most memorable murder case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Ush1 wrote: »
    It's one of the most disturbing cases I've read about. I have a young son and reading about his death actually does sicken and depress me.

I've kids too and regret ever reading anything of what was done to him ... stomach churning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Jesus f*cking christ .... what is wrong with people ... why did I click on those links .. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

valoren wrote: »
    James/Jamie. Madeleine/Maddy

My guess is that James or Madeleine sounded almost too formal. Too adult.

People referred to them as Jamie or Maddy as more of a term of endearment, to reinforce the fact that they were just a small innocent kids.

Their parents referred to them as James and Madeline and it was shortened in the media.

You cant change peoples given names because you think they are too formal.

As someone who has a name that people decide to shorten when suits- I can say that yes, it can be an issue and I find it disrespectful, same as Madeline's parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Graham Dwyer was an architect we (engineers) did business with. Very quiet and reserved type of guy, we were all shocked beyond belief when it all came out. Hope he never gets out, that poor woman's family have been through way too much.

For me it was Sarah Payne and Sarah/Holly; I was adolescent aged myself and it was all very shocking.

In recent years Michaela Harte- there was something very very distressing about it. Then last year when Karen Buckley was killed- I was living abroad myself at the time and it really resonated.

Don't know why those affected me so much, all murders are tragic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Arlene Arkinson (15). Went out one night to a disco in Bundoran and never came home. Body never recovered and the main suspect (predatory paedophile) now deceased. At one stage her own family were accused and had their back garden dug up in search of a body. Accusations of (good old) RUC doing what they do best and cover for an informer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭MarcoAntonio23

Jack the Ripper or the Zodiac Killer

Not G.R wrote: »
    I remember hearing of a murder in Howth I think, where a teenage lad crucified a toddler to the beams in his attic during a satanic ritual. There was a mass cover up by Gardí afterwards and everything was hush hush as that carry on didn't happen in Ireland :rolleyes:

That was in Palmerstown in the 70's.

Thread on it here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056419835

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭MarcoAntonio23

There was also a very grim one involving a girl abducted and found dead in an old ruin on the Lehenaghmore Road in Cork in the early 70s.

Though think attempts to suggest cover ups and why no detail in the newspapers might be a little sensationalist. Very often - and even to this day - pathologists at inquests, the gardai etc. are well known for not really going into the gory detail usually to spare the family.

Yep, it's simply a diminutive, not a big issue either way really.

This person seems to think it is.

anewme wrote: »
    Their parents referred to them as James and Madeline and it was shortened in the media.

You cant change peoples given names because you think they are too formal.

As someone who has a name that people decide to shorten when suits- I can say that yes, it can be an issue and I find it disrespectful, same as Madeline's parents.

Imagine you were called Connie or Con in national media despite nobody ever calling you that. It would be annoying for your family and disrespectful in the highest if it were in an obituary. That's literally the only point I was making in relation to the Bolger case.

Omackeral wrote: »
    This person seems to think it is.

Imagine you were called Connie or Con in national media despite nobody ever calling you that. It would be annoying for your family and disrespectful in the highest if it were in an obituary. That's literally the only point I was making in relation to the Bolger case.

Seriously? Again?

The whole memorable murder thing is really in danger of getting in the way of your "getting names right" posts.

Many people call me Con, you couldn't believe how little it bothers me...you think it "disrespectful in the highest", that's your prerogative.

Maybe you could start a "getting names right" thread? And leave this one back on topic?

Surprised nobody mentioned the Eamon Lilis case out in Howth. His wife Celine Cawley was touted as a Bond Girl throughout and his strained relationship with his daughter was in the limelight too. Add to that the attempted framing of a labourer in his house, the millionaire status he had and the affair of the glamorous masseuse too. A massive story on many levels.

Seriously? Again?

The whole memorable murder thing is really in danger of getting in the way of your "getting names right" posts.

Many people call me Con, you couldn't believe how little it bothers me...you think it "disrespectful in the highest", that's your prerogative.

Maybe you could start a "getting names right" thread? And leave this one back on topic?

You're embarrassing yourself. I had a valid point and you're just being stubborn. Good luck Connie Cons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Surprised nobody mentioned the Eamon Lilis case out in Howth. His wife Celine Cawley was touted as a Bond Girl throughout and his strained relationship with his daughter was in the limelight too. Add to that the attempted framing of a labourer in his house, the millionaire status he had and the affair of the glamorous masseuse too. A massive story on many levels.

Tragic allright, that girl lost both parents that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Conor74, I read those two cases you posted.
    Unbelievable. The sheer horror of it all; the poor girls. Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Esel wrote: »
    Talk about a highly charged situation. Gibraltar killings, Stone attack, subsequent funeral, wrong place, wrong time.

