He/ she who snores...

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

This is the most adorable thread in AH in a while. All ye cute couples in happy relationships.

Feck ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Hahahahaha I'm the fidget queen. Bed, quick cuddle, usually be little spoon falling asleep, wake up, get up, go bathroom, Come back to bed, spoon him, up again, open a window, back to bed, turn on my side, turn to the other side, root around for his arm to spoon myself with, get up to pee, back to bed, get up, close the window, go back to bed, probably be cold so my hands go up his tshirt to warm them up.

It's better all round if whoevers in bed with me (including my female friends) spoon me all night, I stay in place with cuddles. If I'm left to my own devices I'm up and down like a whores knickers.

Jesus you must be wrecked!

I'll generally be asleep with 20 minutes of going to bed, and that's including reading- presuming there isn't some fidgety bollix beside me. I do find it very hard to sleep without reading for some reason though. But then that's it, I'm out cold and apparently barely move, my mam used to send my dad to sleep in my bed and carry me back to their bed with her if he was snoring, she's a really light sleeper and she said I was a dream to share a bed with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Lyaiera wrote: »
    This is the most adorable thread in AH in a while. All ye cute couples in happy relationships.

Feck ye.

Was just about to post the same. Some genuine laugh-out-loud moments. Fair play OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Weight can play a big part in snoring. There are only 2 times i've been told i snored in my life. Both after injuries where i lost weight and then ate whatever i wanted to build back up size and then cut down. I was going to the gym 5-6 days and lifting weights but i was shocked when i took pictures of a 'before' when i was just about to start losing weight. I didn't really look muscular from the back, like up around the back of the shoulders and neck. It looked fat. Once i started to lose weight, the snoring stopped.

The same thing happened again after another injury. Weight up with increased body fat around the lats, upper back, neck etc. Started snoring. Started losing weight and went.

Heard of similar situations with friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭jem

I snore when I have a feed of beer and then I would wake the dead. Other than that I don't snore. However she who must be obeyed snores ever night.
    me- gentle shake- turn onto your side
    her- why
    me - your snoring
    her- I cant be I'm awake,
    me you were asleep and snoring.
    her - ok and straight back asleep shill on her back and snoring
    me little stronger shake- same conversation
    third time- strong shake
    her what
    me TURN onto ur side you are STILL snoring
    Her turns over in a huff
    next morning she remembers nothing

have recorded her a number of times with TV on and not able to hear it with the snoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Hypnic jerk for the win! Bruises. Bloody nose one time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I'll generally be asleep with 20 minutes of going to bed, and that's including reading.

Welp, jinxed myself well and good there, gone 5 am by the time I got any sleep this morning :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Welp, jinxed myself well and good there, gone 5 am by the time I got any sleep this morning :o

Oh nose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

osarusan wrote: »
    Hypnic jerk for the win! Bruises. Bloody nose one time.

Hate that feeling. It feels like impending death for seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

We all know women only breathe heavily ;)

Used to cost me €2.50 a minute to hear that as well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

I fell asleep this evening on the couch, cue major snorefest, much to my wife's annoyance.

There's nothing like a good snore in the early evening.

I've woken myself up (on the train) snoring. Morto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

boobar wrote: »
    I fell asleep this evening on the couch, cue major snorefest, much to my wife's annoyance.

There's nothing like a good snore in the early evening.

I've woken myself up (on the train) snoring. Morto.

I've woken myself up by farting loudly a few times.

Unfortunately it only ever happens when I'm in a shared dorm in a hostel, never when I'm home alone... :(:o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭columf

If the snoring is very loud it' likely a case of obstructive sleep apnea. Can be fatal if not addressed. There are a number of fixes depending on the severity.
    Yes a pillow held over the mouth of the snorers is both a fix and fatal:p

I suffer from sleep apnea as does most of my family and yes we are all over weight. I fish and often some mates and I would camp overnight to get an early start the next morning. I tend to hit the sack earlier than my mates and I have had to tell them I snore don't pitch your tent too close to mine and don't worry if its gone quite give me a few seconds I should start breathing again. I got up one morning about 5 and went for a fish at dawn one of the lads comes down a while later telling me good thing I warned him about me going quite he said that at one point noise stopped for 2 or 3 seconds and a big intake of breath and the then started up the 2 stroke motor again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I snore. Sometimes badly.

I need to get the deviated septum sorted AGAIN. LOL. Had it done years ago and all snoring stopped just like that. It must be deviously deviated again, or maybe it's just contentment.

My OH said to me once, when I worried about my honking..."I'm not complaining am I?" What a treasure. Or else he's deaf as a post!

Anyway, when I go away with friends or my sister and am sharing a room. A good dose of sniffed salt and water followed by a nasal decongestant does the trick. But I don't need to do that at home. Wey hey.