Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louise Duffy show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭doc11

I'll miss Louise in that spot I think she's a nice girl, easy listening and good craic

She's a good looking girl something that I think is blocking the objectivity of some and does a good job on the 7 o clock show. But on radio she sounds board and always engaged in dull going nowhere conversions with Anne.

Funny how when women reach a certain age(.ie Ruth Scott soon getting kicked to touch) they become unsuitable on radio yet middle age men can still dominate the airways. Which makes me think are some coasting along on there looks alone.

Nice Girl and good craic sounds more like girlfriend material then prime time radio host. If she was older and ugly I don't think we'd have as many defenders of her slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

doc11 wrote:
    Nice Girl and good craic sounds more like girlfriend material then prime time radio host. If she was older and ugly I don't think we'd have as many defenders of her slot.

Yeah man you're talking out of your hole , I said she's a nice girl and good craic I'm not seeing how you're picking me up as saying she's good looking. Anton is a nice lad and good craic too, do you think I'm saying that based on his appearance too ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭jjll

Synode wrote: »
    She just announced it. Gave the reasons as 1) Her website taking up a lot of time 2) The fact she's tied with the music she can play.

Number 2 is true I'm sure - Today FM really do play the same songs over and over. But seems like a strange one for her to use, kind of like a diss at Today FM.

I wonder did she request the move or was she pushed. I think her numbers were bad last time around?

If thats case for number 1 leave the station not move slot and number 2 id still say today fm will still have a music list she has to play from. Blaming the radio station for restrictions of music is not an excuse she should have left. She has moved from 5am slot to a new slot twice just looks like today fm are trying to find a slot rather than taking a chance on a new person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,136 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

She just announced it. Gave the reasons as 1) Her website taking up a lot of time 2) The fact she's tied with the music she can play.

Number 2 is true I'm sure - Today FM really do play the same songs over and over. But seems like a strange one for her to use, kind of like a diss at Today FM.

I wonder did she request the move or was she pushed. I think her numbers were bad last time around?

I'd say it went something like this

Todayfm: what are we going to do with Louise lads.
    Louise: lads I need to ask can I change show times to a later time slot.
    Todayfm : anything we can do to help Louise.
    Louise: thanks lads. Any idea which slot ?
    Todayfm: 7-9pm!!!! I mean we'll see Louise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

jjll wrote: »
    number 2 id still say today fm will still have a music list she has to play from

Seems to be a way more freedom on the 7 - 9 show. The music is actually decent then. And Paul McLoon plays whatever he wants from 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

2) The fact she's tied with the music she can play.

Does she think she is the new Dave Fanning or Annie Nightingale?

It is very easy for these new generation of 'DJ's' to give the impression that they are music heads, very easy to bluff and name drop an artist or song when it is in front of a screen.
    When it comes to LD and music, she has the music knowledge of the average Irish female in their early 30's...which wouldn't be much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

Seems to be a way more freedom on the 7 - 9 show. The music is actually decent then. And Paul McLoon plays whatever he wants from 9

I think you're confusing "way more freedom" with listenership figures falling off a cliff after 7pm and no one actually giving a ****.

Great if you're into that alternative scene but most people I know that like that music haven't turned on a radio in years, they mostly rely on their personal collection or streaming services.

So who is this actually aimed at?

I think you're confusing "way more freedom" with listenership figures falling off a cliff after 7pm and no one actually giving a ****.

I'm not confusing anything as I said nothing about why there was more freedom, just that there was more.

And just because you might not give a ****, doesn't mean everyone is the same

When it comes to LD and music, she has the music knowledge of the average Irish female in their early 30's...which wouldn't be much

That's pretty condescending of both LD and women in general.

The music in the first couple of months of her show was excellent. It's deteriorated since but I've no doubt that's due to Today FMs music policy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

That's pretty condescending of both LD and women in general.

The music in the first couple of months of her show was excellent. It's deteriorated since but I've no doubt that's due to Today FMs music policy

..and the average Irish male too !!

We bow to your superior music knowledge :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

The main issue with Louise is her voice, its too high pitched. Combine the voice with the fluffy content and you arent going to be taken seriously and the listeners have voted with their ears. I also think at that time of the day listeners dont want too much personality they just want music. Fenton had a deep deep voice, whether you liked his presenting style or not, that baritone voice was arresting and gave him gravitas, people, men and women alike are drawn to a commanding voice. Fenton kept it simple, there were no gimmicks, no "good day/bad day" features and no need for stooges on air, sorry Ann.

While Fergal Darcy has a commanding authoritative voice I'm not convinced his style will wash with a mid afternoon listenership, he comes across and manic and trying too hard, in fact he's almost juvenile at times, maybe thats the direction Today FM are choosing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

heybaby wrote: »
    .Fergal Darcy... he comes across and manic and trying too hard, in fact he's almost juvenile at times, maybe thats the direction Today FM are choosing.

Hopefully not, that'd be a 2FM speciality surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Hopefully not, that'd be a 2FM speciality surely?

The problem with Today FM is that its listeners are ageing and as they do they leave for Newstalk and RTE, so they need to attract listeners at the other end. Today FM also has a problem in Dublin, as does 2FM, both stations appeal to a rural audience moreso than to listeners in the greater Dublin region, that is a huge problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Most radio stations play playlists during the day . Alternative music gets played at most stations during the evening.
    From listening to louise Duffy. Nothing I've heard her play had convinced she would be any good on an alternative music show. Her track download is usually a pop track. She plays 90s hip hop or stone roses. I do like her voice though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Texas Jack

Is this Paul Galvins burd?

Texas Jack wrote: »
    Is this Paul Galvins burd?

Yup, tis herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,136 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Paula McSweeney is filing in for louise all this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Does she think she is the new Dave Fanning or Annie Nightingale?

It is very easy for these new generation of 'DJ's' to give the impression that they are music heads, very easy to bluff and name drop an artist or song when it is in front of a screen.

How do you know this?

I think Baula is ztanding in for Louise this week :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

gimmick wrote: »
    How do you know this?

I think Baula is ztanding in for Louise this week :mad:

Had too turn her off 10 minutes in! Rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭mikeym

My afternoons should be less irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

mikeym wrote: »

You reckon?

That eejit who's replacing her is even more irritating in my book..

His entire schtick, any time I've heard him is a litany of crap anecdotes like:

'Remember when you were growing up there was always a lad that used to wear red socks?'

or text-ins like:

'What were your favourite games when you were a kid?'

or some such sh1te..

Louise wasn't great, but I'll be switching the dial when Fergal D'Arcy starts..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭mikeym

UsedToWait wrote: »
    You reckon?

'Remember when you were growing up there was always a lad that used to wear red socks?'

or text-ins like:

or some such sh1te..

Havent heard that eejit yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

UsedToWait wrote: »
    You reckon?

or text-ins like:

or some such sh1te..

I don't hold out much hope, tbh, but I'll give him a few weeks before I make up my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

As I've mentioned in another thread, Fergal Darcy is every afternoon local station DJ in Ireland. The most generic DJ voice you will ever hear. And painfully unfunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

gimmick wrote:
    As I've mentioned in another thread, Fergal Darcy is every afternoon local station DJ in Ireland. The most generic DJ voice you will ever hear. And painfully unfunny.

This is painful listening now

Who's on, Paula?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Who's on, Paula?

Yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

mikeym wrote: »

2FM have Lottie Ryan on at the moment. Must be very hard to find good presenters or something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

colm_mcm wrote: »
    2FM have Lottie Ryan on at the moment. Must be very hard to find good presenters or something.

Lottie Ryan is ridiculously terrible