Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burritos !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

This thread bothers me.

Why is it not enough to make good burritos, earn a living and close the odd day she doesn't want to work?

Do we all need to work 24/7 putting pressure on ourselves to be consistently brilliant at everything? Why should she compromise living her life as she sees fit ?

For example the closing issue which bothers people. The obvious solution is to hire staff but this means payroll, accounting fees, tax returns, rosters..training in and supervision....People ringing in late .....stealing cash...etc

Why does she need to spend her down time learning social media or paying marketing people, attending courses etc

I've spoken to the lady and I like everything about her. I reckon she's considered all the above and decided "screw it" ill keep things simple.

Why should she bend to the world? Let the world bend to her if she consistently serves good food, she'll be fine

I think she has a point in being outraged with the burrito van in the urban garden. How can limerick council justifying a cork food van damaging a local business who offered to provide the same service ? It's madness, in the context of the wider debate on developing an interesting city centre.

This van could close a local business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭moleyv

Would she be complaining if it was a burger van? Doubt it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I tried Burritos and Pizzeria (Just-Eat) there last week. I know a few people on here have said that it's deteriorated since being taken over by new management or something, but honestly I found no difference in the quality of the food, still an utterly lovely burrito. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,331 ✭✭✭source

This thread bothers me.

Why is it not enough to make good burritos, earn a living and close the odd day she doesn't want to work?

Do we all need to work 24/7 putting pressure on ourselves to be consistently brilliant at everything? Why should she compromise living her life as she sees fit ?

For example the closing issue which bothers people. The obvious solution is to hire staff but this means payroll, accounting fees, tax returns, rosters..training in and supervision....People ringing in late .....stealing cash...etc

Why does she need to spend her down time learning social media or paying marketing people, attending courses etc

I've spoken to the lady and I like everything about her. I reckon she's considered all the above and decided "screw it" ill keep things simple.

Why should she bend to the world? Let the world bend to her if she consistently serves good food, she'll be fine

I think she has a point in being outraged with the burrito van in the urban garden. How can limerick council justifying a cork food van damaging a local business who offered to provide the same service ? It's madness, in the context of the wider debate on developing an interesting city centre.

The thread shouldn't bother you.

People are allowed to express their opinions, and I believe everything negative thing said here is valid, and nobody is saying she should be open 24/7. Just when she says she is open.

People are rightly to be annoyed when they walk 4 blocks out from the city centre to give this place business only to find it closed when it's supposed to be open.

Doing this also gives the impression that the owner is unprofessional, and that gives rise to doubts on whether she is professional in other areas of her business, for example hygiene or food preparation. Not saying that is the case, but it creates the doubt.

Also we live in a country with a free and open economy, I say fair play to the lads with the burrito truck, they've seen an opening for a professionally run burrito place in Limerick and they are exploiting that.

I can understand that the owner of badass would have her nose out of joint, but if her business was more accessible, during the hours she advertises as being open, then she would have much less of a problem with truck.

I personally have tried about 5 or 6 times to give her my custom, but every one of those times she has been closed when she should have been open. As a result I have given up on her and don't even bother going up near her business when in town looking for food, why walk all the way up there to find it closed???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

source wrote:
    Also we live in a country with a free and open economy, I say fair play to the lads with the burrito truck, they've seen an opening for a professionally run burrito place in Limerick and they are exploiting that.

She says that the rules were changed to suit the company and she seems to imply something underhand went on.

source wrote: »
    The thread shouldn't bother you.

People are allowed to express their opinions, and I believe everything negative thing said here is valid, and nobody is saying she should be open 24/7. Just when she says she is open.

People are rightly to be annoyed when they walk 4 blocks out from the city centre to give this place business only to find it closed when it's supposed to be open.

Doing this also gives the impression that the owner is unprofessional, and that gives rise to doubts on whether she is professional in other areas of her business, for example hygiene or food preparation. Not saying that is the case, but it creates the doubt.

I can understand that the owner of badass would have her nose out of joint, but if her business was more accessible, during the hours she advertises as being open, then she would have much less of a problem with truck.

