Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you let someone ahead of you in a queue?

• 30-05-2016 07:26PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭

I was in Aldi earlier.

Got 4 things and hopped into a queue.

At the checkout beside me there was a woman with a trolley full of food that would feed an orphanage. There were two people in front of her with their stuff up on the belt.

A woman behind her only had a bunch of flowers and asked if she could possibly go ahead.

Yer wan says no.

I was gobsmacked. I really reeeeaally wanted to say something but kept my mouth shut of course.

She had three full belts worth of food, the other lady would have been twenty seconds buying her flowers. I couldn't believe it.

Thankfully another checkout opened and flower lady was out of the shop in no time.

Would you have let her ahead of you? I can't imagine a situation where I wouldn't have offered before being asked.

Really wound me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I'd be morto if I had to be asked tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

I would have let her go ahead, and probably would have offered before she asked, but if I was the flower lady I wouldn't have been brave enough to ask!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

s4uv3 wrote: »
    I'd be morto if I had to be asked tbh :)

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

If I've a full trolley, I'll always turn around to see if the next person only has a handful and I'll tell them to go ahead if they do. It's just good manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,374 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

If I have a trolley full and people behind me have one or two things, I'll let them by. Roles reversed, I wouldn't ask but would talk the offer.

Story Bud? wrote: »
    A woman behind her only had a bunch of flowers and asked if she could possibly go ahead.

Yer wan says no.

Yer wan is a wagon.

Always let people with <8 things through if you have >20. If you don't, you're going to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I'd never ask to jump ahead.

I have often let people behind me ahead if they only have a couple of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Its only manners to let someone ahead of you like the flower lady above, if you have a full trolley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Simple answer is yes and did so a couple of days back. I only had a basket but I had about 16 10 things in it and this guy was behind me with one thing in his hands (don't, just don't) so I told him "go ahead bud!" I usually do it if not in a hurry (most days).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

To be honest you don't have to look too hard to see w@nkers all around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

I normally scan as I go to avoid this. However if I noticed someone behind me worth only one item I like to think my brain/manners would engage and I'd let them go first.
    Why was flower girl not in the 10 or less queue and the ignorant one in the normal queue? That is meant to avoid this type of thing.

SuperValu is the only place with scan and go, there's no express tills in Aldi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,844 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It depends, if they ask I usually say no, if they show manners and wait id often offer to let them go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

_Brian wrote: »
    It depends, if they ask I usually say no, if they show manners and wait id often offer to let them go.

That sounds a bit petty.

They might be asking because they think you didn't notice them, unaware they were being morally tested.

_Brian wrote: »

The flower woman was very polite about it. She wasn't being unmannerly at all and didn't cause any sort of fuss when she was told no.

That just sounds so dickish and childish though "oh you asked so I'm not going to let you"

It did get me thinking that someone in Aldi grabbing nothing but flowers might be going to visit someone sick say.

Who knows, orphanage chef lady may have had a gaggle of starving children waiting for her.

Patww79 wrote: »
    I would more than likely offer but if they're cheeky enough to ask then it's a definite no. Basically treat the situation the same as a car pulling onto the road.

Yeh politely asking someone if you could go ahead with your one item is exactly the same as driving your car out onto the road in front of someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

the only time i ever asked to go ahead of someone, i was running late for my train and the shop assistant was taking ages to scan through items so i had to ask the woman in front could i go ahead of her as i was going to miss my train, i only had 1 item. she said yes no problem and let me through. you meet nice people most of the time in this country and most people have manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Yeah, I'll let people through if they only have a couple of things, or I'll offer if I notice them. Sometimes I don't notice them there, and if they ask politely, I'll be grand with it.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    the only time i ever asked to go ahead of someone, i was running late for my train and the shop assistant was taking ages to scan through items so i had to ask the woman in front could i go ahead of her as i was going to miss my train, i only had 1 item. she said yes no problem and let me through. you meet nice people most of the time in this country and most people have manners.

Yeh to be fair, the reason incidents like this stand out so much is that most people you encounter on your day to day life are sound enough and most folk are very polite and helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

I quite often tell people to jump ahead when they have just a few items.

Have often stood in a queue with one or two items while people had full week's shopping and couldn't have cared less.

