Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

Isn't there some company even bottling mains water.

Peckham spring. Or at least thats what I think Del boy called it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

whelan2 wrote: »
    Thanks. Will probably be on 6 o clock news again

Don't quote me on it as it sounds a bit low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

browned wrote: »
    George Lee was on the news at one on rte. The average dairy farmer only has loans of 60k. Can't remember the exact figure but a sizeable amount have no loans. They were talking about the Teagasc Figure for different farming enterprises for 2015. He also kept emphasising that the 2016 dairy figure will be crap

Think it was 2/3 have no loans while 1/3 have an average of 60,000
    Either way what difference does it make. It's not like a business can go on without finance, "ye have hardly any debt ye'll be grand" job. A generalisation like that is pointless. Particularly when many farmers are near the end of their careers, if they want young people to come in how do they hope to do so. There may always be people with no, medium and large amounts of debt, if the sector won't return enough to expand or keep going by financing there won't be much of a sector left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Did anyone ask George lee if teagasc members were a representative sample of dairy farmers? What percentage are they,do they tell the truth on the form(in my experience many don't)

Also I've paid my teagasc sub for decades and have never been asked about my financials
    And of course,mortgages or home loans aren't counted at all,so a dairy farmer could be paying back a mortgage on the house he/she built of maybe 200 k and mar dhea according to teagasc have no loan at all,despite relying on a negative margin dairy business to keep up those payments

Honestly,when you hear what bull is in the news programmes about things you do know something about,you'd have to question the veracity of their commentary on anything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Pacoa wrote: »
    Peckham spring. Or at least thats what I think Del boy called it.

It's in co. tipperary.
    They have a licence for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Check today happy enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Milked out wrote: »
    Either way what difference does it make. It's not like a business can go on without finance, "ye have hardly any debt ye'll be grand" job. A generalisation like that is pointless. Particularly when many farmers are near the end of their careers, if they want young people to come in how do they hope to do so. There may always be people with no, medium and large amounts of debt, if the sector won't return enough to expand or keep going by financing there won't be much of a sector left
    If there isn't enough for basic maintenance in a business, you have to question the future of that business.

One year, OK.

Two years, I'd be asking questions.

Three years, it's time to look elsewhere, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,792 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

If there isn't enough for basic maintenance in a business, you have to question the future of that business.

One year, OK.

Two years, I'd be asking questions.

Three years, it's time to look elsewhere, imo.
    Do you think many would survive 3 years?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

keep going wrote: »
    Check today happy enough

Only today? Did they forget to pay it on time?

Pacoa wrote: »

George could take a leaf out of those journalists book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    George could take a leaf out of those journalists book.

Yea right...a discounting supermarket chain in Oz crashed world milk price?

And Chinese cows are fed...chemicals?

Emotive tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,259 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Working from memory, the figures last year were one third of dairy farms had no farm loan. Two thirds had. The average across all dairy farmers was €63K. Thus the average loan was near €100K.
    I think also these are bank loans not incl merchant credit, delayed bills etc.

Haven't seen George yet.

Water John wrote: »
    Working from memory, the figures last year were one third of dairy farms had no farm loan. Two thirds had. The average across all dairy farmers was €63K. Thus the average loan was near €100K.
    I think also these are bank loans not incl merchant credit, delayed bills etc.

Haven't seen George yet.
    he was in studio on the one o clock news, he did a report on the 6 o clock news. So wasnt as much detail on the 6 o clocl news. Maybe the rte player of the 1 o clock news will show it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

pedigree 6 wrote:
    If the average farmer has loans of 60k and others have none. I wonder what the top amount that some farmers have borrowed. Averages hide a lot. Also I wonder does teagasc average dairy income include the total income on a 300 cow herd and say 3 people get a wage from it. But if teagasc do it on a per farm basis thus skewing the figures to an average dairy farmer.

The figure we need is the median, not the mean.

