Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

most memorable murder case?

• 18-05-2016 7:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

just have an interest in unsolved mysteries/ murder cases (im not a creep btw)

anyways just interested to hear what people think is the most memorable case in Ireland or elsewhere?(im talking 2000 onwards)

Probably Michaela Hartes for me. or the 2 schoolgirls that were murdered by the school caretaker in the UK back in the early 2000s.

and just wondering why do you think some cases get more coverage than others? for e.g Michaela Hartes,Jill Meaghers and Karen Buckleys got huge coverage, however I don't remember Nicola Furlongs getting as much even though her case was similar in some ways to theirs esp. Jill and Karens. (even though it was still a relatively high profile case)

I know this was posted already in conspiracy theories but hardly anyone replied :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It depends when it happens. What else is going on in the world etc.

If it's slow news season then media outlets will jump all over a murder that isn't gang related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

This one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Oj. Is the biggest and most memorable.

Be surprised if anything tops that. Especially the court case. And jurys decision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

The two backpackers murdered on koh Tao and the resulting circus that followed from the boys in brown to protect the tourist industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lurkio

This one.

That should have included a Brendan O'Connor warning.

See your Martin and raise you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Colonel Mustard, in the kitchen, with the candlestick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Oh for fuck's sake, who actually reminisces about murders?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

The Mulhall sisters in Ireland are pretty notorious, there are plenty in the UK. Peter Sutcliffe, Hindley and Brady, Fred West, John Haigh, John Christie, Dennis Nilsen without too much thought spring to mind. Lots of sick individuals over the years.

Meredith Kercher/Amanda Knox.

Late 90s, but Jonbenet Ramsay. Jamie Bulger from that decade too.

The most sensational here were probably Rachel and Joe O'Toole, and Graham Dwyer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

There was a huge case in Spain that started 7 years ago when a 17 year old girl Marta del Castillo was murdered. There were 3 or 4 implicated and a host of verions offered to the police before the killer was jailed 3 years later after a drawn out saga. Her whereabpouts have never been found with the killer giving the police numerous false leads that led to huge search operations. More recently the parents of the girl offered money to the killer for him to divulge her whereabouts but he declined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

for me it was Graham Dwyer in recent times. That man made my blood boil. Sly dog. Most horrible person ever. I remember when the verdict came in, people in work were actually shouting. That case gripped the nation. Fantastic work by the Gardai.

I think what got me was he could be my neighbour, work colleague etc. Scissor sisters were different, would not encounter them in my day to day life.

Ian Huntley - Jessica chapman and Holly Wells. Guy did a sky interview searching for the girls when it was himself all the time.

I remember the shock and disbelief when young James Bulger went missing. Ah he's off playing with two kids, he will turn up. Sadly, that was not to be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Meredith Kercher/Amanda Knox.

Late 90s, but Jonbenet Ramsay. Jamie Bulger from that decade too.

The most sensational here were probably Rachel and Joe O'Toole, and Graham Dwyer.

O'Reilly you mean?

I read Paul Williams (I know I know) account of the Dwyer case recently... omfg, the longer that excuse for a human being is kept behind bars the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Dont forget The Black Widow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Veronica Guerin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

I, too, think the Graham Dwyer case is THE historic murder story in Ireland in recent times. It'll be talked about for years to come. Just the sheer outlandish nature of the details that came out, in a country where many people probably still think that kind of fetishism and weirdness doesn't exist here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

The Robert Holohan/ Wayne O Donoghue case. I remember the husband of a colleague of mine (they lived in Midleton)joining in the search for that poor child.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 psheaser

OJ Simpson.

It does not make sense!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Holly Wells & Jessica Chapman

I think everybody can recall the photo of the two girls in the Man United jerseys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Merrion

Mary Boyle

If we're going back a few years, the Kerry Babies case has to be the most sensational. 1 baby found dead on a beach and to this day we don't know who or why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Phillip keirns (unsure of how surname is spelt) is one mystery that frequently crosses my mind . wasn't even born when it happened but it just so shocking. Poor family

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,381 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

The Robert Holohan/ Wayne O Donoghue case.

The photos in the paper of him joining the search party knowing full well where the body was the whole time, that was cold. 8 days of hell for that family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

callaway92 wrote: »

I think everybody can recall the photo of the two girls in the Man United jerseys.

Those poor wee things. I was about their age when it happened (couple of years older) and I remember being so freaked out by the whole thing. Still get the creeps looking at the picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

So common the guilty party volunteers... Holly and Jessica- ian huntly, Joe o Reilly, Wayne Donohue? Think that killer of the little girl in wales ,April, was out with search party too

Won't get into it but Maddie McCann

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Madeleine McCann...surprised it's not been mentioned

Most famous murder....I'd say twoz that young plumber who was killed for wrong place wrong time with that gangster in Dublin.....
    Of all the pointless killings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Why are people mentioning the robert holohan/wayne o d case when it wasnt murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

callaway92 wrote: »

Yes, this is the one I remember the most. I was only a few years older than them when it happened. Really freaked me out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

The Graham Dwyer case probably trumped the Catherine Nevin case in terms of sensationalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Simon Cowell .
    Can't believe it was the dog all along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Specialun wrote: »
    Why are people mentioning the robert holohan/wayne o d case when it wasnt murder

Well he did kill for throwing stones at his car and hide the body and assist in looking for it

And then there's the big questions raised in his mothers victim impact statement that raised somewhat serious questions....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭CarFan100

JR Ewing

Terrible what happened to him

• Site Banned Posts: 108 ✭✭Shawn Michaels

In an Irish context, it's difficult to look past Malcolm McArthur in the early 1980s.