I use to think it was inconsideration (and for it can be just that) but now I just think that mostly it's people that have their heads so far up their arse that they really are just incapable of seeing things from another's perspective. It wouldn't even dawn on them to check to see if anyone behind them only had an item or two to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I hate people who don't do that, it's a real knackery thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Absolutely I would, yer one was a right t*rt, hope her bags burst on the way home

nkav86 wrote: »
    Absolutely I would, yer one was a right t*rt, hope her bags burst on the way home

Actually in stitches here :pac: :pac: :pac:

Patww79 wrote: »
    Well if you disagree then you can let people ahead of you. I won't. Everyone's a winner.

Well, everyone except the person behind you in a queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Yeh to be fair, the reason incidents like this stand out so much is that most people you encounter on your day to day life are sound enough and most folk are very polite and helpful.

saying that, i was in aldi last year had 1 item, a couple in front of me had two trolleys full of stuff, 10 loafs of bread etc their bill came to 466 euro, i will never forget the price lol not a hope they were going to let me go ahead of them, as someone else just said, a real sign of a knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,695 ✭✭✭Heroditas

SuperValu is the only place with scan and go, there's no express tills in Aldi.

Some of the Tescos have it as well. Maynooth being one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

If I've a full trolley, I'll always turn around to see if the next person only has a handful and I'll tell them to go ahead if they do. It's just good manners.

I never saw this behaviour at a checkout until Aldi and Lidl arrived in the country

I was never asked in tesco supervalu etc if I'd like to skip ahead, never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

I was in Aldi earlier.

Got 4 things and hopped into a queue.

At the checkout beside me there was a woman with a trolley full of food that would feed an orphanage. There were two people in front of her with their stuff up on the belt.

Yer wan says no.

I was gobsmacked. I really reeeeaally wanted to say something but kept my mouth shut of course.

She had three full belts worth of food, the other lady would have been twenty seconds buying her flowers. I couldn't believe it.

Thankfully another checkout opened and flower lady was out of the shop in no time.

Would you have let her ahead of you? I can't imagine a situation where I wouldn't have offered before being asked.

Really wound me up!

Seen the very same thing happen in an aldi near me best part was the wagon attempted to barge her way out in front of me in the car park thinking waving was allowing her pull out.......well I gave her her medicine blocked her in and let bout 10 card leave before me including the person she wouldn't let ahead of her she was beeping going mad......... That was a good day :) it's the small battles :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I'm often let ahead when I have a few bits so this weekend when I had a trolley load in both lidl and aldi I let people with a few items ahead

vicwatson wrote: »
    I never saw this behaviour at a checkout until Aldi and Lidl arrived in the country

I worked in Tesco as a teenager and I would have seen it on the checkouts.

My mam would always have said it to people to go ahead.

I suppose it happens less now with self service tills which is fair enough I think but in a place like Aldi where people buy lots more stuff and the queues can be quite long with no express option, then I think it's basic manners, but that's just how I was reared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

I would never let anyone ahead who asked to go ahead. They're implying that you are rude by not offering and are trying to shame you.

If I have the time to spare and the person behind has a handful of items then I'll offer them the chance to skip ahead. If I'm in a rush I'll plough ahead regardless of what is behind me. Asking to go ahead ain't going to make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Sapphire

I do it as often as I can.

May yer wans chicken packets leak chicken juice all over her dry clean only coat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

I had three scones in a bag with total value of €2 and I asked a guy

would he mind if I jumped in front of him and he refused!

This guy had a trolley load of goods but maybe he was just having a bad day?

I hoped that it didn't improve! :D

I had three scones in a bag with total value of €2 and I asked a guy

would he mind if I jumped in front of him and he refused!

This guy had a trolley load of goods but maybe he was just having a bad day?

I hoped that it didn't improve! :D

It was probably me. I was already late for an appointment and don't see why I should delay myself another few minutes just to be nice...

c_meth wrote: »
    I would never let anyone ahead who asked to go ahead. They're implying that you are rude by not offering and are trying to shame you.

You must be fairly paranoid if you think that someone being polite and thinking you might not have noticed them there as you're, you know, facing the other direction, is implying you're rude and trying to shame you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

vicwatson wrote: »

This is what I like about lidl and aldi, the "fcuk off and get out of here" mentality, I love it. People with lots of shopping there usually would like someone to go ahead so they can get more time to get their stuff out on the belt and get to the counter before the usually speedy checkout person is lashing stuff out. Often there is no time lost to the "big shop person" at all, and time saved for everyone else (and checkout person may get a bonus). I see it all the time, the low item person is long gone and they are still loading the conveyor, so the checkout person would have had to stop when the tiny counter (aldi/lidl) is full anyway.

