Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He/ she who snores...

• 19-05-2016 12:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭

Seriously. Foghorn wouldn't even cover it.

Losing.My.Mind.

Does anyone else have to suffer it?

Or are you in fact the foghorn? Do you wake up with weird bruises on your arm? Have you been turned on your side and shoved to the edge of the bed? Is your throat a little dry and scratchy in the morning? Is your wife / husband speaking about the divorce rate in Ireland more frequently..

Better call Saul :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

The wife barks at me to turn over and i dont even remember it. Usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

shedweller wrote: »
    The wife barks at me to turn over and i dont even remember it. Usually.

And men wonder why women can be crabby?? :)

I may have shouted a little, ok I shouted. But to be fair that was after many, many nudges,followed by shoves and rolls etc :D

Not that it makes any difference!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Oh my good wife can snore with the best of them! Tells me to feck off when i tell her to turn over though. Hmm....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

The joys of not sharing a bed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭reason vs religion

In a hostel dorm as I type. Multiple snorers. Seems to be a definite correlation between mass and volume.

Oh my good wife can snore with the best of them! Tells me to feck off when i tell her to turn over though. Hmm....

We all know women only breathe heavily ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Tipperary Fairy

In a hostel dorm as I type. Multiple snorers. Seems to be a definite correlation between mass and volume.

Was in a dorm myself last week with a snorer, spent about an hour trying to get the courage to bash him and tell him to roll over.

I don't know how snorers sleep through their own snoring

The joys of not sharing a bed :)

I'm very jealous right now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

I'm very jealous right now :D

I AM NOT BUDGING OVER FOR YOU :mad:

:P

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I must admit that I'm a big snorer. I'm currently single!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Have ended a relationship due to snoring in the past, when it's so loud that I have to use headphones downstairs if they are asleep upstairs it's too much. Sleeping next to that sound just isn't possible!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Seriously. Foghorn wouldn't even cover it.

Losing.My.Mind.

Does anyone else have to suffer it?

Or are you in fact the foghorn? Do you wake up with weird bruises on your arm? Have you been turned on your side and shoved to the edge of the bed? Is your throat a little dry and scratchy in the morning? Is your wife / husband speaking about the divorce rate in Ireland more frequently..

Better call Saul :(

Someone in the room next to me is guilty...sounds like two lawnmowers having sex...generally i just throw things at the wall until it stops..shoes, keys, remotes etc...give it a try

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I must admit that I'm a big snorer. I'm currently single!:o

You should look for a snoree :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Ever wake yourself up snoring? Freaks me out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Been told I snore, wasn't a major complant though. Apparently a wee nudge, or told to roll over, and I stop without a recollection of it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Have ended a relationship due to snoring in the past,
    Same here, It does my head in and I just can't sleep with it. fair play to those who can. My oul lad could wake the dead and I dunno how my mother suffered it for so long. From what I've seen two things tend influence it; maleness and fatness. The latter seems to make sleeping on your side uncomfortable(?) so they roll onto their backs and the night song kicks off.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

pone2012 wrote: »
    Someone in the room next to me is guilty...sounds like two lawnmowers having sex...generally i just throw things at the wall until it stops..shoes, keys, remotes etc...give it a try

My morning coffee you bastard!! :pac:

Yeah there's definitely a correlation between mass and volume alright. My wife is relieved I'm an insomniac some nights because when I do sleep, apparently it's about the same level of decibels as a jumbo jet taking off (she recorded me one night and yeah, it's pretty impressive alright :pac:).

As Wibbs said, can't do sleeping on my sides, always on my back. Someone snoring though is probably the mild end of the spectrum of bed sharing annoyances I've experienced anyway - sleep apnoea, she almost had me driven demented every time she'd stop breathing!

And then there was my mate who when she slept over, I used have to sleep on my front because... well I couldn't sleep on my side, and she was an absolute cracker which I didn't want to be making too obvious!! :pac: But she had the most bizarre thing of asking me could she sleep on my back, "No you can't, go to sleep!", and while I'm lying there on my front, during the night she'd actually be asleep, and would still climb up on my back. I couldn't move because I'd wake her, but four fcuking hours of a constant erection and trapped so I couldn't sort myself out? Viagra wouldn't be as painful ffs!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Wibbs wrote: »
    Same here, It does my head in and I just can't sleep with it. fair play to those who can. My oul lad could wake the dead and I dunno how my mother suffered it for so long. From what I've seen two things tend influence it; maleness and fatness. The latter seems to make sleeping on your side uncomfortable(?) so they roll onto their backs and the night song kicks off.

