Season 6 Episode 5 "The Door" - "Book readers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Someone over on the non book readers thread put this link up, it seems GRRM had planned Hodor's 'genesis' all along. https://ventrellaquest.com/tag/what-hodor-really-means/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

GerB40 wrote: »
    Someone over on the non book readers thread put this link up, it seems GRRM had planned Hodor's 'genesis' all along. https://ventrellaquest.com/tag/what-hodor-really-means/

There was a crackpot theory I read somewhere ages ago (possibly reddit) where someone had guessed that during a siege (doesn't really make sense where that could have been unless it was a game or something) 'Walder/Wylis' was holding a door before getting a bump to the head. Not the one I meant but here's one! https://www.reddit.com/r/asoiaf/comments/25lk42/no_spoilers_what_does_hodor_mean/chiif6t

The warging was probably the most common explanation.

Wonder if anyone ever managed to link the two?

The more I think about this episode and all the tinfoil theories over the years, the more I think D&D had no idea what to do and decided to make them all a reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Hodor?

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Best episode this season I'd say. And plenty good stuff apart from Bran et al (can't even talk about that, too soon).

Richard E. Grant!

Something very close to the TV equivalent of an unsolicited dick pic, just boom there it is, look at it.

That Euron drowning bit went on for so long that for half a second I kind of thought they were going to kill him off :o like the ultimate 'f*ck all the stuff ye like' to book readers. Yara and Theon on the run together is something I can just about get behind.

Loved Sansa with Littlefinger, especially how he was so visibly thrown by the fact she's not at all under his control anymore.

And Tormund's weird smile at Brienne was one of the funniest non-verbal moments I can think of in the show.

Varys and the Red Priestess was good too.

All in all, apart from Daenerys, pretty ****ing good. And she was just standard level of boring and awkwardly written/acted rather than terrible, so.

"I feel the winds of winter, sailing across the land" - Cercei (in the play at least).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,089 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

The more I think about this episode and all the tinfoil theories over the years, the more I think D&D had no idea what to do and decided to make them all a reality.

nah, I say GRRM gave them the heads up over it tbf

wp_rathead wrote: »
    nah, I say GRRM gave them the heads up over it tbf

I'm sure he did. Above was tongue in cheek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Ah here, lads!!! Can we have warnings in the OP when an episode is leaked? Came on here during the first ad break expecting some as-it-happens commentary and had the whole Hodor thing spoiled for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Dammit just copped I'm in the book read thread!!! Was gonna start reporting post for spoilers ha.Massive episode!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭duffman13

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Ah here, lads!!! Can we have warnings in the OP when an episode is leaked? Came on here during the first ad break expecting some as-it-happens commentary and had the whole Hodor thing spoiled for me.

Nearly did the same thing, twigged there was 60 posts and thought better of it. What an ending, **** way to get it spoiled. I do feel bad for a lot of people who won't see this till tonight and will probably have it spoilered by memes and the like.

duffman13 wrote: »
    Nearly did the same thing, twigged there was 60 posts and thought better of it. What an ending, **** way to get it spoiled. I do feel bad for a lot of people who won't see this till tonight and will probably have it spoilered by memes and the like.

Hold the door is trending on twitter already, there's gonna be a lot of disappointed people watching it tonight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

My favourite episode since Hardhome, give or take a few details! I think Summer's death upset me more than any GoT death so far :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭jebidiah

wow, great episode over all!

SUMMER!!!!

"Let's go murder them" - terrible screen writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Spinning roundhouse kick right in the feels....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

jebidiah wrote: »
    wow, great episode over all!

SUMMER!!!!

"Let's go murder them" - terrible screen writing.
    I thought that line was funny. :o

For a moment I thought they had swerved us and had literally drowned him because they knew he was a nutjob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,959 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

FunLover18 wrote: »

It was well flagged and it's discussion thread about the episode. What do you expect?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Great episode, best in a long while. Dragon Glass didn't work when the childern of the forest used it, yet worked when Meera use it, I think that's massive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Race between Euron and Yara/Theon to get to Danny????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Son0vagun wrote: »
    Great episode, best in a long while. Dragon Glass didn't work when the childern of the forest used it, yet worked when Meera use it, I think that's massive!

Meera hit "skin", the Children of the Forest hit the leather armour.

• Administrators Posts: 56,211 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

When the white walkers invaded, why did Bran and the three eyed raven go back to Winterfell? Was it purely just to show us that Hodor scene? From a story point of view it didn't make much sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 74 ✭✭jamesieliz

does this mean we're going to see Hodor and Summer return as wights ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

awec wrote: »
    When the white walkers invaded, why did Bran and the three eyed raven go back to Winterfell? Was it purely just to show us that Hodor scene? From a story point of view it didn't make much sense.

Agreed, was wondering that they were really there to see.

It was just Ned being sent to be fostered by the Arryns, where he would eventually meet Robert. Thats common knowledge, not a big reveal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

It wasn't to show us Hodor, it was to create him. If they don't warg back, all of Hodor's history plays out differently and he isn't there to help Bran.

The bigger implication of that trip is to show that Bran can influence the past when he is back there......and the massive demonstration of how that can work (i.e. Hodor).

Poor Summer :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Mad that some people are being critical of the SFX for the last scene. Ye must have no imagination - dont ever go to the theatre!

The Hodor thing is a closed time loop (I think). And he is the only person that Bran has ever warged into. Could this be the set up for Bran to start warging into other people in the past? What about the Nights King? Could he warg into him?

Who was the guy who became the first white walker and why?

Where are Theon and Yara off to?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

It was a complete setup by the Three Eyed Raven, he took Bran back because he knew what was about to happen, they are just standing about and he could have took them both out but he urged Bran to listen to Meera as she begged him to warg Hodor and do as she asked. This raises all kinds of questions now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,959 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Mad that some people are being critical of the SFX for the last scene. Ye must have no imagination - dont ever go to the theatre!

The Hodor thing is a closed time loop (I think). And he is the only person that Bran has ever warged into. Could this be the set up for Bran to start warging into other people in the past? What about the Nights King? Could he warg into him?

Who was the guy who became the first white walker and why?

Where are Theon and Yara off to?

Potentially the Night's King? If I remember from the books, he was a Stark and a commander of the Night's Watch. That comes from an old nan story though, so could be nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

karma_ wrote: »
    It was a complete setup by the Three Eyed Raven, he took Bran back because he knew what was about to happen, they are just standing about and he could have took them both out but he urged Bran to listen to Meera as she begged him to warg Hodor and do as she asked. This raises all kinds of questions now.

Its because the ink is already dry on the past. He had to just stand around with Bran otherwise he risked changing the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Pter wrote: »
    It wasn't to show us Hodor, it was to create him. If they don't warg back, all of Hodor's history plays out differently and he isn't there to help Bran.

Best explanation yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Liam O wrote: »
    Makes no sense as to why the Children of the Forest weren't all using it then really then tbh...

They were far too weak in general really imo.

Rewatching...

I think one of the children tried, but hit off armour, while Meera's shot was lucky and hit his neck. She seemed equally surprised.

The bit where the child of the forest said "You always were an asshole Gorman" was epic. Wait...