It really felt like N.I was on the verge of all out civil war during those 10 days, very scary time that has been referenced as a turning point in the troubles, it was either go over the edge of the abyss or pull back.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 anonymous00000

Sarah Payne is another one I remember well. I'll never forget Holly and Jessica, they all would be 24/25 now I think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

The one from the canal that yer man was in.
    A suitcase, I think it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

An acquaintance was a teacher in her school at the time and said her heart just broke for her and for the member of staff who had to inform her. I don't know how anyone gets past that happening to their family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

You're embarrassing yourself. I had a valid point and you're just being stubborn. Good luck Connie Cons.

Mod:

Knock it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Brian Murphy outside club Anabel at the Burlington. I think it really showed people that wealth/status wasn't everything.
    Holly Wells and Jessica Chapman in Soham. I was about there age at the time and I always remember the nice Summer days and there faces being on the news and eventually them being found.
    Joe O'Reilly murdering Rachel in Naul. I think when everybody hears about the Naul they think of the case.
    Elaine O' Hara, I remember the day the body was found and people original thought it might have being one of the missing women. It was just so strange the way the men made the discovery at the reservoir at about the same time.

To be honest ... I recommend reading up on the whole mark dutroux case...

not for the fact he burried the 2 older girls alive or that his wife left the 2 captured girls in that basement for (I think)somewhere between 20 and 40 days without food and effectively starved them to death ...

but just for the 'dafuq!? are the authorities doing now' view point ...

dutroux had previous (sexual assault and abduction) but was never considered a suspect until a by-stander remembered a partial number plate when the final girl was abducted(and subsequently found alive along with a second girl) which mach dutroux's van

Police stood in the basement of 'that' house with a locksmyth who had let them in - the locksmyth commented a few times that he can hear kids voices in the basement and was told by the cop that he was wrong, that was kids on the street ... there were there on a non-abductions related matter

A woman who claimed she was used as a sex slave by people implicated / convicted in this case was cast off as a nutter.

Multiple witnesses in this case have died under suspicious circumstances.

The investigator that was tasked with reviewing the handling of the case ( and was looking at politicians, high ranking police, high society and implicating involvement) was moved off the case after the attended a charity dinner organised by the parents of one of the families.

The whole case is more maddening than memorable!

Not to mention the legal case afterwards with him fighting to keep his half of the estate...

He put that girl through the ringer twice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

For me it's probably the murder of Tim Parry & Jonathan Ball in Warrington, and in particular how calm and dignified Tim Parry's father carried himself in the aftermath ~ even calling a the leaders of the IRA to meet him.

I can't forget the others like James Bulger, Holly & Jessica (makes my stomach turn), the Wests etc.

But Tim Parry's father is an inspiration.

Gordon Wilson, father of Marie Wilson is another.

Brian Murphy outside club Anabel at the Burlington. I think it really showed people that wealth/status wasn't everything.

I kinda think it showed the opposite.

Because of the wealth of the parties involved, it became front page news. If a man died following a drunken brawl in rural Ireland or in other parts of Dublin, it would have gone unnoticed. Because of their wealth and status, the media descended on it, it was the stuff of headlines, in the print media and on television, books, a film and so on.

fussyonion wrote: »
    Conor74, I read those two cases you posted.
    Unbelievable. The sheer horror of it all; the poor girls. Jesus Christ.

Very disturbing alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

This was a particurlarly grim and disturbing case, especially the neighbour/friends involvement:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suzanne_Basso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I kinda think it showed the opposite.

Because of the wealth of the parties involved, it became front page news. If a man died following a drunken brawl in rural Ireland or in other parts of Dublin, it would have gone unnoticed. Because of their wealth and status, the media descended on it, it was the stuff of headlines, in the print media and on television, books, a film and so on.

What I was referring to was generally when people hear about a case like this people often would say there from rough areas and had a poor education/upbringing/etc. In this case though they had appeared to have everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 rosebell1238

Of all of them, I think Karen Buckleys got to me the most. She looked so happy and radiant in the pictures, almost angelic like and she would have been so excited starting her course there and meeting new people friends etc. Unlike Pacteau who just looked so depraved and evil. I noticed on her anniversary a few weeks back that most if not all the newspapers stated she had been abducted which wasn't said when she died or during the court case. It just makes it sound so much more nightmarish. Everything about the case, what she was put through before and after death was beyond your worst nightmare, her family will never recover from it. I do often wonder what made her leave with him though, although we'll probably never know the full truth. Heartbreaking. Will certainly be a case I think many will remember for a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Manuela Riedo was another very young girl who was raped and strangled in Galway in 2007. I remember her mother saying that "1979" by James Blunt was Manuela's favourite song and I always think of her every time I hear it. Such a horrible and senseless loss of a young girl who was just starting out in life.