He/ she who snores...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Have ended a relationship due to snoring in the past, when it's so loud that I have to use headphones downstairs if they are asleep upstairs it's too much. Sleeping next to that sound just isn't possible!!

Yep, it's been a deal-breaker in the past. My husband only snores if he has a cold or something, but it bothers me so much I have to go sleep on the couch. Nails on a blackboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

My husband snores when he is awake ffs. Well he will be asleep for about two seconds and it starts and I'll just calmly and quietly say "your snoring" and he answers straight away and defiantly says "no I wasnt". I'll say "I just heard you" and then he'l say "wasn't me, sure I'm awake"!!!

He tends to snore when he is very tired like if he was doing a lot of overtime or physical work that day so I try not to complain about it too much but it is one of the most irritating sounds when you are trying to go asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If the snoring is very loud it' likely a case of obstructive sleep apnea. Can be fatal if not addressed. There are a number of fixes depending on the severity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Olishi4 wrote: »
    My husband snores when he is awake ffs. Well he will be asleep for about two seconds and it starts and I'll just calmly and quietly say "your snoring" and he answers straight away and defiantly says "no I wasnt". I'll say "I just heard you" and then he'l say "wasn't me, sure I'm awake"!!!

He tends to snore when he is very tired like if he was doing a lot of overtime or physical work that day so I try not to complain about it too much but it is one of the most irritating sounds when you are trying to go asleep.

In the first phase of sleep the sleeper can retain full awareness while also being asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Is your OH possibly leading a double life?? :p He sounds exactly like mine, he falls 'asleep' sitting up and snores for seconds and swears blind he wasn't asleep.

He was almost drooling on his laptop the other night he was so out for the count and I walked into the kitchen and he bolted up and pretended like he was wide awake. I asked him did he have a nice nap, he said huh? I didn't go asleep :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Is your OH possibly leading a double life?? :p He sounds exactly like mine, he falls 'asleep' sitting up and snores for seconds and swears blind he wasn't asleep.

He was almost drooling on his laptop the other night he was so out for the count and I walked into the kitchen and he bolted up and pretended like he was wide awake. I asked him did he have a nice nap, he said huh? I didn't go asleep :D

Ha ha no, no double life Keane. He's just at a stage in his career where he has to put a lot of work in.

Doesn't matter how tired he is though, he can still keep up with me in that department! He knows where his priorities lie :p;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

You know, has anyone ever tried covering the persons mouth???...with an absorbant material?? Say something like the eye covers people wear before bed...maybe thicker though

I ask because.. I'm guessing, one of the reasons it becomes so loud is when the mouth is open...there is a hollow area that allows the sound to become louder....if said sound was absorbed by some material... Wouldn't it reduce said sound??

Totally open to correction on this, just guessing

Ha ha no, no double life Keane. He's just at a stage in his career where he has to put a lot of work in.

Doesn't matter how tired he is though, he can still keep up with me in that department! He knows where his priorities lie :p;)

Ditto here, he tells me the end justifies them means and I will thank him for keeping me awake at night when it's all done :D

Haha good man :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

I think in all honestly, both myself and my OH snore. Only I'm very calm about it, put it down to one of those things, but he's very sensitive.

Ended up having a middle of the night wobbler about it only just last week. He kept waking me up every time I'd just drifted off to sleep (maybe 4am at this point) He'd also gone into the spare room at one point and subsequently came back "because the bed wasn't as nice" and then told me I should go because I was snoring. I told him to take a run and jump.

He also snores but doesn't really believe that he does. He actually woke me up with his snoring just last night. I just let it pass.

Some people are awfully precious!

I think in all honestly, both myself and my OH snore. Only I'm very calm about it, put it down to one of those things, but he's very sensitive.

Ended up having a middle of the night wobbler about it only just last week. He kept waking me up every time I'd just drifted off to sleep (maybe 4am at this point) He'd also gone into the spare room at one point and subsequently came back "because the bed wasn't as nice" and then told me I should go because I was snoring. I told him to take a run and jump.

He also snores but doesn't really believe that he does. He actually woke me up with his snoring just last night. I just let it pass.

Some people are awfully precious!

It's all in good fun Sarah!

Until someone has a hit out on them for snoring and keeping you awake all night, every night of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

It's all in good fun Sarah!

Until someone has a hit out on them for snoring and keeping you awake all night, every night of course.

Apparently I'm chronic lately so maybe I should watch my back :eek:

Wouldn't mind, but himself sleeps with earplugs and is also capable of selective deafness during the day when it suits him.

Apparently I'm chronic lately so maybe I should watch my back :eek:

Wouldn't mind, but himself sleeps with earplugs and is also capable of selective deafness during the day when it suits him.

LOL!

I think if you are at all a poor or light sleeper it can actually really effect a person!

I have insomnia, and also two kids so any little sleep I can get is precious :p Himself could sleep through an atomic bomb, and then go back to sleep once he knows we're grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

I toss and turn a LOT when I'm in my own bed alone, though. I wake up with cuts and bruises frequently :pac:

That's not tossing and turning, you've got a bogeyman in your room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

If the snoring is very loud it' likely a case of obstructive sleep apnea. Can be fatal if not addressed. There are a number of fixes depending on the severity.

Yep, that's me. Using a CPAP machine for the last 12 years.

