Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

i wonder if it will even be a normal trial i have a feeling he could be charged in the special criminal court for this one no jury just the 3 judges its usually reserved for terrorists but they can also deal with serious organized crime. john gilligan brian meehan and hippo ward along with a few others were tried there in connection with the veronica guerin murder

Yeah probably so. I know Whacker Duffy is going on trial soon in the SCC, also they made a 2nd SCC to deal with the case load. Usually pretty much an IRA court though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Nemesis......

tomofson wrote: »
    He clearly wasn't wearing gloves when the shooting happened the firearm may have been recovered, but thats all just speculation

At the moment without a gun or clothes worn on the day or absolutely anything dna etc etc the case is completely dead in the water.

I was gobsmacked to hear there was a place raided last day or two looking for the fake garda uniforms,they are long gone,if they aren't there is some very silly people involved in this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭gangstergossip

Well one time not too long ago someone wrote a bit of dumb graffiti on a cell wall and that was enough to prosecute a high profiled murder case, so I would imagine a detailed picture with gun in hand running meters away from a murder scene would be more than enough.

if your talking about the the melanie mccarthy murder case it wasnt graffiti that got daniel mcdonnell convicted he wrote letters boasting about the murder and didnt know the prison guards read all the mail sent in and out of the prison he wrote a letter to a friend saying how he blew morans girlfriend all over the front of the sunday world and said to a girl he killed her by mistake he was meant to shoot her boyfriend and then it was used in evidence against him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

if your talking about the the melanie mccarthy murder case it wasnt graffiti that got daniel mcdonnell convicted he wrote letters boasting about the murder and didnt know the prison guards read all the mail sent in and out of the prison he wrote a letter to a friend saying how he blew morans girlfriend all over the front of the sunday world and said to a girl he killed her by mistake he was meant to shoot her boyfriend and then it was used in evidence against him

He didn't say anything in the letters you wouldn't know from reading a newspaper in the days after the killing and the wording seemed more like a joke rap song. Anyways point being there is way more evidence to link PH to the DB murder than there was to link daniel mcdonnell to the melanie mccarthy murder.

At the moment without a gun or clothes worn on the day or absolutely anything dna etc etc the case is completely dead in the water.

I was gobsmacked to hear there was a place raided last day or two looking for the fake garda uniforms,they are long gone,if they aren't there is some very silly people involved in this

i know the IRA never get rid of weapons maybe there the same with garda uniforms lol

He didn't say anything in the letters you wouldn't know from reading a newspaper in the days after the killing and the wording seemed more like a joke rap song. Anyways point being there is way more evidence to link PH to the DB murder than there was to link daniel mcdonnell to the melanie mccarthy murder.

either way its an idiotic thing to do when facing a urder charge lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

He'll have to go to cloverhill on remand do they have a medical wing or is that mountjoy?

The main medical unit is in Mountjoy and I'd say he'll be sent there to join his cousin Alan who has been put there for no other reason than for his protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,633 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

But its not actually a picture of him, it's a suspect dressed as a woman with heavy make up that may or may not be him. There is no weapon. Probably has a tight alibi. Highly doubt there is any witnesses who would testify at all or especially that it is him. No fingerprints, No DNA. nothing in interviews.

Motive and half baked CCTV and facial recogniton technology seems to be the height of it.
    Also add in complications of other potential cases like Flat Cap.

How on earth would/could you know this :confused:

But its not actually a picture of him, it's a suspect dressed as a woman with heavy make up that may or may not be him. There is no weapon. Probably has a tight alibi. Highly doubt there is any witnesses who would testify at all or especially that it is him. No fingerprints, No DNA. nothing in interviews.

Motive and half baked CCTV and facial recogniton technology seems to be the height of it. Also add in complications of other potential cases like Flat Cap.

