/lidl) is full anyway.

Yeh the orphanage woman had too much stuff to be able to cope with the setup of the Aldi checkouts.

Full belt of stuff which she had to pack at the till, when that was empty she started packing the belt and the checkout guy had to stop and wait for her as there was nowhere left for shopping. So she had to go pack again and as her last couple of bits of that load were going through a woman with a basket started emptying it on to the belt thibking the trolley behind her was belonging to someone else. Orphanage lady was really rude to her too despite basket lady apologising profusely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

I had a full trolley last week and a neighbour came along with just a loaf of bread so I told him to go ahead of me. We were chatting while I was unloading the trolley and he didn't notice that the girl on checkout had started putting through my items so he missed his chance. I told him to give the bread to the girl to scan with mine and he could just give me a Euro and take the bread. He only had a twenty so I just said "sure gI've it to me the next time I see you". So off he went and I adjusted my halo. Not only did I let someone ahead of me but I paid for their shopping!

I'm not sure about you but I always stand facing the side of the conveyor belt or at the low end of the trolley. The next person is always either perpendicular to me or facing me, never behind me.

I'm intrigued as to how you unload your trolley...

Is that not the other direction no?

I think you'll find if you're not facing the person, then you're facing another direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Yes always if i have a load of stuff and someone comes along with one or two items.people really appreciate it as would i.

fineso.mom wrote: »
    I had a full trolley last week and a neighbour came along with just a loaf of bread so I told him to go ahead of me. We were chatting while I was unloading the trolley and he didn't notice that the girl on checkout had started putting through my items so he missed his chance. I told him to give the bread to the girl to scan and he could just give me a Euro for the bread. He only had a twenty so I just said "sure gI've it to me the next time I see you". So off he went and I adjusted my halo. Not only did I let someone ahead of me but I paid for their shopping!

Good woman!

I paid for someone's shopping once. A stressed old man who had less than €15 worth of stuff couldn't find his wallet so I coughed up.

Sneaky fecker could be pulling that trick every day on us unsuspecting eejits but it was a risk u was willing to take :D

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Yes always if i have a load of stuff and someone comes along with one or two items.people really appreciate it as would i.

I think that's what it comes down to doesn't it, treating people how you'd like to be treated.

It's so nice to be let ahead of someone, and I've been the person allowed to skip the queue on many occasions (never recall asking mind you, not that that matters), so it's nice to pay these things forward.

Is that not the other direction no?

I think you'll find if you're not facing the person, then you're facing another direction.

I thought you were implying that my back would be to next person and I wouldn't see them. I'm pointing out that however I unload my trolley I will have the next person in my line of vision.

But, hey, if you want argue your semantic point - knock yourself out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Ah yeah, i've done it plenty of times, particularly if there is a bit of eye candy around so that I can linger for longer.
    Linger for longer is also what I strive for in the flatulance department.

I thought you were implying that my back would be to next person and I wouldn't see them. I'm pointing out that however I unload my trolley I will have the next person in my line of vision.

But, hey, if you want argue your semantic point - knick yourself out.

And if you want to believe that someone politely asking if you would mind them going ahead with one item means they think you saw them and are implying you're rude and are trying to shame you then by all means, knock yourself out!

Pretty cranky world to be living in but hey, it's your world!

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Ah yeah, i've done it plenty of times, particularly if there is a bit of eye candy around so that I can linger for longer.
    Linger for longer is also what I strive for in the flatulance department.

And you look like a hero in front of the hottie.

Winner winner chicken dinner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

No way. Wait your turn like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

If they asked. Probably wouldn't offer unless it was an old lady or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

And you look like a hero in front of the hottie.

Winner winner chicken dinner!

Brucey bonus if I am actually buying the ingredients for a chicken dinner :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

Of course I do. but you know what people are assholes my next door neighbour was in aldi with a trolley that would feed the village and I was right behind him almost 9 months pregnant with a little basket and even though hed seen me in the shop he just kept loading the belt up with no intention of letting me go before him. An asshole. The next till opened and I went there. But I'll remember it to him next time he comes looking to borrow something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

She's probably also the same type of cnut to bring that full trolley or two for self service - and then get frustrated at staff nearby because she can't weigh some fruit or find the right pastry on the big shiny screen just staring at her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

In Aldi I'll always look around to see if the person behind just has a few items, and I'll say go ahead so that they don't have to wait ages for my full shop to be checked out. Just good manners, true.

However, in Dunnes recently, I had 2 items, a woman walks in front of me says "I've only got this, you don't mind if I skip ahead". She was already in front of me when I said I did mind, I was in a hurry (which I was as I needed to collect my daughter from.school). She was shocked and I could hear muttering for all of the extra minute that she had to wait.

So I suppose the lesson is if you do need to ask, you shouldn't be shocked if the answer sometimes is no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

pgj2015 wrote: »
    saying that, i was in aldi last year had 1 item, a couple in front of me had two trolleys full of stuff, 10 loafs of bread etc their bill came to 466 euro, i will never forget the price lol not a hope they were going to let me go ahead of them, as someone else just said, a real sign of a knacker.

More signs of a knacker also entail standing too close behind you. Actually standing by the place you temporarily leave the stuff in the self service ready to be scanned. Okay, that's enough of talking queue from me.