Wine.

I have been known to drink wine from a mug :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭bilbot79

There's a good wine shop in Baggott St called corkscrew. They have great wines and only charge double what they are worth in the country of origin lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,501 ✭✭✭✭ted1

kneemos wrote: »
    Is there a noticeable difference for an uneducated heathen between a cheapo bottle of plonk for say a tenner and a decent drop of grape juice for around thirty or forty quid.
    Yes , it's like their is a difference between tesco cola, Pepsi cola and coke cola

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I find the main difference is the taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I won't waste good wine (i.e. what I'd buy for more than 5€ a bottle on my sisters because they choose based on colour (just the colour :rolleyes: ) then drink it by the half-bottle. .

Reminds me of the time I was given a very expensive bottle of whiskey (peat whiskey I think) and not being a whiskey drinker, gave it to my Mum. Visted at Christmas to find her giving out yards about the whiskey "tasted like a lump of turf and ruined the Irish coffees."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

As any backpacker will testify, that's not odd at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've drank red wine ranging from cheap from down the cornershop to flashy sommelier stuff. Neither is worth it imo.

Go to a local wine tasting and find out for yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Often drank it from a tea pot at 7 in the morning after a good session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Here is an interesting video (only 4 minutes so won't take much of your time)

I would agree. People who can 'tell' the difference between wine are talking out of the asses.
    There is a big difference between personal taste and then opinion on quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I had occasion to sample a glass of €900 red a few years ago. Meself and herself were in Tallinn, sitting in a hotel garden, playing a game of chess.

^^
    Not like us at all. Wouldn't be every weekend we'd be doing that!

Anyway, we got chatting to an older couple at the next table. They were Irish too, and recognised the accents. Turns out he is a noted billionaire. I won't name him, but that should narrow it down. Also, he lives on a big boat, with loads of other billionaires. We had a grand ol' chat for half an hour or so before they had to leave, and they sent a waiter over with two glasses before they went. Feckin' lovely! We decide to order anothe two glasses after a bit, and the waiter delicately advised us to check the wine list. Just in case there was anything we might prefer. Sound man! The one we were after wasn't sold by the glass. At nine hundred yoyos, you don't open this bottle just to tip a glass out.

Now, I'm sure if I went down the offie, I'd have picked it up for half what the hotel were charging, but still, that was the most expensive and, hands down clear winner, the most delicious wine I've ever tried. Was it nicer than a €10 bottle of cab sav? Damn right it was. Was it €890 nicer? Probably not. Would I ever spend that kind of cash on a bottle of wine? No. Not even if I had his money. It's obscene. Obscene but very tasty. Actually...... Maybe I might?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,972 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My late father was a wine connesieur and had some really excellent wines in his collection. You can really tell a good wine from revolting battery acid plonk once you've tried the good stuff.

On holiday in 2007 in Provence with my ex we stayed right in the Chateauneuf du Pape area and the gite proprietor sold bottles of this excellent wine for only €12 a bottle. A steal when Chateauneuf du Pape retails for €60+ here in Ireland.

But I don't drink wine any more. I'm an alcoholic and wine was my tipple of choice. You can pick up really good wines for less than €20 if you know what to look for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Restaurants will have a mark up of 3 or 4 times what they are paying wholesale for their wine so I suppose it really does matter where you are spending your €10. I haven't seen an Irish restaurant offer anything less than €15 a bottle for well over a decade so €30-40 would usually get you something good but, to me, virtually indistinguishable from the €15 bottle. In Tesco or Supervalue though you will pick up something fairly decent for €10 or even a few quid cheaper. I've been in restaurants that have offered a €25-30 wine only to see the same wine in Tesco for less than a tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

There's a rule. If it costs more than €20 then you absolutely must tell someone. Anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I can't tell the difference apart really, what I like and the price are sometimes the same, sometimes way different. I don't drink enough of it to know much about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭MarcoAntonio23

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

If it doesn't taste better as you are drinking it then it is really really bad !

Having said that you probably have to go to 9/10 euros (generally) to get reasonable stuff . Thats probably some sort of price management sort of thing (economics may not be my strong point)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

I drink a bit but am honestly hopeless at telling them apart. I've had really nice cheap ones and horrible expensive ones. If I find a brand I like, I'll stick with it. Going somewhere and want to impress the hosts? Then I'll up my price limit by a tenner and pick something French which has a decent looking label.

I reckon a lot of the wine snobs are bluffing. "You can really taste the Autumn breeze on the initial sip and the aftertaste evokes the hardship of the peasantry of the Mezzogiorno." Shove it up your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

All comes down to taste. I like Pouilly Fume and Sancerre white wine which would not be cheap but on the other hand I don't like some expensive Italian reds like Barolo or Amarone (both way too heavy for me) and love some of the cheaper Italian reds like Nero D'Avola.

I can't drink any Cab Sav reds. I hate the numb tongue feeling the tannins give.

Note: I despised wine before I met my wife and considered all wine the same. It's really not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

In my opinion, there is a difference in wine below a certain price (€7.50 in a supermarket) and the stuff costing more. I'll happily drink an Aldi Red at that price, but it is nice to sample a better bottle every so often. I won't pretend to be able to describe the different regions, grapes, vintage etc., but a good bottle does stand out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I drink wine around the 8-10 euro mark

the cheaper stuff tastes like vinegar and gives me a brutal hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

I reckon a lot of the wine snobs are bluffing. "You can really taste the Autumn breeze on the initial sip and the aftertaste evokes the hardship of the peasantry of the Mezzogiorno." Shove it up your hole.

"...dances on my palate" :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Tipperary Fairy

Generally I suppose you could say yes. I've had an awful lot of wine, from a box of goon that was reduced to $5 to a €150 champagne, that I liked in almost equal measure. I've had a €6 glass of port that I liked more than a glass of 40 year old, €80 port.

I'm generally a fan of chardonnay, but even that varies quite a bit, and seemingly unrelated to the price. Apparently Ireland does better supplies of chardonnay than Australia.

So yeah, there's lots of wine, and not all the cheap stuff is bad, not all the pricey stuff is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

I often drink the €3.99 red and white from Aldi and don't see anything wrong with it. Mentioned it to a work mate who insisted if I tasted a decent wine I'd know the difference. So last x-mas he bought me a gift of a bottle of wine. Asked me in January what I had thought of it. Not much I confessed. He was disgusted as he had paid the bones of €50 euro for it to prove to me that anyone can tell good wine from cheapo wine. In my honest opinion there was nothing different or special about his bottle...Could have bought 12 Aldi bottles for the price and I would have been happier. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

"No, if anyone orders Merlot, I'm leaving. I am NOT drinking any ****ing Merlot!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,972 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Quote from the rather excellent Withnail & I :

"balls! We want the finest wines available to humanity, and we want them here and we want them now!":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

"Arah t'was far from wine we were reared. Small bottle of stout, an auld drop to wash it down and a kick in the hole if you were lucky. Different times...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I drink wine around the 8-10 euro mark

the cheaper stuff tastes like vinegar and gives me a brutal hangover

Agree, I think where you really notice the difference with the cheaper stuff is with the hangover next day. I remember having three (small) glasses of 'red wine' at a Christmas party last year and having the hangover from hell the following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

kneemos wrote: »
    Don't think I've ever tasted proper expensive stuff.Love to see what the difference is.

You can pick up a decent Chablis or Sancerre in the Liddlyaldy these days for around €16. I'm not really a wine person but those are rather salubrious. In the red department, try Claret (a.k.a. Bordeaux) and Chianti, and don't pay any more than €20 for either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Ou that's a snazzy bouquet.