The average borrowing of all dairy farmers is not the same as the borrowing of the "average" dairy farmer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

Dawggone wrote: »

Emotive tripe.

I thought it was the Chinese babies for discovering breast is best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Lol. Tillage incomes increased due to rising cattle prices.:D:D

I knew it was per farm and not per labour/income unit.

Edit: This is so funny. Tillage guys must be using oxen now to pull the ploughs.

I wonder how long till the author spots it.
    Better check the rest as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Dawggone wrote:

Amazing the different reasons supposedly intelligent people come up with to explain why market prices fall.

When I was a youngster we had a very eloquent, affable broker in the office who used to look after big retail money... the sort of man who could listen to clients going on about their children without actually falling asleep.. good bedside manner.

When markets crashed as they do from time to time and the phones were red hot he used to purr at them down the line "prices going down? Well yes, I can tell you with absolute confidence that it's happening because there are more sellers than buyers"

Clients were usually so shocked at the truth that they thanked him politely and rang off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

browned wrote: »
    Think it was 2/3 have no loans while 1/3 have an average of €60,000

There must be some pile of ye with loans of around €10k.

Emotive tripe.

It's probably closer to the truth than the spin here about white gold.

No harm to make consumers aware as to what is going on. In the same way as we have fair trade coffee, maybe its about time we also have fair trade dairy products

kowtow wrote: »
    Amazing the different reasons supposedly intelligent people come up with to explain why market prices fall.

When I was a youngster we had a very eloquent, affable broker in the office who used to look after big retail money... the sort of man who could listen to clients going on about their children without actually falling asleep.. good bedside manner.

When markets crashed as they do from time to time and the phones were red hot he used to purr at them down the line "prices going down? Well yes, I can tell you with absolute confidence that it's happening because there are more sellers than buyers"

Clients were usually so shocked at the truth that they thanked him politely and rang off.

Lol.
    I've yankee relations that rode the housing bubble with their hardware business and, in fairness, expanded and made quite a bit of soft money...they, from their luxurious Floridian condo, think exactly like that.
    Basic facts elude them.
    When you live, work, and operate in a protective bubble, reality may seem a little distorted...remind you of anything agricultural?

It's probably closer to the truth than the spin here about white gold.

No harm to make consumers aware as to what is going on. In the same way as we have fair trade coffee, maybe its about time we also have fair trade dairy products

Ed, I like my newsfeed to be honest, factual and informed.

I have to say it's getting more difficult to find proper reporting of news.

That 'report' is nothing but shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Have you ever tried to find out off a farmer how many cows he has or how many acres.

Can you imagine them telling a lad from teagasc how much there borrowings are.

Only today? Did they forget to pay it on time?

Yera no we tell them hold on to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Do you think many would survive 3 years?
    It would depend on the level of losses they make in total. Three years making a cent or two of a loss would see a lot hang in there but a year with 5c of a loss would push a lot over the edge.

It's like the story about putting the frog in boiling water and he will jump out straight away but slowly heat the water and he will die before he can react to jump out.

I thought it was the Chinese babies for discovering breast is best.

See, I can't engage you at all in any sort of rational/shyte conversation.

Here's why...
    You're the Popes boss...he's infallible...and you're all-knowing...just where do I come in this??

The all knowing/all seeing entity!

Respect?

Ed, I like my newsfeed to be honest, factual and informed.

I have to say it's getting more difficult to find proper reporting of news.

That 'report' is nothing but shyte.

Would have to agree with you about the stuff you find in the media when I found out the stuff my own co op was feeding me was just spin from a Pr agent. That was the final straw for me. We are constantly being sold pups and our milk price currently reflects that.

Surprised you don't follow French media? Do they have a French boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,259 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Boards is a sort of quirky Irish thing. Tried launching it in some other countries, never took on, I think.

Water John wrote: »
    Boards is a sort of quirky Irish thing. Tried launching it in some other countries, never took on, I think.
    are ye like the holy trinity, you see one , next see the other but ye are all the one spirit afterwards