most memorable murder case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭michellie

Caylee Anthony a little girl who lived in Florida. Her mother Casey didn't report her missing for a month after she "went missing" . A long and horrible case went to court after many years and the mother was aqquited even though there was so much evidence against her.

If you want to get pissed off Google it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Brendan o Donnell murders back in 1996 I think it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

RIP to all of those people, adults and children who died needlessly, robbed of their future by some downright evil people, thoughts and prayers with their families and loved ones.

You would never get over something like that happening to a family member or loved one.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

Raonaid Murray. It's horrible to think what happened to that poor girl and awful to think her killer is still free.

Graham Dwyer was being investigated in relation to her murder. I have no idea if they have actually ruled him out yet. After his trial Jim Cusack wrote an article about a incident he personally witnessed and captured on CCTV outside his home in the area Raonaid Murray was murdered a couple of months afterwards. It involved a male bearing resemblance to Graham Dywer ejactulating into a magazine he had taken from a household bin. Cusack gave the CTTV and 'the evidence' to the guards but they did not retain 'the evidence' so unable to establish if it may have been Dwyer acting suspiciously in the area around that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

The murder that sticks out for me was that of Phyllis Murphy because I remember at the age of 6 (nearly 7), part the Garda Patrol reconstruction being filmed in my estate (her sister lived 4 doors away from me, and Phyllis had visited her the evening she disappeared). I also worked with a son of her murderer, but before he was caught.

Apart from that, the Philip Cairns case always stayed with me because he was the same age as me when he disappeared, and Deirdre Jacob, because a lot of friends and family know her family (and knew Deirdre herself).
    anyways just interested to hear what people think is the most memorable case in Ireland or elsewhere?(im talking 2000 onwards)
    I didn't stick with your time 'limitation' (as others also didn't) because the more recent murders are fresher in our minds. The older ones can linger for a reason...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

My sister was best friends with one of the girls mentioned in this thread who was murdered. I saw what it did to her, can't imagine what it must have done to her own family.

I also know the brother of another female murder victim mentioned on this thread, one of the horror cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

There's almost too many to choose from....but some of the ones that have stuck with most are;

Oscar Pistorius/Reeva Steenkamp - although I am still inclined to believe it was an accident

Elaine O'Hara/Graham Dwyer - I couldn't believe such an ordinary unassuming looking man could be such a monster

Mod-Libellous allegation removed.

Meredith Kercher - IMO Knox and Sollecito know more than they let on

Jessica Chapman and Holly Wells - I don't understand how anyone could want to harm a child - for this reason Madeleine McCann, April Jones, James Buldger and JonBenet Ramsey stick with me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

There's almost too many to choose from....but some of the ones that have stuck with most are;

Oscar Pistorius/Reeva Steenkamp - although I am still inclined to believe it was an accident

Yeah cos when you think a burglar is in the house you just open up and shoot through a closed door and don't bother checking if your wife is in bed and not the one in there :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Thomas O'Gorman in Castleknock last year. His lodger killed and ate part of him. My brother knew the deceased, absolutely horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

The earliest memory I'd have of a murder case would be The Yorkshire Ripper. I was living in England at the time, and though I was no more than 5 or 6, I still vividly remember the news coverage.
    Joe O'Reilly, the gall of him to go on The Late Show. How anyone could be so cold is beyond me.
    Jamie Bulger , Holly and Jessica, any to do with children really, have stayed with me. There was one case where a little girl called Deirdre I think, went missing with her Dad for some time. He killed her, and I remember hearing she hadn't been bought any new clothes, she was wearing worn stuff too small for her. That was heartbreaking.
    Seeing a girl I went to school with on the news for killing her child was some shock. Hard to believe this was the same girl who we sat with having fags at the back of the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Esel wrote: »
    Talk about a highly charged situation. Gibraltar killings, Stone attack, subsequent funeral, wrong place, wrong time.

Personally I don't believe for a second that they were in the wrong place. The two men were in the Royal Signals and were involved with intelligence work, they were also no strangers to Belfast and weren't just off the boat. Only a few days previous a UDA member called Michael Stone had attacked a Republican funeral with grenades and a handgun killing three people, including another IRA Volunteer, Kevin Brady. It was Brady's funeral that these men drove into.

Now I have difficulty believing that two British soldiers involved in intelligence gathering unwittingly strayed into a massive IRA funeral for a man who was previously killed days before in one of the most high-profile incident of the conflict. The idea they wouldn't have known this was taking place and simply strayed in by accident is preposterous.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Personally I don't believe for a second that they were in the wrong place. The two men were in the Royal Signals and were involved with intelligence work, they were also no strangers to Belfast and weren't just off the boat. Only a few days previous a UDA member called Michael Stone had attacked a Republican funeral with grenades and a handgun killing three people, including another IRA Volunteer, Kevin Brady. It was Brady's funeral that these men drove into.

