Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Ha!

She has a bigger fkn ar$e than McNally even :-)

:D .. ah she has the money to pay for 2 seats

Last time I was in Nowlan I was just about toilet trained .. must've been in me early 20's :pac: .. Wexford v Kilkenny - I used to spend me Summers in Wexford showing the local kids how to shoplift .. and in return I got to meet a true great of the game when the senior team came to train - Tony Doran. I'd say he knew I was from Dublin straight away with the number of fresh airs trying to puck a ball back to him:o He played that day, tho as a kid you don't have any concept of age but it must be 30-35 years since I was in Nowlan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Westmeath beating the Cats in 21 hurling. Injury time... updates to follow..

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Sure why wouldn't they? Didn't Kim & Kanye spend their honeymoon in that well known mecca of glitz and glamour, Tullamore, two years ago ! :eek:

If it was good enough for them I can't see why a 1/4 Leinster champo can't be played there ... *ducks*

:eek: .. and the Cats missed a penalty with the last puck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭corny

Brilliant for Westmeath but sure Wexford set the standard in Leinster.

Don't think Westmeath ever beat the Cats in serious game before?

DoctaDee wrote: »
    :eek: .. and the Cats missed a penalty with the last puck

couldn't happen to a fkn nicer fker than Brennan either.

So, you were laughing at Dubs hurlers were you "Fast" Eddie :)

Can't imagine so ..any of you hurling lads have this anywhere on the radar as even a remotest likelihood ? ... I know from our own perspective we've had a few upsets in the underage football (Longford, Tipp, Meath etc) but there was enough evidence particulalry Tipp to suggest that they'd be competitive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,599 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

couldn't happen to a fkn nicer fker than Brennan either.

So, you were laughing at Dubs hurlers were you "Fast" Eddie :)

Nice post. Nice. You're a real hard man.

We have long memories :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Jebus. Massive fair focks to Westmeath. That's a great result.
    :D .. ah she has the money to pay for 2 seats

Last time I was in Nowlan I was just about toilet trained .. must've been in me early 20's :pac: .. Wexford v Kilkenny - I used to spend me Summers in Wexford showing the local kids how to shoplift .. and in return I got to meet a true great of the game when the senior team came to train - Tony Doran. I'd say he knew I was from Dublin straight away with the number of fresh airs trying to puck a ball back to him:o He played that day, tho as a kid you don't have any concept of age but it must be 30-35 years since I was in Nowlan

I've seen the hurlers play in Portlaoise, Tullamore, Wexford Park, Limerick and probably a few other grounds I've forgotten, but I've never seen them play in Nowlan Park. Dunno why. There may have been a bit of the "The Cats at home? :eek: Sure we'll be mullered ! I'll pass on that, thanks very much" going on. (Sorry lads.)

Only times I ever set foot in the place, was for Bruce Springsteen 2 years ago. Feckers charged 20 quid to park ! :mad: :mad: :mad:

That's all gonna change next week. Can't bleedin' wait !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,599 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

We have long memories :)

Did Eddie Brennan run over your pet cat or something...
    Why the need to abuse him and call him a "fkn nicer fker".
    What a shameful post.

Anyway I'll stop posting here as I don't want to derail the thread.

Jaysis meant to ask about the parking situation at Nowlan ... anyone any ideas will hardly get down as far as O'Loughlin Gaels pitch would we ? ... is there fellas that'll mind yer car for a fiver like in Ballybough ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,141 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Jaysis meant to ask about the parking situation at Nowlan ... anyone any ideas will hardly get down as far as O'Loughlin Gaels pitch would we ? ... is there fellas that'll mind yer car for a fiver like in Ballybough ? :D

You'd have to be early to get into oloughlins for a full house match!

Is Loughlin Gaels clubhouse, the building just across from the NP gates? I doubt if you'd get that far down, unless you get there mega early.

