If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Mager is a bit of an enigma, I was actually very pleasantly surprised at what I saw from him at corner late in the year. He might well end up being a real contributor and possibly even at safety.

Do you think Chris Watt is center day one? and Tuerk to come in mid season when either (1) watt gets benched or (2) gets injured?

Will Clark mean the end (at last) for Troutman? EDIT - just checked roster on chargers.com and there is no mention of Trout? did he get released and I missed it? Clark even has his #63 already!.

Agree on Henry, I'd have preferred beef there and next best TE in 3rd/4th round. All in all though I am pleased with the draft esp the picks of Bosa and the 2 LBs.

I think Chris Watt gets a bit of an unfair time as he wasn't bad as a rookie starter being played out of position and last year he was awful but never healthy. If healthy i think he's backup standard at least.

Troutman was out of contract so he wasn't cut. Craig Watts is gone too, thought he could have developed into a good player.

Looking at our depth of people likely to make the roster the starters at the moment are
    LT - Dunlap
    LG - Franklin
    C - Watt
    RG - Fluker
    RT - Barksdale

Backups are
    T - Hairston
    T - Burwell
    G - Clark
    G - Wiggins
    C - Tuerk
    C - Robinson

Burwell could be lucky to make it this year as Wiggins can cover G and T. In theory Watt can cover C and G so we will cut Robinson. That leaves us with 9 players which i think is about right.

Just occurred to me that we now have no one to hold the ball on FGs as it was Scifers and Weddles duty. Someone has to learn a new job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

tripperman wrote: »
    Don't be surprised if Robinson is kept as McCoy and TT seem to believe he is worth that amount, I think Watts injury history leaves him as cuttable when Max is good to go, I read on SDUT that Bosa is 99, Henry is 86, Max is 62, Perry is 53, Brown is 57, Kaiser is 6, Derek Watt is 34 and Clarke is 63, and as Leslie's pointed out law is 99 aswell, wonder when we will know for sure, as I might get my nephew a Bosa jeresy for his birthday in june,

I reckon Bosa will continue with #99....... Law goes or gives up that # no doubt about it.

OAOB wrote: »
    Just occurred to me that we now have no one to hold the ball on FGs as it was Scifers and Weddles duty. Someone has to learn a new job

Yeah I asked that Q on twitter to see had it been answered by anybody in-house i.e. wonder who it will be.

I think Chris Watt gets a bit of an unfair time as he wasn't bad as a rookie starter being played out of position and last year he was awful but never healthy. If healthy i think he's backup standard at least.

Troutman was out of contract so he wasn't cut. Craig Watts is gone too, thought he could have developed into a good player.

Looking at our depth of people likely to make the roster the starters at the moment are
    LT - Dunlap
    LG - Franklin
    C - Watt
    RG - Fluker
    RT - Barksdale

Backups are
    T - Hairston
    T - Burwell
    G - Clark
    G - Wiggins
    C - Tuerk
    C - Robinson

Burwell could be lucky to make it this year as Wiggins can cover G and T. In theory Watt can cover C and G so we will cut Robinson. That leaves us with 9 players which i think is about right.

I think Burwell has the tools to be a v good swing tackle. But like u say he might lose out to Wiggins because in theory Wiggins can play G too. Watch out for Michael Huey too. I could see him coming in as a backup G and maybe beating out Wiggins. It is true Guards that we need as all the following can or have played tackle (excluding the incumbent starters at T) - Franklin, Fluker, Burwell, Wiggins, Hairston.

Heard overnight that if we didn't pick Bosa the Cowboys were going to take him at #4. Apparently when we picked Bosa you could hear a pin drop in the Cowboys war room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭tripperman

Just read that we signed Matt slauson on a two year deal, I think that's both Robinson and Chris Watt out the door now, fair play to TT thats two year's in row after the draft he's been able to get a top player on the oline that someone released, Slauson really does improve the interior of the oline as can play guard and centre,

When i heard Slauson was visiting i wasn't overly interested because the Bears line has been a bit of a mess the last few years. Read Kyle Poseys article and completely changed my opinion, sounds like he's a lot of versatility and is a definite upgrade over Watt.
    Really good signing as it takes a bit of pressure off Tuerk to come in and start and offers us really good back up options. Watt, Wiggins and Clark will be fighting it out for the final two roster spots I presume. Wiggins and Watt are the two cheap options but Clark can go to the PS and keep all 3 if we wanted. A good off season by one could lead to a trade for a late round pick like we did with Sirles last year. Thought that was a great bit of business by TT that went under the radar

Like the 2 lads above I'm v happy with the Slauson signing. He is the best center on the team immediately and should start week one. Tuerk can watch and learn until he gets himself to 100%. Waiting waiting waiting to hear that Trevor Robinson is no longer a Charger, the sooner we see the back of him the better. Watt has been awful since he came in but he might get one more chance to end up being a backup Guard. No matter what Telesco says he's at best the 3rd center on the roster now.

I read on bleacher report, that they can't release Robinson till he's fit since he was placed on IR at the end of last season, so prob a few week's for that news,

Yeah I saw that too somewhere.. his days are numbered though no doubt about it.

And rightfully so he was awful when on the field, if the oline can stay healthy it should give protection and be more consistent in the run game,

I honestly don't mind them keeping Robinson around for camp, it increases competition and makes people earn their spots.

If he makes the final roster i'd be well pissed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Fingers crossed that last season was just one of those horrible anomalies as regards picking up injuries every single game goes, we are building some very nice squad depth between the draft & FA, if (and that's a big if of course) we can keep everyone fit, we can definitely put ourselves in the mix for a potential wild card spot.. Doesn't help that our division has two murderously good defences and a rapidly improving Oakland / Vegas / wherever the money talks loudest Raiders outfit in there for us to try overcome, but hopefully we'll be in there pitching & fighting anyway!!

