Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Prague? what happened to London?!! #cantkeepup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,847 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Enjoy. Beautiful city. Can't recommend any routes because my visits there predated my running days. You won't be partaking of the beer but Na Zdravi anyway. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Been to Prague many times with work, love it there.
    Plenty of running routes around, but it's such a great tourist city as well.
    For food, check out the Argentinian Restaurant near Andels Hotel. Best steak I ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Murph_D wrote: »
    Enjoy. Beautiful city. Can't recommend any routes because my visits there predated my running days. You won't be partaking of the beer but Na Zdravi anyway. ;)

I'm been taken on a tour of a local brewery tomorrow afternoon Murph but I've no interest in that! Seems like a fantastic city alright

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    Prague? what happened to London?!! #cantkeepup

His log is the only thing he does with a bit of pace........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

tang1 wrote: »
    His log is the only thing he does with a bit of pace........

Tang, I see you now as the guy getting the answers out of the
    usual riff raff... Light shining in their eyes, constant pecking at them,getting to the truth, being nice, being bad, few slaps :D:D

But TbL is not your usual riff raff, he is special :)

C, who did you get the massage of on Wednesday, PM me for future reference...

The odd time I want one I struggle to get one when I want :)

After some morning meetings today we headed off to a micro brewery for "lunch" and a tour. We were supposed to go hot air ballooning after that but thank Christ that the weather wasn't suitable and it was cancelled. I get the heeby jeebees if I'm more than a couple of feet off the ground!

Instead we were taken on a 3 hour Segway tour of Prague. The initial sense of looking and feeling like a dick soon wore off and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. We saw all the sites in Prague and it was a good bit of craic. I'd say the natives hate the things as they are a serious nuisance and we were told that they are been banned from the centre in the next few months. The Segway had a speed limitation of 12.5k an hour but for the last half hour the guide took it off and the top speed was 19.5kph.

I bit the dust at speed while trying to answer a call from Mrs TbL. Got a bit of road rash on the arms and hands, that didn't bother me but I also came down heavily on my glute and I could feel it tightening up almost immediately. It was the same glute that was causing my issues before Seville and I was seriously seriously pissed off!!

Today's plan had me down for a session but we were been brought down the Vltava river on the Jazz boat for dinner this evening so I didn't have time. Even if I had I'd have probably skipped it to see how the glute reacts. I got 3 easy miles done on the hotel treadmill instead and stretched the ****e outta the glute.

Gotta say Prague is now one of my favourite cities.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

They look more like carpet burns, probably best to tell the queen you fell off a Segway alright!!!

Yesterday: I didn't get to bed at all on Thursday night and my glute was quite stiff after the fall the day before so the session I'd postponed from Thursday got canned again. Flight back from Prague was delayed by 90 mins and when I landed around 7 I texted Tang to see if he was around for a few easy miles but he was washing his hair, I was almost relieved as I was wrecked and took the fob off as a good reason to take the day off. No run

Today: beautiful day today in Connemara, got a bit of a Bogger tan out in the garden and down at the beach. Was gonna take another rest day to give the glute a bit more time to recover but around 8pm I decided to head off and do the session I'd aborted the previous days. Plan called for 2m wu/cd with 2 x 12 minutes @ 6.40 off 4 mins recovery. Got 2 miles warm up done but only 1.5 mile cool down. The reps went ok but I was a little ragged for the last part of each rep, had to contend with clouds of midges as well! 12 minute rep paces were 6.35 & 6.38.

Still a long way from full fitness and I leaked a bit of mileage this week but I'm happy enough that I'm managing the sessions. Did a bit of auld man stretching and foam rolling after the run.

TbL

Ah Jaysus, even George Lee can stay on a Segway.

Thanks for not posting pictures of the glute rash btw.

Welcome home.

He's busy being the artist in the spotlight :p

Well done getting the session in.

Today: plan called for 12 miles LR.

What a difference a week makes, no love for this at all, laboured around 12 miles in lovely sunshine with a grumpy puss @ 8.14. Had a swim down at a local beach straight after the run and it was COLD. Had to check that I still possessed all my vital bits as they had either shrunk or disappeared (apart from my belly :))

Not a great week again and I'm away with work again for the first part of the week but I'm hoping to stay on plan.

