Seeing as nobodys asked the question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

Aight. Time to get real. You ready? You ready to get real?
    We don't get dressed up so men can look at us.
    We get dressed up so as we can check our own reflections out in shop windows.

- Confessions of a cacklegangsta

I wear blusher and lipstick when I am actually ovulating :eek:, just so I double my ovulatey vibe! #paintedpig

- confessions of a Cacklegangsta.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Cacklegangsta.
    Cackle Gang, Cackle Gangster, Cackle Gangsta and any derivatives implied are the intellectual* property of Wibbs Corp © (™) , so I smell Copyright infringement, engage solicitors in 3… 2… 1…

*might be some legal wriggle room there, but bear in mind my solicitors haven't been fed for a fortnight.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Wibbs wrote: »
    Cackle Gang, Cackle Gangster, Cackle Gangsta and any derivatives implied are the intellectual* property of Wibbs Corp © (™) , so I smell Copyright infringement, engage solicitors in 3… 2… 1…

*might be some legal wriggle room there, but bear in mind my solicitors haven't been fed for a fortnight.

CULTURAL APPROPRIATION ALERT!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Intellectual property law is a patriarchal construct. Reeks of unexamined toxic privilege

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

Intellectual property law is a patriarchal construct. Reeks of unexamined toxic privilege

Quiet you and get back to your knitting :p

Also, copyright was invented in Ireland, and the phrase used to illustrate it was 'To each cow its calf, to each book its copy".

Ya see? To each cow its calf. Not to each bull, each cow.

So us cows own the copyright to everything. There is no arguing with this fact.

Quiet you and get back to your knitting :p

How dare you! Like I'm going to spend my time handling phallic symbols, don't you know the herstory of those things?

But what about leg warmers? :(

Stop trying to impress men by shaving your legs and removing their natural insulation.

Do us Cacklegangstas have a gang slogan, do I need a tattoo and coloured scarf? What colour? because green would really match my eyes, but pink would signal ovulation! So hard to know!

I just keep mine warm with period blood

This is fun, I think I will be a feminazi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Pink, natch. Gotta have our fertility colours flying loud and proud.

Do us Cacklegangstas have a gang slogan, do I need a tattoo and coloured scarf? What colour? because green would really match my eyes, but pink would signal ovulation! So hard to know!

I think we might eh, need to ask for permission first before we go setting up any sort of club.

*takes pin from grenade and chucks it over her shoulder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Never mind leg warmers - what about the muffs?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

As I was scrolling through this thread I got an interesting ad

448A1621-D103-4DC1-A46B-E88AC67A67AA_zpshcch9ygo.png

Esel wrote: »
    Never mind leg warmers - what about the muffs?

You mean these?

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/fa/ed/a9/faeda9f291638f9e72ff2f289fd06348.jpg

I think we might eh, need to ask for permission first before we go setting up any sort of club.

*takes pin from grenade and chucks it over her shoulder*

Wibbs is not the boss of the Cackle gang, just because he christened it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Aight. Time to get real. You ready? You ready to get real?
    We don't get dressed up so men can look at us.
    We get dressed up so as we can check our own reflections out in shop windows.

- Confessions of a cacklegangsta

If youre ever outside connoly station,there's about 10 metres of window panes,the narcissism is off the scale,narcissists arriving by the train load!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

DivingDuck wrote: »
    Just to quote the original post that started this off:

It's been explained, but to recap, the explanation is one of the following:

1. They think it looks good, or
    2. It makes them feel good, or
    3. It makes them appeal to people who share their aesthetic preferences.

That's it; there's the answer. There's nothing feminist about the answer-- or anything misogynist about the question itself, really, beyond the fact that the answer should be obvious: because they think it looks good. Why does anyone do anything? Either because they have to, or because they enjoy it. That's honestly the answer every time.

Many of the people commenting (myself included) might agree that this "look" is unflattering/unappealing/ugly/ridiculous. This opinion isn't what's making people angry. You're entitled to your feelings. Nobody cares.

