Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Nice one C, this cycle is really paying off for you and you're still travelling as much as ever, fair play :) Will you make Athenry next week? Last chance in the series to knock some more time off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Just a imagine the progress you'd make of you actually ran the runs prescribed for you each week ;)

Joking aside. Nice going C. Keep up the good work. We will be expecting a sub 18:30 whenever you manage to drag your a$$ up here to St Anne's. We'll even lay on a pacer for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Congrats on the PB :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Well look at you and your shiny PB.

Well done. Nice splits. Strong finish.

Must have been last weeks tuna fish replacement for half a cow that did the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Well done C. Always nice to bag a PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Congrats on the PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

hop off a plane, rock up to a 5k race, PB.

This running lark is easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Today: plan got amended slightly as a result of Tuesday nights race and I was to do 6 x 5 mins @ 7.00 pace off 90 seconds rec.

Finished work a bit early today and hit the pitches in Dangan for this. The back pitch was closed coz they were doing archery and the pitch beside was invaded by an alien race playing what I think was lacrosse! Jazus college sport has become awful posh, in my day badminton in the bubble was the height of sophistication!

Got 2.2 miles warm done while watching helmet wearing tools catching a ball in a glorified fishing net :)

Did the reps around the two gaa pitches a couple of the reps were on the fast side and it was only FBOT my virtual internet pacing conscious that stopped me from going into Bogger warp drive ;)

Finished with some stretching and a short cool down. Off to London all day tomorrow so I won't get any run in.

Thanks for all the nice posts

Rep paces:

TbL

Hey is that a thanks from Tang I am seeing. That was a quick 3 weeks B :D

Can you just not keep away from monitoring the competition or are you just checking in to make sure he is not missing you too much ;)

You know that's like opening the door to your chaser by looking over your shoulder in the last 400 :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

FBOT01 wrote: »

Can you just not keep away from monitoring the competition or are you just checking in to make sure he is not missing you too much ;)

You know that's like opening the door to your chaser by looking over your shoulder in the last 400 :p

Well you obviously have fooking less to be at than me if your monitoring thanks on posts!! Get back to your milk & bananas!!

tang1 wrote: »
    FBOT01 wrote: »

Well you obviously have fooking less to be at than me if your monitoring thanks on posts!! Get back to your milk & bananas!!

You of all people should know big brother is always watching. Hope you are enjoying the hols :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

its also far from the first post he's liked so obviously not paying that much attention :P (does that mean I"ve even less to be doing :D:D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Thanks for all the nice posts

TbL

Christ on a bike, the lemon is softening.

Yesterday: plan had a 4/5 mile easy double. I was over and back to London for the day and got no run done. It took me two & half hours to travel 40 miles along the M25 yesterday. Traffic was completely baloobas and parts of the M25 were just at a complete standstill.

Today the plan called for 2m wu/cd with 5 x 3 mins @ 6.15 pace off 2 mins recovery. Tomorrow I was down to do my 12 mile LR. I switched the runs around as I've a shorter window to run tomorrow. The weather app has us boggers down for some rain today but it ended up being a beautiful day and I ran down past Rossaveal and back. Longest run since January and I was comfortable enough.

15 miles @ 7.52

TbL

Today: did yesterday's session, 2m wu/cd with 5 x 3 minutes @ 6.15 off 2 mins recovery.

Spent the day strimming, not ye city slickers concept of strimming ala 5 mins faffing around a manicured lawn, but proper heavy duty Bogger strimming. Back and hands are in bits!

Put the young lads bike in the car and he came with me to Seanadh Pheistin to get this done. Beautiful summers evening for it and after a slow 2 mile warm with the young lad in tow on the bike, I started into the reps on a reasonably flat section. The out section was a bit harder than the way back. Managed it ok but had to jog and push the young lad on the bike for part of the cool down!

Bit of step back week next week as I'm travelling.

Rep paces

Day |Session |Notes |Total weekly miles|
    Monday |4/5mile double easy |7 miles @ 8.04| 7.00|
    Tuesday|5k race|19.25 |12|
    Wednesday |3/5easy double| 5m easy|17
    Thursday |2m wu/cd 6 x 5 mins @ 7.00 off 90 secs | 6.49, 6.44, 6.45, 6.48,6.43,6.38|24.50|
    Friday |3/5m easy double|unscheduled rest|24.50|
    Saturday|12m long run|15 miles @ 7.52|39.50
    Sunday |2m wu/cd with 5 x 3 mins @ 6.15 off 2 mins|6.18,6.02,6.13,6.11,6.17|46.50

TbL

Today: did yesterday's session, 2m wu/cd with 5 x 3 minutes @ 6.15 off 2 mins recovery.

Spent the day strimming, not ye city slickers concept of strimming ala 5 mins faffing around a manicured lawn, but proper heavy duty Bogger strimming. Back and hands are in bits!.........