Two victims, and then McArthur's found to be living with the Attorney General.

Led to Charles Haughey famously describing the whole episode as grotesque, unbelievable, bizarre, and unprecedented (GUBU).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 rosebell1238

Don't think many people in Ireland would have heard of this case but the murder of Anita Cobby in Australia in the late 80s. Read about it and what happened her, just vile.

More recently Karen Buckleys, everything about that case was just hideous. You'd actually have nightmares thinking about it. The pictures of her on the night out aswell give me the chills and she dead 2 or 3 hours later :O

Also, as Holly and Jessica are mentioned a lot does anyone remember Sarah Payne? which happened around the same time if I remember correctly (maybe a bit earlier, not too sure) Can still see that picture of her in her school uniform posing for the camera with her lovely smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Raonaid Murray. It's horrible to think what happened to that poor girl and awful to think her killer is still free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭md23040

The media circus surrounding the murder of Mickey Hartes daughter Michella Mc Areavey killed during her honeymoon in Legends hotel. The cock up of the Mauritian CPS services that scape goated two hotel workers just added insult to injury for the heart broken family.

Such a bright future cut so early. This was the first recorded homicide of a tourist in Mauritius and no one was convicted for the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

I remember hearing of a murder in Howth I think, where a teenage lad crucified a toddler to the beams in his attic during a satanic ritual. There was a mass cover up by Gardí afterwards and everything was hush hush as that carry on didn't happen in Ireland :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

The jamie buldger case... some of the things done to that boy were horrific and its probably best most dont know / read about those.

Being from belgium, An Marchall and Eefje Lambrechts as well as Julie Lejeune and Mellisa Russo .... Mark Dutroux's victims, really hit home because of the anomilies in the case, how the investigation was handled, the accusations of a pedofile ring involving politicians, judges and high society. All that, coupled with the fact a few girls went missing around our school and were found dead later on...not a good time to think back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Imelda Riney, her young son, Liam and Father Joe Walsh who were killed by Brendan O'Donnell in a wood in Clare is one that sticks in my mind. So, so tragic.

The Graham Dwyer case remains with me for another reason - the disgraceful coverage in the media that focused on salacious details of the victim's life. He may have been on trial for murder, but she suffered trial by media. It was awful. I avoided it as much as possible but still heard way too much.

Geoffrey Evans and John Shaw, two English men in the late 1970s who murdered two women here. Their grand plan was to travel around Ireland and kidnap and murder one Irish woman per week after raping them. I believe one is now dead and the other still serving a life sentence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

I always still think of Jo Jo Dullard, it's almost 21 years now since she disappeared hitching home to Kilkenny.
    Think it struck a chord with me as I was around same age, and have a lot of relatives in Kilkenny. I also used hitch lifts the odd time back then.
    In fact, any of the many girls that disappeared in the 90's- I see the area is referred as 'the vanishing triangle ' on wiki. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ireland%27s_Vanishing_Triangle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 rosebell1238

Also one that sticks out in my mind and surprising no one has mentioned is Jill Meaghers, and the Oscar Pistorius case.

Sophie Tuscan de Plantier aswell.

Actually there is loads now that I think of it.

Any of the missing women cases are disturbing. In some cases the perpetrators are known but can't be proven. I think the Deirdre Jacobs case is even more unsettling because she vanished in daylight so close to her home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Don't think many people in Ireland would have heard of this case but the murder of Anita Cobby in Australia in the late 80s. Read about it and what happened her, just vile.

Fcuking hell, never heard of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭chicorytip

The still unsolved mystery of the slaughter of that English/Iraqi family in the French Alps a couple of years ago - the sole survivor being the infant daughter who laid undiscovered for hours hidden under the body of her dead mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The Robert Holohan/ Wayne O Donoghue case. I remember the husband of a colleague of mine (they lived in Midleton)joining in the search for that poor child.
    Did that end up as murder or manslaughter?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Corporals Howes and Wood, dragged from their car and murdered. Still find it hard to believe that actually happened in this Country less than 30 years ago. The footage and the photographs were shocking; their families were never told the truth either, major cover up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Esel wrote: »
    Did that end up as murder or manslaughter?

Manslaughter, he got 4 years.

Fcuking hell, never heard of that

Barbaric. The Tom O' Gorman case was quite horrific aswell. I find it pretty bizarre that I actually know/knew two of the names mentioned in the thread :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 anonymous00000

jeez that is bizarre, and sorry to hear that, who did you know? if you don't mind me asking of course :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭CarFan100

anewme wrote: »
    Corporals Howes and Wood, dragged from their car and murdered. Still find it hard to believe that actually happened in this Country less than 30 years ago. The footage and the photographs were shocking; their families were never told the truth either, major cover up.

What was the major coverup