Before that I was like a chainsaw until I stopped breathing (apnoea) for a few seconds, then back to chainsaw mode.

This was measured at 60 times per hour.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I shared a hotel room with my brother last weekend. Never again. I'm suprised I didn't murder him, the hack out of him when he's asleep.
    I had a skinful, nomally nothing would wake me, he did. The bast*rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I snored for years, like a fog horn, waking everyone in the house then had a heart attack, a couple of stents later and have not snored since.....honestly.

Wow!! Bad luck but good to hear you recovered well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

drake70 wrote: »
    Yep, that's me. Using a CPAP machine for the last 12 years.

Before that I was like a chainsaw until I stopped breathing (apnoea) for a few seconds, then back to chainsaw mode.

This was measured at 60 times per hour.

Was at the doctor only this week about it. Constantly tired even though passed out unconscious for 6-8hrs a night. Been told for years by multiple people that I snore badly, and girlfriend is sick of it... often have to move to separate beds during the night. Doctor checked my nose, said air passage is quite narrow (I find it hard to breathe through my nose even while awake), possible deviated septum. Going to refer me to an ENT doctor and a sleep doctor guy. He said he hopes we'll find ways around it rather than CPAP (like cutting my septum and sorting air passages out, sounds awful!)

So to those of you giving out about us snorers, it's no picnic being us either :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

shedweller wrote: »
    Oh my good wife can snore with the best of them! Tells me to feck off when i tell her to turn over though. Hmm....

Is that why you sleep in the shed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I snore only when I'm sick. If I start to snore, you just know I'm going to be whinging for the next week or so with man flu.

Himself snores if he hasn't enough pillows and he's on his back, but not enough to complain about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Tipperary Fairy

mud wrote: »
    I snore. I can't help it.

If you're staying in a hostel why on earth would you not go equipped with earplugs? There's a big chance that someone will be snoring.

I like to call it sleeping out loud or enthusiastic sleeping :)

I don't know if this is directed at me, but I do wear ear plugs every night. He woke me up still, he was so loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Yeah he snores but it's usually fine, I tend to fall asleep before him anyway and it's hardly ever enough to wake me once I'm out. If he's had a few drinks or he's particularly tired and falls asleep on his back it's another story but he's generally quite biddable about it and just rolls over. Though occasionally there's this

Him:*SNORE*

Me: Hey, you're snoring, could you roll over

Him: What? Oh sorry *doesn't roll over, straight back to sleep*

Me: Just roll onto your side there love

Him: Yeah *straight back to sleep*

Repeat a few more times then

Me:Please roll over

Him: FINE, GOD *angrily back to sleep*

Also has a habit of rolling over in the night in such a way that he manages clatter me on the face, lovely way to wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Neither myself nor the girlfriend snore, which is grand.

A while back I was dogsitting a king charles cavalier. He would often climb up and sleep on the couch. His snoring was so bad that I had to turn up the TV loads. The freaky thing is that he would often sleep with his eyes open, staring at me.

Really I can handle snoring fine, but fidgeting...makes me murderous. And the more you stay still the quicker you'll fall asleep so there's no goddamn excuse for it.

Neither myself nor the girlfriend snore, which is grand.

A while back I was dogsitting a king charles cavalier. He would often climb up and sleep on the couch. His snoring was so bad that I had to turn up the TV loads. The freaky thing is that he would often sleep with his eyes open, staring at me.

Haha poor puppy :D

Really I can handle snoring fine, but fidgeting...makes me murderous. And the more you stay still the quicker you'll fall asleep so there's no goddamn excuse for it.

agh my restless leg syndrome would drive you crazy so :O :p

You'd be dead. I'd kill you. If certain people are to be believed I've carried out some sleep-punching over fidgeting in the past :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

If I didn't know better... :eek:

My wife does that the whole time, sticks her legs out of the bed, across the bed, duvet on, duvet off, throws duvet off herself and doubles it up on me so now she's twice as cool and I'm twice as hot, and years later I still can't get used to a six foot wide bed where there's about four foot of space between us which gives my wife more than enough room to move about, but for me it just feels weird :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Hahahahaha I'm the fidget queen. Bed, quick cuddle, usually be little spoon falling asleep, wake up, get up, go bathroom, Come back to bed, spoon him, up again, open a window, back to bed, turn on my side, turn to the other side, root around for his arm to spoon myself with, get up to pee, back to bed, get up, close the window, go back to bed, probably be cold so my hands go up his tshirt to warm them up.

It's better all round if whoevers in bed with me (including my female friends) spoon me all night, I stay in place with cuddles. If I'm left to my own devices I'm up and down like a whores knickers.

If I didn't know better... :eek:

My wife does that the whole time, sticks her legs out of the bed, across the bed, duvet on, duvet off, throws duvet off herself and doubles it up on me so now she's twice as cool and I'm twice as hot, and years later I still can't get used to a six foot wide bed where there's about four foot of space between us which gives my wife more than enough room to move about, but for me it just feels weird :o

I've noticed a trend too (with any of the women I know) that we are always freezing and men always roasting! So it's a constant battle between my OH pulling the duvet off and me wanting to put an extra one on :p

I only have a king size now but would LOVE a super King again! I agree though it does create a huge space in the bed which can feel weird.