Now I have difficulty believing that two British soldiers involved in intelligence gathering unwittingly strayed into a massive IRA funeral for a man who was previously killed days before in one of the most high-profile incident of the conflict. The idea they wouldn't have known this was taking place and simply strayed in by accident is preposterous.

Whether an accident or not, they didn't deserve what happened to them.

Yeah cos when you think a burglar is in the house you just open up and shoot through a closed door and don't bother checking if your wife is in bed and not the one in there :rolleyes:

Here in Ireland you might not, SA is a different story by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

mud wrote: »
    Thomas O'Gorman in Castleknock last year. His lodger killed and ate part of him. My brother knew the deceased, absolutely horrific.

While many might not have agreed with his views he was an absolute gent with an impish sense of humour. I don't cry often but I cried buckets when I heard the news. R.I.P.

Meredith Kercher/Amanda Knox.

Late 90s, but Jonbenet Ramsay. Jamie Bulger from that decade too.

The most sensational here were probably Rachel and Joe O'Toole, and Graham Dwyer.

It's James. His name was James. His parents never called him Jamie. None of his people did. Really grinds me gears that they can't get the kid's name right.

The Brian Murphy case outside Annabelle's Nightclub in South Dublin was massive at the time. 4 privileged types (Andrew Frame, Desmond Ryan, Dermot Laide and Sean Mackey) dubbed the Blackrock Bootboys kicked him to death. His smiling face was plastered all over the news. A horrible case.

Omackeral wrote: »
    It's James. His name was James. His parents never called him Jamie. None of his people did. Really grinds me gears that they can't get the kid's name right.

The abduction and horrific death at the hands of two strangers are the bits that really grind my gears.

I guess we just differ in our focus, that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

My sister was best friends with one of the girls mentioned in this thread who was murdered. I saw what it did to her, can't imagine what it must have done to her own family.

I also know the brother of another female murder victim mentioned on this thread, one of the horror cases.

Come to think of it, and I don't know how I didn't think of it earlier, I also know Elaine O'Hara's uncle & several of her cousins. That Graham Dwyer case was one that will live long in public memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The abduction and horrific death at the hands of two strangers are the bits that really grind my gears.

It's one of the most disturbing cases I've read about. I have a young son and reading about his death actually does sicken and depress me.

Yeah good points scoring there, well done Champ. That case used to give me nightmares as a child as I had a brother his age at the time. It's respectful to remember him by his actual name is all, not a made up one.

Well, it was the one issue you picked up on, when you were busy point scoring yourself.

Remember the Madelaine McCann case? Some people called her Maddy. Again, for me, not really the issue tbh.

Well, it was the one issue you picked up on, when you were busy point scoring yourself.

Remember the Madelaine McCann case? Some people called her Maddy. Again, for me, not really the issue tbh.

It's because I had an issue with it, I was expressing an opinion one particular point. How that's points scoring I don't know.

Maybe it's not an issue for you but it was for me, it's just respectful to call him by his actual name. Maddy/Maddie is shorthand for Madeleine, Jamie is a completely different name altogether. And I say an issue, not the issue obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

It's because I had an issue with it, I was expressing an opinion one particular point. How that's points scoring I don't know.

Maybe it's not an issue for you but it was for me, it's just respectful to call him by his actual name. Maddy/Maddie is shorthand for Madeleine, Jamie is a completely different name altogether. And I say an issue, not the issue obviously.

The McCanns had also come out and said " our daughters name is Madeline, not Maddy."

Obviously Maddy/Maddie fitted better for the typefaces on the headlines - easier to get a bigger headline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

Fred and Rose West. Monsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Not the most memorable, but one that always stuck in my mind was Melissa Mahon in Sligo. The whole case seemed to go mostly unnoticed in the media, possibly because so few people cared about her so there was no big fuss when she went missing. Poor girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

James/Jamie. Madeleine/Maddy

My guess is that James or Madeleine sounded almost too formal. Too adult.

People referred to them as Jamie or Maddy as more of a term of endearment, to reinforce the fact that they were just a small innocent kids.

Don't think many people in Ireland would have heard of this case but the murder of Anita Cobby in Australia in the late 80s. Read about it and what happened her, just vile.

The Cobby case is pretty famous. If mainly for the sheer depravity.

Should say strong stomachs might be needed for the following links...the detail is pretty shocking

Another gruesome was the murder of Suzanne Capper.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Suzanne_Capper

And the murder of Kelly Ann Bates.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Kelly_Anne_Bates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Well he did kill for throwing stones at his car and hide the body and assist in looking for it

And then there's the big questions raised in his mothers victim impact statement that raised somewhat serious questions....

From what I recall those statements could have seriously hindered the trial and it could have been thrown out. Didn't the judge instruct them to be stricken from the statement.

valoren wrote: »
    People referred to him as Jamie or Maddy as more of a term of endearment, to reinforce the fact that they were just a small innocent kids.

Yep, it's simply a diminutive, not a big issue either way really.