We're getting into the realms of speculation here about a pending court case and it is probably best not to carry on this discussion as it could see this thread shut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Something happen in Tallaght garda cars more than usual

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

123balltv wrote: »
    Something happen in Tallaght garda cars more than usual

Dublin is gone to the dogs.

either way its an idiotic thing to do when facing a urder charge lol

He wasn't facing a murder charge at the time he wrote it he was hit with the murder charge because of what he wrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭themandan6611

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Dublin is gone to the dogs.

no no, Shelbourne Park is on tomorrow

He wasn't facing a murder charge at the time he wrote it he was hit with the murder charge because of what he wrote.

he was in custody awaiting trial when he wrote them

That was the only piece of evidence against him when he went to trial and that it is what he was solely and only what he was sent to trial on and convicted on.

yea i know that was the main evidence against him but he was arrested over the murder and placed in custody then wrote them i know a few lads from the area and they said he would do anything but wasnt the full shilling if you get me

One thing that has struck me following the other pair of arrests, is that it now looks very likely that the son was indeed involved. He previously complained that he was subject to bullying from other members of his party. What sort of political party have we in our corridors of power who could bully a man who is seemingly involved in gangland?

bajer101 wrote: »
    One thing that has struck me following the other pair of arrests, is that it now looks very likely that the son was indeed involved. He previously complained that he was subject to bullying from other members of his party. What sort of political party have we in our corridors of power who could bully a man who is seemingly involved in gangland?

a powerful party by the sounds of it lol. But in all fairness i dont think hes ever been in any trouble before and the guards will put a lot of pressure on him i think hes the tyoe of guy that could crack and give them all up to save his own skin

Cant see it considering where hes from and his family. But if he attempts to talk his way out of it like he did before, its only inviting trouble. In saying that I cant see him being charged, Id say he will be released with the rest.

He might get released, but he's fúcked. It will take a lot more than his "hard earned" BMW car and motorbike to help him escape from this one. He got a nailed on GIM last week that left him shítting. It will be interesting to watch how his former party try to distance themselves from him.

Here's a crazy idea. The government could decriminalise all drugs and instantly remove the control from these criminal gangs. These murders wouldn't happen. Crime would be down. Garda resources would be freed. The money that is saved could be pumped into education and rehabilitation. Drugs are far too serious to be left in the hands of criminals. And best of all, Paul Williams would be out of a job!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

This definitely won't be the end.
    We are talking about gangs here with plenty of pals and sympathisers.
    Someone else will step up when there's an opening.

I can't understand why any sane person would want to get involved in this since most of these people will be dead before they're 35.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Simon2015 wrote: »
    I can't understand why any sane person would want to get involved in this since most of these people will be dead before they're 35.

If your on social welfare since 18 and have no job prospects ever nor wish for any it's a good career path.

Jaysus, I have always earned big money legitimately, but even I have been impressed with these lads driving 5 series or big Lexus' with secret compartments and these lads are nearly immune to the law. They get waved through checkpoints cos they have the law in their pockets. If you're on the dole, the temptation of that sort of lifestyle is a no-brainer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

Jaysus, I have always earned big money legitimately, but even I have been impressed with these lads driving 5 series or big Lexus' with secret compartments and these lads are nearly immune to the law. They get waved through checkpoints cos they have the law in their pockets. If you're on the dole, the temptation of that sort of lifestyle is a no-brainer.

I'd much rather be on the dole then be dead or in jail.

These guys might get rich for a few years but it will catch up on them in the end.

Simon2015 wrote: »
    I'd much rather be on the dole then be dead or in jail.

These guys might get rich for a few years but it will catch up on them in the end.

That's you. But for every one of you there are ten who will choose the other road. You also forget that there are plenty of people who engage in crime and drug dealing and don't get caught. Crime does actually pay. If it didn't, no one would do it. I know, maybe 50 drug dealers who have never been arrested and probably never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

I know, maybe 50 drug dealers who have never been arrested and probably never will.

I barely know 50 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,125 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I barely know 50 people.

That doesn't mean you are not a known associate... :eek: :)

Not your ornery onager

That's you. But for every one of you there are ten who will choose the other road. You also forget that there are plenty of people who engage in crime and drug dealing and don't get caught. Crime does actually pay. If it didn't, no one would do it. I know, maybe 50 drug dealers who have never been arrested and probably never will.

Do they know you like to talk about them on boards?
    Oh and who knows 50 drug dealers? Are you a crime reporter or a member of a political party?