Nice reading in this article, sort of summed up my take on the draft too:

http://boltbeat.com/2016/05/04/the-rant-chargers-draft-was-disastrous/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Roll on the pre season games now!!

Seems Hunter, Bosa and McColi all looked great at rookie camp. If McCoil can replace Addae I will be delighted.

Would expect our draft picks to look good but McCoil is the intriguing one. Lots of good stories about him coming out so good to see him dominate udfa, means he might be able to compete with veterans. He has the advantage of being a professional athlete for two years so less ground to make up

Apparently the Navy FB might even be better than Watt (not that I have massive expectations of Watt anyway). The 'Swain Train' is his nickname. #chrisswain

So Slauson has arrived after a 30+ hr drive from Chicago and he was taking 1st team reps at center yesterday. Great to see. Looks like a tough guy too unlike the predecessors who look like altar boys beside him. We've not had that enforcer since Dielman.

I had to read that twice yesterday, he's that tough mindset of gut we need in there to protect Rivers and pass on his experience to max

Did you see Mebane said we have more talent on the defense than the Seahawks, puts a bit of pressure on Pagano to deliver.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Mettenberger is now a charger

Said in the FA thread that I wanted us to get him as i think he's got potential but needs a few years under a veteran QB.
    Titans had to draft Mariota but Mettenberger was not the weakest link on that team by a long shot. Completely different QB to Mariota so bad backup option for Titans but his game is similar in style to Rivers so good option for us.
    Better long term option than Clemens and would hope he's QB2 with us. I think it's a good sign that Whisenhunt wanted him, obviously thinks there's something worth developing

Hope that cocaine rumour is false

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

He'll be back in Nashville for the first pre season game

Did you see Mebane said we have more talent on the defense than the Seahawks, puts a bit of pressure on Pagano to deliver.

Imo the pressure was on him to deliver before them comments, we do have alot of young talented guy's on defence after spending early draft picks on them, it's just getting them to play the whole season like they did in the last few games last season, as I was delighted how they performed when butler and weddle was absent,
    Zach mett a charger should be an improvement on Clemmons as back up, interesting see how he goes learning from river's

Yeah and that's where I think the let down is, Pags for me is not the defensive guru/genius we could do with. Imagine Wade Phillips with this bunch.

Said in the FA thread that I wanted us to get him as i think he's got potential but needs a few years under a veteran QB.
    Titans had to draft Mariota but Mettenberger was not the weakest link on that team by a long shot. Completely different QB to Mariota so bad backup option for Titans but his game is similar in style to Rivers so good option for us.
    Better long term option than Clemens and would hope he's QB2 with us. I think it's a good sign that Whisenhunt wanted him, obviously thinks there's something worth developing

Hope that cocaine rumour is false

I think working behind/with Rivers can only help him, hope to F he cops himself on and realises this. This is his best shot now he better not blow it. If he can't beat out Clemens shame on him and any career he was hoping to have.

Yes and Whiz agreeing to it says a lot. I guess the push for Mariota came from on high in TN, not that Whiz would have too seen him an upgrade on Mett.

He'll be back in Nashville for the first pre season game

& we've got the Titans at home in reg season too. Mad that we are meeting in a preseason game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Was a fan of Met when he was at LSU, then again having Beckham & Landry to catch passes isn't exactly going to make any QB look bad.. Surely means Clemens is for the chop down the line, was reading positive reports about Bercovici the UDFA QB we have in rookie camp too, practice squad probably his only shot at a roster spot now though as we certainly won't carry 4 QBs..

Saw an interesting article (can't find the link now though) mooting the idea of having an NFL equivalent to the NBA D-League, basically teams competing at a higher standard than college but lower than the big leagues, use it as a developmental process to give raw prospects an opportunity to learn and play the pro game without the same pressures as being pitched straight into the NFL.. I see the sense in it alright, but there doesn't seem to be any appetite within the NFL to get it off the ground.. Imagine, having two Chargers teams to tear your hair out over, what a joyful prospect!

carmanard wrote: »
    Was a fan of Met when he was at LSU, then again having Beckham & Landry to catch passes isn't exactly going to make any QB look bad.. Surely means Clemens is for the chop down the line, was reading positive reports about Bercovici the UDFA QB we have in rookie camp too, practice squad probably his only shot at a roster spot now though as we certainly won't carry 4 QBs..

Saw an interesting article (can't find the link now though) mooting the idea of having an NFL equivalent to the NBA D-League, basically teams competing at a higher standard than college but lower than the big leagues, use it as a developmental process to give raw prospects an opportunity to learn and play the pro game without the same pressures as being pitched straight into the NFL.. I see the sense in it alright, but there doesn't seem to be any appetite within the NFL to get it off the ground.. Imagine, having two Chargers teams to tear your hair out over, what a joyful prospect!

Dunno if u listen to the lightninground lads via BFTB but Jamie on there is a massive Arizona State follower/watcher and he has no time for Bercovici at all. His best chance is PS now.

The lower tier NFL league will always be talked about but I just don't think the depth is there in terms of player talent/ability to have a second league. You just have to look at the no. of competent QBs in the NFL I'd argue there is less than 20 and there are 32 teams.

I think NFL Europe was a good idea as it got players away from the media glare in America and allowed them to develop their game. If they were to have a lower league in America i think it would end up with fans calling out for players to be promoted to the main roster the whole time.