TbL

Said like a true plastic Bogger !!

Hope your poor hands are recovering well :p

The highs & lows of running.

Today the plan called for a 5k race.

Pretty pissed off and annoyed with myself.

Just stopped running after 2.4 miles. Yes the lungs and legs were straining but no harder than last week. Can't really explain it, must just be mental weakness. I ran the first mile in 5.59 (first sub 6 min mile ever in a race, but fcuk all good that is in a race you don't finish!!), the second one was starting to bite and it came in at 6.17, I was running mile 3 at around 6.17 pace when my head just switched off. I wouldn't mind but if I held that pace for just over the remaining km I'd have pb'ed again. Don't want to get into the ****ty habit of DNF'ing.

Crying into my curry cheese chips in Moate!!!

Just as well the rest of the week is a step back week coz that was a shocker.

TbL

Moate? Where were you racing?

Were you meant to run the first mile in sub 6?? Put down the feckin curry chips, they won't help anything! and stop beating yourself up, its one race, you had a great race last week, put it down to a bad day at the office & move on.

I made a cameo appearance in Athenry, part of Galway 5k series

TbL

Some detective you are :pac:

I made a cameo appearance in Athenry, part of Galway 5k series

TbL

Seen some burd smoked ye all there tonight, hard luck, one thing I will say about you your not one to give up so that's totally out of character. You just missed my narrow ass to chase!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,421 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

HTFU, even if it means dropping 10 or 15 secs per mile but close it out. Everyone has those thoughts, as you say don't let it become a habit but don't dwell on it, write it off to experience and move on.

Not that I'm in any way qualified to offer you advice on running but those are my thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

adrian522 wrote: »
    HTFU, even if it means dropping 10 or 15 secs per mile but close it out. Everyone has those thoughts, as you say don't let it become a habit but don't dwell on it, write it off to experience and move on.

Not that I'm in any way qualified to offer you advice on running but those are my thoughts.

+1 to this. These thoughts crop now and then, don't listen. You don't need to analyse and work out what happened, just move on.

Tnx Adrian,

Appreciate your input.

On the drive to Dublin I've been ruminating on the bitter taste of a DNF and the savoury taste of curry cheese chip repeaters!! Really annoyed with myself and I need to cop on. Raging that I didn't tough it out.

I don't take advice particularly well or on a consistent and sustained basis.

Coach tells me not to set a time target for current 5k's but to run them hard. Mmm, I set a target of sub 20 and fail, not once but twice, listen to coach and don't set any target and I PB. Back into bad habits of thinking I know best I set myself a target of 3 miles @ 6.10 pace for tonight, I then see 6.17 after mile 2, on the watch and capitulate.

Old dog needs to learn new tricks!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

S**t TBL, you're tougher then that. You can't be quitting like that, us boggers don't quit!!! Learn from it and chin up.

05:59+06:17=12:16

06:10+06:10=12:20

Auld dog needs to learn to add :) You were ahead of target after 2 miles and another 06:17 would have seen you miss your target average by only 3secs. I'd take that anyday over a DNF....although I was very close to having my first one in Terenure so I do feel your pain!!

Onwards and upwards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

The highs & lows of running.

Today the plan called for a 5k race.

Pretty pissed off and annoyed with myself.

Just stopped running after 2.4 miles. Yes the lungs and legs were straining but no harder than last week. Can't really explain it, must just be mental weakness. I ran the first mile in 5.59 (first sub 6 min mile ever in a race, but fcuk all good that is in a race you don't finish!!), the second one was starting to bite and it came in at 6.17, I was running mile 3 at around 6.17 pace when my head just switched off. I wouldn't mind but if I held that pace for just over the remaining km I'd have pb'ed again. Don't want to get into the ****ty habit of DNF'ing.

Crying into my curry cheese chips in Moate!!!

Just as well the rest of the week is a step back week coz that was a shocker.

TbL

Missed ya tonight horse even though we were running same pace for first couple of miles... (5:57,6:17)....

Listen to the boss man in future :D:D

Just so you know, it was a lovely fast course and you stopped before the nice downhill section :pac: :pac:

I'll send you on info on a few more 5's coming up when I get info out of the car :)

martyboy48 wrote: »

Just so you know, it was a lovely fast course and you stopped before the nice downhill section :pac: :pac:

You're not improving my humour Marty :) [I'd a good look around the start for you but couldn't see you, late again were ya!]

Auld dog needs to learn to add :) You were ahead of target after 2 miles and another 06:17 would have seen you miss your target average by only 3secs. I'd take that anyday over a DNF

That's what's really pissing me off AULDBOT, you're not improving my humour either!!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Go to Ballinrobe in two weeks, lads.
    Everyone gets a pb in Ballinrobe :).