Day |Session |Notes |Total weekly miles|
    Monday |3/5mile double easy |7 miles @ 9.14 & 4m @ 8.52| 11.00|
    Tuesday|2m wu/cd with 6 x 4 mins @ 6.30 off 2 mins rec|6.22,6.15,6.22,6.22,6.20,6.19 |18.50|
    Wednesday |3/5easy double| 3m recovery pace|21.50
    Thursday |session | 3m treadmill|24.50|
    Friday |3/5m easy double|unscheduled rest|24.50|
    Saturday|2m wu/cd with 2 x 12 mins @ 6.40 off 4 mins rec|6.35 & 6.38|32.50
    Sunday |12m LR |12m @ 8.14|44.50

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

All the best tomorrow TbL!

Today: plan called for 4/5 mile easy double.

I was on the road early this morning to Dublin airport as I was travelling to the worlds northernmost capital, Reykjavik.

I've been to Iceland a couple of times before and really enjoyed it, and I did the Reykjavik marathon a couple of years ago. It's a bit surreal in the summer months as its bright almost 24 hours, I was asked on one previous trip if I wanted to play a few holes of golf at midnight!!

Kelvanick airport is about 50k outside Reykjavik and the countryside on the way in is very barren, reminds me of the Burren.

Although it's a bank holiday here today, I'd a meeting at 5.30 that I knew would go on for a few hours so I wanted to have some class of a run done before the meeting. Arrived at the hotel, that is about 10 minutes from the centre, around 3pm jumped into the gear and headed down towards the waterfront. Nice tarred surface along the seafront and I passed the domestic airport and Nautholsvik thermal beach. The sea water is heated by geothermal hot water flowing into the bay and there were plenty of people in swimming. I'd have loved to have gone in for a swim but I'd no towel. I continued on to what I thought was a woodland park but which was in fact a graveyard. Sounds weird but it was beautiful with simple wooden crosses or small flagstones set among the hedgerows and trees. It was also quite large and I ran a mile around the paths and before turning around and retracing my steps.

Natural hot water is used to heat most of the buildings in Iceland and where I turned on the shower there was a strong smell of rotten eggs, worse than Tangs farts :)

Another useless piece of trivia that I picked up today is that beer was banned in Iceland till 1989!!

7 miles @ 8.07

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Ok, nice heron ...

**Now** - where did you get the picture?

Have been gullible till now but it's just not possible so many trips to such lovely destinations in various continents!!!

(wonders if there are any highish mountains in the Whest where the heron could have been photo-ed in wintertime)

Ok, nice heron ...

Have been gullible till now but it's just not possible so many trips to such lovely destinations in various continents!!!

(wonders if there are any highish mountains in the Whest where the heron could have been photo-ed in wintertime)

Ok, nice heron ...

That heron actually fooled me Hillsiderunner, I thought it was real but I don't run with my glasses and on the way back I noticed the fecker hadn't moved, closer inspection revealed that it's ornamental.

Photo from hotel room attached of the cathedral. :)

TbL

That heron actually fooled me Hillsiderunner, I thought it was real but I don't run with my glasses and on the way back I noticed the fecker hadn't moved, closer inspection revealed that it's ornamental.

Photo from hotel room attached of the cathedral. :)

Ah well, must be tough all that travelling I guess ... very inefficient use of staff to be shipping you all over the world I think (ie, Iceland's been on my list a good while now)

Nice you are getting some miles in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Great photos! Heading to Reykjavik on holidays soon. Staying in the 'burbs, lots of running routes nearby I'm told. They'll probably still be talking about the Bogger Lemon by the time I get there :rolleyes:

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Great photos! Heading to Reykjavik on holidays soon. Staying in the 'burbs, lots of running routes nearby I'm told. They'll probably still be talking about the Bogger Lemon by the time I get there :rolleyes:

Absolutely fantastic country BG, you'll really enjoy it, amazing things to do and see. Remortgage your house though, I found it ridiculously expensive.

TbL

Yesterday: the plan originally called for a 5k race but as I was away I was to do 5 x 5 minutes @ 6.30 pace off 2 mins recovery with 2m wu/cd.

This was the epitome of how not to run a session, completely over cooked it. Ran the first one without watching the pace and then tried to keep an eye on the lap pace to keep me honest but it was melting my head so I just ran them at what I felt was comfortably hard pace.

Felt ok apart from the last one where the legs were starting to tire. On the positive side the lungs seem to be acclimatising to carrying my corpulent frame around at tempo pace!!