I personally have tried about 5 or 6 times to give her my custom, but every one of those times she has been closed when she should have been open. As a result I have given up on her and don't even bother going up near her business when in town looking for food, why walk all the way up there to find it closed???

Linking opening hours to hygiene is nuts.
    Nothing more to say on this point.

Opening hours.
    She usually posts on Facebook if she is closed.

Until you have run your own business you have no idea how stressful it can be. Doing it solo even more so. Taking the odd day off doesnt bother me. I like people who row their own boat and decide to live life on their terms. Very few people are brave enough to do it.

The food is good. She's a cool lady. She brings something new and interesting to the city centre. If you want guaranteed standardised service delivered exactly when you want it, go to supermacs.

This lady should be supported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭Treepole

This lady should be supported.

I tried to support her a couple of times, but she was closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,163 ✭✭✭Jofspring

In fairness on one hand she is giving out about the truck and that it may force her to close down and that she was willing to open 7 days a week to meet the requirements. She can't have it both ways I'm afraid, up to now she has opened up when it suits her which is her choice obviously but an awful way to run a business. Most businesses I know run like that fail. Turning around now and saying she will open up more regularly is a bit late. When you set up your own business and have opening hours set up then it is your duty to be there on those hours or change them to shorter ones. If every business was to work off the model of open and close when suits then the city wouldn't function very well.

On the other hand though if this truck is allowed to operate rate free them questions need to be asked. Not for the sake of badass burritos but for the sake of all the other businesses paying their rates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

This thread bothers me.

Won't be their food that does it anyway. Their burritos are sh!te imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,452 ✭✭✭✭endacl

twistyj wrote: »
    Ya I think nearby used to be a Mexican place, then Gasworks,

In that order? :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

It's pathetic that now all the bile is going to end up on an entrepreneur who has spotted the need for a consistent and friendly Mexican food service.

bigpink wrote: »
    They driving up from Kanturk every day?

One of the two of them have been running something at the Milk Market for an absolute age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

FutureGuy wrote: »
    It's pathetic that now all the bile is going to end up on an entrepreneur who has spotted the need for a consistent and friendly Mexican food service.

What bile?

If there is a truck trading without proper license/paying rates then it should be questioned as to why that's allowed happen.

From her own Facebook posts she states that she has no issues with the owners but the actions of the council.

Risteard wrote: »
    What bile?

If there is a truck trading without proper license/paying rates then it should be questioned as to why that's allowed happen.

From her own Facebook posts she states that she has no issues with the owners but the actions of the council.

People stating they should boycott the new business.

Just to point out, we only have one side of the story. We do not know the full story. But taking it to Facebook and getting people to call City Council is unprofessional to say the least.

I have nothing to do with this lady other than ordering the occasional burrito.

I still can't understand why people completely lose it. When it's closed do you not just go somewhere else? What's the big deal here? Do you check facebook to see if she is open? Is the foot stomping and bashing fair and rational?

IMO the best restaurant/coffee shop in town for lunch is the the Grove on Cecil Street. She closes around 3 pm daily. I don't see her killing herself to open longer hours or spend time and money on marketing. She is a small local business owner who added customers 1 at a time by serving good food consistently over 30 years.

I think the lady in Badass is right to focus on the food and design her business to suit her lifestyle.

Obviously, she should take on board customer feedback and make sure to post on Facebook if she is going to be closed.

This is a 1-woman show. She possibly will remain so. When someone tries to build a business from scratch, on their own, serve good product and do it in a unique way, I think that person deserves praise before criticism. I think the city should welcome her with open arms.

I don't see any bile above? Can you identify it please?

The key issue here is fairness.
    The rules to gain access to the urban garden were you must be a business owner who sells food and pays rates in the city. Rene Cusacks is there, and number of other business owners are on "the list" for the last 6 months.

Why should this burrito van from cork jump the que?
    It's against the council's own rules. It stinks of "pull".

If Badass closes. Is that a good thing for the city?
    A burrito van from cork or a business owner paying rent and rates who, if supported, could be there for the next 30 years?
    who has spotted the need for a consistent and friendly Mexican food service
    That's clearly a direct dig at the lady in Badass.
    She has stressed that she means no ill will toward the kanturk business owner.