What's making people angry (and show "feminist tendencies") are the subsequent posts which reveal a belief of you thinking this is a bad look should mean that other people need to stop doing it. That their reasons for doing it (to feel groomed, to look pretty, to appeal to people who appreciate this style) are insufficient in the face of your disapproval.

What's really unappealing and ugly here is the attempt to shame people into behaving in the manner you prefer by saying they will be laughed at and pitied for going out looking the way they prefer to look. It's a desperate attempt to force others into accepting your preferences and aesthetics, to discard their own wants to please you-- and when the impact it will have on your life either way is ultimately negligible.

That attitude, to me, shows more vanity and self-absorbsion than all the overdone make-up in the world and is infinitely more pitiable.

I force my opinion on nobody, Everyone's entitled to theirs...just as everyone is entitled to comment on anyone's..its called free speech...not forcing anything...people choose to engage in this conversation i never asked anyone who didnt share my belief to...no more than I asked them to accept my opinion as gospel...missed that one too did you??

There are a clear amount of people who hold the belief that it is utterly ridiculous? do we care? not all that much..we arent the ones being laughed at ..but its a troublesome thought that people need to hide behind a mask to accept themselves

Even more troubling imo is the fact that our next generation will grow up accepting this as normal...because as usual...our generation would rather bury their head in the sand, or bottle, or in this case makeup rather than address the actual root of issues.....but please go on....about how this affects nobody's life..about how BDD/OCD and this emerging trend of EXCESSIVE, OBSESSIVE makeup application have no link whatsoever..about how embedding this ***** trend into society, its all fine and dandy right? it doesnt affect anyone at all?

Its no better than young lads juicing themselves up to the eyeballs imo, its troublesome that people are embedding these as cultural norms here..whether it is harmful to physical or mental health, or both..the point remains...its not a healthy trend

So please, tell me what part of what im saying is so vain?? Im all ears

and quite frankly, i could care less whether people like my opinion or not..its my opinion NOT EVERYONE'S...need I embed that in the thread title?

pone2012 wrote: »
    I force my opinion on nobody, Everyone's entitled to theirs...just as everyone is entitled to comment on anyone's..its called free speech...not forcing anything...people choose to engage in this conversation i never asked anyone who didnt share my belief to...no more than I asked them to accept my opinion as gospel...missed that one too did you??

There are a clear amount of people who hold the belief that it is utterly ridiculous? do we care? not all that much..we arent the ones being laughed at ..but its a troublesome thought that people need to hide behind a mask to accept themselves

Even more troubling imo is the fact that our next generation will grow up accepting this as normal...because as usual...our generation would rather bury their head in the sand, or bottle, or in this case makeup rather than address the actual root of issues.....but please go on....about how this affects nobody's life..about how BDD/OCD and this emerging trend of EXCESSIVE, OBSESSIVE makeup application have no link whatsoever..about how embedding this ***** trend into society, its all fine and dandy right? it doesnt affect anyone at all?

Its no better than young lads juicing themselves up to the eyeballs imo, its troublesome that people are embedding these as cultural norms here..whether it is harmful to physical or mental health, or both..the point remains...its not a healthy trend

and quite frankly, i could care less whether people like my opinion or not..its my opinion NOT EVERYONE'S...need I embed that in the thread title?

Ah here....
    You're comparing wearing a lot of make up to OCD???
    Do you know what OCD is?
    And that its on par with injecting/taking DRUGS??

Give over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

our next generation will grow up accepting this as normal

I wouldn't worry about it too much. When I was growing up most of us kids were playing pac-man and other such games. Did we end up running around dark rooms, swallowing pills, and listening to repetitive music ?

Wait a sec... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

This lad, :D ah here! Someone get him a lamp and lighten him up a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

You have contradicted yourself repeatedly here. You claim that you're not trying to force your opinion on anyone, but then follow this up by a long rant about how "our generation would rather bury their head in the sand" regards what you perceive to be a link between heavy makeup application and mental illnesses.