Got a slightly longer warm up done and again only had time for a short cool down.

Rep paces:

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Absolutely fantastic country BG, you'll really enjoy it, amazing things to do and see. Remortgage your house though, I found it ridiculously expensive.

TbL

Yeah, we'll be smuggling a couple of bottles of vino in the suitcase I think :D. But we won't be eating out at night or drinking much seeing as BG Jr. will be in tow and we're staying in an apartment rather than a hotel so hopefully that'll keep expenses down. We won't be living the Bogger high life with massages and what not, that's for sure ;). Can't wait now, I've been there before, but in winter when the days are too short to see much.

Yesterday: plan called for 3/5 mile easy double.

A bit all over the place yesterday and I only managed to get one run done.

6 miles @ 8.38 over Seanadh Pheistin.

Those Apple touch date entry screens really make you feel you age! Was booking flights with my young lad and for his year of birth he barely had to flick the screen to arrive at his year of birth whereas I was flicking the screen like I'd a ball of snot on my finger, till I got to mine :)

Today: plan called for 2 mile wu/cd with 3 x 8 mins @ 6.40 off 3 mins recovery.

As I'm heading to Paris this evening I had to get this one done early around the UCG pitches in Dangan. Not in a great humour for this, maybe it's coz I don't like Paris and the thought of going there again was pissing me off, but I got the warm up done and got stuck in.

Tired a bit towards the end of each rep but otherwise it was a decent workout.

Rep paces:

6.20, 6.19 & 6.26

TbL

Yesterday: plan called for 4/5 mile easy double. Flight into Paris was delayed on Thursday night and early morning meetings meant I got no opportunity to run in the morning. Didn't get home until 10pm last night and was dog tired so decided to just chill out. No run.

Today: plan today called for 2m wu/cd with 10 x 1 min hills off 2 mins recovery.

Had only a short window to get this done as Mrs TbL was heading into town for the rest of the day. After my last traumatic hill session experience I decided to pick a hill with an easy enough gradient.

Tried to run with decent form with controlled pumping of the arms but at the end of each rep my ass was swaying from side to side. While this looks like a very easy session on paper I find it a real challenge and I died a bit on the last few reps. Paces: 6.14, 6.09, 6.05, 6.04, 6.08, 5.56, 6.10, 6.05, 6.17 & 6.21

Jogged the recoveries

TbL

Why don't you like Paris? the city of romance no? I've actually never been, I must rectify that soon..

Been there way too often Firedance. If you're into architecture and museums then it'll probably float your boat. I think the city is littered badly the natives tend to be a bit smug and arrogant and people will probably think I'm a heretic but their mainstream food is ****e!

There are way better cities to visit in Europe in my opinion. City of romance, nah, it's a kip, try Rome!

TbL

I like Paris, but yeah, Rome by a mile! (or rather 1.6k).

Been there way too often Firedance. If you're into architecture and museums then it'll probably float your boat. I think the city is littered badly the natives tend to be a bit smug and arrogant and people will probably think I'm a heretic but their mainstream food is ****e!

There are way better cities to visit in Europe in my opinion. City of romance, nah, it's a kip, try Rome!

TbL

Have been to Rome, loved it.. I've been to Carcasone and a few medieval cities in the south of France which are so well maintained and full of character - maybe I'll give it a miss so!!

Never rely on a cranky auld boggers opinion, try it for yourself. I found it even worse this time as there appears to be a latent tension in the city (which is understandable).

TbL

TbL

Paris is *brilliant*, have been many times visiting my brother. Lovely city centre where you can wander all round the city centre and down the Seine without even needing the metro ... gorgeous running routes in the outskirts in Bois de Vincennes and Bois de Boulogne (now with parkrun :) ) ... not having to worry about getting your bag snatched every 5mins like in Rome ... Paris HM in March past all the monuments then hanging round in lovely cafes/winebars after the finish, heading out for the reward of steak/frites and red wine in the evening.

I mostly like Rome too but when I was there this year I did refuse to go on a tour to look at more dusty bricks in the ground :rolleyes:, there is only so many hours of your life....

... Paris HM in March past all the monuments then hanging round in lovely cafes/winebars after the finish, heading out for the reward of steak/frites and red wine in the evening. .

you had me at HM :pac: *runs off to put in diary*