I've fond memories of watching the 2013 Cork v KK game there, before heading into see Brucie Baby. The langers won and King Henry got sent off (for the first time ever, I think) in a game that many people thought might be his last. I remarked on the rather dour atmosphere to the barman, who was proudly wearing a Tipp jersey. To which he loudly proclaimed that he'd seen better craic at funerals. I swiftly downed what was left of my martini, beat a hasty retreat and went outside and laughed my ass off. I'm easily amused ! :p

Is Loughlin Gaels clubhouse, the building just across from the NP gates? I doubt if you'd get that far down, unless you get there mega early.

I've fond memories of watching the 2013 Cork v KK game there, before heading into see Brucie Baby. The langers won and King Henry got sent off (for the first time ever, I think) in a game that many people thought might be his last. I remarked on the rather dour atmosphere to the barman, who was proudly wearing a Tipp jersey. To which he loudly proclaimed that he'd seen better craic at funerals. I swiftly downed what was left of my martini, beat a hasty retreat and went outside and laughed my ass off. I'm easily amused ! :p

That's o oloughlins yeah. Have no intention of recollecting that other match. Can talk about the boss that night if you like!

You'd have to be early to get into oloughlins for a full house match!

Word I'm hearing is that after the initial surge for tickets that's there's been a tail off in demand - I'd be suprised if it's not a sell out, but as of now there's still a good few available

Any alternative parking Realt within a luas stop or 2 of the ground ? :rolleyes:

Word I'm hearing is that after the initial surge for tickets that's there's been a tail off in demand - I'd be suprised if it's not a sell out, but as of now there's still a good few available

Any alternative parking Realt within a luas stop or 2 of the ground ? :rolleyes:

I'd go looking in the industrial estate in Hebron maybe. Good few spots on the ring road that should have spaces.

Then you can hop in the Monorail.

I'd go looking in the industrial estate in Hebron maybe. Good few spots on the ring road that should have spaces.

Then you can hop in the Monorail.

Smashing thanks .. glad to hear it's a monorail I get a bit claustrophobic on those underground ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Just read about Ryan O Dwyer there the other day. Massive credit to them for overcoming that ordeal, he might not be a Henry Shefflin talent wise but ye're lucky to have someone who loves playing so much to fight back the way he has.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Just read about Ryan O Dwyer there the other day. Massive credit to them for overcoming that ordeal, he might not be a Henry Shefflin talent wise but ye're lucky to have someone who loves playing so much to fight back the way he has.

I've always admired the bite that he brings to the team..... except on those occasions where he bites a red card. :(

I still have nightmares about the sending off against Cork in 2013.

Oh, what might have been.... :(

CatInABox wrote: »
    I've always admired the bite that he brings to the team..... except on those occasions where he bites a red card. :(

I think he's a bit of a liability to be honest because he gets so many. When was the last time he didn't get a yellow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

In fairness to him I thought that sending off was a classic case of give a dog a bad name

That's him, Not easy coming back after what happened to him, then having that head collision the other night. Jaysus!

Realt, we crossed sword on the Cats thread. I wasn't gloating, but for Westmeath to beat you is huge. I fancy Wexford to not only win Leinster but All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,276 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Was that two yellows or a straight red?
    I just remember being really annoyed about it!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Was that two yellows or a straight red?
    I just remember being really annoyed about it!

JBM insisted that he be sent off!

Was second yellow. That game turned in space of two minutes; Ryaner missed a goal chance, Dwyer sent off, Cork goal.... That was that.

That's him, Not easy coming back after what happened to him, then having that head collision the other night. Jaysus!

Realt, we crossed sword on the Cats thread. I wasn't gloating, but for Westmeath to beat you is huge. I fancy Wexford to not only win Leinster but All Ireland.

Don't know enough about the u21 in Munster to comment, but anyone I know from Limerick seems very confident of going all the way this year. Definitely hard to look past Wexford in Leinster, buy if we learned anything yesterday, it's not to assume anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭but1er

Dermos on fire your defence is terrified

Gerrup 5 days