You state the key point is fairness and yet you are basing your opinion, and stating facts, based on one side of the story. :/ You are stating they jumped the queue? What are you basing this statement on? You state they are not paying any rates whatsoever. What are you basing your statement on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

People stating they should boycott the new business.

Just to point out, we only have one side of the story. We do not know the full story. But taking it to Facebook and getting people to call City Council is unprofessional to say the least.

She has said she doesn't want a boycott.

I think it's a fair enough thing to do to ask people to contact people in the council in order to try and seek an explanation. It surely forms part of their role to deal with queries.

From what I've read of it she has contacted the council first before going to Facebook and got the response that they should have been gone last week but are apparently still trading?

Unless she's telling outright lies, and I see no reason as to why she would, I think it's fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭badboyblast

I have nothing to do with this lady other than ordering the occasional burrito.

I still can't understand why people completely lose it. When it's closed do you not just go somewhere else? What's the big deal here? Do you check facebook to see if she is open? Is the foot stomping and bashing fair and rational?

IMO the best restaurant/coffee shop in town for lunch is the the Grove on Cecil Street. She closes around 3 pm daily. I don't see her killing herself to open longer hours or spend time and money on marketing. She is a small local business owner who added customers 1 at a time by serving good food consistently over 30 years.

I think the lady in Badass is right to focus on the food and design her business to suit her lifestyle.

Obviously, she should take on board customer feedback and make sure to post on Facebook if she is going to be closed.

This is a 1-woman show. She possibly will remain so. When someone tries to build a business from scratch, on their own, serve good product and do it in a unique way, I think that person deserves praise before criticism. I think the city should welcome her with open arms.

I don't see any bile above? Can you identify it please?

The key issue here is fairness.
    The rules to gain access to the urban garden were you must be a business owner who sells food and pays rates in the city. Rene Cusacks is there, and number of other business owners are on "the list" for the last 6 months.

Why should this burrito van from cork jump the que?
    It's against the council's own rules. It stinks of "pull".

If Badass closes. Is that a good thing for the city?
    A burrito van from cork or a business owner paying rent and rates who, if supported, could be there for the next 30 years?

That's clearly a direct dig at the lady in Badass.
    She has stressed that she means no ill will toward the kanturk business owner.

What world are you living in, a business needs to have set hours , end of story .

Something else for everyone else to consider , any other mexician food business can open in this city and it is not unfair but it's called business !!!!

This thread bothers me.

I have to comment on this. You state that a van could close her business.

You also state that she shouldn't have to learn to use social media, that she shouldn't have to do courses, that she should be able to close the odd day and she you also state the negatives relating to the hiring of staff. All these are necessities to growing (and at the very least maintaining a business). Yet, you say that the van could close the business?

Sorry, but that's a silly statement. I don't care if your sell burritos, cars, shirts or toothpaste, you need to to continue to learn and build to keep a business open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

She'll be grand as long as she has the best product, which she does at the moment by some distance.
    The van does a decent chili though.
    I'm biting my tongue, I think this thread has earned me two bans already:P and I have great time for Futureguy :pac:

She'll be grand as long as she has the best product, which she does at the moment by some distance.
    The van does a decent chili though.
    I'm biting my tongue, I think this thread has earned me two bans already:P and I have great time for Futureguy :pac:

And I for you Swiper :-) honestly we need all the good places we can in the city or it'll be one giant kebab/Dealz store. Badass being open is good for the city. I don't go there but plenty do and they enjoy the food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

And I for you Swiper :-) honestly we need all the good places we can in the city or it'll be one giant kebab/Dealz store. Badass being open is good for the city. I don't go there but plenty do and they enjoy the food.

Badass does far better burritos than the new wagon. The ones outside pennies are a bit dry and not particularly flavourful.

Harsh on badass if they tried to open in that spot first and were refused, but you'd wonder how much effort would have been put into it and if it would have had the consistent opening times that the current wagon is doing.

FutureGuy wrote:
    I have to comment on this. You state that a van could close her business.

