Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

WarZ wrote: »
    There's a good few turning in their mates for a quick buck. The fact that the shooter involved at Noctor's fled on bicycle means he was definitely a local and he obviously hid in a safe house nearby.

You just can't compete with the money the Kinahan's have. The Hutches are fighting against a police force that seems more interested in disrupting the Hutch gang than any other group (I wonder why...), The Kinahan Cartel which is probably one of the richest and most powerful gangs in Europe and now their own loyal associates turning on them for a quick buck.

I would say a deep seeded grudge against the Hutch family is exactly why.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

bajer101 wrote: »

MOD
    The name of the victim is out there now so feel free to talk about this.Again...no gossip or speculation as that drags the threadon tangents, and no initials as that just drives everyone that doesn't recognise them batsh*t crazy.I appreciate that it's something that we will all hear bits and bobs on from folk and want to relay, but unless its anything concrete it shouldnt go on thread.
    Cheers,
    Boom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

I'm no expert on this but I would imagine both gangs have a list of targets, have been doing intelligence on them, recognisance, etc, and also possibly have insiders in the other gangs. They possibly, in fact probably use tracking devices as well.

The reason the feud is now so bloody is there was a truce between them which was broken.

That is correct, but how can a Dutch article and posted by extension on here and twitter release all this unknown details about this man, and within 18 hours he is executed in the City centre! He was never mentioned on here before in near 250 pages! And suddenly he is name is mentioned in a sensitive and mysterious manner, and its a coincidence !? No way! Who put that information out there in the public domain and why yesterday!?

On 2nd thoughts I dont want to know lol :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

You'd have to wonder how the hell he was out walking the streets considering he fled the country while on bail for the armed robbery in 2009 that Del boy and Keith Murtagh were convicted for. He had to be extradited from Holland in 2014 to stand trial, so how was he out walking the streets?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/man-extradited-from-holland-to-face-charges-relating-to-attempted-cashintransit-robbery-five-years-ago-30618548.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭coniosumadre

You'd have to wonder how the hell he was out walking the streets considering he fled the country while on bail for the armed robbery in 2009 that Del boy and Keith Murtagh were convicted for. He had to be extradited from Holland in 2014 to stand trial, so how was he out walking the streets?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/man-extradited-from-holland-to-face-charges-relating-to-attempted-cashintransit-robbery-five-years-ago-30618548.html
    He was aquitted I think, came across an article somewhere.

Answering my own question here, but apparently he was acquitted of the 2009 robbery and also of being in possession of a false passport. Strange that there was nothing in the media about this as it was a very high profile robbery case where Del boy got 16 years and Gareth Molloy was shot dead by the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

Jesus this doesn't reflect well on the Gardaí, they look totally inept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

h2005 wrote: »
    Jesus this doesn't reflect well on the Garda , they look totally inept.

Not sure why - what are they supposed to do? Babysit and shadow every criminal in the city? He was given a GIM last week.

Seen this also:
    https://twitter.com/mickthehack/status/735063038164914176

If he felt his life was in danger then why didn't he use some of his (or his uncles) "legitimate means".

These guys flout the law. Makes fools of the rest of us and then expect to be given new safe houses and 24 hours garda protection? I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

h2005 wrote: »
    Jesus this doesn't reflect well on the Gardaí, they look totally inept.

They don't have the resources to keep track of everyone involved. I work in and around the north inner city and I've never seen so many Garda on the streets ( many of them carrying). To stop a shooting takes more then boots on the ground, they need Intel and the Garda budget doesn't come close to covering it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You would assume anyone named Hutch who'd been warned that their personal forecast was shooty with a strong possibility of carnage would have the resources required to get on an airplane and head for foreign climes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

Who's son is he? RIP

John Hutch's son

How many brothers does Gerry have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

I expect to see plenty of guards protecting certain houses in crumlin again for them next week

tomofson wrote: »
    How many brothers does Gerry have?

Eddie, John and Patsy are the only ones I know of.

Assuming they all have multiple sons, then Monky does have a few sisters aswell so they make for a fairly big family, they will be a bit hard to completely wipe out. Though LB and DK might be just going for those they see as threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

ok tell us what can be done, within the existing law, given how stretched garda resources are already.

I don't have the answers but ignoring them and leaving them at it is definitely the wrong thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

derm0j073 wrote: »
    They don't have the resources to keep track of everyone involved. I work in and around the north inner city and I've never seen so many Garda on the streets ( many of them carrying). To stop a shooting takes more then boots on the ground, they need Intel and the Garda budget doesn't come close to covering it.

Everyone knows who lives in Champions Avenue which is about a 100 yards from where this incident took place.

The Garda Commisioner should be considering her position at this stage. Another shooting in broad daylight.

NY style police forcing required at this stage. Only one man needs to be hauled in and told to put a a stop to it immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Would bringing the army in to the area not be an idea, have 5 soldiers at the end of every road for the next 3 months?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Would bringing the army in to the area not be an idea, have 5 soldiers at the end of every road for the next 3 months?

Its getting to that stage alright. After all, if they can go all the way to Lebanon to keep the peace, they absolutely should be able to do it here.

Apparently their first getaway car wouldn't start and they had to abandon it and run to a second car which drove them away. And one of the gunman's masks slipped. Hopefully the guards can get some DNA evidence from the car and CCTV in the area might have caught footage of the the guy's face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

STB. wrote: »
    Everyone knows who lives in Champions Avenue which is about a 100 yards from where this incident took place.

Internal feud within the family? Or am I missing something?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

tomofson wrote: »
    Assuming they all have multiple sons, then Monky does have a few sisters aswell so they make for a fairly big family, they will be a bit hard to completely wipe out. Though LB and DK might be just going for those they see as threats.

Initials!!!! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭califano

No thats showing them respect.

Internal feud within the family? Or am I missing something?

Definitely not, the Hutch family are so deep rooted in the north inner city they have a hard time leaving it because its the only place they can call home so they all live in close proximity to each other.

and in regards to The Monks brothers there is also the late Derek.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭Benevolent Misanthrope

If there is any shooting, the government will be hit for millions in deafness claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

STB. wrote: »

NY style police forcing required at this stage. Only one man needs to be hauled in and told to put a a stop to it immediately.

I'm sure telling him to stop will put an end to it alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

WTF? Martial law on the streets to stop a few criminals from killing each other?

In the height of the financial crisis we stopped having garda protection for government ministers and ex taoiseagh (think only current Taoiseach and MoJ still receive it). Now we feel bad that the criminals don't receive state protection????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

califano wrote: »
    No thats showing them respect.

No that's trying to protect the children in the school opposite the shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

an armed checkpoint was only 200m away when the shooting happened