Drunkeness seems to lead to a significant volume increase also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Apparently I am a snorer. The other half has recorded me a few times, I think it's hilarious, him not so much!

Fatness makes it less comfortable to sleep on my back than side. Though I generally fall asleep and wake up on my front. People find sleeping face-down weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

My snoring has been described as akin to an elephant farting. The amount of alcohol consumed does increase the volume. Mostly it's like a kitten purring. Mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

shar01 wrote: »
    My snoring has been described as akin to an elephant farting. The amount of alcohol consumed does increase the volume. Mostly it's like a kitten purring. Mostly.

One of my friends snores awfully and I've described it as "like two chainsaws mating".

Until one night on holiday in Corfu I passed out from having drunk too much and snored "like THREE chainsaws mating" ... she and her husband even recorded an audio clip to play back the next day!!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

I snore heavily ( apparently ) ....I just tell herself that a day will come when she wishes I was snoring next to her...always guilts her lol lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I used to snore so loudly that my boyfriend couldn't sleep :o Since I quit smoking, I stopped snoring.

I toss and turn a LOT when I'm in my own bed alone, though. I wake up with cuts and bruises frequently :pac:

Apparently I do it in bed with himself too, but he throws an arm around me and I stop throwing myself against the bloody wall then :o

It's good to know I'm not alone :D Although the snorers of the thread, tut tut how do ye sleep at night?

He finally shut it at 3.30 am. Looked so restful when he woke this morning bless his cotton socks!!!

I would definitely have thought side sleeping was better for those with excess weight, interesting to hear of the back sleepers who have a belly :p

Actually he went through a phase for a couple of days of punching my arm and back when 'in his sleep' (not too hard to leave a mark :p)

I'm sensing a theme here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I snore. I can't help it.

If you're staying in a hostel why on earth would you not go equipped with earplugs? There's a big chance that someone will be snoring.

I like to call it sleeping out loud or enthusiastic sleeping :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭elaney

My husband snores most nights im used to it now. Last night he snored that loud he woke the dogs which in turn woke the kids.
    Spent half an hour trying to get the kids back to sleep. Ended up sleeping in this morning only had 20 minutes to get them to school :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I've been known to sing in my sleep :o

(Badly, I assume)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

maudgonner wrote: »
    I've been known to sing in my sleep :o

(Badly, I assume)

I've been know to play the 'flute' in my sleep!

Going by the redness in the morn, I assume I play it badly too :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Have ended a relationship due to snoring in the past, when it's so loud that I have to use headphones downstairs if they are asleep upstairs it's too much. Sleeping next to that sound just isn't possible!!

Yep, it's been a deal-breaker in the past. My husband only snores if he has a cold or something, but it bothers me so much I have to go sleep on the couch. Nails on a blackboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

My husband snores when he is awake ffs. Well he will be asleep for about two seconds and it starts and I'll just calmly and quietly say "your snoring" and he answers straight away and defiantly says "no I wasnt". I'll say "I just heard you" and then he'l say "wasn't me, sure I'm awake"!!!

He tends to snore when he is very tired like if he was doing a lot of overtime or physical work that day so I try not to complain about it too much but it is one of the most irritating sounds when you are trying to go asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If the snoring is very loud it' likely a case of obstructive sleep apnea. Can be fatal if not addressed. There are a number of fixes depending on the severity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Olishi4 wrote: »
    My husband snores when he is awake ffs. Well he will be asleep for about two seconds and it starts and I'll just calmly and quietly say "your snoring" and he answers straight away and defiantly says "no I wasnt". I'll say "I just heard you" and then he'l say "wasn't me, sure I'm awake"!!!

He tends to snore when he is very tired like if he was doing a lot of overtime or physical work that day so I try not to complain about it too much but it is one of the most irritating sounds when you are trying to go asleep.

In the first phase of sleep the sleeper can retain full awareness while also being asleep.

Is your OH possibly leading a double life?? :p He sounds exactly like mine, he falls 'asleep' sitting up and snores for seconds and swears blind he wasn't asleep.

He was almost drooling on his laptop the other night he was so out for the count and I walked into the kitchen and he bolted up and pretended like he was wide awake. I asked him did he have a nice nap, he said huh? I didn't go asleep :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Is your OH possibly leading a double life?? :p He sounds exactly like mine, he falls 'asleep' sitting up and snores for seconds and swears blind he wasn't asleep.

He was almost drooling on his laptop the other night he was so out for the count and I walked into the kitchen and he bolted up and pretended like he was wide awake. I asked him did he have a nice nap, he said huh? I didn't go asleep :D

Ha ha no, no double life Keane. He's just at a stage in his career where he has to put a lot of work in.