The alternative to ignoring/burying your head in the sand is doing something, i.e., you are saying that something needs to be done about this behaviour. Therefore, you are very much forcing your opinion onto others. You are saying that it is "troubling" and that society shouldn't be "embedding these as cultural norms"-- in other words, that it's wrong and needs to be prevented.

In saying this, you are actively campaigning for a change in the behaviour of these women on the basis of your beliefs. If you see this as "not forcing anything", I don't know what to tell you except that most people would disagree with you.

As for people needing "to hide behind a mask to accept themselves"-- have you considered the possibility that people are not, in fact, their appearance? There is a difference in accepting yourself and accepting your appearance as it comes naturally.

For better or worse, you are not your looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I

I wouldn't be so sure about that.

How do you ever expect society to change and to address, well, any of the issues you mentioned, if you don't care less whether people like your opinion or not? The only way society will change is if your opinion becomes popular, y'know, in the same way as trends like HD brows become popular, and some trends go out of fashion (I miss the smoky eye myself tbh). So if you don't care that people don't take your opinion seriously, your rant is about as relevant to anyone else as their opinion is to you.

See how that works?

Even more troubling imo is the fact that our next generation will grow up accepting this as normal

Will they though? Will they really?

Trends come and go, and this is a trend. Let me remind you what people thought was fashionable makeup in the 80s:

https://www.google.ie/search?q=80s+makeup

And that's not to mention the hair. All that hairspray nearly depleted the ozone layer. Come the 90s everyone thought it was ridiculous and moved on. They found different ridiculous trends - like grunge: baggy clothes, minimal makeup and not a perm in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

HA! HA! HA! Look at all this ugly fuggos, attempting to deceive me into getting a boner for them! Thinking their own thoughts! The disgrace!
    Feck off.
    I'm just really concerned about their emotional well being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭hytrogen

My 2cents on this whole fiasco, women are fantastic creatures we'll never ever comprehend. They drive our consumer economy and our pockets drier than the Sahara desert on a Saturday night.
    However some of the gargoyle's presented today expose an unattractive shallowness following foul trends made by lads who snap d1ckpics at each other that I'm sure Freud's nephew would capitalise on in the new age of morkeshing as per the Smurfs of UCD bible..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Ah here....
    You're comparing wearing a lot of make up to OCD???
    Do you know what OCD is?
    And that its on par with injecting/taking DRUGS??

Give over.

Believe me, I know all to well what OCD is, I know all too ******* well what it is

Go find a few symptoms of BDD... You'll soon see where excessive makeup application falls into that bracket

Yes I did just compare....I said that implying that mental health and physical health are equally important..Care to challenge that?...I'll gladly go all day on it.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Will they though? Will they really?

Trends come and go, and this is a trend. Let me remind you what people thought was fashionable makeup in the 80s:

https://www.google.ie/search?q=80s+makeup

And that's not to mention the hair. All that hairspray nearly depleted the ozone layer. Come the 90s everyone thought it was ridiculous and moved on. They found different ridiculous trends - like grunge: baggy clothes, minimal makeup and not a perm in sight.

I've nothing to back this up, but I'd say the trend tends to be cyclical. Very groomed and done up from the eighties through to early to mid nineties, laid back through to the mid to late noughties and getting progressively more done up from then til now. We'll probably reach peak Kardashian at some point, people will figure out a different appearance related way to part people from their money and life goes on

Believe me, I know all to well what OCD is, I know all too ******* well what it is

Go find a few symptoms of BDD... You'll soon see where excessive makeup application falls into that bracket

Yes I did just compare....I said that implying that mental health and physical health are equally important..Care to challenge that?...I'll gladly go all day on it.

OCD has absolutely nothing to do with what you have been banging on about ie Kardashian makeup. Zero. Zilch. Nada.

As for the drugs reference, dude....you need to have a word with yourself.