Actually. I think she'll be fine if she continues to focus on good product.
    I can appreciate why she's worried though.
    FutureGuy wrote:
    You also state that she shouldn't have to learn to use social media, that she shouldn't have to do courses, that she should be able to close the odd day and she you also state the negatives relating to the hiring of staff. All these are necessities to growing (and at the very least maintaining a business). Yet, you say that the van could close the business?

Firstly, why does she have to grow her business?
    Maybe she's figured she needs to sell 150 burritos per week to pay the bills.
    Why can't she sell that amount. Live a quite life. Open up and close as she sees fit.

Secondly, if she want's to grow her business, why not do it slowly over the next 15 years.
    Does she really need social media skills to sell burritos?

The country is full of cobblers, florist, publicans who build small sustainable businesses without marketing.

FutureGuy wrote:
    Sorry, but that's a silly statement. I don't care if your sell burritos, cars, shirts or toothpaste, you need to to continue to learn and build to keep a business open.

Depends on your ambition for your business and life in general.

I do think she needs to be careful with opening times issue. If she manages that. Keeps her costs low and sells good product she'll be fine.

There's more than one way to build a business.

Slow gradual growth through repeat business is old school .....but it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Grandad... what did you do in the Great Limerick Burrito Wars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭RVN10

Is she still microwaving the wraps?

*runs for the hills*

I think Mighty Mouse might have a little bit of an affiliation here seems to be getting very upset altogether.. The amount of people confused by her opening hours is astonishing. She might be running the business the way she wants but is doing a particularly poor job at it. as Jofspring said if the rest of limerick carried on like this we;d have a pretty poorly run city. Trying to say she will open 7 days a week why couldnt she do this with a shop ??? And suddenly a van comes along offering the same product she is quick to change that tune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,932 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

RVN10 wrote: »
    Is she still microwaving the wraps?

Nope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

Firstly, why does she have to grow her business?
    Maybe she's figured she needs to sell 150 burritos per week to pay the bills.
    Why can't she sell that amount. Live a quite life. Open up and close as she sees fit.
    Well, if competition arrives, it's time to up the game, is it not? Open for another day to sell another 40 burritos or throw the whole thing down the swanny by having a hissy fit on facebook? Which option is the most sensible?

I get what you're saying and I agree that in ideal circumstances, a business owner should be perfectly entitled to run the business how they see fit, in terms of opening hours etc. but the simple fact of the matter is that once competition arrives, you need to stand out in order to keep your head above water.
    The country is full of cobblers, florist, publicans who build small sustainable businesses without marketing.
    They stay away from it entirely though. In the same way they don't promote themselves, they don't damage their reputations either.
    Honestly, I haven't tried either of these burrito places (and I must, at this point, hopefully she's open) but I'm a sucker for marketing. And I don't like her marketing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

roast wrote:
    I get what you're saying and I agree that in ideal circumstances, a business owner should be perfectly entitled to run the business how they see fit, in terms of opening hours etc. but the simple fact of the matter is that once competition arrives, you need to stand out in order to keep your head above water.

From what I gather the issue isn't competition, it's that the council moved the goalposts, changed the rules etc. It sounds fairly dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

zulutango wrote: »
    From what I gather the issue isn't competition, it's that the council moved the goalposts, changed the rules etc. It sounds fairly dodgy.

Yeah, true enough, very dodgy.
    I should have mentioned it - I think the council should really be rethinking their decisions (and get an adequate bollocking for it) but in the interim, if she feels she is in danger of closing down then some extra effort might be required in order to stay afloat. Not ideal or fair and certainly a lot of pressure.
    I don't think calling out the business on FB was necessary either though - if anything, Badass ended up giving the competition some promotion.

zulutango wrote: »

Well if that is the case, the council have lots to answer for, but we are reading one side of the story - I'd like to hear the council's side. Also, getting her FB followers to spam the city council phonelines is not going to do her any favours at all. The opposite I would think.

I expect this guy to get lynched on the FB page :D

"😂😂😂 delighted i went in to there once and u were very rude to me...first and last time i ever set foot in there now i prefer to cook my own burritos and tacos at home(much nicer) well...thats karma for you 👏"