Doesn't matter how tired he is though, he can still keep up with me in that department! He knows where his priorities lie :p;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

You know, has anyone ever tried covering the persons mouth???...with an absorbant material?? Say something like the eye covers people wear before bed...maybe thicker though

I ask because.. I'm guessing, one of the reasons it becomes so loud is when the mouth is open...there is a hollow area that allows the sound to become louder....if said sound was absorbed by some material... Wouldn't it reduce said sound??

Totally open to correction on this, just guessing

Ha ha no, no double life Keane. He's just at a stage in his career where he has to put a lot of work in.

Doesn't matter how tired he is though, he can still keep up with me in that department! He knows where his priorities lie :p;)

Ditto here, he tells me the end justifies them means and I will thank him for keeping me awake at night when it's all done :D

Haha good man :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

I think in all honestly, both myself and my OH snore. Only I'm very calm about it, put it down to one of those things, but he's very sensitive.

Ended up having a middle of the night wobbler about it only just last week. He kept waking me up every time I'd just drifted off to sleep (maybe 4am at this point) He'd also gone into the spare room at one point and subsequently came back "because the bed wasn't as nice" and then told me I should go because I was snoring. I told him to take a run and jump.

He also snores but doesn't really believe that he does. He actually woke me up with his snoring just last night. I just let it pass.

Some people are awfully precious!

I think in all honestly, both myself and my OH snore. Only I'm very calm about it, put it down to one of those things, but he's very sensitive.

Ended up having a middle of the night wobbler about it only just last week. He kept waking me up every time I'd just drifted off to sleep (maybe 4am at this point) He'd also gone into the spare room at one point and subsequently came back "because the bed wasn't as nice" and then told me I should go because I was snoring. I told him to take a run and jump.

He also snores but doesn't really believe that he does. He actually woke me up with his snoring just last night. I just let it pass.

Some people are awfully precious!

It's all in good fun Sarah!

Until someone has a hit out on them for snoring and keeping you awake all night, every night of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

It's all in good fun Sarah!

Until someone has a hit out on them for snoring and keeping you awake all night, every night of course.

Apparently I'm chronic lately so maybe I should watch my back :eek:

Wouldn't mind, but himself sleeps with earplugs and is also capable of selective deafness during the day when it suits him.

Apparently I'm chronic lately so maybe I should watch my back :eek:

Wouldn't mind, but himself sleeps with earplugs and is also capable of selective deafness during the day when it suits him.

LOL!

I think if you are at all a poor or light sleeper it can actually really effect a person!

I have insomnia, and also two kids so any little sleep I can get is precious :p Himself could sleep through an atomic bomb, and then go back to sleep once he knows we're grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

I toss and turn a LOT when I'm in my own bed alone, though. I wake up with cuts and bruises frequently :pac:

That's not tossing and turning, you've got a bogeyman in your room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

If the snoring is very loud it' likely a case of obstructive sleep apnea. Can be fatal if not addressed. There are a number of fixes depending on the severity.

Yep, that's me. Using a CPAP machine for the last 12 years.

Before that I was like a chainsaw until I stopped breathing (apnoea) for a few seconds, then back to chainsaw mode.

This was measured at 60 times per hour.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I shared a hotel room with my brother last weekend. Never again. I'm suprised I didn't murder him, the hack out of him when he's asleep.
    I had a skinful, nomally nothing would wake me, he did. The bast*rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I snored for years, like a fog horn, waking everyone in the house then had a heart attack, a couple of stents later and have not snored since.....honestly.

Wow!! Bad luck but good to hear you recovered well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

drake70 wrote: »
    Yep, that's me. Using a CPAP machine for the last 12 years.

Before that I was like a chainsaw until I stopped breathing (apnoea) for a few seconds, then back to chainsaw mode.

This was measured at 60 times per hour.

Was at the doctor only this week about it. Constantly tired even though passed out unconscious for 6-8hrs a night. Been told for years by multiple people that I snore badly, and girlfriend is sick of it... often have to move to separate beds during the night. Doctor checked my nose, said air passage is quite narrow (I find it hard to breathe through my nose even while awake), possible deviated septum. Going to refer me to an ENT doctor and a sleep doctor guy. He said he hopes we'll find ways around it rather than CPAP (like cutting my septum and sorting air passages out, sounds awful!)

So to those of you giving out about us snorers, it's no picnic being us either :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Is that why you sleep in the shed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I snore only when I'm sick. If I start to snore, you just know I'm going to be whinging for the next week or so with man flu.

Himself snores if he hasn't enough pillows and he's on his back, but not enough to complain about