My supervalu is a nightmare, one in particular is non stop chatting to others for ages holding everything up. I hear in lidl. and maybe aldi, they have bonuses for how much they get through, so I like to help and be as speedy as possible, for them and those behind me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

On more than one occasion I've had a basket of items and been asked by a woman behind me with a full trolley if she could go ahead of me, "as she's in a rush".

Regrettably the first time I was so surprised I obliged (and almost apologised for having the audacity to hold her up :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It was probably me. I was already late for an appointment and don't see why I should delay myself another few minutes just to be nice...

Same here, wouldn't be overly keen to let someone delay me unnecessarily just because they want to do convenience shopping in a supermarket.

You must be fairly paranoid if you think that someone being polite and thinking you might not have noticed them there as you're, you know, facing the other direction, is implying you're rude and trying to shame you :pac:

I'm not sure about you but I always stand facing the side of the conveyor belt or at the low end of the trolley. The next person is always either perpendicular to me or facing me, never behind me.

I'm intrigued as to how you unload your trolley...

rubadub wrote: »
    This is what I like about lidl and aldi, the "fcuk off and get out of here" mentality, I love it. People with lots of shopping there usually would like someone to go ahead so they can get more time to get their stuff out on the belt and get to the counter before the usually speedy checkout person is lashing stuff out. Often there is no time lost to the "big shop person" at all, and time saved for everyone else (and checkout person may get a bonus). I see it all the time, the low item person is long gone and they are still loading the conveyor, so the checkout person would have had to stop when the tiny counter (aldi/lidl) is full anyway.

Yeh the orphanage woman had too much stuff to be able to cope with the setup of the Aldi checkouts.

Full belt of stuff which she had to pack at the till, when that was empty she started packing the belt and the checkout guy had to stop and wait for her as there was nowhere left for shopping. So she had to go pack again and as her last couple of bits of that load were going through a woman with a basket started emptying it on to the belt thibking the trolley behind her was belonging to someone else. Orphanage lady was really rude to her too despite basket lady apologising profusely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

I had a full trolley last week and a neighbour came along with just a loaf of bread so I told him to go ahead of me. We were chatting while I was unloading the trolley and he didn't notice that the girl on checkout had started putting through my items so he missed his chance. I told him to give the bread to the girl to scan with mine and he could just give me a Euro and take the bread. He only had a twenty so I just said "sure gI've it to me the next time I see you". So off he went and I adjusted my halo. Not only did I let someone ahead of me but I paid for their shopping!

I'm not sure about you but I always stand facing the side of the conveyor belt or at the low end of the trolley. The next person is always either perpendicular to me or facing me, never behind me.

I'm intrigued as to how you unload your trolley...

Is that not the other direction no?

I think you'll find if you're not facing the person, then you're facing another direction.

fineso.mom wrote: »
    I had a full trolley last week and a neighbour came along with just a loaf of bread so I told him to go ahead of me. We were chatting while I was unloading the trolley and he didn't notice that the girl on checkout had started putting through my items so he missed his chance. I told him to give the bread to the girl to scan and he could just give me a Euro for the bread. He only had a twenty so I just said "sure gI've it to me the next time I see you". So off he went and I adjusted my halo. Not only did I let someone ahead of me but I paid for their shopping!

Good woman!

I paid for someone's shopping once. A stressed old man who had less than €15 worth of stuff couldn't find his wallet so I coughed up.

Sneaky fecker could be pulling that trick every day on us unsuspecting eejits but it was a risk u was willing to take :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Yes always if i have a load of stuff and someone comes along with one or two items.people really appreciate it as would i.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Yes always if i have a load of stuff and someone comes along with one or two items.people really appreciate it as would i.

I think that's what it comes down to doesn't it, treating people how you'd like to be treated.

It's so nice to be let ahead of someone, and I've been the person allowed to skip the queue on many occasions (never recall asking mind you, not that that matters), so it's nice to pay these things forward.

Is that not the other direction no?

I think you'll find if you're not facing the person, then you're facing another direction.

I thought you were implying that my back would be to next person and I wouldn't see them. I'm pointing out that however I unload my trolley I will have the next person in my line of vision.

But, hey, if you want argue your semantic point - knock yourself out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Ah yeah, i've done it plenty of times, particularly if there is a bit of eye candy around so that I can linger for longer.
    Linger for longer is also what I strive for in the flatulance department.