Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,632 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Or else not enough is been done. I'd love to see a proper set of commandos set up to deal with these ****ers once and for all. Harrass the crap out of them. Drag them and their families out of their beds in the middle of the night, drive them demented. Destroy their ill gotten gains. I don't care. Your involved in drugs, destroying other families so lets see how you like it. The drugs crisis in the city is unacceptable and guards targeting the low level dealers is not working. The head needs to be cut of the snake. No tolerance approach required, our current approach is not working.
    I'd be interested to see what the ICCL (and the targets' lawyers) would make of that approach.

Can't see it getting too far, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Or else not enough is been done. I'd love to see a proper set of commandos set up to deal with these ****ers once and for all. Harrass the crap out of them. Drag them and their families out of their beds in the middle of the night, drive them demented. Destroy their ill gotten gains. I don't care. Your involved in drugs, destroying other families so lets see how you like it. The drugs crisis in the city is unacceptable and guards targeting the low level dealers is not working. The head needs to be cut of the snake. No tolerance approach required, our current approach is not working.

No approach so far has worked including the above, You think the garda don't be raiding houses every day and night around the country ? The only approach that hasn't been tried and would definitely cut of the head of the snakes is a controlled legalising of some of the now illegal drugs, But no one has the balls to push for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭2RockMountain

bajer101 wrote: »
    Here's a crazy idea. The government could decriminalise all drugs and instantly remove the control from these criminal gangs. These murders wouldn't happen. Crime would be down. Garda resources would be freed. The money that is saved could be pumped into education and rehabilitation. Drugs are far too serious to be left in the hands of criminals. And best of all, Paul Williams would be out of a job!

I was watching 'The Guards' during the week, and it was absolutely clear on how much of Garda resources and time was spent fighting against the tide of fairly petty drug dealing. Just imagine if the Gardai didn't have to do this, and could spend that time fighting other crime and our road safety issues.
    Simon2015 wrote: »
    I'd much rather be on the dole then be dead or in jail.

These guys might get rich for a few years but it will catch up on them in the end.

True, but if most of your community seems to die before they hit 40 from addiction anyway, the life of the dealer probably seems like a decent option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,412 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Legalising drugs will not put these lads out of business.
    They'll just start other illegal businesses.

They haven't the education or work ethic to earn money any other way.
    It's fallacy to suggest that legalizing drugs will fix the problem but having said that I believe that Cannabis should be decriminalised as it would prevent young people getting criminal records for possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

It's fallacy to suggest that legalizing drugs will fix the problem but having said that I believe that Cannabis should be decriminalised as it would prevent young people getting criminal records for possession.

I'm sure they put more work into their financial gains then many a normal folk on there 37-39 hour week!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

There is an American series called "Prohibition" about when alcohol was illegal in America. Its well worth a watch and will certainly make you consider if drugs being treated as alcohol then was is the way to go.

The parallels are there writ large and Prohibition was got rid of because of all the problems it caused.

The present system of drug control is not working and is bringing with it out of control gangsterism.:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭ofcork

Why not have a bigger crackdown on ports/airports to stop the importation in the first place?

Tobacco is legal in this country.
    It hasnt stopped criminals smuggling & selling tobacco on the black market.

I'm not sure legalising drugs would result in taking the criminals out of drug dealing.
    There's too much money to be made, legal or not.

Also, where would the country get these drugs? Would the government sell them? Would they licence certain companies to sell them?
    Would they do business with criminal gangs in other countries such as Bolivia or Colombia?

It's just not that simple

bubblypop wrote: »

I'm not sure legalising drugs would result in taking the criminals out of drug dealing.

Also, where would the country get these drugs? Would the government sell them? Would they licence certain companies to sell them?
    Would they do business with criminal gangs in other countries such as Bolivia or Colombia?

Its not simple but its very doable. All the main drugs are available for medical use and most are out of patent and cheaply obtained. All thats needed is for addicts to get their fix at specific centres, much like methadone but using 'real' drugs.
    This will take the oxygen from the dealers and stop all the petty crime, which for the public, is the main undesirable aspect of the drugs business.

The government should also legalise and control brothels as well, which would also kill this source of income and reduce trafficing.

Smuggling will not be stopped unless prices/taxes are equalised but its less lucrative than heroin/cocaine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ignatius in bloom

That's the problem with the outlook on drug dealing most people think of tracksuited fellas peddling drugs when the reality is that it is highly intelligent and highly structured by college and university type people and its stretches far and wide into all sorts of business and corporate worlds! Drug dealing is not in the corners it's in boardrooms! It's huge business and very well run and organised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Good to see the Gardaí finally going after these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

bubblypop wrote: »

Well I talking mostly about weed here, you would get farmers/people to grow it in warehouses or greenhouses (lol)Once the price ,quality and distribution is right you would certainly take over the market here by making it financially not viable for gangsters to import it.

Of course it wouldn't eradicate Crime and I am sure something else would come along to replace it but at least it would put a dent in the huge enormous profits all these lads are making, tax free.

Anyway suppose this a discussion for another thread.

Well I talking mostly about weed here, you would get farmers/people to grow it in warehouses or greenhouses (lol)Once the price ,quality and distribution is right you would certainly take over the market here by making it financially not viable for gangsters to import it.

Of course it wouldn't eradicate Crime and I am sure something else would come along to replace it but at least it would put a dent in the huge enormous profits all these lads are making, tax free.

Anyway suppose this a discussion for another thread.

That's just one drug though?
    It doesn't stop the illegal trade of all other drugs, so these guys are still in business.

The lifestyle they can live is more than good enough to make up for the small chance of getting caught / getting shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

ofcork wrote: »
    Why not have a bigger crackdown on ports/airports to stop the importation in the first place?

i think that the state has one container scanner that moves around all the ports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I agree that all drugs should be legalised and sold through authorised outlets. It would generate revenue, keep quality high, and it would stop drug smugglers in their tracks.
    Any drug is just a phone call or two away right now, so that proves that the current system simply does not work.
    Billions of Euro spent trying to stop the tide is just being wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Don't know if legalising drugs will make much difference the biggest selling drugs in this country are the drugs that are already legal that you can get over the counter in a pharmacy

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I see Greg Lynch was busted at home last night and 300k of drugs seized. I thought he would've been far more careful about being in proximity of the goods. That's a bit of a knock back for the cartel gang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

Benteke wrote: »
    Don't know if legalising drugs will make much difference the biggest selling drugs in this country are the drugs that are already legal that you can get over the counter in a pharmacy

Seriously? What are they? Im aware there is a benzo problem but they are supposed to be prescription only.

That doesn't stop them being the most sold drug on the streets by dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Drug dealers don't do prescriptions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Nemesis......

humberklog wrote: »
    I see Greg Lynch was busted at home last night and 300k of drugs seized. I thought he would've been far more careful about being in proximity of the goods. That's a bit of a knock back for the cartel gang.

was it him? or just a picture of him beside a very vague article? Court dates rock :)

Ah, good point. The ages don't match either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

bajer101 wrote: »
    That's you. But for every one of you there are ten who will choose the other road.

I don't buy your argument 99% of people are not involved in gangland crime.

It's only a very small percentage of people who will ever get involved in this ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

Armed detectives up to something in Kilmainham / Inchicore, the uniform was just waving everyone through by the time I got there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Dawn Rider

Which part? The canal/ black horse end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

Dawn Rider wrote: »
    Which part? The canal/ black horse end?

Coming from Kilmainham courthouse, that narrow road that heads toward Inchicore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Even if it was him it wouldn't be that much of a knock to the cartel, He is only a replaceable middle man at the end of the day. Might be a bit of an inconvenience but business would go on as usual i can assure you that.

tomofson wrote: »
    Even if it was him it wouldn't be that much of a knock to the cartel, He is only a replaceable middle man at the end of the day. Might be a bit of an inconvenience but business would go on as usual i can assure you that.

I understand that a loss of product with a Garda estimate of 300k (therefore nowhere near 300k) wouldn't put a ding in the cartel's riches it would be an uncomfortable loss at the present time in a number of ways:

Gardai acting on intelligence.
    Middle men's activities stymied.
    Ready cash flow thwarted.

It was reported in the papers last week that the cartel's men were putting the squeeze on low level dealers for outstanding debts which was resulting in a rise in cash robberies (shops etc.). I thought perhaps that as the feud continued there was possibly be a slow down in importing product and exporting cash as it would be very risky with the surveillance on the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I understand that a loss of product with a Garda estimate of 300k (therefore nowhere near 300k) wouldn't put a ding in the cartel's riches it would be an uncomfortable loss at the present time in a number of ways:

I wonder what the real wholesale landed in Dublin price of street value €300k drugs would be, I am guessing less than €50k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Simon2015 wrote: »
    I don't buy your argument 99% of people are not involved in gangland crime.

It's only a very small percentage of people who will ever get involved in this ****.

Could you rewrite that please, but this time with some punctuation? That way, I might have a chance of understanding what your point is.

Your post does highlight an issue. The moral majority who think that they are better than all these lowlife "scumbags" are a bit deluded. I know a fair few drug dealers who are not only good at business and quite smart, they are also well educated.

Mod-Banned